Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Thinking of a fall or winter getaway? Affordable 3 bedroom!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,550 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Wonderful location in the heart of the Outer Banks. Located at Milepost 6. Walking distance to shopping,restaurants and a great coffee shop! House is 10 years old and was completely redone by me when I bought it in 2011. I put in all new kitchen appliances and flooring throughout. In 2016 I had a completely new air conditioning system installed. In 2017 I replaced all the mattresses.

My family and I use it a lot in the off seasons and the house was fully booked four summers so it has everything I know you want! The Lazy Susan is located in Kill Devil Hills, NC at Mile Post 6 on the West (Sound) side. 3 blocks from The Front Porch-the best coffee shop in the OBX.

The house has 3 bedrooms-2 queen beds, 2 single beds and 2 full bathrooms with tubs that were all completely redecorated. Ceiling fans and new light fixtures throughout. Flat screen in the Great Room.Flat screens in all bedrooms as well. Large deck on the second level. Gas grill. Free Wireless Internet. New outdoor shower in 2012. Perfect house for couples,families or small groups. It is a Beach Box (on stilts) so there are stairs to get to the living area. The house is pet friendly but there is not a fenced in yard, so you will have to walk them.

More Details

Owner
Susan Cuttitta
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

About Susan Cuttitta

This picture above is of me on the front porch of the house.I am a DC professional who works in the recruiting industry. I originally grew up in NJ, came to DC for college and have been here ever since. I got married 4/18/15. Which means Bill and I combined 2 houses and The Lazy Susan 'inherited' a lot of extra furniture and kitchen stuff. We had a new addition to the family in 6/16 when my step-daughter got a puppy! Peaches hasn't been to the house yet, but I am sure the house will become even more dog friendly.

Susan Cuttitta purchased this house in 2011

Why Susan Cuttitta chose Northern Coast & Outer Banks

I have been vacationing in the OBX since 1994. Every year I came down more. I finally bought this house in 2011 that I am renting out part of the summer and using it for my family. I love the neighborhood. Its quiet with lots of running and biking trails. I can walk or drive to the beach and the whole world is within 2 miles!

What makes this house unique

Prior to me the house was owned by an artist (painter). There are many custom touches including a large mural of a tropical fish. The bedrooms are custom painted as is the ceiling of the car port.

I recommend everybody takes long walks along Bay Drive and watch the sunsets from the piers.

Amenities

Kill Devil Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1550 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , connected to master bedroom only
    Hallway Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , In Hallway next to Master but not connecting
  • new bathroom flooring in 2017
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Adult 2nd bedroom - 1 queen , Queen. Flat screen w/cable.
    Bedroom 3-'Kids Room' - 2 twin/ single , 2 Twin beds,flat screen TV
    Master bedroom - 1 queen , Full bath with tub in room.Queen Bed. Flat screen w/cable
  • Queen size Beds (2) Two of the bedrooms have queen beds and one bedroom has two twin beds, Twin or Single Beds (2) Two of the bedrooms have queen beds and one bedroom has two twin beds.FYI linens are not provided-All new mattresses in 2017
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
House is located on the Sound side in a tree lined, beautiful and quiet neighborhood. The house is only 10 years old and was redone in 2011. All new appliances and flooring throughout. New flooring in kitchen and bathrooms in 2017. A outdoor shower was installed 3/2012.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Thinking of a fall or winter getaway? Affordable 3 bedroom!
average rating of 4.9322033 based on 59 reviews
5

Perfect Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

The Lazy Susan is the perfect vacation rental. Susan was so easy to work with, fast and friendly! The house is beautiful, very clean, roomy, and central to all the shopping and swimming. It sits in a quiet neighborhood within waking distance to the sound. Many different beach accesses are just a few minutes drive away, with plenty of parking and showers, as well as lifeguards on duty.

Everything in the house was in working order, and I was pleasantly surprised about the small details, like having a handheld vacuum available. (It came in very handy to clean out the sand in the car!) There are a few games in the closet as well, which we loved playing at night. There were a few beach chairs and a couple of boogie boards in the laundryroom, and we bought 6 more boards and left them there as well, hoping somebody else will get some fun out of them. The outdoor shower was a lifesaver, as sand can be washed off easy before entering the house. It is worth mentioning that the water in the outdoor shower is warm, unlike the beach showers!

As for the local cuisine, I'd suggest asking the locals! We made the mistake of going to "Dirty Dicks", which we had never heard of before, and the food and service was terrible! After asking around, we discovered "I got your crabs", which serves the best crab bisque! We also liked "Darell's" and "Henry's". For your adventures I'd suggest the Kitty Hawk Kites stores, as they offer many different things to do. We did the Parasailing, Kayaking, and Mermaid school. Very fun!

If you prefer a more quiet stretch of beach, try driving to Pea Island, and you'll find miles of beach with just about nobody around. But do pay attention to the roped off sections, as they are protected areas for sea turtles and birds!

In all, this was a vacation we won't forget, and we can't wait to visit the OBX next year. And we will definitely stay at the Lazy Susan again!

Thank you for the memories!

Bianca and family

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!! I'm so glad you enjoyed everything and I appreciate your lovely review! On a side note we only went to I've got your crabs once and loved it!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Cottage

  • 5 of 5

The 'Lazy Susan' cottage is set in a nice, quiet residential area only a block off the main road; very serene and comfortable. The spaciousness of the interior was perfect for our family reunion when we gathered for a meal. We loved being able to walk to the sound and watch the sun set. The cottage is comfortably furnished and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad it all worked out. I love watching the sunsets too! So beautiful. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

The house is even better, than it appears on photos: everything is so new and clean! We had a very nice stay there. Also, Susan always replied right away and answered all my questions, what made our stay more comfortable. Thanks a lot again!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!! I'm so glad everything worked out. The cleaning people thank you too for leaving the house in great condition and leaving a tip!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming Home

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had stayed at the Lazy Susan with friends of ours while we were in town to attend a wedding. The house was beautiful and comfortable. There was plenty of space in the house and we found it quite relaxing. Our only regret is that we didn't take more time off of work so that we could enjoy the house and the Outer Banks more! We will be sure to keep this home in mind for future vacations!

  • Submitted: May 26, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed everything! I always have the same regret-not enough time there!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice property, convenient location

  • 4 of 5

Property was well equipped. Washer/dryer, dishwasher, grill, ice maker, keurig, standard drip coffee maker, pots/pans, tvs in all the rooms (even though we don't watch tv) , Adirondack chairs, patio table, awesome coffee cups and glassware. The master bed was comfortable. Make sure you bring your own pillows, as the pillows provided are not super comfrotable. I gave it a 4 out of 5 because I wish the linens and towels were included, we had to buy our own. Dryer also did not dry very well, had to run a couple of cycles. Other than that we had a great time in an awesome house. Thanks.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad you found most of what you are looking for. I headed there in a few days so I will check out the dryer and the pillows! Sorry about the linens. I really try to warn people ahead of time and provide rental information if groups don't want to pack their own, but adding linen service isn't an option at this time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Clean and nice location.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed walking to the sound in the evenings. The house is near great restaurants. We traveled with our dog and 2 year old. Once inside it is one floor living which is very nice with a little one. Thanks for a nice weekend!

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad everything went well! I too love the walk to the sound, especially at sunset!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kill Devil Hills House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
6/17/17-9/2/17
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,260
 
 
Off Season
Oct 3 2017 - May 25 2018
3 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
Summer 2018
May 26 2018 - Sep 15 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,270
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85
Damage Deposit $350

After 10/1/16 and before 5/27/17 (before&after summer)the minimum booking accepted is 3 nights. It will be $100 per night with a $85 cleaning fee regardless of stay. Check in day is normally Saturday, but I am flexible if possible outside of summer. In summer there is a 7 night minimum stay. Saturday is check in and the rate goes up. Linens are not included.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable