Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Riverfront Wilderness Lodge: Placidmere Lodge

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Home, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

PLACIDMERE LODGE

*******SPECIAL ISN'T A STRONG ENOUGH WORD*******

For the 5 weeks between October 15 and November 18, we're offering special rates lower than our normal base rate. Experience Placidmere and Lake Placid for less than previously possible!

This Lake Placid home, built in 2004, is located only two miles from the village of Lake Placid, NY, but it is surrounded by hundreds of acres of 'forever wild' forest and is located directly on the Chubb River. You can paddle or fish the Chubb from two supplied canoes or simply enjoy the serenity and beauty of the river, forest and mountains after a bustling day sightseeing, on one of the nearby lakes, or in the village. The lodge sleeps 8 people very comfortably.

The great room overlooks the wilderness and the Chubb River, and has a wonderful fireplace. Also on the ground floor are a second master bedroom with queen size bed, with a full bathroom that is shared with the great room and downstairs guests, a large designer kitchen with eat-in area and a fireplace of its own, and a beautiful screened-in porch for gatherings and morning coffee The front porch runs the entire length of the house overlooking the river. A new fire pit is halfway between the river and the front porch.

The second floor features a loft with two sets of double-bed bunk beds, sleeping four. The master bedroom, also upstairs, features a queen size bed and a screen porch overlooking the river and mountains beyond. The master bathroom, with a whirlpool tub, is shared with the loft.

In the finished basement is a full-size pool table, table games and a wall-mounted 46' flat screen television with cable, a Blu-ray player and a Nintendo Wii. High-speed wireless internet access is provided in the property. Powered speakers that may be plugged into your computer or iPod are located in the great room. There is also a detached one-car garage only a few feet from the cabin.

This is a fabulous getaway for someone who loves the outdoors and likes having a peaceful environment, yet it is only eight minutes to the village of Lake Placid. Great snowshoeing and cross-country skiing in the winter and hiking in the summer. Enjoy the best of both worlds in a true Adirondack setting.

PLEASE NOTE: We have never asked our guests for a 'review' but recently we added some comments from our guestbook . In our guests' own words, these can be found by clicking the 'Owner Info' tab and scrolling to the bottom that section.

Keywords: Lodge

More Details

Owner
Elizabeth Barrett
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 1, 2017

About Elizabeth Barrett

I'm a native of Lake Placid and my family still lives there. I built the cabin in 2004 on land located along the Chubb that has been in my family since the 50's. I now live in Texas with my children but we make it back 'home' several times a year!' There is something very special about Placidmere Lodge. Home to both the the 1980 AND the 1932 Winter Olympics, Lake Placid offers skiing, skating and snowshoeing in the winter, and mountain climbing, hiking, canoeing, fishing -- basically it's a paradise for outdoor activities.

Elizabeth Barrett purchased this house in 2004

Why Elizabeth Barrett chose Adirondack Mountains

Guests have described it as if you are in a treehouse. It is uniquely remote while being 7 minutes from Main Street, Lake Placid. A true getaway in a family lodge, catering to a discerning clientele.

What makes this house unique

This Lake Placid lodge is located only two miles from the village of Lake Placid, NY, but it is surrounded by hundreds of acres of 'forever wild' forest and is located directly on the Chubb River. You can paddle or fish the Chubb from two supplied canoes or simply enjoy the serenity and beauty of the river, forest and mountains after a bustling day sightseeing, on one of the nearby lakes, or in the village. This is a fabulous getaway for someone who loves the outdoors and likes having a peaceful environment.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are having a wonderful time! The weather has been perfect and the cabin is terrific! We love it here! -- June 2016
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 13

Amenities

Lake Placid House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 double
  • Queen (2) Double (4)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Riverfront Wilderness Lodge: Placidmere Lodge
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 26 reviews
5

Great tranquil mountain retreat.

  • 5 of 5

Easy access to lake placid. We had a wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

LOVED IT!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family ( two adults, four girls and 1 boy) and I just returned from an excellent vacation at Placidmere. The house is gorgeous. But, the view.... is priceless. The extensive property is picturesque and full of sweeping landscapes. William Wordsworth wouldn't even be able to describe the views adequately in writing, so I won't try.

The kitchen is stocked well with all those little things you forget to bring. There's a maple syrup operation going on at the end of the driveway, so we were very disappointed when we didn't find REAL maple syrup in the kitchen (Ha! I'm kidding).

The living room is HEAVEN and exactly what we needed after an awesome day of skiing. A perfect view and a warm fire.

