expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Lake Gaston Executive Mansion luxury sleeps 40

Bracey, VA, USA
  • House12000 sqft
  • Bedrooms11
  • Sleeps42
  • Bathrooms6
  • Half Baths1
  • Mininum Stay2 - 7 nights

11BR, 6-1/2BA, Brick, 549FT, Main Lake Shoreline for sunrise & sunset views!


Approximately 12,000 SF INSIDE luxury home filled with everything needed to just relax & enjoy lake living on private point lot! See morning sunrises & evening sunsets from all windows--you choose! With THREE wet bars inside and ONE at poolside pavilion, this home is sure to please! Expansive great room fireplace and cat walk railing add french country elegance and finishes, just right to tone down the formal interior, giving it class & comfort for a more casual atmosphere, a requirement for enjoying lake life!

With these 'subtle' custom features, it still has all the amenities expected in a mansion like this: HUGE master suite on main floor with King sized bed, luxurious bath with jacuzzi, urinal & separate water closets; main floor bunk room (single over double bed); writing table in master bedroom overlooks pool side & main lake deck for glorious AM sunrises! Expansive great room with oversized stone fireplace from floor to ceiling, encompassing 1/3 of the wall adjacent to the kitchen and lakeside decks, separate wet bar with built-in wine cooler (all open to lakeside windows for best views!), custom culinary kitchen stocked with all your cooking needs (with six each buffet style servers, at least 3 crock pots, griddle for pancakes) with room for all (includes gas cooktop, microwave & wall oven with warming drawer, Bunn commercial coffee station) with wide view to main lake across the dining room & great room; half bath powder room; laundry room featuring front load washer & dryer; great room leads out to lakeside decks on the main lake & double boathouse & sun deck, pool and pavilion area! Second floor boasts three master suites with heavenly sunrises and sunsets & one additional sleeping room with double queen beds, game room with solid wood cabinetry, granite tops, wet bar & original Limited Edition Brunswick pool table & foosball table, hallway book case with a multitude of books for reading enthusiasts & small book case in sleeping room located off the game room with select children's books (Nancy Drew series & others); two other master suites on this floor offer lakeside deck private lakeside stair entry from the poolside patio and lakeside decks, nicely situated across entire side to allow wide unobscured views of the lake, cove, pool & pavilion. Lower level interior offers full wet bar with commercial ice machine, full-size Viking refrigerator, a third laundry room complete with heavy duty extra capacity washer & dryer, full bath, open gym area equipped with two commercial tread mills, air hockey table, an incredible surround sound system in theater room (wide 125" screen) with Lane recliners (luxurious seating for minimum of 8 adults & additional floor space for children to lounge around on the carpeted flooring), two bedrooms (one with no windows for late nighters & another with main lake sunset view), covered patio leading to luxurious pool, concrete patio & covered pool pavilion lakeside--with wet bar, commercial beverage refrigerator for keeping your beverages just right & granite countertops & hickory cabinets, ceiling fans, lighting, stereo system (phone & iPod compatible), and comfortable seating or lounging for hours of leisurely entertainment while relaxing outside, overlooking the lake & double boathouse with sun deck! Canoes are provided for your leisure, and two boat/jet ski lift for easy lake access. Sit back & relax with your favorite beverage while the kids enjoy the slide! Or relax while reading a book or playing a game or cards, either inside or out! Lower level lakeside deck offers covered gas fire pit for simplicity & comfort seasonally on cool evenings!

Penthouse suite on top floor hosts large suite with open kitchen/dining & bedroom and panoramic views that span several miles down the main lake, also with private kitchen equipped with all appliances including dishwasher & assortment of cooking utensils, large bath with separate water closet & walk-in tiled shower & separate laundry room with heavy duty extra capacity washer & dryer.

Home offers total of 11 bedrooms (includes two undesignated sleeping areas) with sleeping arrangements for 42 individuals, 6-1/2 baths (all but one with tiled walk-in showers). Features: Oversized tiled shower located in main floor master bath, THREE laundry rooms, lakeside covered decks on main & 2nd levels with concrete lower covered patio leading to pool & outside covered pavilion area! Hardwood floors throughout main house, mix of hardwood & carpet in upper penthouse suite for comfort & sound control below, ceramic tile throughout basement for durability & cleaning ease, & flatscreen LED TVs placed throughout each floor. Circle drive & parking deck combine for ample parking for all. Relax and enjoy the outdoors, while the 'chef of the day' cooks on the GOURMET gas grill (which includes piped in gas line for convenience) or in the culinary gourmet kitchen located on main floor deck with ample seating for all!

Lower level is also furnished nicely with entertainment & relaxation in mind, from the AMAZING theater room, great room with oversized wet bar snack and card tables, to the tread mills and air hockey game! Double boathouse offers large open sun deck & lake side deck with two boat slips for your boating convenience while you enjoy your vacation!

We are located on the main lake of Lake Gaston just past mile marker 21--when you see the large island in the middle of the lake, look for our property on the northwest side--the deep water side!

For boat and lake rentals, contact Tony Howell 919-961-4683

What does our property offer differently from other rentals?

1) Here everyone can stay together under one roof WITH WATER VIEWS FROM ALL ROOMS WITH AT LEAST ONE WINDOW, enjoy waking up, cooking, eating, hanging out & socializing together for the duration of your stay! So be prepared to just lounge around, doing whatever you want…together! No carpooling required--everyone's already here!

2) There is something to entertain everyone: From the boathouse to the lake to the pool to the game room to the theater room to the poolside pavilion wet bar & the lower level bar & hot tub or fire pit--you don't have to try to figure out where everyone can gather or what is there to do!

3) Games and puzzles are located throughout the property in closets.

4) A library (actually a bookcase full) of books located on the second floor contains various collections of books, for reading enthusiasts or lazy days!

5) Each level thoughtfully features full length wall mirrors & additional wall mirrors for convenience: most bedrooms have one full length mirror in each of them, with additional mirrors placed at select locations throughout the estate.

6) An eight person Blacksburg lakeside hot tub is located on the lower level patio Seating 8 persons with 112 jets to provide five individual adjustable hydrotherapy zones for unmatched relaxation.

Relax just outside the lower level bar on the deck overlooking the beautiful shores of Lake Gaston's main lake!

7) Our property fills quickly, so don't delay in booking your grand vacation! This will be the vacation your family talks about for years to come! We have several repeat guests!

Just call to discuss plans for your perfect summer vacation, inquire about local attractions & events (calendar of annual events can be emailed for your review) & we will get you scheduled. Once you've been here for your first visit, I'm sure you'll reserve & come back next year!

If I might make one suggestion for a comfortable, leisurely week of true vacationing, which became & remains a standard tradition for us after a few visits to Lake Gaston: when several families vacation together, have each family plan, prepare & provide meals for one day; then save the leftovers for later in the week for snacking. It has worked out wonderfully well for us for years, allowing everyone to prepare & present their favorite dish or delicacy for all, while preventing unnecessary & repeat trips to the grocery store during our vacation. This allowed us all time to just have fun on the water & not even think about 'what's for dinner' or 'who's cooking?!'

For the sports enthusiast, Lake Gaston offers a wake boarding school on the lake--this may require scheduling or prior reservations (owned by none other than the infamous Adam Fields-AF Wake, Inc.); annual local area events sponsored by the Lake Gaston Regional Chamber of Commerce are sure to delight all: Memorial Day weekend brings the Battle of the BBQ at the Lake Gaston Chamber, June brings wine festivals (Rosemont Winery is approx five miles away, with wine tours, outdoor festivals & more.

In summary, the covered pavilion, conveniently accessible from the lower level floor or the front parking area sidewalk & with stairs to the main & second levels, offers comfortable seating for 20-30 people easily at the tables & the tiered bar, all while keeping all your beverages cool within an easy distance of your pool &/or lake side gatherings! This way no one has to worry about stocking the cooler & dragging it out to the pool--all with your convenience in mind! Oh yes, there is also a stereo system (compatible with most phones) located under the pavilion for radio stations &/or all your favorite tunes!

NOTE: Local and distant (live-in) Chef service is available for hire for meal preparation with advance appointment! Home owner has contact information if your party requires additional resources.

Call with any questions! We look forward to your visit!



Irvin Warren

Member Since 2017
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
Response time:
within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
Apr 13, 2018


    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Air Conditioning
    • Swimming pool
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Hot Tub
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 11 Bedrooms, Sleeps 42


          • 6 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath

              Location Type

                • Lake View
                • Lakefront
                • Water View
                • Waterfront


                    • Family


                        • Guests provide their own meals


                            • Internet
                            • Air Conditioning
                            • Fireplace
                              Gas fireplace
                            • Fitness Room / Equipment
                            • Garage
                            • Heating
                            • Clothes Dryer
                            • Iron & Board
                            • Linens Provided
                            • Living Room
                            • Towels Provided
                            • Washing Machine
                              Three separate laundry areas.


                                • Coffee Maker
                                  Restuarant style double coffee maker
                                • Dishes & Utensils
                                • Dishwasher
                                • Kitchen
                                  All luxury appliances made by Electrolux ICON or Viking refrigerator.
                                • Microwave
                                • Oven
                                  Double oven/microwave with warming drawer
                                • Refrigerator
                                  Stainless steel Viking commercial grade
                                • Stove
                                  Luxury gas stove
                                • Toaster


                                    • Dining Room
                                    • comfy seating for 16 people


                                        • Books
                                        • DVD Player
                                        • Foosball
                                        • Game Room
                                        • Games
                                          Air hockey
                                        • Pool Table
                                        • Satellite / Cable
                                        • Television
                                        • Video Games


                                            • Balcony
                                            • Boat
                                              We have pontoon boat and Jet ski's for rent?
                                            • Deck / Patio
                                            • Kayak / Canoe
                                            • Outdoor Grill

                                              Pool / Spa

                                                • Hot Tub
                                                • Private Pool


                                                    • marina
                                                    • restaurants
                                                    • winery tours

                                                      Leisure Activities

                                                        • boating
                                                        • miniature golf
                                                        • paddle boating
                                                        • photography
                                                        • walking

                                                          Local Services & Businesses

                                                            • ATM/bank
                                                            • groceries

                                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                • fishing
                                                                • freshwater fishing
                                                                • jet skiing
                                                                • swimming
                                                                • water skiing
                                                                • water tubing

                                                                  House Rules

                                                                  Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                                  Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                                  Cancellation Policy

                                                                  100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                  9 Reviews


                                                                  Latest reviews

                                                                  Perfect for our reunion

                                                                  Tami S.

                                                                  We have been holding a family reunion every year for over 30 years and we’ve finally found a place that dovetails to our needs as a group! With a group of close to 30, ranging in ages from 3 to 76, there was something for everyone. The kids enjoyed the wide variety of kid movies and games and the air hockey table. The adults had plenty of time and space to congregate together and visit. The views and enjoying the porches were other favorites. The house never felt cramped even when we were all together for meals and being able to prepare food and visit with everyone in the open area was a special treat! The kitchen ammenities were the best we’ve ever had for such a large group. We will definitely be repeat renters!

                                                                  Plenty of space, stunning views.

                                                                  HJ W.

                                                                  22 British Ladies from Around Raleigh descended on this stunning property for a relaxing weekend.

                                                                  Although we spent the majority of our time in the main living area, the 4th floor was a good bolt hole for those that wanted a little peace and quiet.

                                                                  The spa tub was well used from very early morning until late at night and the firepit was a great place for a few beers and a chin-wag!

                                                                  The views are stunning. Tony was extremely helpful.

                                                                  A few manuels on how to work appliances, showers, stereos etc in the house would have saved a journey out for the staff, but it was lovely to actually have someone come out and help us! Top rate service.

                                                                  Many thanks.

                                                                  Phenomenal house! Perfect for our Women's Retreat!

                                                                  Elise C.

                                                                  Over 40 women from our church spent the weekend at Portside. There was plenty of room for everyone! We spent most of our time in the main living area, and had two long tables set up for eating and meeting space. Everyone raved about the kitchen and there was more than enough room to have several helping with meals at the same time. The extra oven up in the fourth floor was so helpful for the times we needed it, as well as the extra refrigerators. There wasn't one thing amiss and we had everything we needed for a wonderful Retreat weekend. The weather was perfect, and the lake views and early signs of Spring were beautiful. We will be back! Many thanks to Tony for his kindness in answering all our questions beforehand! We were so blessed to be able to stay at Portside!

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  Thank you so much for choosing our home! I’m so happy you had a great time and the house was right for your group. Thank you so much for the great review and hope to see you again soon!

                                                                  Some issues not addressed but the property is still nice

                                                                  Devin S.Alexandria, Virginia

                                                                  Hate to be the first non-5 star reviewer. First, the property is beautiful. Great view off the lake and very spacious. Unfortunately, there were some concerns we noticed when we did our initial walk-thru.

                                                                  Based off a past review, some things were not fixed. I also listed some new issues:

                                                                  1) Contradictory instructions given to us (Book vs. Email directions)

                                                                  2) The high chair in the dining room was still broken. That can cause a serious injury if not addressed.

                                                                  3) The Jacuzzi on the main level suite was not repaired. This was one of the decisions we chose this property and was a bit disappointed when that was not taken care of.

                                                                  4) The washer and dryer behind the kitchen was not working and the shower on the main level was always cold. Not sure if this was due to a malfunctioning water heater.

                                                                  5) There are enough beds to fit the listed occupancy of the house, but the layout description does not match how the house is set up. (Example – In the penthouse there are really 4 queens in open/undesignated areas... not 2 queens and 2 rooms as the house description given to us showed). In addition, the bunkroom on the main floor is attached to the master bedroom. The only access to it is through the master bedroom.

                                                                  6) The fire-pit was not working for us so we left it alone during our time there.

                                                                  7) The grill grates and around it was dirty when we wanted to use it. The flames were not evenly lit and the eye on the far right was not working - so we left it off.

                                                                  8) Wish the sheets were already set up on all the beds. Was not expecting we had to place them on all the beds ourselves.

                                                                  Ultimately, there were quite a few things we discovered upon our stay, and we wish we were notified prior of the new and already existing issues. As long as these are addressed soon, I would recommend this property to those that are viewing it.

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  I’m so sorry the house didn’t meet your expectations? I’m equally sorry you didn’t call me to make me aware. I would have been happy to show you how to operate the fire pit as well as hot water in master shower? Both work great! Hot water in seconds when you have the fixture on red.

                                                                  Fire pit is New and you just didn’t turn gas valve to the “on” position.

                                                                  I take my guest experience very serious and only wish you had called! Thank you for choosing our home!

                                                                  Beautiful house in a great location with a friendly owner

                                                                  Fr. W.

                                                                  The house is magnificent, and the views of the lake from the property are breathtaking. The owner and the property manager were friendly and helpful, and made the entire experience delightful.

                                                                  A few recommendations: 1) have more air mattresses available (we only had 3) for those people who would rather not share a queen bed, 2) supply some card tables and folding chairs we could set up if we wanted to, and 3) convert one of the many rooms (maybe the unused garage?) to a conference room for presentations or meetings.

                                                                  Great Property, just a few small hiccups

                                                                  Greg M.

                                                                  The property was lovely and easily accommodated our family coming from SC, NC, VA, MA, and DE. It was easy to get to also.

                                                                  Some small things that we noticed:

                                                                  Trash was left on the property by previous renters. Trash was overflowing in trash cans in the driveway upon our arrival.

                                                                  We washed the kitchen towels, but there was no laundry detergent. The lint in the dryer was very full before we dried the kitchen towels.

                                                                  Message from the owner said sheets and towels should be left in bathrooms. The book said to leave all sheets and towels in the laundry rooms on that level. We left our sheets and towels in the laundry rooms.

                                                                  We did remove all trash from the house and put it in the county dumpster. All of the trash outside was there when we got there.

                                                                  A few chairs in the theater did not recline. One dining room chair seat was not attached.

                                                                  One light over kitchen sink was burned out, the outlet on the backside of the island did not work, the faucet on the main kitchen sink was loose at the base. No cutting board in the kitchen.

                                                                  Towel rack in bathroom in basement was off the wall when we arrived.

                                                                  No extra toilet paper, only 1/2 rolls in all bathrooms.

                                                                  No extra trash bags, luckily we brought large black trash bags. Would have been nice to know ahead of time about the trash situation.

                                                                  No soap, shampoo or conditioner in any bathrooms. No hair dryers either.

                                                                  Extra towels were needed for small children, but there wasn't any. We also didn't notice any towels for the hot tub. I don't believe any of us brought our own.

                                                                  Blankets were not in every bedroom. They were all in the master bedroom closet, which was difficult in the middle of the night to retrieve.

                                                                  Please set the correct time on the clock in the living room and oven.

                                                                  Directions for fireplace and firepit operation should be in the book at the house.

                                                                  Ceiling fans, baseboards and under beds were dusty.


                                                                  Bracey, VA, USA

                                                                  Rates & Availability

                                                                  Additional information about rental rates

                                                                  Cleaning Fee
                                                                  Pet Fee
                                                                  Damage Deposit
                                                                  Tax Rate
                                                                  9 Reviews
                                                                  Wonderful 4.9/5
                                                                  Premier Partner
                                                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                  For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                  Property # 1172048