Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quintessential Lake House on Raspberry Bay

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 3.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Escape to northern Wisconsin where summer nights are cool, crowds and traffic do not exist, and life is simpler.

Once the great north woods, today this is a rural paradise filled with small treasures that are reminiscent of times past.

Situated 10 miles west of Bayfield at the end of the road lies Raspberry Bay Lake Front House with 265' of lake front and an unobstructed view to the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Raspberry bay is shallow with ever changing sand bars which is frequently empty except for the wildlife. Ideal for kids as the water is shallow and warm for Lake Superior. Sit on the shore in an adirondack chair and read a book or just enjoy the tranquility. Looking out to the lake you can see the Raspberry Island lighthouse along with Bear Island, Oak Island, Rocky Island and Otter Island. Take one of our canoes out for a peaceful paddle along the shore or up raspberry slough for some wildlife viewing. Sea kayak right from the house and enjoy good proximity to the 21 islands that make up the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Apostle Islands National Lakeshore has been named the top National Park destination for its untouched natural beauty and large collection of lighthouses. It is possible to launch your boat 4 miles east at Little Sand Bay and anchor it out in front of the house and wade ashore. Bike, run, walk or drive over to Eagle point 3 miles away. Watch and hear the waves crash or lap (depending on the weather) onto the shore from your bedroom. Enjoy breathtaking sunsets and look for the northern lights while you take in the night sky. Celebrate with smores on a crackling campfire and enjoy the outdoors. Expect a very relaxing and memorable vacation experience year round.

5 bedrooms, 3.5+ bathrooms. Fully equipped kitchen. Large screened in porch overlooking the woods and the lake. Upstairs screened in porch is terrific place to sleep outdoors almost like a tent with all the comforts of home. Built in 2010 the home boasts upgraded details including slate floors, tile showers, wide plank wood floors, tongue and groove ceiling, granite counter tops, maple cabinets, stainless appliances, in-floor heat, Fireplace, Woodstove, Outside Firepit, Clawfoot tub in the master, Outside Shower, and Covered Porch to enjoy rainy days.

Black bears are occasionally seen on the beach and wolves are resident to the area. Bald Eagles are common along with loons, mergansers, kingfishers, frogs and white tailed deer. Various waterfowl, woodpeckers and chipmunks add to a woodland setting that soothes the soul. This property is bordered on one side by land carrying a permanent conservation easement which is bordered by a large tract of native american land which also is protected by a permanent conservation easement. From our beach you can gaze down along the headland at natural forest.

Keywords: Lake house, Lake Superior, Apostle Islands National Lake Shore, Secluded, Bayfield, WI, Beach, Applefest, Cabin

More Details

Owner
Kelly
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 10, 2017

About Kelly

We work in the outdoor industry and love nature. Have traveled all over the US and many parts of the world. What we love about Northern Wisconsin is the serenity, the woods, and no crowds.

Kelly purchased this house in 2010

Why Kelly chose Northwest

This home is a one of a kind property. It seemed like a once in a lifetime opportunity to buy land that borders a large protected natural area with great views, a terrific beach, wildlife, solitude, and privacy. All within 12 minutes of a very quaint town that offers great dining, arts, theatre, and a National Lakeshore.

What makes this house unique

Our kids spend countless hours playing in the lake and swimming. To be able to take a canoe from the house and paddle up the Raspberry River in complete solitude is a treasure. Listening to the waves while laying in bed or hearing loons call in the early morning light is a real treat. If you have ever imagined sitting by a lake and just reading in peace, this is a great place to do that.

Amenities

Bayfield House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sinks
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , sink
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , sink
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Sleeping Porch - 1 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (1) 5 queen beds -one is memory foam, Twin or Single Beds (1) 3 twin beds, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) We have foam mats that are great for kids sleeping on upstairs screened loft.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
Screened in porch, Outside Shower, Privacy,

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quintessential Lake House on Raspberry Bay
average rating of 4.882353 based on 17 reviews
Wisconsin
5

The home we wished we lived in

  • 5 of 5

Our family had rented this home 3 years ago and enjoyed our stay so much we returned. The house, hosts, and caretaker did not disappoint. The caretaker checked in by phone to make sure all was well, the house is WELL stocked with every necessity (well-stocked with EVERY kitchen supply we could ever want to use), the views stupendous and our experience not short of perfect. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wisconsin, USA
5

Beautiful and Private

  • 5 of 5

This was our third return trip to Raspberry Bay; we are so happy to have found this home to rent. The property is beautiful and we love the private location. The accommodations are as incredible as the views, and Kelly and Jim have been fantastic. Thank you for sharing your home!!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your continued trips to our beautiful home. We are truly grateful to be able to share this little piece of heaven with others. We appreciate our repeat guests and are so happy when we hear back from them about their experiences. Thank you and keep coming back! Jim and Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful property

  • 4 of 5

This property is sooooooooo lovely and the house is well-appointed with a spacious family-friendly layout. It was wonderful to have canoes at our disposal for sunny days and a fire-pit for s'mores on cooler nights. Kelly and Jim were really easy and friendly to work with, as was Margie!

The only drawbacks were a few non-functioning amenities. Both the microwave and icemaker were broken, although neither of these items were real issues for our group. The one that was is the hot tub, which we weren't aware was broken until we eagerly went to use it on the chilly first night. What a bummer! A hot tub is a big selling point in a Northern WI rental and we weren't made aware of its condition in advance. Regardless, we all enjoyed ourselves immensely and would recommend this rental to others.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Amy, We are thrilled to be able to share this beautiful property with others and we especially love to hear how much people enjoy and appreciate it. We want to address the non-functioning amenities that you mentioned. The microwave and icemaker have since be replaced. In regard to the hot tub, it is not broken, but in fact closed down for our guests to use because the Bayfield County Health Department will not allow us to offer use of a private hot tub in a commercial rental. We wish that we could allow our guests to use it but the situation is out of our control. We hope that you come back in the coming years to enjoy this special place. Jim and Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Gorgeous home in a beautiful setting!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 11 (8 adults, 3 children) stayed 3 days in this home in June of 2017. I was not quite prepared for how remote the location is. This is, in fact, a good thing! The home is absolutely beautiful. It is well equipped, with the room arrangement great for a collection of couples or small families to spread out.

Our children loved being steps away from the lake, and the rest of our party enjoyed the screened in porches, comfortable sitting areas, and the fireplace and fire pit. Margie, the caretaker, was easily reachable by phone, and we did need to contact her regarding some minor issues. with a broken microwave. I was disappointed that the hot tub (mentioned in reviews, but not in the listing) was not filled, with the breaker flipped. I took that as an "off limits" notice.

Since a number of our group are IT nerds, I wanted to share that this location is remote, with no cell signal, and slow internet access. If you visit here, and rely on GPS for getting around, i would recommend using the Google Maps app to download offline map data for the region before visiting. This will save you some confusion later.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the property and that you were able to relax in its remote setting. This truly is a place to get away from it all and simply enjoy the beauty and nature that surrounds this beautiful area. We wanted to address the hot tub. While we understand it was mentioned in previous reviews, we had no choice but to stop running the hot tub for our guests as the health department of Bayfield will not allow it. We apologize for the inconvenience but again, it is out of our control. As far as the microwave, as soon as we became aware of it, we replaced it. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to maybe seeing you again in the future. Jim and Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family fun

  • 5 of 5

My family and I have been coming to the Bayfield peninsula every summer for 20+ years and our most pleasant stay has been at your wonderful home.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Hudson, WI
5

What a Wonderful Place for Family and Friends!

  • 5 of 5

We were there with 12 people. This house is very spacious and there was amble room for everyone. The kitchen is well equipped and the dining area had 10 of us around the table and two at the kitchen island. The screened porch off to the side of the dining area was enjoyable to sit in and listen to the sound of the breeze and occassinally two noisy fledgling eagles. It rained one day and we sat in the porch off the dining room and enjoyed the beauty of the rain and the woods.There are many nearby activities in Bayfield, Madeline Island, including tours of the Apostles Island and music at Big Top Chautauqua. If you don't want to go anywhere, the house is a great place to relax and enjoy the outside hot tub. Kelly, the property manager, was quick to respond to any questions we had. Yes this house is as wonderful as everyone says.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Devil's Island Lighthouse
Apostle Islands National Lakeshore
Raspberry Island Lighthouse
Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
Maggie's Restaurant
Big Water Coffee Roasters
Lake Superior Big Top Chautauqua
Bayfield Bike Route
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Bayfield
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Bayfield
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Bayfield
Nearest Beach
25 Metres
If water in lake is not too high, beach outside
Car: necessary

Canoeing, Berry Picking,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.5%

Please include any children over 2 yrs old in the "Adult" search field to insure an accurate quote. Thank-you!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties