check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Mountain & Lake Views

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Come stay in this custom built Arts & Crafts home in the gated community of Laurel Ridge. Enjoy the scenic mountain views from the front and rear of the home, as well as water views of the beautiful Asheville watershed.

The home is 3500+ feet up with total privacy. The home is unique in that it also has a yard, perfect for children and adults alike to enjoy marshmallow roasts and cookouts. The home is well suited for families with an eat-in kitchen, a large family room for movies with a gas fireplace, a VCR in the kids bunk room with a kids movie library. Enjoy table tennis in the recreation room downstairs. The master suite on the main floor has a king bed, walk in closet and a TV. The second bedroom upstairs is also furnished with a king bed, TV and walk in closet. The kids suite is set up with a twin over full bunk bed and a single bed, two large bean bag chairs and a walk in closet. A fourth bedroom, located by rec room, houses a king bed and a full bath with tub/shower is across the hall.

Minutes to Montreat where trails are open to the public. Take a picnic and enjoy all types of trails. 15 minutes to the Blue Ridge Parkway, 15 minutes to Asheville. Enjoy horse-back riding located approximately 30 minutes away, as well as white water rafting nearby.

Keywords: Mountain Views, lake views, mountain house, retreat, hiking, private, waterfall, montreat trails, luxury, secluded, scenic, furnished, golf, gated

More Details

Owner
Andrea Bell
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
November 6, 2016

Why Andrea Bell chose Black Mountain

It all began as a quick weekend mountain vacation with our three children. We fell in love with the simplicity of a mountain vacation. No fuss, no schedules. After taking numerous vacations to the NC mountains and renting homes in all different areas with a variety of views, we finally visited Black Mountain and fell in love. The charm is the town of Black Mountain itself and its' proximity to the fine dining and shopping in Asheville, the numerous outdoor activities available and the ease of coming and going with easy access from I-40. It was a perfect fit.

What makes this house unique

We discovered Laurel Ridge, a gated community that still felt like a retreat. We decided to purchase this home because it offered the views we had fallen in love with, but also a yard where our children could run and play and we could host cookouts and marshmallow roasts galore! It had it all. The home has a rustic stone fireplace, wood floors and tongue/groove wood ceilings that give that mountain feel to our vacations. We love coming at all different times of the year, enjoying horseback riding, white water rafting, hiking, scenic leaf changes and cool, crisp weather. As high as we are, the temperature is usually 5-10 degrees cooler than the town area!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you very much for your wonderful property. It was the perfect setting for a great weekend. Thank you for helping us create a lifetime of memories for our families
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Mountain & Lake Views
average rating of 4.5 based on 21 reviews
5

A perfect holiday getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Although arriving at night and feeling a bit concerned about the trek up and down the long and winding road to the villa, we were finally met with a sweet surprise! The vacation home met all of our mountain retreat expectations! Our family of nine enjoyed a spacious, modern, yet cozy vacation home for the Thanksgiving holiday. The kitchen was large and updated, with most everything we needed for a lot of cooking! We also enjoyed the beautiful living area with stone fireplace, large back porch with spectacular mountain and lake view, four nice sized bedrooms, and game room and ping pong table in the basement. As an added treat, we awoke the first morning to a beautiful sunrise, and enjoyed perfect weather! The quaint little town of Black Mountain was a reasonable drive, and nature trails were also nearby for some much needed exercise! For those who truly want a relaxing getaway from noise and distractions, this place is your answer!

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice house, but...

  • 3 of 5

Pros: Nice, well appointed home. Nice view off the large deck. Secluded, private and quiet.

Cons: management slow to respond to timely questions. For example, the code to the entrance gate was wrong and they didn't respond for 12 hours. Basement was VERY musty smelling. (Borderline unusable as a bedroom). No working phone or wifi- not that you go on vacation to spend time on electronic devices, but it was inconvenient to be without both all of the time. (There is wifi but it would only support 1 device intermittently). The towels need to be replaced.

If you stay here, visit the Hopey & Co. grocery. Great prices and large local craft beer selection. Also, if using a navigation app to find the house, do not use waze as it was unable to find the house. Google worked perfectly.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Danville, AL
5

This is a beautiful, comfortable home in a very lush, secluded area.

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 8 adults enjoyed a lovely week here. There were enough rooms that we had a quite escape when needed, but common areas where we could all enjoy being together. I loved that all could be in the kitchen working and cooking and then sit around the table together. The back porch was our favorite with plenty of chairs and a gorgeous view. The hammock on the back porch was my favorite and was perfect for one or two people.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Family Fun

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely time at the Laurel Ridge property over the 4th of July. The house was well-stocked with sheets, towels and blankets and had a well-equipped kitchen. The covered back porch was extremely pleasant and had such a marvelous view! We enjoyed having a ping-pong tournament in the garage. The microwave was broken but the owner is having it repaired. The basement was a bit musty, but improved when we emptied and turned on the dehumidifier. We received quick answers from the owner to any questions that we had and really appreciate them sharing their beautiful mountain home with us. We very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful to hear that you all enjoyed your stay! I am jealous and trying to get some time off this summer to go! We appreciate your patience with the microwave. We had just had it serviced the week before your arrival,, but our cleaning company called and told us again that it wasn't working. We will be replacing the unit. We welcome you back again any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Better than expected

  • 5 of 5

We had an absolute great time. What I liked best about the property was its location relative to Black Mountain. The town is close enough for convenience of dining and shopping yet you feel miles away while at the cabin. The drive once you turn into the gates is awesome. The home is nicer than the pictures depict. We stayed in June and the weather was perfect! Be advised, the locals turn the lights out at 8:00 p.m. so eat early!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So good to hear you enjoyed the home! We welcome you back any time for another stay! Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rockledge, FL
3

Last minute getaway

  • 3 of 5

As we leave this home I have such mixed feelings. This is a beautiful home, but is well lived in. Understanding it is a rental, it is beat up a bit to much. It needs a good overhaul and cleaning. It is very dusty. None of the fans work. Carpets stained. Large alive and dead ants every where. Again it is the middle of the woods, but all the dead ones were still in the corners of all the rooms. Cleaning person could have vacuumed them up. Again it is a beautiful home.... Just needs to be tended to.

Wireless did not work at all. Which we were fine with. Master bedroom and living room tv's were connected. So you had to watch the some show. There were 3 other tv's not sure about those. They were in the other bedrooms we did not use.

No window coverings on any bedroom windows. I can not sleep even in the woods without the windows covered. Being a rental you need to tend to all.

We did see bear in the back yard and bunny rabbits. The community had a bunch of wild turkey and deer. A bear crossed the road in front of us once too.

If this home was tended to it would be well worth the stay, and we would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We want you and all of our guests to know that the home is cleaned thoroughly after each guest stay. Sometimes, however, with even just a day or two in between, there can be pests. We have a service with Terminix, and it obviously works by evidence of the dead bugs, but as you said, the home is in the mountains on 3 acres, and yes, there are critters! Our carpets too are cleaned 2-3 times a year. The fans have been recalled due to a faulty part, and we are in the process of replacing those. In the meantime, we will see if the cleaner can reach them to dust. Again, we appreciate all the feedback and are glad you enjoyed the stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Laurel Ridge House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$295
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 8.0%

Holiday weekends including Easter, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas have higher daily rates of $325/night. Make inquiry for weekly rates inclusive of a Holiday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Laurel Ridge House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , powder room
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Twin over full bunk and separate twin bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Loft - 2 twin/ single , Twin daybed/ roll out twin trundle
  • King size beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1) Twin over full
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties