Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Quintessential Lake House on Raspberry Bay

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 3.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Escape to northern Wisconsin where summer nights are cool, crowds and traffic do not exist, and life is simpler.

Once the great north woods, today this is a rural paradise filled with small treasures that are reminiscent of times past.

Situated 10 miles west of Bayfield at the end of the road lies Raspberry Bay Lake Front House with 265' of lake front and an unobstructed view to the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Raspberry bay is shallow with ever changing sand bars which is frequently empty except for the wildlife. Ideal for kids as the water is shallow and warm for Lake Superior. Sit on the shore in an adirondack chair and read a book or just enjoy the tranquility. Looking out to the lake you can see the Raspberry Island lighthouse along with Bear Island, Oak Island, Rocky Island and Otter Island. Take one of our canoes out for a peaceful paddle along the shore or up raspberry slough for some wildlife viewing. Sea kayak right from the house and enjoy good proximity to the 21 islands that make up the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Apostle Islands National Lakeshore has been named the top National Park destination for its untouched natural beauty and large collection of lighthouses. It is possible to launch your boat 4 miles east at Little Sand Bay and anchor it out in front of the house and wade ashore. Bike, run, walk or drive over to Eagle point 3 miles away. Watch and hear the waves crash or lap (depending on the weather) onto the shore from your bedroom. Enjoy breathtaking sunsets and look for the northern lights while you take in the night sky. Celebrate with smores on a crackling campfire and enjoy the outdoors. Expect a very relaxing and memorable vacation experience year round.

5 bedrooms, 3.5+ bathrooms. Fully equipped kitchen. Large screened in porch overlooking the woods and the lake. Upstairs screened in porch is terrific place to sleep outdoors almost like a tent with all the comforts of home. Built in 2010 the home boasts upgraded details including slate floors, tile showers, wide plank wood floors, tongue and groove ceiling, granite counter tops, maple cabinets, stainless appliances, in-floor heat, Fireplace, Woodstove, Outside Firepit, Clawfoot tub in the master, Outside Shower, and Covered Porch to enjoy rainy days.

Black bears are occasionally seen on the beach and wolves are resident to the area. Bald Eagles are common along with loons, mergansers, kingfishers, frogs and white tailed deer. Various waterfowl, woodpeckers and chipmunks add to a woodland setting that soothes the soul. This property is bordered on one side by land carrying a permanent conservation easement which is bordered by a large tract of native american land which also is protected by a permanent conservation easement. From our beach you can gaze down along the headland at natural forest.

Keywords: Lake house, Lake Superior, Apostle Islands National Lake Shore, Secluded, Bayfield, WI, Beach, Applefest, Cabin

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About The Owner

We work in the outdoor industry and love nature. Have traveled all over the US and many parts of the world. What we love about Northern Wisconsin is the serenity, the woods, and no crowds.

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

Why The Owner chose Northwest

This home is a one of a kind property. It seemed like a once in a lifetime opportunity to buy land that borders a large protected natural area with great views, a terrific beach, wildlife, solitude, and privacy. All within 12 minutes of a very quaint town that offers great dining, arts, theatre, and a National Lakeshore.

What makes this house unique

Our kids spend countless hours playing in the lake and swimming. To be able to take a canoe from the house and paddle up the Raspberry River in complete solitude is a treasure. Listening to the waves while laying in bed or hearing loons call in the early morning light is a real treat. If you have ever imagined sitting by a lake and just reading in peace, this is a great place to do that.

Amenities

Bayfield House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Sleeping Porch - 1 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (1) 5 queen beds -one is memory foam, Twin or Single Beds (1) 3 twin beds, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) We have foam mats that are great for kids sleeping on upstairs screened loft.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
Screened in porch, Outside Shower, Privacy,

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quintessential Lake House on Raspberry Bay
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
4

Beautiful property

  • 4 of 5

This property is sooooooooo lovely and the house is well-appointed with a spacious family-friendly layout. It was wonderful to have canoes at our disposal for sunny days and a fire-pit for s'mores on cooler nights. Kelly and Jim were really easy and friendly to work with, as was Margie!

The only drawbacks were a few non-functioning amenities. Both the microwave and icemaker were broken, although neither of these items were real issues for our group. The one that was is the hot tub, which we weren't aware was broken until we eagerly went to use it on the chilly first night. What a bummer! A hot tub is a big selling point in a Northern WI rental and we weren't made aware of its condition in advance. Regardless, we all enjoyed ourselves immensely and would recommend this rental to others.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Amy, We are thrilled to be able to share this beautiful property with others and we especially love to hear how much people enjoy and appreciate it. We want to address the non-functioning amenities that you mentioned. The microwave and icemaker have since be replaced. In regard to the hot tub, it is not broken, but in fact closed down for our guests to use because the Bayfield County Health Department will not allow us to offer use of a private hot tub in a commercial rental. We wish that we could allow our guests to use it but the situation is out of our control. We hope that you come back in the coming years to enjoy this special place. Jim and Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous home in a beautiful setting!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 11 (8 adults, 3 children) stayed 3 days in this home in June of 2017. I was not quite prepared for how remote the location is. This is, in fact, a good thing! The home is absolutely beautiful. It is well equipped, with the room arrangement great for a collection of couples or small families to spread out.

Our children loved being steps away from the lake, and the rest of our party enjoyed the screened in porches, comfortable sitting areas, and the fireplace and fire pit. Margie, the caretaker, was easily reachable by phone, and we did need to contact her regarding some minor issues. with a broken microwave. I was disappointed that the hot tub (mentioned in reviews, but not in the listing) was not filled, with the breaker flipped. I took that as an "off limits" notice.

Since a number of our group are IT nerds, I wanted to share that this location is remote, with no cell signal, and slow internet access. If you visit here, and rely on GPS for getting around, i would recommend using the Google Maps app to download offline map data for the region before visiting. This will save you some confusion later.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the property and that you were able to relax in its remote setting. This truly is a place to get away from it all and simply enjoy the beauty and nature that surrounds this beautiful area. We wanted to address the hot tub. While we understand it was mentioned in previous reviews, we had no choice but to stop running the hot tub for our guests as the health department of Bayfield will not allow it. We apologize for the inconvenience but again, it is out of our control. As far as the microwave, as soon as we became aware of it, we replaced it. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to maybe seeing you again in the future. Jim and Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family fun

  • 5 of 5

My family and I have been coming to the Bayfield peninsula every summer for 20+ years and our most pleasant stay has been at your wonderful home.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Hudson, WI
5

What a Wonderful Place for Family and Friends!

  • 5 of 5

We were there with 12 people. This house is very spacious and there was amble room for everyone. The kitchen is well equipped and the dining area had 10 of us around the table and two at the kitchen island. The screened porch off to the side of the dining area was enjoyable to sit in and listen to the sound of the breeze and occassinally two noisy fledgling eagles. It rained one day and we sat in the porch off the dining room and enjoyed the beauty of the rain and the woods.There are many nearby activities in Bayfield, Madeline Island, including tours of the Apostles Island and music at Big Top Chautauqua. If you don't want to go anywhere, the house is a great place to relax and enjoy the outside hot tub. Kelly, the property manager, was quick to respond to any questions we had. Yes this house is as wonderful as everyone says.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wisconsin, USA
5

Perfect Spot on Lake Superior

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home for our annual family trip to Bayfield. It could not have been more perfect. We had plenty of space and enjoyed the screen porches and views of the lake from every room. We made use of the canoes and paddled around the bay and relaxed on our own private sandy beach. The owners seemed to put a lot of thought into having everything available to make their rental property welcoming, comfortable and fun. Kelly was a dream to work with and was wonderfully accommodating. We can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Raspberry Bay Beauty

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 6 couples up for the Apple Festival in Bayfield. We were overwhelmed at the beauty of this property! The house was fantastic, the attention to detail, unique and high qaulity decor was wonderful. There was plenty of room to accomodate us all and the kitchen was fantastic. The views of Raspberry Bay from each room were beautiful, 4 porches to sit and enjoy the fall color, listen to the lapping of the water. A fantastic hot tub nestled in the woods was a great place to relax with a glass of wine! We could not have asked for anything better. We will definatley come back!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Canoeing, Berry Picking,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night

Please include any children over 2 yrs old in the "Adult" search field to insure an accurate quote. Thank-you!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.