Every bed in the house has a comfy mattress and warm blankets. The bed in the Master bedroom was

so comfortable I slept like a rock. Our teenage daughters were in the bunk room, They LOVED IT. YES, teenage girls had nothing to complain about.

The teenagers played pool in the game room all night. Shut the door to the game room and you can not hear them yell and cheer. It was wonderful!

There was a small leak in the kitchen, I called the owners to let them know at 9pm. Within 45 minutes there was a plumber standing at the door. I just read a review that said Phil the owner wasn't responsive. For us, he had Chris the Plumber out of bed and fixing the leak at 10pm. Which was absolutely not necessary. However, Phil insisted, he wanted our stay to be perfect. And it was.

We have already booked again.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Fixated on rodents - my travel is none of their concern

  • 1 of 5

I tossed back and forth about writing a review; in the end I do not want any one else to experience what we did in any level. We arrived at ten pm to find the smell of garbage in the kitchen, white smears and stains on the bedroom comforter and stained sheets. There was trash left by the table and a contact lens smeared on the night stand. I sent an email to the manager asking if they were ready for us. Our reservation was booked over 48 hours prior. The manager responded with: I don't know what the hell is going on to be honest with you. The housekeeper came the next morning and filled me in on the owner being aware that bedding was badly stained and in need of repair. She also acknowledged the smell of rodents in the upstairs bedroom and said she was sorry. I wrote the manager stating we could not stay in the upstairs bedroom due to the bad odor and the rodent traps (one directly under the head of the bed). He acknowledged the trap being left was unacceptable but due to my short notice booking no one removed it. He also acknowledged being aware of a 'faint odor' in the room, which I stated to be more than faint- revloting, rather. I asked the housekeeper about cleaning fridge and she said the owner wants all things kept. There is alcohol and liquor in the home - unlocked. When I stated this was an issue for is the manager told me I should have told him and he would have removed of promptly. There was no acknowledgement of the danger and inconsideration. There were several live rodent traps spread around the home. When I explained why we had no other place to go (distance we travelled) and why we had to stay the manager responded with: I don't see how your travel distance has anything to do with us. I asked for a partial refund due to having to clean dishes and linens that were dirty and full of pet hair. I received rude replies. The landscape is lovely. The downstairs bathroom is moldy, and the loft area is coated in dirt. The basement has a dirty futon to watch TV on and a pool table. This is not a five hundred dollar to a thousand dollar a night property. This is not a three hundred dollar a night property and the management is so below par even if the home was clean -- it wouldn't be worth the trouble. I expect a character revealing response to this review by the manager... In short if youd like to sleep above a mouse trap and smell their urine and be blamed for it, or sit and eat on dog hair-- this place is for you. To you now, Phil.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Placidmere Lodge continues to offer our guests the highest of standards under which we have operated since 2004. This review misrepresents almost areas that are addressed, with the exception of some small field mouse traps (None have been caught in 3 months!). Placidmere was, and is in stellar condition! We wish this renter all the best in her future travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
Astoria, NY
5

Wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect spot for a group of friends/couples in their 30s. We came up to hike Algonquin peak and spend some time in Lake Placid and this was an ideal location for both. Thanks for having us - we hope to be back soon.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Delaware
5

Inviting, family friendly, beautiful, pleasant, laid back and unpretentious!

  • 5 of 5

If Placidmere was a person and not a place we would describe its personality as: inviting, family friendly, beautiful, pleasant, laid back and unpretentious! From the moment we entered through the front door, we felt at home. The location and setting was perfect…a winter wonderland! We enjoyed skiing, skating, snowmobiling and more. Had some amazing meals and craft beers. As our time here comes to an end, our wonderful memories will last forever. Thank you for sharing this incredible place with us.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Pittsburgh
5

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids, age 11 & 8) looooved this house.

  • 5 of 5

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids, age 11 & 8) looooved this house. We did a lot of relaxing & reading & playing games. We brought outdoor movie equipment and the back yard was the perfect spot to set up. We watched videos of when we were all young and a movie. We enjoyed your screened-in porches and big kitchen. Most of all, we enjoyed the back porch. Great for lingering over a coffee and a good book. We are dreaming about being here in the winter now! Thanks for making it a great home!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Lisa G's
"Great patio overlooking the Mill Pond dam. Wonderful wings, and a fun local atmosphere. Al..."
Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
"A local classic, and home of the famous Ubu Beer! Great burgers and a great view overlookin..."
The Cottage Restaurant
"A must-stop for lunch or cocktails. Directly located on Mirror Lake with a stunning view of..."
Nearest Airport
150 Miles
Albany, NY
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Lisa G's
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Essex
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Lisa G's
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping $200
Tax Rate 3.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties