Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

PRISTINE SUNSET LAKE-200' of FRONTAGE

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

YOU CAN ALWAYS CONTACT ME DIRECTLY 978 882 5676 - we always make personal phone contact - we do allow DOGS - Two hundred feet of frontage on pristine sunset lake (a quiet lake great for peaceful BOATING) small sandy beach access to lake(naturally contained for kids safety) and footbridge to large dock on small island (THIS IS YOUR PRIVATE DOCK -you cannot see the neighbors). Six kyaks, sm rowing dingy and one paddle boat round out this great lakefront opportunity - 7 person hot tub at the end of the day (you must supply your own life preservers).

Classy, redecorated contemporary with lots of glass on southside with sliders onto great deck featuring 'hot springs' 7 person hot tub, built-in 'fire king' turbo gas grill, 'telescope' patio set, two fiberglass picnic tables, and great views of the lake. Finished basement doubles as an adolescent bedroom and rec room with regulation-size pool table, 32 inch TV, stereo,etc. You can really be separate from the adolescents and the noise. We provide a high speed internet wifi . You'll need a calling card for longdistance calls, you will have to supply your own linens (pillow cases, sheets, towles ).

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 29, 2017

Amenities

Alton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Should a traveler need to cancel, the will be refunded when/if the property is rebooked for those dates.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (5), full(1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private beach (natural contained area for kids), footbridge to large dock, six kyaks, one paddle boat - small rowboat

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
PRISTINE SUNSET LAKE-200' of FRONTAGE
average rating of 4.848485 based on 33 reviews
5

Amazing vacation

  • 5 of 5

We traveled to NH with another family - so we were 2 families of 4 (8 people total) sharing this house. The house is spacious and comfortable. The 4 kids (from 6-10) LOVED sleeping in the basement bunkbeds. It is a bit darker down there with no windows, which our kids thought was fun - I could see where it wouldn't work for some younger kids but they had each other all together and loved being together. We did empty the dehumidifier regularly and had no issue with dampness.

The adult rooms were really nice and very comfortable.

The kitchen is great - I have never rented a house with so many utensils available. I cooked every night and had no problem with everything provided. The grill is great too.

The lake is unbelievably beautiful. It is smaller, but crystal clear. The kayaks provided had some that were small enough for our kids to use comfortably and there were plenty for the adults as well. We went out in the kayaks every day. The lake doesn't have a lot of motor boats so you can go out at any time of day. It is calm. Our kids loved visiting the tiny little islands dotted throughout the lake.

We had so much fun on this trip -there is easy access to Weir's Beach for a day out - and the drive in is fun. We also hiked up Mt Major which had the most amazing views of Lake Winnepesauke.

I can say the pictures don't do the house justice. It is really nice and with 8 people - to say we never felt cramped is saying something.

Lastly the hot tub is a really nice perk - our kids loved playing in there in short bursts and the adults enjoyed it when the sun went down.

Book this place and enjoy a wonderful vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Jersey
4

Beautiful Lake

  • 4 of 5

Very clean house just a short walk to beautiful Sunset Lake. Inside of house is nicer than pictures. All cleaning products, laundry detergent, etc. were provided which was nice.

Lake is clear and calm. Very private, however, you can in fact see the neighbors dock from yours. We enjoyed the kayaks, row boat etc & used them daily. Fished too. Also enjoyed the hot tub & pool table.

Basement was great for our college kids to sleep in, however, without cable in the basement, the TV use was very limited. No CD player; old VHS player. There is WiFi in basement. I was initially concerned about basement fire egress. You have to go thru another door/room in the basement to access the outside bilco doors for a secondary exit in the event of a fire. (not labeled). That said, I wouldn't utilize the basement for a child. The upstairs master bedroom has a bent screen frame, thus allowing bugs to enter when the window is open (no AC).

View of the lake from the house is limited in the summer as there is quite a bit of overgrowth on the property in back & front. There is some litter in the woods (old mop, oily rags on tree) Location is very remote with little to do other than hiking, fishing, etc. No shopping or activities nearby.

The owner is very detail oriented providing written instructions relative to the house and checking in periodically throughout the week.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: good feedback - we will get on those issues
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The whole family loved this location!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family spend our summer vacations together. We like trying new locations and this is one of my favorites. The owners were easy to work with and made sure we were happy during our week at their lake house. The house was a perfect set up for the 8 of us. Plenty of room for all of us and offered comfortable hide away spots if you wanted some alone time. We found everything as it showed on the listing and the kids loved having the basement as their bedroom. The location of the house was perfect for us. Not to close to the neighbors but a easy walk down the hill to the lake. Sunset is a pristine lake. It's quiet and perfect for kayaking and fishing. There is plenty of different small boats by the dock to choose from. We travel with our dogs and this was a great spot for them. They had everything they needed. A walk out into the water for our non swimmer. A large boulder a short swim away that they could climb up on. A long dock to enjoy a nap in the sun. Beautiful woods and a yard. All this was enjoyed by their owners too. We found restaurants as well as ice cream and grocery stores close by in Alton Bay.

I apologize to Dick and Maureen for not sending this review earlier. But you know we enjoyed ourselves if I still wanted to write how much we enjoyed ourselves eight months later. I highly recommend this rental and hope you give it a try.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful time on Sunset Lake!

  • 4 of 5

We had a fantastic week on Sunset Lake this past summer! We have spent a lot of time on Newfound and Squam and wanted to check out one of the smaller lakes. What a gem! The lake was warm and perfect for swimming and kayaking. The shoreline was loaded with blueberry bushes - I have never picked so many blueberries! Having kayaks right there was a treat and the dock/beach area is perfect for little kids and adults too. The loon sightings and calls were out of this world. Oh and the hot tub was a major hit! We had two rainy days and jumping in the hot tub after a swim or kayak was perfect :)

The house was comfortable, open and provided plenty of space for the 7 of us (6 adults, one 18-month old) who were there. Kitchen has everything you can ask for and there are many cozy places to sit. There are two reasons this is not a 5 stars for us. It is remote....which is lovely on one hand, but we felt quite removed from anything. Even though it was only a 15 minute drive to groceries and a handful of restaurants, it felt very isolated. Which is great if that is what you are looking for! We also thought the basement would be usable for our group, but without a bathroom and with a definite basement feel none of the adults chose to be down there...so the 18-month old was in a room with her parents, but that was fine. The basement would have been perfect for our two teenagers had they come, but they ended up not joining us for that week. This was no fault of the owners, it was just we imagined in our heads!

Dick and Maureen could not have more helpful. They were communicative and made sure all was well on check in day. Wonderful people! This truly is a gem of a spot if you seek a good getaway and a quiet, pristine lake!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Location

  • 4 of 5

Just got back from a very peaceful week at this home. Love how quiet the location is, including the lake. Sunset lake is crystal clear and extremely calm, perfect for kayaking and swimming. The house is nice, there were only 4 of us, so we did not use downstairs at all. Downstairs is considered the 4th bedroom. It is a bit damp smelling down there. House is very well equipped and comfortable, though I do wish it was a bit cleaner and the outside a bit more cleared- I vacuumed many webs when we arrived, but I realize this is a house in the woods. Hot tub a great addition for the cool evenings! Overall a great week, owners very responsive and I would recommend to anyone seeking a quiet week!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: we work to provide a peacefull private qualtity setting for families - we orient them coming in and check in with them by phone a day later and then midweek (lots of moving parts) - the basement has a dehumidifier that needs to be emptied every couple of days - i either forgot to task them or they forgot to empty because they did not use the basement - they took very good care of our home away from hom
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

Contacted the owner who was extremely helpful and courteous in answering all my questions.

Spent a week at the lake house with 10 people, plenty of room, great accommodations, beautiful lake and lakefront

property. Would highly recommend and plan on going back on an annual basis. This is a gem of a property.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund