Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bliss Cottage - Great Rates! Pet Friendly; King Bed

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Lovely 2 bedroom; 2nd row w glimpse of ocean & marsh views; large backyard

IMPORTANT:

- Please read important information at the end of this description prior to proceeding to booking.

- New! King Size bed now available in one bedroom

- Very competitive rates, and the Bliss Cottage is one of the best deals on the island.

- A well-behaved canine family member is welcome, although a pet fee is required. (See pet policy at the end of this description.)

- Access to both the Bloody Point golf course and to the prestigious Haig Point Golf Club.

- Great location! Short walking distance to beach.

***

THE COTTAGE

The Bliss Cottage, located on Daufuskie Island Melrose on the Beach resort, has beautiful views from all sides. From your front porch, you can catch a glimpse of the ocean. From your back porch, you share a lovely and huge backyard backing up to a marsh.

And the location really can't be beat! You are within a several minute walk to the beach. And for our youngest visitors, there is even a nearby playground!

This is one of the resort's renovated cottages, and it is tastefully decorated and furnished with everything you will need for an enjoyable vacation experience. When you first enter the cottage, you are greeted by an open floor plan with a comfortable living room, dining area, and adjoining kitchen.

The two spacious bedrooms are each comfortably furnished with two queen-sized beds in one bedroom, and a king and queen, in the second bedroom; TVs, and private bathrooms.

And you will want to check out your furnished and screened-in back porch overlooking a backyard with occasional wildlife. There is not a better place to relax and enjoy the end of the day: Pina Coladas, anyone?

Please note that a well-behaved canine member of the family will be considered. Manager must review pet requests, and the guest will need to guarantee that the dog is housebroken, is not destructive, will not be getting on furniture, and that every effort will be made to leave the property upon checkout looking like no pet had been staying there. The fee for one pet is $125.

Avid golfers will also enjoy playing on the nearby Bloody Point golf course and the prestigious Haig Point golf course.

Many visitors enjoy touring the resort and the island by golf cart and bikes, both of which are available for rental, as well as simply taking nice long walks.

THE ISLAND

Most visitors also take time to get to know the rest of this special island. Those who do quickly realize that they have discovered a hidden island gem just a short boat ride from the mainland. Quiet, laid-back, and unique, beautiful Daufuskie is described by old-timers as similar to Hilton Head before a bridge connected that island with the mainland.

When you choose this cottage for your vacation, you will have the opportunity to experience a lovely low country island with a centuries-old cultural history, beautiful beaches, spectacular wildlife, and friendly residents.

SO WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? Book your Daufuskie vacation today at the Bliss Cottage!

***

PET POLICY:

We will accept a well-behaved canine member of the family. However, the dog must be over one year old, not be aggressive towards people or other pets, be house trained, does not get up on the furniture, and is ok with being left alone when you are away from the cottage (no incessant barking or destructive behavior). We require that you will be a responsible pet owner when the dog is outside, that your dog is always kept on a leash, is up-to-date on flea and heart worm treatment and...most importantly...that there will be no signs that your pet was in the property when you depart. You must be responsible for any damage and/or extra cleaning caused by your dog.

More Details

Property Manager
Deborah Smith
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Deborah Smith

The owners, who fell in love with Daufuskie Island almost 10 years ago, live in Grove City, Pennsylvania.

This vacation home is managed by Daufuskie Rental Group, all of whom enjoy sharing their island with visitors. Deborah Smith, DRG Owner and Licensed Property Manager in Charge, and Karen Opderbeck, Director of Property Maintenance and Licensed Property Manager, are both available for help with reservations, getting to the island, on-island logistics, cart rentals, and activities.

Deborah Smith purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Deborah Smith chose Daufuskie Island

Just as Daufuskie is a special place, so is the Melrose area of the island. One of the original eleven plantations on Daufuskie, Melrose was famous for its Sea Island cotton and thriving social life in the 1800’s. The former plantation bears the name of a Scottish rose brought to the island by Captain Mongin. The main house, known as the Melrose Mansion, was surrounded by lavish rose gardens and looked out at the Atlantic Ocean and beautiful white sand beaches.

Today, Melrose encompasses over 700 acres and you’ll share those same white sand beaches with nesting Bald Eagles, Loggerhead Turtles and dolphin.

Amenities

Melrose on the Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
  • Each bedroom has a private bath and TV
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
There is a departure cleaning fee of $142.00. Check in is 4 pm. Check out is 10 am.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

Bliss Cottage - Great Rates! Pet Friendly; King Bed
average rating of 4.736842 based on 38 reviews
5

The cottage was beautiful, clean and super close to the beach! Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

It is expensive to get to the island and it was sad to see some of the devastation the Matthew left behind. However, this is a beautiful place to be if you enjoy solitude and want the beach to yourselves and maybe a few friends. Rent a golf cart and explore the many drives throughout the island and definitely go out to eat at the local haunts! We hope to come back!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean and pretty cottage

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was very nice and had everything you would possibly need for cooking and being comfortable away from home. The beach is nice and was full of amazing creatures at low tide. I think it's important to note though that Melrose Resort is no longer a resort. The property is like a ghost town at the front end. The restaurant, golf course, inn and pool are all closed for now due to bankruptcy. The back part of the property was full of people and very pleasant. If you are looking for a resort stay this is not the place, but for a pretty cottage with close proximity to the beach and a lot of cool nature Bliss Cottage is perfect.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cassie - We are glad you enjoyed the Bliss Cottage! As you note, Melrose is in a transitional state right now, but we are hearing very promising things about a new investor and a renaissance for the resort. In the meantime, as you have rightly noted, Daufuskie is still a wonderful island to visit, and there are many great places on the island and people to get to know. Hope to see you again. Deborah Smith, Daufuskie Rental Group
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Elk City, OK
4

Gorgeous cottage. Listing contains deceptive content.

  • 4 of 5

The cottage is beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable and accommodating. I was up early every morning and was blessed to see lots of wild life. There are alligators in the ponds, and deer everywhere. We watched a young buck on our second day from the side of the road. He was only about 15 feet from us. On the last day, a herd of deer came through the back yard while I was on the back patio. The beach is not crowded at all. We were the only ones in sight on Monday and there was only one other couple on Tuesday.

We were very disappointed to learn a week prior to our trip that Melrose resort is closed so there were no meal discounts, pool access, golf etc. Nor did we receive discounts for other resorts on the small island. We carried in food and beverages. Tip: pack your small suitcase and place it inside a larger empty rolling suitcase and then stop for groceries on the way and pack your groceries in the larger empty suitcase. It's much easier than carrying bags and gives you ample room for carrying back souvenirs or shells.

Haig point does not allow outsiders so don't even ask. Listing states you get access but we were denied access.

There is no golf cart included with the rental as stated on the property owners website. Hopefully that information has been updated as well. Cost is $55 a day.

Deborah and Karen were easy to reach and accommodating. Deborah fixed a ticket snafu for the ferry because I did not receive our tickets via email. There is a small package store at Freeport so you do not have to carry in alcohol unless you choose to. The small grocery store there has only bare bones stuff so take whatever food you need. Be sure to include coffee, toilet paper, paper towels, beach towels, sugar, picnic supplies, etc.

I suggest you make time to attend church. We very much enjoyed the service in this quaint little church. Also suggest you eat at Marshside Mamas and get to know the locals. We loved the beach by Bloody Point. It was much cleaner than the beach at Melrose. Check the beach chairs in the cottage to make sure the ones you grab are not broken. We also loved the little community farm. They had an old fashioned community fund/raiser/get together while we were there and we participated in goat yoga, a cookout, a cake walk and many other old-fashioned fun things. We will consider Bliss cottage again.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dora - It is certainly NEVER EVER our intention to be deceptive. This cottage has not come with a complimentary cart for over two years, and there is no mention of a complimentary cart on its VRBO page. There may be a few older reviews that mention a free cart, but we can't control that. You said that we told you that you learned about the Melrose situation a week ahead of your arrival, but in fact I sent you a message 17 days before your arrival, which is when we were told that the pool and restaurant may not be opening in the near future. At that time, we were approving any cancellations without penalty for rental guests who were concerned about that lack of resort amenities. In your review you said "don't even ask" about accessing the private Haig Point community. In fact, the letter I sent you on April 4th clearly states that we have worked out an arrangement with the Haig Point club for access to both their golf course AND the equestrian center. We were really hoping this would help make up for the Melrose situation. I'm sorry that you did not see that information in my letter. I am glad you enjoyed the island and the Bliss Cottage, but are sorry you found a few other things unsatisfactory. If you decide to return, please do let me know what we can do to make amends. Deborah Smith Daufuskie Rental Group
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Blowing Rock, NC
5

Clean, updated great location

  • 5 of 5

Loved the close proximity to the beach. The duplex is inviting and comfortable with plenty of room for the 6 of us. The property is updated and efficient. We appreciate Deborah and Karen's accessibility to us for any questions or needs.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spring Break Adventure

  • 4 of 5

Our Stay on Daufuskie was the adventure we were hoping for! Even though we waited until the last minute to book our stay, Deborah and Karen made booking a breeze, answering our many questions about travel accommodations and what we needed to bring for our 5-night stay. While the weather was a bit chilly and windy for April, we managed to stay entertained with short visits to the beach and long golf cart rides to explore the island. The food at each restaurant was better than we could have hoped for, even pleasing our picky four and seven-year-old. Bliss cottage was just as described, with comfortable and tasteful furnishings. My only complaint here is that the TVs were out-dated, with only a few "kids channels" to offer on their satellite tv. We would have liked to use our Apple tv for Netflix, etc, but we couldn't even find a way to plug it in, being that there were no HDMI plug-ins. One other thing to mention is that Melrose restaurant (only a short walk away) was closed down indefinitely, which was an unfortunate surprise to us, being that the pictures of the facilities are still up on this site. Overall, we had a fantastic time on Daufuskie Island staying at Bliss Cottage, and I would highly recommend it for vacation you will always remember.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mandy - We are glad you enjoyed your vacation on Daufuskie and your stay at the Bliss Cottage. The owners had provided an HDMI cable for guests to use to hook up devices. (In fact, they bring their own Apple TV every time they come) I'm sorry you didn't see that (perhaps it was taken by a previous guest), and would have been happy to provide another one had you let me know there was a problem. Re the resort restaurant not being open, since the resort owner's financial difficulties have resulted in the restaurant etc being closed, we went through all our Melrose VRBO postings and deleted any reference to those facilities being available. Unfortunately, for the Bliss Cottage we neglected to check the photos. We are very sorry that the restaurant was not open, but trust you enjoyed the other great restaurants found throughout the island. Next time you visit, please be sure to mention this issue, and we'll find a way to make it up to you. Deborah Smith Daufuskie Rental Group
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The cottage was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We liked taking our dogs.

  • 4 of 5

We liked the quiet surroundings with no commercialism. We had some trouble with the internet but it was eventually fixed.

I wish there was an outdoor hose in front of 135 so we didn't have to use our neighbors.

If you love being out in nature and a sense of adventure you'll enjoy this special island.

There is no bridge to the island so bring you're own groceries and pack light. Definitely bring bug spray and suntan lotion. It's the South!

The deviled crab at the crab house was delicious! The dinner we had at the Melrose Beach Club restaurant was also VERY good.

We did a kayak trip with "Tour Daufuskie" and enjoyed it alot. We did the Daufuskie Rum tour and visited the local artists which we recommend. We saw slit if wild life including Bald Eagles. We wished we had more time to do more tours.

We hope to return with our dogs and family and friends. Thanks for making us feel at home.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nancy - It was a pleasure to have you hear on the island, and so glad you enjoyed your stay! Sorry about the hose. We hope it wasn't too inconvenient using the one located at your next door neighbors'. I believe the owners of the Bliss Cottage plan to put in their own faucet, but I will be passing along your comments. Thanks... Deborah Smith Daufuskie Rental Group
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Hilton Head Island,SC and Savannah, GA
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Daufuskie Island Ferry and May River Excursions
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Bloody Point & Haig Point Clubs
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Highway 278 in Hilton Head
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Melrose Beach
Car: not necessary

This lovely, second row, beach cottage, is located in Melrose on the Beach, just steps away from 2 miles of quiet beaches where all you can hear is the sound of gentle waves and beautiful shore birds. Watch the shrimp boats, bike along the beach, take a Historic tour and discover the Gulah History of Daufuskie or take in a round of golf. Don't forget to try our island delicacy, deviled crabs! Better still, we'll help arrange a full low-country dinner prepared by a local resident to be delivered directly to your cottage.

Daufuskie has several unique and colorful restaurants (Marshside Mama's, Daufuskie Crab Company, Lucy Bell's Cafe) where you'll swear you're in the middle of the Caribbean, as well as the casual but upscale Eagle's Nest at Bloody Point. History buffs will enjoy exploring the island and visiting various sites providing a glimpse into the past, including the recently-restored Oyster House used as a 19th century Gullah meeting place, the Billie Burns Museum, ancient cemeteries, and the two-room school house where renowned author Pat Conroy taught and which was the subject of his first book, The Water is Wide. Those interested in unique shopping opportunities will want to visit the Iron Fish Art Gallery, the Glass House, and the weekly farmer's market held at the public dock during the warmer months. And you certainly don't want to miss the Daufuskie Island Community Farm, where old and young visitors alike are encouraged to help feed the chickens and even to try milking a goat!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Melrose on the Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 27 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Christmas-NYE
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
 

Additional information about rental rates

Departure cleaning fee $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $125
Tax Rate 10.0%

From the Owner: "Golf Carts are easily available direct from a golf cart rental company located on the island, creating less hassle with golf cart issues than when supplied by a homeowner. Rates reflect this rental, & property manager will put you in direct contact with a cart rental agency. There are no guarantees to availability especially with last minute reservations)"

Quotes for the total rental rates includes a service fee imposed by VRBO. This fee does not go to either the property owner nor to Daufuskie Rental Group.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties