check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Snow Special $89 - Supposed to snow this weekend

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

Warm up in the hot tub and with a fire in the fireplace

Just Breathe.... Our privately owned and managed smoke free pine planked log cabin, Listen to the Creek, is located in the Trout Capital of GA just 90 minutes north of Atlanta, 90 minutes southeast of Chattanooga, and 30 minutes from Murphy, NC. and 35 minutes from HARRAH's CASINO! Tucked in McCaysville, GA and nestled quietly in the woods on one acre surrounded by ferns and seasonal views of one of the best GA trout fishing streams (some say it is as big as a river), Fightingtown Creek. The creek is not directly on our property....Walk 300 feet down drive and private road to the 8 x 10 ft dock shaded by trees and where the huge trout wait for your hook! Start your morning with coffee and a cool mountain breeze in a rocking chair on the screened porch or wrap around porch. Sit at the table at lunch and watch deer wonder by the window. At dusk, watch the sun set over the tree tops from the swing and rocking chairs on the porch or count the stars while roasting s’mores around the fire pit.

Relax in the 8 person Hot Tub while listening to the creek!

True to its name “Listen to the Creek” is a great relaxing retreat in the mountains with all the comforts of home. Entering on the open main level, you find a cozy living room with a wood burning fireplace (great for a romantic evening), a dining area, and fully equipped kitchen with granite and with place settings for more than 8. Open floor plan makes viewing the 32' flatscreen TV equipped with Direct TV- enjoyable for everyone in the kitchen and family room. Cabin has 2 bedrooms and a loft closet area kids love to make forts in, plus two bathrooms with granite and beautiful flagstone floors. One bedroom with a queen is on the main level and stairs lead to the second floor room with a full bed, private screened porch with sunrise views and full bath. Fully equipped washer and dryer closet is also available for your convenience.

“Listen to the Creek” is close to historic downtown Blue Ridge, Lake Blue Ridge and the Toccoa/Ocoee Rivers - Only 11 miles from the Olympic Whitewater site! You can go kayaking, rafting, or canoeing on the river; ski and fish in the lake; ride the Blue Ridge Scenic Railroad, go horseback riding, Zip-line at Zip Line Canopy Tours, visit Bert’s Pumpkin Farm, Merciers Apple Orchard, or the Swan Drive in Movie Theatre - plays first run movies and usually a double feature. There are also local golf courses in the area for your enjoyment

The cabin is well equipped not only for essential living but for fun too! Life jackets for the creek and river are also provided for use at your risk. No need to bring movies or a book. There is a small library of books, movies and games to enjoy too!

Whether you want a romantic weekend getaway, a family vacation, or a long weekend with friends, “Listen to the Creek” will provide memories of great secluded mountain getaway for years to come.

More Details

Owner
Terri Teems
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2017

About Terri Teems

My husband and I bought this beautiful cabin in 2007. We absolutely love it but find we can't go up as often as we like. So after much nudging from our friends that vacation there regularly we were convinced to share our little piece of serenity with the world!

Terri Teems purchased this cabin in 2007

Guestbook comments from the owner

Terri,



I wanted to let you know we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the cabin! I met up with my cousin and a friend of ours for a much needed girls weekend. Exploring all the small towns, shopping and eating, and then coming back to relax at the cabin is just what we needed to recharge. It was so clean and had everything we could need and more. Thank you for providing such a wonderful spot to get away!
May 2014
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

Snow Special $89 - Supposed to snow this weekend
average rating of 4.671875 based on 70 reviews
Melbourne
3

Nice cabin...disappointed in our stay

  • 3 of 5

Tough drive on the gravel roads to the cabin. We were pulling a trailer which made it very difficult. Thankful for the paved driveway.

Upon arrival, the code we were given was incorrect, however owners responded quickly to alleviate the problem and we got in. Nice cabin although upstairs shower was spraying out dirt for some reason. Maybe hadn't been used in a while? When we arrived we were made aware that the hottub heater was not working. Of the 5000 cabins to choose from this was a BIG Disappointment! We stayed for 3 days. Never got to use it. The first night obviously broken.The second day the repairmen never showed up. The last day it was supposedly fixed yet they cranked up the heater where it was dangerous to use. (108 degrees). There was no way to change the temperature on the controls. Again cold temps, vacation, cabin and no hottub was disappointing. I don't blame the owners, but nothing but an "I'm sorry" was given.

Fishing was not as good as i hoped. Maybe wrong time of year? Nothing biting and the walk down and back up the hill was for the young folks. Not as close as the ad makes it seem.

The cabin itself was nice. Kitchen and living room DEFINITELY highlights. Porch was nice with outside gas firepit.

Surrounding areas were nice as well. A few good spots to eat. Shopping in blueridge was great. The hike to the swinging bridge was easy and fun.

Nice enough but I suggest a few renter warnings to future tenants.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Beautiful but not as expected

  • 3 of 5

The drive out to this property is beautiful. We had planned this trip for a much needed birthday vacation. Terri was always available within a day to respond to questions since I was concerned about the driveway because of the reviews. I was told it was to be paved well before my trip so my Scion tC could make it up. (She even updated the ad to say it was officially paved) My car usually does pretty decent on gravel roads but this road to their driveway had it's challenges since it's been so dry out. We get to the property and the driveway is not paved. and the dips where people had spun out were so bad my car almost couldn't make it. Terri was great at responding but never gave me the update about the driveway or I would have made plans elsewhere. Besides ruining some tires and dreading leaving the property it was beautiful. I also was saddened to see that the creek was not on the property or even a part of the property but down the road. We did enjoy the hiking area they had left for us to check out and was grateful for the details left on stores nearby. Home was clean and stocked. Hot tub was great but no controls for the temperature. Overall a good trip minus the driveway and what not.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry the company paving the driveway was delayed due to the owner having a heart attack. It is now paved and beautiful! Our VRBO description details the creek access. The creek and dock are 300 feet from the cabin down our drive and private road . The temperature control for the hot tub is inside the control panel door. I'll be sure to add that information to our arrival packet. Thank you for choosing our cabin. Terri
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful cabin

  • 5 of 5

Secluded yet not far from town and hiking. Well equipped and comfortable cabin. Turtletown Falls Hike was a wonderful suggestion, I recommend this hike.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect site for enjoying fall colors

  • 5 of 5

The house was great, the vistas beautiful and everything thing worked, and I can't say that about every vacation rental. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would go back again. All will be perfect when the driveway is paved(smile).

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing our cabin, Listen to the Creek! I'm so pleased you enjoyed the cabin and your mountain vacation. I'm pleased to say the driveway is paved!!! Thank you again! Terri
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very Beautiful Property

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed the home very much, it was comfortable and very quite. We felt like the description was a little misleading as far as the proximity to the creek. It was quite the walk down and back up hill to the house. Some of the jets on the Hot Tub do not work. All in all it was very relaxing and a comfortable home.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing to stay at our cabin and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. As stated in our description, the creek and our dock are 300 ft down our driveway and road. Thank you again for choosing our cabin. Terri
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful!!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful!! Great privacy, surrounded by trees and nature. If you have a truck bring it for the driveway and stay to the left. If not we took our Kia Soul and stayed to the left and we were ok. Great creek access and just overall great stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Chattanooga
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Copper Basin
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Blue Ridge Scenic Railway
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Highway 5
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Cider House
Car: necessary

Our cabin is located in the quaint town of McCaysville where the Blue Ridge train visits most days. Fish off the private dock on one of the best trout streams in GA, Fightingtown Creek, or simply launch one of the provided tubes off of the dock for a 2 1/2 hour leisurely ride down the creek.

Relax on one of the 3 Decks or soak in the Hot Tub while listening to the creek and looking into the woods.

Photos

Rates & Availability

McCaysville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Snow Days
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
$89
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 11 2017 - Feb 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
$670
$1,900
 
 
Nightly Rate
Apr 6 2017 - Apr 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
$105
$670
$1,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$105
$670
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning Fee $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

There are often multiple inquires for the same days; therefore the dates of your vacation are not guaranteed until you book and pay the deposit.

Cancellation Policy is 30 days prior to arrival. If less than 30 days and if we can rent the cabin we will refund all monies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

McCaysville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1) Queen in Master on Main, Double Beds (1) upstairs Queen fold out Mattress/bed in loft.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties