Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakeside, Hot Tub, fireplace, 10 kayaks, 2 canoes and paddle board, pet friendly

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Book any 2 nights from Sept. 29th - April 15th, Foliage weeks still available

Songo Pond Lakeside Property, This lovely, private, lakeside property is located in Albany/Bethel, Maine, about 4 miles from the town of Bethel. We are about 12 -

15 minutes from Sunday River or Mt. Abram Ski Areas depending on condition of the roads.

I will consider a seasonal rental for this upcoming winter season. 3 months max.

Great place for family gatherings or large groups. Open concept on main floor which makes it nice for socializing with your whole group. And the views of the pond are spectacular with the house being located just 12 feet from the water.


There is a one time fee for the use of the fireplace or hot tub for the duration of your stay.

If you do not want to use either one you will not be charged for these or will get reimbursed.

Same goes with the pet fee, if you do not bring a pet you will not get charged for it.

If you are using the hot tub I will be meeting you there to go over the hot tub with you as you are responsible for it during your stay.

The water is very clear and in summer we provide 10 kayaks, 2 canoes and a paddle board. We may purchase a 2 person kayak next year. This is a wonderful place for swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, hiking, jet skiing, hunting, 3 wheeling, and boating in your own boat. Or just relaxing. Great place for a family gathering or with friends. In the winter enjoy snowshoeing, skiing, ice fishing, snowmobiling, or walking on the pond with your furry friends.

We have a generator that supports the whole house in case of power outages, You will never be with out power.

Enjoy the spacious kitchen with 2 sinks, a bar with 3 stools and all amenities. The house has 2 bathrooms, and 3 bedrooms and sleeps up to 10 people. Main floor has 2 bedrooms, one bedroom with 2 queen beds, the other bedroom has a queen bed and 1 bunk bed of twin beds. Sleeps 10 in beds. Plus there are 3 futons in living area.

There is a full bath on this floor. On the second floor there is a loft with a king size bed and full size bathroom as well as a washer and dryer. We provide all linens including pillows and blankets. 2 sets of linens provided for futons.

The open concept on main level, kitchen, living area and dining room make it nice for large families or groups. There are 3 futons by the gas fireplace and a large flat screen TV and a large overstuffed chair. There are many windows with amazing views of the pond.

ATV, snow machines rentals in nearby towns.

If you inquire about extra guests I usually will give you a discount if they are kids. All extra guests need to be paid for up front.

All pets are welcomed. You just have to pick up behind your pets.

We do have a ceiling fan in living area, plus there is a ceiling fan in upstairs loft over the king bed.

There is also a screen door on both exterior doors.

There are lots of windows to open up in the house to catch a breeze.

Lots of hiking trails in the area plus you are only 15 minutes away from several hiking trails in New Hampshire.

All dogs are welcomed here, please keep them off the furniture especially the beds.

We have also just recently purchased a pool table and a ping pong table which has been set up and ready to use. The pool and ping pond table are not available from Oct 31st - May 15th or weather is nice enough to get docks out.

We also have quite a bit of fire wood for the fire pit.

Motor boats are allowed on this lake, very famous for water skiing. There is plenty of room to park a truck and trailer in driveway besides other vehicles.

You can launch your boat at the end of the pond, and tie it to our docks in front of the house. Motorboats are allowed on the pond. Pond is at least a mile long.

Wifi, Fireplace, Large screen TV, near the water.

For any more questions you may call anytime. 207-890-5357

More Details

Property Manager
Jacqui T. Morin
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

About Jacqui T. Morin

Hi, My name is Jacqui Morin and I have lived in this area all of my life. I have been a Rental Agent for 15 years. Our properties are clean and comfortable. We do our best to make sure all our guests are comfortable and having fun.

Jacqui T. Morin purchased this house in 2013

Why Jacqui T. Morin chose Bethel

This property is lakeside, 12 feet from the water, mostly private and tucked away nicely on the back side of Songo Pond. It has 200 feet of waterfront, great water and mountain views. Great place to swim, kayak, canoe, fish, water ski, boating, jet skis are allowed. Plus it is less than 15 minutes to Sunday River Ski Area and also less than 15 minutes to Mt Abram Ski Area. Hot Tub, WiFi, comforters, pillows, blankets, sheets, towels for the bath are provided. A comfortable place to stay, Enjoy our good sized kitchen to cook yourself a feast.

We have 10 kayaks, a paddle board and 2 canoes, and a floating raft, fire pit, Pet friendly, WIFi, gas fireplace.

We have 2 docks out by the house We also have a large floating dock.

It is so relaxing here, the atmosphere of the area and the pond, the privacy, meeting with family and friends, it will be a vacation to remember, and come back to again and again. We have also purchased a pool table and a ping pong table. We bought this property because of it being so close to the water. The views of the lake and mountain are beautiful and relaxing. Sunsets are gorgeous. Fall season the foliage is especially pretty around the pond. We are also very close to two ski areas which makes it convenient for those of you who like to ski but like their privacy in the evenings.Quite private and relaxing. Large screen TV to watch your favorite shows.

What makes this house unique

It is a private home, and located on the water, very relaxing, and only 4 minutes to Bethel, Maine. Less than 15 minutes to Sunday River Ski Area. The house is situated very close to the water and it almost feels like you are on a peninsula, because almost every window you look out of you can see water. Semi private.

Only 4 miles from the Bethel Inn Golf Course.

Great swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, ice fishing, skating, and snow shoeing, water skiing, jet skis are allowed here, or you can bring your own motor boat. Snowmobile trail is accessible from this property. The views are spectacular, the water calming, and the breeze wonderful and all the smells of summer. We bought this house because of the many windows it has to provide light and views from all rooms of the house. The loft and bathroom upstairs have spectacular views of the water and mountains also. We have a large fire pit by the water, outdoor dining. 2 picnic tables, 1 large one by the water. We also installed a large floating raft. Unbelievably relaxing. You won't want to leave. The water is very clear so great for swimming, playing, fishing, sunbathing, etc.

We have a new generator installed so if you lose power you will only lose it for a minute and then the generator will come on and it powers the whole house.

Small charcoal grill available.


Bethel House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please turn down heat to 50 degrees. Close and lock all windows and doors.
  • Remove all garbage from house and leave in shed in garbage cans. You do need to pick up behind your dogs and deposit in garbage bags in garbage cans.
  • Wash all dishes and put away, start dishwasher, leave all dirty towels in bathtub upstairs by washer.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large sink and cabinet, & mirror.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , large sink and mirror, upstairs by bedroom washer and dryer
  • Upstairs bathroom has a shower and separate bathtub. Large cabinet in front of mirror with drawers, hair dryer, iron, washer and dryer, and toilet. Main floor bathroom has a combination shower/ tub, toilet, large cabinet with drawers and large mirror. Shelf with all bath towels. We provide bath towels, hand towels, washcloths, and kitchen towels.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Plus there are 3 futons in the living area with all linens.
  • Also a pack and play crib.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Our home is very clean and is situated on the back side of songo pond, very private. The house sits very close to the water and with all the windows you can see the pond from most any place in the house. It is private, very quiet and relaxing here. If you are looking for a place to unwind and get away from your busy life this is it. Water is very clear, sandy and rock bottom, great for swimming, fishing, kayaking, or just relaxing. New fire pit located right by the water, great place to just hang out in the evening. large picnic table near the water that will seat at least 10 guests. another smaller one that will seat at least 4 with beautiful view of the mountains. pool table and ping pong tables have been set up but are only available from April 30th - Oct 15th. Fire pit is located at the waters edge with a breathtaking view of the pond. wifi. Enjoy soaking in the hot tub after a day of fun. We have installed a full house generator that will run the whole house in a power failure


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
Lakeside, Hot Tub, fireplace, 10 kayaks, 2 canoes and paddle board, pet friendly
average rating of 4.44 based on 25 reviews

Fantastic, Relaxing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Jacqui was very helpful from the moment we arrived at this beautiful house, and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy the week. This house is nicely tucked away along the backside of Songo Pond and the property allows for ample privacy. The house has an open concept main floor, a large and functional kitchen, and is squeaky clean throughout. It might have been that we were very tired each night, but the beds in this rental were ridiculously comfortable and far exceeded our expectations. Between the canoes and kayaks, hot tub, fire pit and dock, there were lots of things for us to do on the property. For the golfers out there, there are two great golf courses in town - a fantastic Robert Trent Jones designed track up at Sunday River that epitomizes both New England and mountain style golf, and a small but fun course at the Bethel Inn Resort. We also set aside a day to drive out to North Conway for some outlet shopping, it is a nice day trip only about an hour away. We were very happy that we were able to bring our puppy Zoey along with us for our trip - she enjoyed it very much and was just as sad as us when we had to leave!

Hope to be back next year!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We strive to make each rental a memorable experience here at Songo Pond. Between the privacy and all the amenities that we provide for our guests. We do keep our home very clean and that is one of the things that brings our customers back year after year. We just moved the hot tub outdoors so the next time you are here you can experience the hot tub with the beautiful views of Songo Pond. We have put up the pool table and table tennis table in the building where the hot tub used to be so now you have something extra you can do on a rainy day. We have also just purchased another canoe so now we have 2 canoes and 4 kayaks, and we plan on having at least a few more kayaks next summer. We have also installed a full house generator for those unexpected electrical outages. Most of our beds are new and very comfortable, between the comfortable beds and the peaceful quietness most guests sleep very well. We are also going to get a floating dock next year. I'm glad you had a chance to visit North Conway the place of so many store outlets you can never visit them in one day. Great place to find deals and a fun place to shop. Next time you should try some of their mini golf courses, the are a little challenging and fun to do. We are happy to allow guest to bring their pets with them. What's a vacation if you can't bring all your loved ones with you. I am glad you got to experience some of the golf courses around. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and looking forward to seeing you again. Jacqui/ Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Quiet, relaxing family vacation

  • 4 of 5

My husband, daughter, sister, and parents and family dog all vacationed at this home for a week. We enjoyed the lake, especially utilizing the kayaks and paddleboard provided. My father fished off the dock and we also went swimming. The house itself was clean, well kept, and had plenty of space for all of us. It was an enjoyable and relaxing week.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Deb, It was such a pleasure meeting you folks, glad you still found plenty to do in between some of the showers we had. It's nice to see the kayaks and paddle board being used by our guests. We always strive to keep our property clean and enjoyable for all our guests. We really hope to see you again. Jacqui
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location with lots of amenities

  • 5 of 5

Rustic cabin with lots of amenities and great for families.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

The space was perfect for our weekend of skiing. It was so nice to come back from the slopes and get in the hot tub! Jacqui was super accommodating and friendly! Looking forward to coming back in the summer to enjoy the area in a different season.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Haven, So glad I had a chance to meet you before you left. Thank You for respecting my home and taking such good care of the hot tub. It was immaculate!! Any owners out there looking for a review on this group, have no fear to rent to them. They were "PERFECT RENTERS." I welcome them back to my home anytime, hope to see you guys again. Jacqui
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

A group of 10 of us stayed here for a long weekend. We loved it - the house was cozy, lake was beautiful and hot tub was perfect! Close to Sunday River and other amenities. Thank you, Jacqui!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Molly, It's amazing how relaxing the pond is even in the winter time. Should come back in the summer or fall it is so beautiful there and relaxing and quite a different experience when the pond isn't frozen. Would love to have you guys back any time. Jacqui
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Not going to go into much detail but the attitude from the owner did not contribute to a positive stay as well as accusations of a broken paddle. Definitely unsatisfied with my stay, the owner stated there were a lot of things broken or not fully functioning because of a previous group and took money out of our security deposit for something we did not break. I do not plan on ever renting there in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nikeala, The only reason you were charged for the broken paddle is because someone in your group found this and took it out and left it in front of the kayaks so yes I assumed someone in your group had broken it. You would of assumed the same thing had you been the owner. And as soon as I found out someone had seen that broken paddle in the shed hidden, I immediately called you, apologized and explained this to you and told you that you would not be charged for the paddle. I don't know how you consider this rude, I could of just not told you and charged you for it but that's not the kind of person I am. I know you were upset that I thought someone in your group had broken it but it's not an excuse to say that I was rude when I never am with my guests. I always go out of my way for my guests and try to make their stay as pleasant as I can. The only time I get a bad review is when there is damage to my property and guests say things about me that are not true to get back at me for charging them for damages. That's not a reason to write a bad review oh an owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Bethel, Maine
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Bethel, Maine
Nearest Ferry
75 Miles
Portland, Maine
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Bethel Inn, Bethel Maine/ 4 miles.
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
.4 miles
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
In Bethel
Nearest Ski
11 Miles
Sunday River Ski Area & Mt Abram Ski Area.
Nearest Beach
65 Miles
Old Orchard Beach
Car: not necessary

This property is located on the backside of songo pond off from the baker road. It sits only 12 feet from the water and makes it so relaxing and the views are spectacular. Only 4 miles to the town of Bethel, Maine. Great place for swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, jet skiing, water skiing, boating or just relaxing. Included in this rental are 10 kayaks, 2 canoes, 1 paddle board and a floating raft and a hot tub. Lots of hiking trails and less than 15 minutes to Sunday River Ski area or Mt. Abram.

A great place for relaxing, private, one acre of land to explore, 200 feet of waterfront. We do have a nice large fire pit with chairs.

Just a great place to have fun, visit with family and friends, and relax. Large parking area so you can bring a trailer to unload boats or snow machines.

Pets are welcomed.

Book a week in April , May or June and save money. You can also book just 2 nights in April, May.

June, July and August are by the week only and are mostly booked by end of February, so if there is a week you really want book it early to make sure you get the dates you want.

Our fall season is one of the most beautiful times of the year in this area. The foliage alone is worth coming for. The area around the pond is especially pretty with all the fall colors mirrored in the pond. Pictures are breathtaking. Also cooler weather, great for hiking, kayaking, just sitting back and relaxing, less bugs, less humidity and less rain.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $600
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Use of hot tub $35 + Tax
cleaning fee $250 + Tax
use of gas fireplace $25 + Tax

You can call and ask about bringing extra guests.

You have to bring your own towels for swimming and the hot tub. All towels in the house stay in the house.

If you do not want to use the hot tub or fireplace during your stay you will not be charged for it. This is per booking not by the day.

You need to bring your own paper products such as toilet paper, paper towels, plates, cups, laundry detergent etc.
We provide dish soap, dishwasher soap, hand soap for bathrooms and kitchen. There will be some garbage bags but if you think your group will use a lot of garbage bags you should bring extra.

You do have to pick up after your pets.

We have also installed a full house generator, which runs the whole house.You will never be without power.

Small charcoal grill available.

Pool table, table tennis, Fire Pit, Floating Raft, Kayaks, Canoes and docks are available only from May 30th - October 30th, or earlier weather permitting.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties