check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Glen Lake - Spectacular Dune Views & Complete Privacy!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

The 'Beach House' on Little Glen Lake was built in the early 20's as part of the old 'Oasis Resort', one of the early resorts that used to operate around the lake. Originally a boathouse, It was converted to a cottage sometime in the late 30's. In 1996 we completely gutted the original building and rebuilt it as a private guest cottage. Surrounded by extensive decks and a shaded private outdoor dining area the cottage sits on a very private setting on the north shore of Little Glen Lake with spectacular views of the surrounding hills, the Sleeping Bear Dunes, and fabulous sunsets.

The water is crystal clear with a sandy bottom and is excellent for swimming and is especially nice for small children as it is shallow for over 100' out. You have your own private dock, and a dedicated mooring is available should you bring your own boat.

The south facing deck in front of the cottage has both chaise lounges and adirondack chairs and is perfect for reading, getting a tan or enjoying a beverage. A canoe and 2 kayaks are available for your use. After dark enjoy a fire and smores in your own private firepit.

Keywords: beach front, private,great views, dunes and sunset views.

More Details

Owner
Bob & Joan Hawley
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 13, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Glen Lake - Spectacular Dune Views & Complete Privacy!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
5

Great lake house, great location, awesome owners

  • 5 of 5

Nice house six feet from the shore. Beautiful views inside and out. Fully stocked and perfect lake house for us to have a great family vacation. lots of hours spent in lake and nearby sites at dunes, glen arbor and more. Owners were extremely nice and helpful. They were very proactive in setting up a dock ladder for our little kids and explaining everything. Highly recommended

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wolverine Lake
5

Amazing beach house

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at the beach house for the first time this summer. We had a wonderful time!! The house was perfect and more than we expected. We loved our stay so much we are already booked for next summer.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bloomfield Hills, MI
1

Beware of Innkeeper

  • 1 of 5

We had our worst VRBO experience on this property, mainly because of the owner. After a storm we were left without running water and electricity for 5 days. Four days were supplemented by generator power only. There was no dishwasher, stove/oven, microwave, W/D, second bathroom, and limited electrical outlets. The owner showed no concern for our wellbeing or our ability to care for our 8-month old son in these conditions. While without water he suggested we flush the toilet by filling a bucket with lake water and using that in the tank. We had had enough and packed up the car completely as we had not heard from the owner in several hours and just as we were about to leave he arrived at the property and threatened that if we left ‘it was on us’ and he was not planning to refund or comp us in any way. During that exchange his wife yelled to him to ‘stop talking to them, if they want to leave that’s their problem’. We were also witness to her and her own son exchange heated words in a yelling match over our deck. There was no hesitation to invade our privacy in such an inappropriate manner. The owner did have access to a larger generator that he used for his own house instead of supplying his paying renters with all promised amenities. He also cleaned his own property of storm debris and took care of his dock and boat before tending to our needs/supplying us with water. Beyond that the house was dirty, the furniture mostly broken—the chaise lounger on the deck has a giant hole where you’d sit, so forget lounging by the water—there are ants everywhere—clearly the owner is aware as there are dried out, decaying ant traps lying around the house. There is no wi-fi. There is no extra mooring if you bring a boat. To get to the property you must trek across his yard and descend the equivalent of six flights of steep stairs. There are other properties on the lake and throughout Glen Arbor. Find a better option!!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you had your worst VRBO experience at our beach house . On Sunday afternoon, the Glen Lake area experienced the worst storm of the century with 100 mile an hour straight line winds causing loss of electricity, water and downed trees blocking most main roadways. We were declared a state of emergency. The Red Cross and the Salvation Army came in to assist at our local town hall. On Monday morning while you were out to breakfast, we got in the car and drove on a two hour trip to locate one of the very last generators in the area. When we arrived home, our friends and family had hooked up their generator to our home. We then proceeded to hook up the newly purchased generator to the beach house. It is not true that you were without running water and electricity for 5 days. It was restored by Monday afternoon, the day after the storm. Most of the area was out til Friday! The generator that we hooked up to the main house and the beach house were exactly the same. Sorry our friends and family invaded your privacy by removing debris, broken boards and limbs from your deck and replacing your broken table and getting nothing but scowls in return. As far as yelling over your deck, it was very difficult hearing over a generator and I was directing my son to remove a dock section that had blown over to your dock. Sorry, I was worried you might think it was part of your dock which was still intact and step on it by mistake. I would have come down to the lake and talked to him at a closer range but it was difficult since I am on crutches with a broken leg. As far as taking care of our property first over the beach house, you said you were leaving. As soon as you returned, we had the beach house hooked up albeit without an oven that uses a lot of electricity. Sorry you couldn't bake your husband his favorite birthday cake and that we couldn't supply you with ice on demand and find you your meals( just a few of your demands.) Also, we do have a mooring which I noticed you never inquired about on Wednesday for your rented pontoon boat. We did not advertise Wi Fi and you were informed of the steps down to the lake. Our beach house has never been dirty and, in fact, since I clean it myself, I would say it is pristine! As far as a few ants, they do love the sun , sand and food crumbs left on the counters. We have our house sprayed at the beginning of the season for insects. All and all, trip insurance is a wonderful inexpensive thing!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5

…from the view, the location, the amenities and the hosts! My husband and I stayed for a week at the beach house and had the most relaxing time. We spent our days lounging on the front and side decks, where we witnessed spectacular views of both Little Glen and Big Glen Lake and the breathtaking sun sets over the Sleeping Bear sand dunes.

The beach house is fully equipped with all amenities needed from kitchen utensils, washer and dryer to games and books. All we had to bring was our food, bed linens and towels.

The clean and sandy beach is literally steps from the beach house door. There are kayaks and canoes provided however we brought floats with us and enjoyed relaxing on them while floating in the water as we sipped a cool beverage. The water and beach were very calm and private during our entire stay.

The hosts, Joan and Bob are very personable and friendly. They make you feel right at home. My husband and I highly recommend the Beach House rental to anyone wanting to experience the unique setting of life (almost literally) on the beach! We can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Kentwood, MI
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

We've been home for 2 weeks and I'm still thinking about Little Glen Lake and our stay at this wonderful cottage. The kitchen is well equipped if you want to do some cooking and a grill is provided as well. The use of kayaks was a plus for us. Members of our family were able to visit and enjoy them too. The owners are friendly and pleasant and even their dog Curly is happy to welcome guests! You could not ask for a better view and the whole Glen Lake area offers amazing beauty.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
toledo, Oh
5

A wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

the cabin had everything we needed for our weekend stay! The VEIW was AMAZING! the owners were wonderfull! We are anxiously awaiting our next visit!!!!! Could not have gotten any better.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 3

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Art's, Boondocks, Western Ave Grill - Glen Arbor
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
The Dunes
Nearest Motorway
300 Metres
m-22
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Funistrada, Blu, Western Ave Grill, Boondocks, Etc
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Lake Michigan at Glen Haven

Less than 5 minutes to the Dune Climb, Glen Arbor, Empire, Glen Haven, Lake Michigan Beaches and the Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Empire Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
spring
Apr 29 2017 - Jun 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
 
 
Early summer
Jun 11 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
summer
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
late summer
Aug 20 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
fall
Sep 10 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

minimum stay is 7 nights.

50% of rent is due to reserve with the balance payable 10 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Empire Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Guests provide their own linens and personal towels. Blankets and pillows are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties