Located in Durango, this vacation home is in the mountains. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Perins Peak State Wildlife Area and Animas River, while Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Animas Museum are cultural highlights. James Ranch and The Powerhouse are also worth visiting. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or check out other outdoor activities such as sledding and snowmobiling.
Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad - 20 min drive - 25.4 km
Purgatory Resort - 25 min drive - 26.8 km
Getting around
Durango Narrow Gauge Railroad Station - 18 min drive
Durango, CO (AMK-Animas Air Park) - 28 min drive
Restaurants
Hermosa Creek Grill - 4 min drive
Bar D Chuckwagon - 9 min drive
Mineshaft Bar & Grill - 7 min drive
James Ranch Grill - 17 min walk
Prospector - 10 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Cozy Country Chalet Between Downtown & Ski Resort pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 1 total) with a maximum weight of up to 50 lbs per pet. Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Cozy Country Chalet Between Downtown & Ski Resort?
As of Oct 30, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Cozy Country Chalet Between Downtown & Ski Resort on Oct 31, 2026 start from $400, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking?
Onsite parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Cozy Country Chalet Between Downtown & Ski Resort?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Cozy Country Chalet Between Downtown & Ski Resort?
Check-out is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Cozy Country Chalet Between Downtown & Ski Resort located?
Situated in the mountains, this vacation home is within 1 mi (2 km) of Animas River and James Ranch. Durango Hot Springs Spa and Dalton Ranch Golf Club are also within 6 mi (10 km).
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
My family had an amazing stay here. The property is beautiful and clean ,well maintained. Had everything we needed. We stay in Durango often and this is my favorite property so far. Just the cutest place . Thank you for such a wonderful stay. We did not have our dog with us this time but it is set up for a pet and would be perfect. Thank you again .
Couldn't have been happier with our VRBO and with the host. Nice and clean and full equipped for enjoyment. Super Deck looked out onto gorgeous Mountain scenery and access to Durango was great. I highly recommend this site and the host.
Great relaxing getaway - near Colorado Timberline Academy
We were bringing my kiddo back from Spring Break and decided to stay an extra night and found this cute little A-frame not even 1/2 mile down the road. Super convenient, easy to find and Vita was awesome with communication.
It was perfect for our short stay in the area. Comfortable bed and a kitchen with all the basics. Quiet with the sound of a creek off in the distance with horses grazing in view.
Good value for the price. Easy drive also to Silverton & Ouray as a day trip.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2020
Response from VrboOwner on Oct 23, 2020
Thank you Rick. It was a pleasure to host you. Come again any time!
All the best,
Vita
Cute property located in a very convenient area. It was an easy drive to Durango or venturing up the million dollar highway toward Ouray. Great communication with Vita. She was very accommodating. Sitting out on the front porch you had an amazing view of the mountains along with the wildlife. Great property for a Colorado getaway.
This was a great stay! Very close to downtown Durango. The property manager was very helpful, and all our questions were answered in a timely manner. Super host!
We highly recommend the property to anyone interested in visiting this beautiful area of Colorado. Most properties do not accept dogs but in this property we were able to bring our service dog.
Overall, very cute and cozy home! The beds were very comfortable. We even heard an elk call while we were there! It was very dark when we arrived late at night. Some outdoor lighting would have been helpful but we used our phone flashlights. The electrical outlet in the bathroom didn’t work but other than that, we really enjoyed the home. It was easy to find, had all amenities we needed and the owner was very responsive to our concerns. Thank you for sharing your home with us!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Ken B.
Sep 13, 2021
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Quaint cabin
If you are looking for a rustic getaway, this is the place for you. I emplore you, please don't go in summer or early fall. We booked our trip I early Sept. When we arrived the spiders were everywhere and the temp in the cabin was over 90 degrees. There is no ac in this cabin. Management response was we can bring you some fans. We were there 2 hours and left. 4 day trip spent in a hotel, money was wasted due to cancelation policy. Be aware before you book
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Sep 20, 2021
Ken - Our home is located in the mountains where the need for air conditioning is quite rare. In fact, the night you arrived the temp dropped down into the 50’s. In regards to the cancellation policy. Ours is quite flexible. We offer a full refund within days of check in. And I even stated that if you cancelled the remainder of your booking with VRBO and I could rebook your dates, which probably would have happened, since we are usually fully booked, I would have refunded you for those days. I even reached out to VRBO to have them contact you. You never cancelled. I’m sorry that you were not happy.
Sweltering hot, comforter smelled of BO, bad experience
Cabin was sweltering, small air conditioner, no cross ventilation. We have stayed in cabins in CO before without air conditioning that had screens on windows and fans with no problem - this was not the case. Comforter smelled strongly of BO. 1/2 door from kitchen into bathroom. Electric in bathroom didn't work. stayed 1 night & checked out. Host won't refund money.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 29, 2024
Robert and his wife Susan refused any and all correspondence via VRBO. After numerous attempts to get them to cancel, they refused and have subsequently filed a charge back for their entire stay. They blocked my calendar for a week and I have not been paid. Ironic that my “comforter smelled” (it does not) while it was “sweltering” in our home, that happened to have an air conditioner installed in the bedroom. Why would you want to use a comforter if it was so hot you could not bear the heat? We also have several fans in our cabin. Electricity works perfectly. They enjoyed their stay for the night and left without paying me. Worst guest I have ever encountered! Would not host again nor would I ever recommend them to any other host.
This property is exactly as advertised. It is situated between Purgatory ski resort and Durango so is VERY accessible to both. If I were a skier, this place is perfect. It is right on the hwy so when outside you will hear the traffic, but you will also get to see the train-how cool is that?! The A frame we stayed in is small so even though it sleeps 4, it would be tough to hang out with 4 people if that is your intention. For the two of us, it was perfect. The host is the best communicator ever and will go out of her way to make sure your needs are met. She even took care of pet by leaving a blanket for her. The place was also so clean when we arrived. Thanks so much for everything.