Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great season rates $109/night - stay in an authentic log home !

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Come stay at an authentic log home on Ski Mountain in the exclusive Chalet Village in Gatlinburg. This is a built-from-scratch log home, not a standard home 'converted' to a log home. Not much drywall in this home. Interior construction features exposed log timbers and cedar walls.

The home features a magnificent and unique floor plan. The living area is anchored by a huge stone fireplace. No need to bring or purchase any firewood. We provide free firewood during the season. The space overhead reveals a cathedral ceiling with exposed log timbers. The furniture is updated and exhibits a mountain theme. The sofa converts to a bed providing total sleep accommodations for 8. A 46' LCD widescreen TV is provided in the living area. A staircase winds behind the fireplace leading to a loft overlooking the living area. The loft contains a regulation billiards table.

The master bedroom is also located on the 2nd floor and features a sitting area and a large jetted Jacuzzi oversized tub. All the bedroom furniture is less than 3 years old. Ample windows afford a winter view of the Ski Mountain valley and distant peaks. The master bedroom also contains a large 46' LED TV

Two spacious guest bedrooms are located on the first floor with queen size beds. A guest bedroom with a jetted jacuzzi tub serves these bedrooms All bedrooms contain cable flat screen TV's. The kitchen contains all new major appliances and is equipped with all cooking and eating utensils.

Outside is a spectacular covered porch with a view across Ski Mountain. The porch has rocking chairs for great lounging and socializing. A gas grill is provided. A 4 person hot tub is located on the porch. Next to the home is a sun deck with full patio furniture and seating areas.

This is an amazing home with an incredible layout. Come relax and have a great vacation or weekend getaway !

Keywords: Log Home

More Details

Amenities

Chalet Village Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Jetted jacuzzi tub with tiled walls
    Upstairs bathroom - toilet , shower , Tiled shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Guest bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Flat screen TV, lots of windows
    Guest bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Flatscreen TV, 2 windows
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , Convertibe sofa bed in living room
    Master bedroom - 1 queen , Flatscreen TV, sitting area, jacuzzi tub, large space
  • All bedrooms are spacious with lots of windows. Every bedoom has a TV.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(63 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
36% Complete
1% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Great season rates $109/night - stay in an authentic log home !
average rating of 4.5079365 based on 63 reviews
Toronto, Ontario
5

lovely winter getaway!

  • 5 of 5

very comfortable home!It had everything we needed. Firewood was provided which is not usually done. And we loved the new hot tub ! Roads were well maintained for winter driving. We highly recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location but the cabin was not in good shape. Couldnt get in contact with owner

  • 2 of 5

-Hot tub never worked, tried to get in contact with the owner but nothing.

-Toilet upstairs didn't work properly

-Hole in bottom bathroom floor

-Not enough parking for 8 person cabin

-All pool sticks broken but 1

-Fireplace had burned wood in it from previous guest.

-Wi-Fi did not work half the time

I am not by any means someone that complains about things but the amount of things wrong with the cabin seemed more like a lack of effort taking care of the place then anything else. I would not recommend.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We feel disappointed that Doug was not completely satisfied with his stay. Unfortunately, Doug stayed during some brutally cold weather and this caused our hot tub to fail. In fact, as a result we have arranged to have a brand new one installed and future guests will enjoy a brand new hot tub. We had made several attempts to contact Doug. Could not reach him by phone so we tried to text him several times. He had never mentioned the upstairs toilet issue. We had never had any complaints before or after his stay about it. We also had no report from Doug about any wifi issues. We have never had reports of any wifi issues at this home and suspect that Doug may not know how to use wifi very well. If guests would just let us know during their stay when they have an issue, we can usually resolve it quickly. Mentioning it during a review for the first time is not the way to do things. We are truly sorry the hot tub failed during Doug's stay. If you look at previous reviews, we believe you will agree we strive to maintain a quality property. We thank him for staying with us. Update - a brand new hot tub was installed on January 2nd !
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Wonderful and will stay again

  • 4 of 5

I loved Timberwoods cabin. It was an actual cabin with well seasoned boards in the cabin. It has a pool table available for leisure time. There were 3 bedrooms available with plenty of room and large closet spaces. However I did have a small problem with the hot tub, not sure if it was me or the tub but the owner had someone out there promptly. The cabin has a fireplace with split hardwood available. A gas grill is on the large covered front porch along with 4 rocking chairs. If you are looking for the rustic look and feel in the mountains, then this is the place! I will stay there again. Thanks Steve for the great hospitality!! David Dalton

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to the Smoky Mountains. We wanted to stay close to the park but within limits of a city as we have a toddler who needs to keep busy. The house is situated perfectly. Steve is great and so responsive. The roads and driveway are a bit overwhelming at first but become second nature after a bit. We had a great time, thanks!

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time!! Definitely want to come back!

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Loved our stay!

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was a great place to stay. The location was just right from Gatlinburg.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Steve Baker
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, mandarin
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2018

About Steve Baker

Hi, I am Steve Baker, the owner of Timberwinds. I was born in New Jersey, but have discovered there's no place like Tennessee. I travel quite often, but can always count on great R&R every time I can visit this unique log home in the Smoky Mountains.

Steve Baker purchased this cabin in 1996

Why Steve Baker chose Chalet Village

I have discovered that Gatlinburg is one of the most unique places I have ever been. It borders the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. And it exhibits a mountain character that is preserved in time. My home is located on a mountainside in the city limits called Chalet Village. This village contains hundreds of unique chalets and log homes. Every home is unique in its design. This has been the perfect area to own a home

Map

Nearest Airport
48 Miles
McGee Tyson Airport (Knoxville)
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Gatlinburg Golf Course
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort

Gatlinburg sits on the doorway to the most visited National Park in the US; the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. This authentic historic place has a great mountain personality and is greatly influenced by European alpine history

However, although it maintains its quaint mountain charm this town of 3,000 residents often swells to 20,000 people who come to enjoy attractions and leisure amenities that rival large tourist destinations. It is part of the Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge- Sevierville tourist destination, the 7th most popular tourist area in the USA.

Gatlinburg is home to Hard Rock Cafe, TGIF, Corky's BBQ along with some great local restaurants. The largest shark tunnel Aquarium, Ripley's Aquarium is a must see. Gatlinburg is also home to a large craft zone featuring mountain artists, sculpters amd other artisans who have lived in these mountains for generations.

There are zip lines, nearby whitewater rafting, great hiking, golf, outlet mall shopping, and Gatlinburg even has even its own ski resort; Ober Gatlinburg, complete with a tram connecting downtown to the ski resort.

But my favorite attraction is the hundreds of black bears who live in these mountains and at times venture down to stroll along the city streets.

There is no place like Gatlinburg !

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $99 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.