Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The 'Top of the World' Surfview Penthouse! 3brms or sleeping areas /2BA

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-9)

Address of 'Top of the World': 426 Monterey Lane, San Clemente, CA. 92672 [for Mapquest]

This unit is well known locally as 'Top of the World!' It is regarded as one of the world's greatest surf-view decks. Newly remodeled, this Penthouse unit features a spectacular, all glass, insulated view room with a trundle bed for heavenly whitewater sleeping.

The walk is two short blocks down to the beach and pier. Seals can be heard and observed from the deck telescope daily. The best surfing on the west coast of California is just down the stairs and close-by.

Also, you will experience the "world's greatest scenic, 4-burner, built-in barbecue."

Also Look at VRBO.com/722590

Keywords: 2Bedrooms+1 extra sleeping area, Penthouse Unit

More Details

Owner
Jerry Quinlan
Member since: 1998
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 13, 2018

About Jerry Quinlan

The Surfview Top of the World owner is a past San Clemente Veteran of Foreign Wars commander and current Service Officer. He is an active volunteer in the community as a certified EMT, Neighborhood watchperson, Senior Center volunteer, and former Boy Scouts of America adult leader. He is a member of the San Clemente Downtown Business Association, Chamber of Commerce, and the San Clemente Men's golf association.

Jerry Quinlan is not an expert surfer, though, he can be found kayaking regularly around Seal Rock, to the south, or, every so often, swimmming around the pier.

He can be recognized on photo #16, with his daughter, Elizabeth, on the top deck at the 'TOP OF THE WORLD' SURFVIEW PENTHOUSE.

Jerry Quinlan purchased this condo in 1997

Why Jerry Quinlan chose San Clemente

'Top of the World' is like a pressbox in a sports stadium; looking from a most exceptonal and unique view down over the pier, beach, harbor, and Islands on the horizon. A short two hundred twenty yard walk down to the sand.

The location is equally between Disneyland, Newport, Hollywood; and, San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Legoland.

What makes this condo unique

Overlooking EVERYTHING! - harbor, beach, waves, surfers, pier, and Islands.

Three block walk into downtown Del Mar street in San Clemente; and, 220 yard walk down to the sand, waves, pier, and restaurants on the pier.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I couldn't make it work with these folks way too many people ...they wanted 3 completely separate bedrooms and they were noisy and, sorry to say, Less pleasant to have than so many others.
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 15

Amenities

San Clemente Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets considered
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Sunroom - Trundle Bed-Sleeps two
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Cable Plasma TV, VCR/DVD, Gas BBQ, Walk to Beach & Pier, Surf, Kayaks, Bugibords, 2 Baiks, Beach Gear included

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
The 'Top of the World' Surfview Penthouse! 3brms or sleeping areas /2BA
average rating of 4.111111 based on 51 reviews
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5

Plenty of room.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Extremely Pleasant Family. They were delightful to have stayed here stay ... we highly recommend them
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and very accommodating owner.

  • 5 of 5

Family friendly, location and view are outstanding. Owner was available and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The view is spectacular! Jerry, the owner, is very helpful and accessible.

  • 5 of 5

The view is amazing! The location is perfect for walking to the beach, restaurants and shopping on Del Mar. The owner is very accessible for any questions. The only coffee maker is a one-cup type maker. The WiFi was a little sporadic. Everything else was perfect!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great view

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed ourselves and relaxed

  • Submitted: May 21, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is our great honor and pleasure to accommodate search high-quality families.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great View From a Filthy Apartment

  • 1 of 5

The view is the best and, only redeeming feature, in this property. When we checked in we were greeted with the following: used tooth brushes in the bath tub and sink, used razor in the second bathroom. Dirty cleaning towels and rubber gloves left in the living room and bathroom. Cleansing product on bath tub edge, black "dirt?" throughout tub in one bathroom. Stains on walls and ceilings. All glassware was filthy with finger prints and food particles. We had to clean unit and wash kitchen items before we could "relax". Living room is awkward in that there are no tables. Prior to our check in, owner was slow to non-responsive to our inquiries. All, in all avoid this place. The view isn't worth the filth.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Housekeeping problems occurred and changes have been made. This will not happen again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

What a view!!! This is the perfect location for a family reunion, a wonderful place !!!

  • 4 of 5

We had a family reunion here and it was the perfect place to catch the sunset every night!! We made this our home base and drove to Laguna for a fabulous beach day, and then our next day drove to San Diego for another beach day! The beach in San Clemente is fabulous for surfers but not ideal for swimmers because of the rocks so just plan on driving 20 minutes ( which is no big deal ) to Laguna and you will have amazing clear beautiful beaches for swimming ! The kitchen and sleeping arrangements were 👌🏼

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I feel fortunate to have so many fine, quality families choosing to spend their vacation time here at Top of the World Surfview penthouse.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Dana Point Harbor, Marine Institute Museum

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
cleaning $100 + Tax
pet fee $50 + Tax

Rates are subject to change especially during the holiday season. For a detailed quote, please call for assistance. We also offer discounts and specials; call for more information.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties