Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'Getg Inn' Comfortable Cozy Lakefront Property-Beautiful View

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

VRBO Bear stayed here

We found this property to be beary special

About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Updated cottage nestled on a secluded cove in the heart of the Seneca Lake wine trail is our lake home we call 'Getg Inn'. Relax in this 1100 sq ft home which is literally 15 ft from lakeshore. The panoramic view is breathtaking. Located on the west side of Seneca Lake this home offers you both sunshine and shade during the day. The seawall is flat and 15 feet away from the house. No smoking inside the house, but available on the dock. We're fully furnished with everything you will need to enjoy your vacation. 3 single person kayak's available- user must assume at their own risk. Screened in porch. Small deck off the master bedroom.

This fully furnished one story, 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom home is located near Dresden on the west side of Seneca Lake.

Cozy, comfortable, clean Lake House. Gorgeous lake front view to watch sunrise. Three bedrooms two bathroom. Sleeps 6 easily [3 queen beds]. West shore Seneca Lake on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail. 15 minutes from Geneva,Watkins Glen, Hobart and William Smith College, restaurants, groceries, movies, bowling alley etc. Kitchen with microwave, coffee maker, toaster, stove, dish washer, oven, refrigerator, all utensils, pots and pans. Linens provided.

Dock available for boat tie up.

Screened in porch with deck off master bedroom. Nice grassy yard. VCR and DVD with assorted movies (including children's movies), Swimming, great fishing, Water starts shallow with gradual incline. Sea wall with access to the lake from the dock by ladder. Check in time is 4 PM and check out is 11 AM. During summer 7 night rental is preferred (Sunday to Sunday). Daily rentals considered if available with a 2 night minimum considered during off season.(march, april, may) In season from Memorial day to labor day week end must have 3 night stay.

More Details

Owner
Sarah Marino
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Sarah Marino

We love Seneca Lake. Kayaking on the lake is fabulous. The screened porch protects you from the weather and makes you feel like you are actually on the dock. Waking up to the water is the best part.

Sarah Marino purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Sarah Marino chose Seneca Lake

We love Seneca Lake, every day the lake changes and is beautiful. Just waking up to the lake is a site. Very quiet.

What makes this cottage unique

Fire pit is great to sit out at night and enjoy.

Amenities

Dresden Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Kayaks are to be used at ones own risk. Lifejackets are available in the chest to the right of the kayaks and must be worn when using watercraft.
  • Town zoning limits our cabin occupancy to 6 guests. No parties larger than 6 are permitted at the cottage.
  • Only 1 car should be parked on the north end of the property. All other vehicles should be parked at top of hill to left of garbage disposal site.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms have showers, no tubs. Laundry area in the master bath with washer & dryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen size bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Queen size bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (1) Master Bedroom very large, Beds (2) Two bedrooms have Queen size beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • swimming
Notes:
60 ft level lake frontage, No Smoking inside, Queen bed in spacious Master bedroom, Two queen beds in second and third bedrooms, Linens and towels provided, Spring fed potable {drinking} water, dock with platform with swim ladder. 2 single person Kayaks for your use. .

Reviews

Enjoy your time in the cozy lakefront cottage!

VRBO Bear stayed here

Oct 6, 2016

Our stay at the Getg Inn was just what the bear and I needed! Our trip included running in the Wineglass Marathon in Corning and then resting and relaxing afterwards. Of course, this included wine tasting at many nearby local wineries surrounding Seneca Lake. This cozy home is perfectly located right on the lake as well and the views were amazing. It was extremely clean when we arrived. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. We cooked dinner and enjoyed dining in most of the time and our evenings were spent looking out at the lovely lake. The bedrooms were well-appointed with plenty of extra blankets, pillows and sheets. Our early mornings included views of the gorgeous sunrise while drinking coffee and planning our day of wine tasting. There are many wineries close by and about half a mile apart all around the lake. We also found a local brewery “Climbing Bines” just up the road and a grocery store nearby where there were plenty of vegan options. Everyone we met was super friendly! We did a little kayaking with the kayaks available with the rental and took a little hike on the gorge in the nearby Watkins Glen State Park. The owners, Jim and Susan were hospitable and quick to respond. It was obvious that they care about their property very much. I would recommend this property to anyone!

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(52 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
'Getg Inn' Comfortable Cozy Lakefront Property-Beautiful View
average rating of 4.7884617 based on 52 reviews
5

Wonderful week!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week here and wished we could have stayed longer! The cottage had everything we needed (and more!) for a wonderful vacation, including great lake views - especially from the rocking chairs on the porch! The interior of the cottage was just beautiful - extremely clean and nicely furnished and decorated. We had so much fun boating on Seneca Lake - which is gorgeous - everyday. And the surrounding area is amazing! The location is perfect - not too far from either Watkins Glen or Geneva. The owners even called us on our second day to make sure we had everything we needed. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to host you and your guests, Lori! We hope to see you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cottage, great location

  • 5 of 5

Spent 2 weeks in this well equipped and well kept cottage. Everything you need is here....and the views are amazing!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Dinvmssapointed, and priced to high, 😕

  • 1 of 5

From the first day, mice poo in kitchen draws, dog hair under kitchen table, bedrooms, and screened in pourch, called Sarah, and she had the exterminator came out that Wed., also should advise, can't swim, do to over load of lake weeds. We had to keep our plates. Silverwear, glasses on the table, hand washed, because dish washer not working properly. Sarah did bring a note of White Resling wine, a d apologized, but we still had mice poo in kit draws, and dog hairs, so I vacuumed, but did not clean up the mouse poo, just wasn't expecting the non clean up, it rely put a damper on the stay, but we made the best of it. Sincerely, Mary Taddeo

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, We sincerely apologize that you were disappointed in your stay. The issues you experienced are not typical. Located in a rural area near the water we take every measure to prevent pest issues within our home and have a monthly pest control service in place. As you mentioned in your review, we immediately notified our extermination service of your findings. We were under the assumption that they were going to clean up and take care of the issue when they arrived at the cottage. Please know how sorry we are that it was not taken care of to your satisfaction. We have since switched companies and feel confident this will not be an problem going forward. The dishwasher and dog hair are two issues that we would have immediately addressed had we been informed during your stay. Our cleaning/maintenance crew take great pride in their work and would have happily stopped down and addressed any short comings. As you can see by the number of 5 star reviews our cottage has received over the years, we are deeply committed to insuring our guests enjoy their stay at our home. We do thank you for your review. The feedback is always valuable and helps us strive to improve the cottage for each guest. Enjoy the rest of your summer and thank you for visiting the Seneca Lake! All the best, The Marino's
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Cottage is exactly as pictured.

  • 5 of 5

When you look at the pictures on Homeaway, that is just what the cottage looks like. The decorating and furnishings are beautiful. It's been well maintained and was a joy to rent. We spent a week there and didn't have any problems. We vacation with our daughter and son in law, so the 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms were a great bonus. This is the first time we had a rental with 2 bathrooms, what an advantage. Although, it was cool during our week, and didn't use the kayak's. We did enjoy the dock and watching the fish.

We usually stay on the East side of Seneca Lake, but after staying on the West side. We are considering changing. This location is close to Penn Yann N.Y. that had a wonderful meat market/bakery (Morgans) and several great restaurants.

This location is only 15 minutes from Geneva or less than 1/2 hour from Watkins. We spend our days at the wineries all around Seneca Lake and at other Finger lake locations. Very convenient location to all of this.

I would highly recommend this rental. The only draw back was it's dirt road, and parking is very limited. Since we were driving an MKZ and our kids had an SUV, it was tight. However, wonderful neighbors allowed us crowd them. And as the ad states there is plenty of parking at the top of the hill for people you invite over.

We would consider renting it again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Unique home with everything you need. Updated and comfortable. Can't get any closer to the lake.

  • 5 of 5

Our family truly enjoyed vacationing at Getg Inn. This uniquely decorated home is exactly what you see in the photos. We enjoyed breakfast on the screened in porch every morning. This is a great base to enjoy all the nearby sites.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place to stay. Very relaxing, and many things to do in the area. We will do this again!

  • 5 of 5

Great experience! Home is very comfortable and charming. Close to many winery & breweries, Watkin's Glen and Geneva!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Finger Lakes Wineries, Watkins Glen, Belhurst Castle, Sampson State Park, Women's Rights Museum, Corning Glass Museum, Ithaca Commons, Shopping, Cornell University, Ithaca College, Hobart & William Smith Colleges, National Lake Trout Derby - Memorial Day Weekend, fishing, swimming, water skiing, wine tasting between wineries: Anthony Road, Miles, Fox Run and Hermann Wiemer/Glenora, biking, boating, boat rentals available at Roy's Marina, Keuka Outlet Trail, Nextel Cup racing at Watkins Glen, Watkins Glen Grand Prix, resting, napping, golfing, Waterloo Premium outlet shopping,

parents weekend at Hobart & William Smith College, Corning Glass

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties