Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walk to Best of Downtown & Lohi! Cozy & Contemporary Townhome

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Stay in one of the most popular neighborhoods in the country! CHARMING HOME in East Highlands neighborhood of Denver has best of old (1890's construction) and new (exposed brick, contemporary kitchen). Enjoy drinks in the comfort of a private back patio, or making dinner in the cozy, contemporary kitchen.

If you don't feel like cooking, all of Denver's hottest, hippest restaurants are within a few easy blocks. After dinner, grab ice cream or yogurt at one of several locales. Try the famous Little Man Ice Cream!

If you want to expand your horizons, Denver's rental bikes are just a few blocks away.

Once you're back home, you can call it a night in one of the two upstairs bedrooms. The master bedroom has a private bathroom. The other bedroom has a library and a spot to do a little catching up on your reading if you like.

Parking is easy - street parking in a quiet, yet convenient part of the neighborhood featured in Travel & Leisure, National Geographic Traveler and named one of the hottest neighborhoods in America by Men's Journal!

Located within walking distance (15 minutes or less) of:

* Concerts and Sporting Events: Pepsi Center, Coors Field, Mile High Stadium

* Tourism: Highlands Bridge, LODO, Denver Aquarium, Museum of Contemporary Art, Elitches, Platte River Bike Trail

* Shopping: REI, West Highlands (Kismet, Perfect Petal, Garnet Gecko, Strut), Platte Street

* Restaurants: Gallup Coffee, Duo, Forest Room 5, Z Cuisine, Northstar Brewery, My Brothers Bar, Protos Pizza, Paris Wine Bar, Linger, LoLa,

* Transportation: Close to I-25, I-70 for weekend skiing/recreating, Union Station

Keywords: Townhome, neighborhood, parking, LoHi, Highlands, Northwest Denver, downtown, Denver, I-25, I-70, mountains, Rockies, Broncos, Nuggets, Avs, Lola, Linger, Ale House at Amato’s, LoHi Athletic Club, Vitruvian Fitness, yard, sleeps 6, washer/dryer, full kitchen, patio, theater, Elitch's, Ocean Journey, private, resaurants

More Details

Owner
Valerie Jarstad
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 9, 2017

About Valerie Jarstad

What I love about Colorado is what I think brings a lot of people here -- it's very laid back, and Denver is just big enough as a city to have culture, restaurants and shopping, but just small enough to be really easy to get around.

I love the mountains -- skiing, hiking, backpacking, mountain and road biking, and am happy to share suggestions about where to go and what to do depending on your interests.

I see no reason to hold 'local's secrets' -- if there is something I can share or help you with to make your stay more enjoyable, I hope I can provide it.

Valerie Jarstad purchased this townhome in 2008

Why Valerie Jarstad chose Highland

This location is literally in the midst of some of the best restaurants, fitness centers, shopping and cultural attactions (Elitch's Six Flags, Ocean Journey Aquarium, and the Museum of Contemporary Art). I also love the fact that it keeps its neighborhood feel.

Amenities

Highland Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(70 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Walk to Best of Downtown & Lohi! Cozy & Contemporary Townhome
average rating of 4.714286 based on 70 reviews
Cody, Wyoming
5

Lower Highland, the gateway to Coors Field!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and our two house dogs once again stayed in Valerie's Lower Highland home away from home so as to attend a Colorado Rockies baseball series.

Once again we were treated well in our reservation and arrival and our stay was extremely enjoyable.

Our activities included morning walks with the dogs along the access to, and in, the walking park that runs along the South Platte River, morning breakfasts at the Gallop Café, afternoon dog walks in the neighborhood, beverages at numerous spots on the way to the ballpark and on the way home, with a special affinity for the Prost Brewing Company in the Lower Highland, and general lounging and taking it easy.

The quiet neighborhood sure beats anything in downtown Denver and it is only a short walk from downtown if you actually need that kind of human interaction. We have found that we do not, except on the morning of our departure when we did sneak in to downtown for a breakfast at Sam's No. 3!

Thank you Valerie!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I feel very fortunate to have a number of repeat guests, and I love it when visitors really take advantage of LolaPlace as a home base for exploring the neighborhood. Tom and his wife do just that when they come to Denver and I always love having them!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5

What a fun trip! This was a very nice townhouse perfectly located. It was well furnished and clean. Very comfortable, including the beds! The neighborhood was so charming. We walked to get our morning coffee and to dinner. The options of neighborhood restaurants within walking distance was impressive. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

GREAT PLACE!!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay!! Nicely decorated and clean. Valerie was also great as she was very helpful with tips on what to do around town. The neighborhood is awesome with all types of dining and bar options - walking distance to Union station, 16th Street Mall and the ball park. Definitely go see a show at Red Rocks!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fabulous!

  • 4 of 5

Awesome location! Walked to the stadium and nearby restaurants. Super nice townhouse with plenty of room for 4 people. Easy owner to work with.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lynbrook, NY
1

Very Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

The apartment was advertised as having air conditioning; however, it was only available in window units in the two upstairs bedrooms. The unit in the master bedroom worked well, but the unit in the other bedroom did not work well, and we had to keep our door open so cool air could circulate into it. Two fans were available on the main floor, one of which was broken, and the other one was not at all powerful. The front and back doors did not have screens on them, so we could not get any air into the downstairs, and there was only one small window in the kitchen that could open. The bed in the second bedroom upstairs was comprised of a few foam pads on top of a latex mattress. It shouldn't have even be called a bed. Valerie did drop off an air mattress, but the pump was for a car. After we filled the mattress outside, it wouldn't fit up the stairs. Due to the heat in the downstairs, we had to go out for breakfast because cooking would have been too much.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Believe it or not, nothing is more disappointing to a homeowner/VRBO host than to have someone not enjoy their stay. There are a few items worth clarifying -- the back door has no screen because they are french doors. And one of the fans that seemed to be broken was simply on a timer. As far as the bed goes, that is always difficult because different people like different styles of sleeping, and of course I can't change out a mattress for individual needs, as much as I'd like to. Many of my reviews actually point out how comfortable both the beds are. However at the end of the day I had unhappy guests, and I feel bad that they didn't get an experience to match their expectation. I hope future guests will continue to enjoy the amenities LolaPlace offers, including Aveda products, organic sheets and a fully equipped kitchen with coffee and cooking spices.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cool condo in great location...

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this condo. It is located right in the heart of the Highlands neighborhood of Denver. Given it's location you are walking distance from bars and restaurants and anything else you need.

The condo is well appointed and while the stairs leading upstairs are steep, not recommended if you are older, there is plenty of room in this unit. The kitchen has everything you need and the small outdoor space in back is perfect. We loved having a grill to cook and just hang around outside in the wonderful weather.

This is a cool place in a neighborhood w a lot of character and convenience. I'd definitely recommend a stay here!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm always happy to have great guests who are ready to tackle those circa 1894 stairs and who appreciate the character of an old townhouse. I feel lucky to be in such a great neighborhood where the choices are many, and I am always up to help make recommendations so my guests can have an experience that they will enjoy!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Bike rentals, miles and miles of walking/jogging/cycling paths, the newest and hottest restaurants and breweries in Denver

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Damage Deposit $450

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties