Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Gulf Front - Best Location on Cape - Pets Welcome

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-14)

Location, Location, Location! Those words say it all. This Gulf Front Beach Home offers emerald waters, white sugary sands, and sunsets that are at your door step. 'Beach Retreat' is located in the private Secluded Dunes Subdivision which adjoins St. Joseph State Park. If beautiful sunsets on a 'Secluded Beach' is what you are looking for, you will not be disappointed.

Allow me to give you a guided tour. As you enter 'Beach Retreat' you will be standing in our entry way, you can access the stairs to the main level or go through the entry way to the Mother-In-Law Suite. This Suite has a King size bed, TV, game table, kitchenette with a small refrigerator, coffee pot, and microwave. It also has its own full bathroom. This room is very spacious and is great for those who do not like or can not go up and down stairs. Since this bedroom is at ground level you can access the beach with only a couple of steps.

The main level has two guest bedrooms, with a bathroom between them, kitchen, dining areas, great room, laundry room, and half bath. The Gulf Front bedroom has a Full size bed and the additional Bedroom has a Queen size bed. The views from this floor are FANTASTIC! You can see the beach from the gulf front bedroom, dining areas, great room and kitchen. Of course it is hard to cook when you spend all of your time gazing at the waves. You can also access the very large screened deck from these rooms. This deck is great for enjoying the outside without being in the sun. You will probably spend most of your time here. You can watch the kids build sandcastles at the water edge, eat your dinner at sunset, or just read a book. This deck as well as the wrap around decks are really nice.

The top level has the second Master Suite with a cozy sitting area, walk in closet, on suite with double Jacuzzi, a separate walk in shower with two shower heads and its own private deck. There is an additional Gulf Front bedroom outside of the Master bedroom. Both bedrooms have queen beds. The views from these bedrooms can't be beat, they provide a panoramic view of the Gulf and Eagle Harbor at St. Joseph Bay. The large covered deck can be accessed from both bedrooms. This deck is spacious and great for sunbathing.

In summary, there are five (5) bedrooms with 1 King, 3 Queens, and 1 Full size bed, and two (2) sofa sleepers for sleeping a total of 14.

Keywords: Gulf Front Beach House, Cape San Blas, Wrap Around Decks, Large Screen Deck, Two Master Suites, Pet Friendly, Great Sunsets!

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017

About The Owner

We came here for Valentine's Day in 2000 and loved the Cape so much that we bought this Beach House. We still live close by so we will be here if you need us. We also are known for our cooking, we are Property Managers and Personal Chef's. We have a dachshund who watches TV and has us trained.

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

Why The Owner chose Florida Main North West

When we bought this home at this location the realtor told us the locals called it the Beverly Hills of Cape San Blas. This is because of the location. The water quality is the best on the Cape and the white dunes are prestine.

What makes this house unique

This is a true Gulf Front home, you only have to walk down the stairs from the deck and you are on the Beach. You can not get any closer than that!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Mary Ann, We are having a wonderful time in Cape San Blas. The house is beautiful (and so is the beach, of course)! our dog has discovered that the memory foam bath mats are the most comfortable things he had ever laid on, and I have to bribe him with food just to coax the ornery old furball to get off of them. Thank you again for working with us so that we could enjoy such a wonderful week at the cape. M. Best
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 2


Port St. Joe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Gated Community, ajoining State Park


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Gulf Front - Best Location on Cape - Pets Welcome
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 11 reviews

Great Beach House! Perfect Location - Right On The Sand. We'll be back...

  • 5 of 5

We just had a great family vacation at this beach house on Cape San Blas. It was so nice we just didn't want to come home. The location in Secluded Dunes at the very end of the Cape is just perfect. The beach is just a few steps from the house, which is really convenient. We totally loved the huge screened porch area, and that was a great gathering place. The views from the beach house are amazing, and we enjoyed perfect sunsets almost every night. We had plenty of room to spread out. The room sizes are very large and the furnishings are comfortable. (We love our family but it's nice to hide sometimes, haha.) One night we had a bonfire on the beach, and made "s'mores" with our grandchildren. Then we watched them run around with flashlights, chasing ghost crabs. Our guys like being so close to the State Park. This is a great "base camp" for fishing and exploring the area. We made some wonderful memories with our family and we will definitely return next year. In fact, I need to book it now, since all the best beach houses book up so quickly. Thanks for a great week at your beach house. Wow - It was wonderful!


  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Macon, GA

Fabulous Location!

  • 2 of 5

The location of this house is fabulous! Being pet-friendly is fabulous also! However, the house needs A LOT of TLC! The downstairs bedroom with the king bed is misleading in the description. It is more of a mother-in-law suite in that you have to walk outside of the main house to access this bedroom. This should be put into the description. The size of the house is great for a large group. We had a great vacation, virtually had the beach to ourselves! I would just suggest a thorough cleaning and sprucing up of the house!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, the location is the best on the Cape. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. As far as the King Bedroom being downstairs and more of a mother-in-law suite most of our guest have liked that aspect because of the easy access to the beach without any stairs and being separate from the other guest. I did go back into the description and added that it is a mother-in-law suite. As far as sprucing up, you came just before the busy season started we have now upgraded all the linens, rugs, and accent furnishing to freshen up the house. I will taking pictures next week to show the improvements and post on the website. As far as cleaning/maintenance issues, if you called us upon your arrival we could have had the cleaners come back immediately to take care of anything you needed. I wished you had given us the opportunity. I sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are all spruced up now and ready for the busy Summer Season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Kansas City


  • 5 of 5

Our group of 14 (7 adults and 7 kids) had a wonderful time at Cape San Blas! The home accommodated our needs perfectly and the owners responded quickly to emails and phone calls! The house is located right on the beach which was AMAZING and we had an INCREDIBLE time (beautiful sunsets, time in the ocean, seeing turtles being born, lots of boogie boarding, snorkeling, etc.)! We loved how secluded the area was and how private the beach was! We are already planning a to return next year! Thanks again for a wonderful vacation!!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great beach house- directly on the water!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week at this house- plenty of room for extended family with 3 generations to have plenty of space. We really enjoyed the covered decks (extremely pet friendly). Being able to walk out directly to the beach is amazing- some of us did not even get in a car for the full 7 days...

Kitchen is set up well and extra large dining room table is a plus. Highly recommend for large groups and pet owners.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
morrow, oh


  • 4 of 5

Our 33rd annual trip to the cape was filled with fun, privacy,and perfect weather. The house is spacious and located on the BEST part of the cape. There were several issues with upkeep and maintenance we're not accustomed to for a house in this price range... broken dryer door, rusted sliders, low water pressure (master tub wasn't useable). A section of railing leading down to the beach needs to be replaced. A small child could fall through. We still had a wonderful week eating at all our favorite restaurants, chartering a fishing trip, and can't wait for next May!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Susanne, hi. Thanks so much for your comments and for staying at our beach house on the Cape. We're glad you had a nice family vacation. Our Secluded Dunes beach house does have the best location. It is truly a great setting. We were sorry to hear about the maintenance issues you listed in this review. If you had notified us when you checked in to the beach house, we would have had an opportunity to fix those items immediately. That may have improved the quality of your stay during that week. We have recently taken all steps to make the required repairs: The slider doors tracks have been cleaned and lubed. We are in a harsh salt water environment, so we routinely do that. We've even ordered some new door frames. The master tub water pressure mystery was solved. We had changed the sediment filter (2 dollars) but while doing so, the heavy minerals from our water utility clogged up the new filter. That filter has been replaced and now the jacuzzi tub is producing water like "old faithful". The section of railing down to the beach was replaced today with new spindles and rails. (Those had been damaged in a recent storm.) All of our decks and stairs are safe. We've repaired the dryer door and it is functional. Again, thank you for the business and we hope you'll visit us again at Beach Retreat in Secluded Dunes. Thanks and best regards, Steve and Mary Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Fort Myers, Florida

Bliss at 'The Cape'

  • 5 of 5

It was a perfect month at Beach Retreat. I was there mostly solo, with my four legged best friend. Busy, 'harried' husband & friends bounced in and out. We enjoyed shelling, long walks on the most beautiful beach on earth and watching our highly energetic Vizslas, run. Beach Retreat is located steps away from St. Joseph State Park. Pristine, is an understatement. Mile after mile of nature and beauty. We all felt we were worlds away from stress of any kind. Gourmet meals were cooked nightly and afterward we ventured to the beach for our evening bonfire and 'Oyster' radio, played on an old fashioned transistor with batteries. The house is large, clean and the view is breathtaking. The owners are delightful and go out of their way to be responsive and helpful. The pictures on the site accurately reflect the property. Ours was a winter stay. There is something just magical about that time of the year at The Cape. The weather is quite changeable during that time, which all just adds to the magic. It is not your typical beach escape with nightlife , traffic or restaurants on every corner. It is wonderfully quiet. The skies are clear. Nature abounds. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute. If you want a real 'escape' ... Beach Retreat is bliss.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Panama City
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cone Heads
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Front door
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Port St. Joe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2017
May 27 2017 - Aug 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Back to School Fall - 2017
Aug 5 2017 - Sep 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Winter 2017
Sep 30 2017 - Dec 30 2017
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $275 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.