expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Great season rates - stay in an authentic log home with free Netflix !

Chalet Village, Gatlinburg, TN, USA
  • Cabin1800 sqft
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay2 - 5 nights

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Come stay at an authentic log home on Ski Mountain in the exclusive Chalet Village in Gatlinburg. This is a built-from-scratch log home, not a standard home 'converted' to a log home. Not much drywall in this home. Interior construction features exposed log timbers and cedar walls.

The home features a magnificent and unique floor plan. The living area is anchored by a huge stone fireplace. No need to bring or purchase any firewood. We provide free firewood during the season. The space overhead reveals a cathedral ceiling with exposed log timbers. The furniture is updated and exhibits a mountain theme. The sofa converts to a bed providing total sleep accommodations for 8. A 46' LCD widescreen TV is provided in the living area. A staircase winds behind the fireplace leading to a loft overlooking the living area. The loft contains a regulation billiards table.

The master bedroom is also located on the 2nd floor and features a sitting area and a large jetted Jacuzzi oversized tub. All the bedroom furniture is less than 3 years old. Ample windows afford a winter view of the Ski Mountain valley and distant peaks. The master bedroom also contains a large 46' LED TV

Two spacious guest bedrooms are located on the first floor with queen size beds. A guest bedroom with a jetted jacuzzi tub serves these bedrooms All bedrooms contain cable flat screen TV's. The kitchen contains all new major appliances and is equipped with all cooking and eating utensils.

Outside is a spectacular covered porch with a view across Ski Mountain. The porch has rocking chairs for great lounging and socializing. A gas grill is provided. A 4 person hot tub is located on the porch. Next to the home is a sun deck with full patio furniture and seating areas.

This is an amazing home with an incredible layout. Come relax and have a great vacation or weekend getaway !

Keywords: Log Home


Steve Baker

Member Since 2006
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
Response time:
within one hour
english, french, german, spanish, mandarin
Calendar last updated:
Apr 20, 2018
About Steve Baker

Hi, I am Steve Baker, the owner of Timberwinds. I was born in New Jersey, but have discovered there's no place like Tennessee. I travel quite often, but can always count on great R&R every time I can visit this unique log home in the Smoky Mountains.

Steve Baker purchased this Cabin in 1996

Why Steve Baker chose Gatlinburg

I have discovered that Gatlinburg is one of the most unique places I have ever been. It borders the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. And it exhibits a mountain character that is preserved in time. My home is located on a mountainside in the city limits called Chalet Village. This village contains hundreds of unique chalets and log homes. Every home is unique in its design. This has been the perfect area to own a home


    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Hot Tub
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
      • Guest bedroom 1
        1 queen, Flat screen TV, lots of windows
      • Guest bedroom 2
        1 queen, Flatscreen TV, 2 windows
      • Convertible bed(s)
        1 queen, Convertibe sofa bed in living room
      • Master bedroom
        1 queen, Flatscreen TV, sitting area, jacuzzi tub, large space
      • All bedrooms are spacious with lots of windows. Every bedoom has a TV.


      • 2 Bathrooms
      • Downstairs bathroom
        toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, Jetted jacuzzi tub with tiled walls
      • Upstairs bathroom
        toilet, shower, Tiled shower

        Location Type

          • Mountain View


              • Adventure
              • Away From It All
              • Budget
              • Family
              • Romantic
              • Sports & Activities
              • Tourist Attractions


                  • Guests provide their own meals


                      • Linens Provided
                        All linens provided
                      • Air Conditioning
                      • Fireplace
                        Free firewood provided - 1 November - 28 February
                      • Fitness Room / Equipment
                        Available at Owners Clubhouse faciities
                      • Free Long Distance
                      • Hair Dryer
                      • Heating
                      • Internet
                        Free Hi speed cable WiFi
                      • Iron & Board
                      • Clothes Dryer
                      • Living Room
                        Sofa, Loveseat, 46' flatscreen TV
                      • Parking
                        2 vehicles
                      • Parking Off Street
                      • Telephone
                        Unlimited long distance
                      • Towels Provided
                        All towels provided
                      • Washing Machine
                      • Wireless Internet
                      • Wood Fireplace
                        Firewood provided - 1 November - 28 February


                          • Coffee Maker
                            Drip coffeemaker and Keurig
                          • Cooking Utensils
                            Pots, pans, dishes, utencils, cups, glasses, pitchers, casserole pans, cookie sheets
                          • Dishes & Utensils
                          • Freezer
                          • Kitchen
                            Fully stocked
                          • Microwave
                          • Oven
                          • Refrigerator
                          • Stove
                            Glass top stainless steel stove - easy clean up
                          • Toaster


                              • Dining
                              • Dining Area
                              • comfy seating for 6 people


                                  • Books
                                  • DVD Player
                                    Blueray player
                                  • Games
                                    Monoploy and others
                                  • Pool Table
                                  • Satellite / Cable
                                    High Def
                                  • Television
                                    (4) HDTV


                                      • Deck / Patio
                                        Sun deck
                                      • Golf
                                        Gatlinburg Golf course - 10 miles
                                      • Outdoor Grill
                                        Gas grill
                                      • Porch / Veranda
                                        Covered porch
                                      • Ski & Snowboard
                                        Ski Resort is 1/2 mile away
                                      • Tennis
                                        Located at owners association clubhouse


                                          • limited accessibility

                                            Pool / Spa

                                              • Communal Pool
                                                Seasonal, at Owner's Association clubhouse
                                              • Hot Tub
                                                4 person hot tub on covered porch.
                                              • jetted tub
                                                Located in master bedroom and in guest bathroom


                                                  • churches
                                                  • cinemas
                                                  • live theater
                                                  • restaurants
                                                  • theme parks
                                                  • water parks
                                                  • winery tours
                                                  • zoo

                                                    Leisure Activities

                                                      • boating
                                                      • gambling casinos
                                                      • horseback riding
                                                      • miniature golf
                                                      • outlet shopping
                                                      • scenic drives
                                                      • shopping
                                                      • sight seeing
                                                      • walking
                                                      • wildlife viewing

                                                        Local Services & Businesses

                                                          • ATM/bank
                                                          • groceries
                                                          • hospital
                                                          • laundromat
                                                          • medical services

                                                            Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                              • mountain biking
                                                              • cross country skiing
                                                              • fishing
                                                              • fly fishing
                                                              • freshwater fishing
                                                              • golf
                                                              • golf privileges optional
                                                              • hiking
                                                              • ice skating
                                                              • kayaking
                                                              • cycling
                                                              • mountain climbing
                                                              • mountaineering
                                                              • rafting
                                                              • skiing
                                                              • snowboarding
                                                              • swimming
                                                              • tennis
                                                              • water tubing
                                                              • whitewater rafting

                                                                House Rules

                                                                Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                                Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                                Cancellation Policy

                                                                100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                66 Reviews


                                                                Latest reviews

                                                                Perfect location!! Perfect place!!!

                                                                Greg R.

                                                                This is our forth visit to the Smokys. This is the perfect location for adventure in the Smokys and fun in Gatlinburg! The house was perfect for our family and had more things than we needed. Wifi was a huge plus! Brand new hot tub was fantastic. Everything was perfect. Thanks Steve.

                                                                Great location but facilities need some upgrades.

                                                                Cody H.

                                                                We enjoyed our stay but we had a few issues. The upstairs Jacuzzi tub had a leak so we weren’t able to use it for the first two days one of our downstairs rooms had water consistently dripping. Other than the master bedroom mattress, all of the mattresses were extremely worn out to the point where one of our friends slept on the couch. The couches are also covered with duct tape instead of having replaced or fixed cushions. We also came across multiple spots on the floor that have been removed and covered over with carpet. Probably the most disappointing thing was the hot tub. The hot tub never reached anywhere close to the maximum temperature and the jets would turn on and off as they so desired.

                                                                All that being said, the owner was extremely kind and polite with any issue I brought to him and the location to both Gatlinburg and pigeon Forge was awesome!

                                                                Owner's Response:

                                                                We enjoyed hosting Cody and appreciate his comments. Cody's review is a good example of the advice we always provide to guests; reporting problems for the first time in a review does nobody any good. Cody never mentioned anything about hot tub problems. The hot tub was working fine before he arrived and worked fine for the next guest. You can read their reviews to confirm. He mentioned that the hot tub would come on by itself; this is quite normal as that is how the hot tub maintains temperature. There are notices posted next to the hot tub that mention this. We suspect Cody had no idea how to use the hot tub. It is unfortunate he did not contact us about that as we caould have reviewed the hot tub function with him in more detail.

                                                                The mattresses in this home are less than 6 months old. Basically brand new. Unfortunately, we can not control the firmness requirements of each guest and we try to provide medium firmness mattresses

                                                                We try to constantly upgrade the property and will continue to do so as we love hosting guests. Just let us know when you have a problem; we're pretty good at getting them resolved quickly !

                                                                Great girls trip!

                                                                Itza M.

                                                                The cabin and property was wonderful but we did have a few problems. The first night the jacuzzi wasn't up to Temp couldn't use it till late the second night. The owner was pretty fast at getting the maintenance guy out. Then the upstairs restroom was leaking into the downstairs bedroom. Even tho we had these minor problems it is all together a a get place to vacate.

                                                                Owner's Response:

                                                                Itza was a great guest and we enjoyed hosting her. She was very helpful in reporting the hot tub problem right away. We had a tech visit the very next morning and got the hut tub repaired right away. This is a brand new hot tub and we had a few start up bugs. Itza reported the upstairs leak at the end of her stay. The leak was a supply line to the upstairs Jacuzzi tub and we also were able to get it repaired within 24 hours of Itza reporting it. We apologize for the glitches and continue to reinforce the positive reputation we have to respond very quickly to any problem.

                                                                lovely winter getaway!

                                                                very comfortable home!It had everything we needed. Firewood was provided which is not usually done. And we loved the new hot tub ! Roads were well maintained for winter driving. We highly recommend this home.

                                                                Great location but the cabin was not in good shape. Couldnt get in contact with owner

                                                                -Hot tub never worked, tried to get in contact with the owner but nothing.

                                                                -Toilet upstairs didn't work properly

                                                                -Hole in bottom bathroom floor

                                                                -Not enough parking for 8 person cabin

                                                                -All pool sticks broken but 1

                                                                -Fireplace had burned wood in it from previous guest.

                                                                -Wi-Fi did not work half the time

                                                                I am not by any means someone that complains about things but the amount of things wrong with the cabin seemed more like a lack of effort taking care of the place then anything else. I would not recommend.

                                                                Owner's Response:

                                                                We feel disappointed that Doug was not completely satisfied with his stay. Unfortunately, Doug stayed during some brutally cold weather and this caused our hot tub to fail. In fact, as a result we have arranged to have a brand new one installed and future guests will enjoy a brand new hot tub. We had made several attempts to contact Doug. Could not reach him by phone so we tried to text him several times. He had never mentioned the upstairs toilet issue. We had never had any complaints before or after his stay about it. We also had no report from Doug about any wifi issues. We have never had reports of any wifi issues at this home and suspect that Doug may not know how to use wifi very well. If guests would just let us know during their stay when they have an issue, we can usually resolve it quickly. Mentioning it during a review for the first time is not the way to do things.

                                                                We are truly sorry the hot tub failed during Doug's stay. If you look at previous reviews, we believe you will agree we strive to maintain a quality property. We thank him for staying with us.

                                                                Update - a brand new hot tub was installed on January 2nd !

                                                                Wonderful and will stay again

                                                                David D.

                                                                I loved Timberwoods cabin. It was an actual cabin with well seasoned boards in the cabin. It has a pool table available for leisure time. There were 3 bedrooms available with plenty of room and large closet spaces. However I did have a small problem with the hot tub, not sure if it was me or the tub but the owner had someone out there promptly. The cabin has a fireplace with split hardwood available. A gas grill is on the large covered front porch along with 4 rocking chairs. If you are looking for the rustic look and feel in the mountains, then this is the place! I will stay there again. Thanks Steve for the great hospitality!! David Dalton


                                                                Chalet Village, Gatlinburg, TN, USA

                                                                Gatlinburg sits on the doorway to the most visited National Park in the US; the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. This authentic historic place has a great mountain personality and is greatly influenced by European alpine history However, although it maintains its quaint mountain charm this town of 3,000 residents often swells to 20,000 people who come to enjoy attractions and leisure amenities that rival large tourist destinations. It is part of the Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge- Sevierville tourist destination, the 7th most popular tourist area in the USA. Gatlinburg is home to Hard Rock Cafe, TGIF, Corky's BBQ along with some great local restaurants. The largest shark tunnel Aquarium, Ripley's Aquarium is a must see. Gatlinburg is also home to a large craft zone featuring mountain artists, sculpters amd other artisans who have lived in these mountains for generations. There are zip lines, nearby whitewater rafting, great hiking, golf, outlet mall shopping, and Gatlinburg even has even its own ski resort; Ober Gatlinburg, complete with a tram connecting downtown to the ski resort. But my favorite attraction is the hundreds of black bears who live in these mountains and at times venture down to stroll along the city streets. There is no place like Gatlinburg !

                                                                Rates & Availability

                                                                Additional information about rental rates

                                                                Cleaning Fee
                                                                Tax Rate
                                                                66 Reviews
                                                                Excellent 4.5/5
                                                                Premier Partner
                                                                Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                Instant Confirmation
                                                                For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                Property # 205317