Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful PONO KAI Condo!! KAUAI's BEST RATE!! 2bd2bth Washer/Dryer

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

WHAT A DEAL FOR THIS CONDO!!!

Compare your options:

Option 1: This Beautiful Pono Kai Condo steps from the ocean and the beach!! With full kitchen, dining room, living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, washer/dryer, private patio, pool, hot tub, spa, tennis, exercise room, volleyball, BBQ grills, free WiFi, 3 mile bike path along ocean, FREE parking, etc etc.

OR

Option 2: A HOTEL Room: $300-400 for a tiny room, no kitchen, one tiny bathroom, crowded hallways, tiny fridge with expensive food, no living room.....and expensive parking, etc.

IT'S A NO BRAINER!! Book NOW!! We have 3 beautiful condos to choose from at amazing rates!!

(The other two are VRBO Listing #256999 and VRBO Listing #114754)

This amazing garden-oceanview, 1200 square foot, ground floor, two-bedroom, two-bath condo is on what many consider 'the finest family beach on Kauai'. E109 in E Building. Just steps from the pool and beach, this condominium provides the best location for island fun. LARGER GROUP?? RENT ALL 3!!!

No stairs to climb, just exit the lanai to the beach or stroll thru the beautifully manicure gardens to the pool, tennis courts, croquet court, barbecue/picnic areas, volleyball,fitness facility, and shuffle board. Take a short walk through historic Kapaa town for great island shopping, food, and recreation.

This condo comfortably sleeps six people. The master bedroom has a king-size bed, private bathroom, plus a flat screen TV. The second bedroom has a queen-size bed and the living room has two full size (double)futons plus a flat screen TV, DVD & stereo system. The kitchen is fully equipped with dishes, pans, dishwasher, coffee maker, and microwave with a comfortable dining room. The owner has recently upgraded the Condo with NEW CABINETS and counter tops. Pack N Play and and assortment of Beach Toys are also provided.

THIS CONDO HAS ITS OWN WASHER/DRYER!!! Ground-floor lanai makes easy coming and going and the entertainment center provides cable TV, DVD and a stereo. Basic internet access in the condo is free for emails. For more robust internet usage (large files) you can upgrade the free service on a daily or weekly rate. (Building E)

No Refrigeration (A/C) in this condo. Ceiling fans in Kitchen, Living Room, and both Bedrooms for additional air circulation. Authentic Hawaiian living.

Local Points Of Interest

* Coconut Marketplace

* Wailua Golf Course

* Lihue

* Kilauea Lighthouse

* Poipu Beach

* Spouting Horn

* National Tropical Botanical Gardens

* Waimea Canyon State Park

* Lihue Airport (LIH): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 8 miles.

CHECK OUT THE GUEST COMMENTS BELOW FOR REFERENCES.

PLEASE EMAIL FOR AVAILABILITY!!! Phone calls may not be returned as promptly as desired.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Bryan
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Bryan

We have seven children and 15 grandchildren. Farrah and Rachel (our daughters) manage the rentals for us and will do everything possible to make your Kauai visit a wonderful experience.

Bryan purchased this condo in 2004

Why Bryan chose Coconut Coast

We love Kauai and especially Kapaa and Pono Kai. Our kids love to come vacation here year after year. We always find something new on the island. There are truly 101 things to do!!! We have purchased and furnished THREE beautiful condos for rental and personal use.

What makes this condo unique

The ocean and beach are just steps away. The grounds are meticulously manicured. The 5 mile biking/walking path goes in front of our condo and up and down the island for awesome morning and evening rides/walks. The condo is centrally located on the island (Kapaa) so driving time is minimized. Great restaurants and activities abound all over and we can mingle with the locals and not feel stampeded by tourists. Perfect Hawaiian experience.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Bryan-I don't even know how to begin to tell you what a wonderful time we had in Hawaii I don't think I told you before, but the purpose of the trip was to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Your condo is so wonderful and we all agreed that Kauai was the favorite island of the two. We covered most all of the island, and were treated to some very special activities and sites. The cousin of our friend lives in Waimea, and she spent a day showing us things the average tourist would never have seen. We also took the helicopter tour and that was a highlight! We sure found it to be very comfortable and perfectly located. I could go on, but I really just wanted to thank you for allowing us to make Kauai such a memorable trip for us. Our best, Duane and Nardi Jones
Oct 2004
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Kapaa Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village ...
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Washer/Dryer
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Private Bathroom. Flat screen TV.
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Walking Distance to Boutique Shopping, Dining

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Beautiful PONO KAI Condo!! KAUAI's BEST RATE!! 2bd2bth Washer/Dryer
average rating of 4.489362 based on 48 reviews
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5

The Owner is the coolest! Great location and facility.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for you review. Bryan/Arden
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Windsor CA
4

Comfortable and convenient

  • 4 of 5

The Pono Kai property was convenient for grocery shopping, restaurants and the beach. The property grounds were nicely maintained and the pool and hot tub clean. The condo was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. We appreciated having coolers and boogie boards to use.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for you kind remarks and please come and visit us again soon. Mahalo, Bryan and Arden
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice condo, very conveniently located!

  • 4 of 5

The condo was the perfect size for our party of 6 - it was clean, spacious, and had plenty of linens/beach towels for us all. We loved the location, minutes from the beach, and walking distance to grocery, restaurants and most importantly shave ice! The toys, gear, beach chairs, coolers etc. were the perfect addition to spend a day at the beach!

Apart from a few minor issues -- high pitched whistling from master bathroom pretty much all day (which we got around by using a noise machine at night), and some trouble opening and closing the patio screen door, the condo worked out well for us.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us. We hope you visit us again soon. Bryan and Arden
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great condo!

  • 4 of 5

Great condo at Pono Kai, we visit twice a year and always stay here. Condo is well equipped and has some beach gear to use also. We will be staying again for sure. Thanks Bryan!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not fit for leasing

  • 2 of 5

We arrived at this condo on April 30th and noticed that the apartment had not been clean properly.

The sheets on the king size bed had yellow and green stains while one of the pillows was stained with blood.

Multiple windows could not be locked if not forced into place. One of them simply had no lock.

Back patio door had a torn out screen and both the glass and screen patio doors could not be locked or barely moved because of broken rollers, accumulation of rust and a split frame on the glass door.

Multiple electrical outlets had no power forcing us to chose between the coffee machine, toaster, and microwave.

Following my email to the owner, Larry, the local manager, called and showed up to repair the screen and assess the various issues.

Larry acknowledged that this was not acceptable and promised to come back on the second day to make things right.

We got new bed sheets and pillows for both beds on the second day.

A contractor came to clean the room a second time and, funny thing, was able to access the condo while I was in the shower since the patio door could not be locked.

Later in the day, another contractor came in to fix the patio door by changing the lock and repairing the disconnected frame.

On the third day, the door contractor came again to change the rollers on the screen door. That screen door later broke again when a piece of rusted steel fell apart and kept interfering with the glass door. We had to take the screen door out to be able to operate the glass door properly. Good thing there’s no Zika on the island.

When we left, there was still no lock on one of the bedroom window with a screen hanging from a second window.

The owner of this condo doesn’t care to maintain this unit in a decent condition for leasing. All those problems should have been fixed prior to our arrival. I shouldn’t have had to deal with any of this and witness all of these repairs while I was on vacation.

On the second day, I asked for a compensation and let the owner know that we might also simply leave this disappointing condo. We couldn’t find any condo available in Kapaa in the same price range and had to stay. The owner offered that we talk about the compensation once our vacations were over. His latest email mentioned that we should have a call to discuss what could be done to “make things right”.

I haven’t followed up on his invitation and instead chose not to ask for a compensation to preserve my credibility for this review.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bedding was replaced the night the guest arrived, new bedding and repairs to the screen door the next morning. That same day we offered a refund of ALL their money if they found a more suitable condo, they responded: "Bryan, The door is now fixed, the place has been cleaned, the bedsheets changed, pillows are new and comfortable so we will stay. That said, I shouldn't have had to ask for any of this and a compensation would be appreciated. Patrick" We didn't hear back until this review. (We also informed them of the condo safe for their valuables.) We reached out after their visit: "Patrick, I haven't forgotten your issues with our condo. Now that you have checked out, please get settled back home and then contact me and let us make things right with you and your family, ..... We appreciate that you decided to stay with us and we hope you had a great time as our guest on Kauai. We love it there!!! I look forward to speaking with you. Thanks and have a safe travel home. Mahalo!!" The issues were resolved quickly - first day. AND, although they refused a refund when offered the second day and decided to stay after the issues were resolved, we unilaterally compensated them for the inconvenience after they arrived home.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful Resort!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second time to stay at Pono Kai, we love the location, and amenities offered. The unit we stayed in was nice and had absolutely everything you would want. It was nice to also have everything you would need at the beach, umbrella, chairs, coolers, snorkeling gear, beach bags, beach towels...you name it, it's there for you to use. The pool and hot tub are nice and we love playing shuffle board. Check in is easy and friendly staff.

There are a couple maintenance issues that need taken care of. The toilet in the master bath whistles...randomly, sometimes for hours during the night and it keeps you awake. The dryer makes a loud squeaking noise after it's been going for awhile. Both noise get annoying. The sliding glass door needs to be fixed so it can be opened easy so you don't feel like your wrestling to get it to open.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Andrea for your suggestions. We are dealing with them. The washer was repaired before your stay, and we had the dryer checked after your stay and the repairman recommended a rebuild. We are doing that now. We truly appreciate the feedback from our guests so their stay is without incident. Please stay with us again soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Lihue
Nearest Barpub
Kapaa Town
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Wialua Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
Olympic Cafe
Nearest Beach
Pono Kai
Car: recommended

Beautiful PONO KAI RESORT - Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $165
Damage Insurance $59

Email for last minute bookings as we do have occasional cancellations. Cancellation Policy: If a confirmed reservation is cancelled or transferred for any reason, you will forfeit all monies paid, unless the property is re-rented for the same time period for an equal or greater value. (See Rental Agmt.for additional provisions)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.