Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Direct Ocean Front Property. Sleeps 12 adults and 4 children

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Space 3,574 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

DIRECT Oceanfront property, sleeps 12 adults and 4 children

This beautiful 7 Bedroom, 3 Bath DIRECT ocean front home is set up on two fully self contained levels. This is strictly a Non-Smoking home (including e-Cigarettes). Each floor of this home has its own kitchen and living areas. Downstairs consists of 3 bedrooms with Queen beds and a bathroom. Upstairs has a dishwasher in the kitchen, 4 bedrooms; 2 King beds, a Queen bed and 1 bedrooms with 2 sets of bunk beds (4 beds) with 2 baths. Our home allows large families to have some personal space while still spending time together. Please note, there are no internal stairs connecting the two levels. Each level is accessed via external covered stairs. This home can easily accommodate 16 people and is one of the largest direct ocean front rentals you'll find anywhere. Guest numbers may not exceed a maximum of 12 adults and 4 children at any time. The home has full WiFi throughout and a Washer and Dryer for guest use. The Laundry is external to the house but still undercover and easy to access from the car port. Please look closely at the floor plan of our home to make sure it really suits your family & friends needs.

Your owners, Steve and Nikki lovingly restored this Historic Home in 2011 and it's been on the weekly rental market since only mid 2012. The last time this home was on the rental market was in the early 1960's. For the last half-century it has been owned by the same family and not rented. So, be one of the first to experience this beautiful cottage.

Welcome to Salty C Cottage at the end of C Street, where awaits the cozy, casual Salty C. While you are here, this is your home. Experience the therapy of waking up and looking at the waves as they reflect the morning sun. Feel the cool ocean breeze and the hot sun. Dive into the sea, walk on the beach, or just sit on the porch. Relax and watch TV while looking at the ocean through the expansive glass windows. In the evenings, enjoy Salty C's library, games or just stargaze and dream.

We have preserved the casual cozy feeling of our Historic beach house while still giving you the convenience your deserve. There are modern HD flat screen TV's in every living room along with Blu-ray and DVD players for your convenience. Downstairs living room TV is ready for your gamer to simply hook in and go.

We have a huge amount of private parking, so bring your Jet Ski's and we are located away from busy A1A. The beach is wide, flat and sandy - no cliffs or rocks like some north and south of us.

Walk to dinner! There are at least 4 restaurants within one block. Shops are also within walking distance. For those who need some pampering, there is a spa within a couple of blocks. The Surf Shop is a few blocks away and they rents surfboards and gives lessons, or if you like, stop in and take a Segway tour on the beach. All just a stroll away.The oldest and most romantic town of St Augustine is 10 minutes drive away. There is also a shuttle that takes you back and forth. Be prepared to feel like you have stepped back in time to a town somewhere in Spain. You can even take a carriage ride!

We want Salty C Cottage to become your beach home that you return to as a yearly tradition. A place where you have many great memories of carefree times with family and friends. To ensure that, we have one very important rule: When you step onto our driveway, please leave your troubles behind - relax and enjoy.

SORRY BUT WE DO NOT RENT OUR HOME FOR WEDDINGS OR TO ANYONE UNDER 25 YEARS OLD

DON'T FORGET TO READ THE GUESTBOOK REVIEWS JUST BEFORE YOU LOOK AT THE PHOTOS OF SALTY C!

More Details

Property Manager
Steve & Nikki Layt
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 16, 2018

About Steve & Nikki Layt

Your owners, Steve and Nikki lovingly restored this Historic Home in 2011 and again in 2018 and it's been on the weekly rental market since only April 2012. The last time this home was on the rental market was in the early 1960's. For the last half-century it has been owned by the same family and not rented. So, be one of the first to experience this beautiful cottage.

Steve & Nikki Layt purchased this house in 2010

Why Steve & Nikki Layt chose Saint Augustine

We fell in love with St Augustine Beach while on vacation in 2010. We decided that we would love to spend many more vacations here so we found this perfect home to share with our friends and family

Guestbook comments from the manager

July 2014.... Your home is perfect for our family gathering. Everything we needed was here. We had plenty of room to be together and have privacy. This was our first family vacation that we rented a house and it was terrific. Thank you for sharing your home.
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 63

Amenities

Saint Augustine House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3574 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Max. adults: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Only 5 vehicle parked on the property
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Not wheelchair accessible
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Not wheelchair accessible
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Not wheelchair accessible
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , This room overlooks the ocean
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed , These bunks are build for children 16 & under only
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
125 miles to Walt DisneyWorld 121 miles to Orlando Airport 110 miles to Universal Studios 52 miles to Daytona Beach 65 miles to Jacksonville Airport

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Direct Ocean Front Property. Sleeps 12 adults and 4 children
average rating of 4.714286 based on 84 reviews
5

Wonderful location and close to so much

  • 5 of 5

AMAZING time at Salty C. We will be back

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had such a great time at Salty C. We look forward to seeing you and your family back again soon. Always welcome.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious!

  • 4 of 5

We loved the house, very spacious and clean! Everyone had their own room and having the extra kitchen and living space was a plus. The only thing that we would say was a negative is that you have to access each floor by going outside. Nevertheless, we had an amazing time and loved the house. Being able to walk to the beach was amazing!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a wonderful time at Salty C. We also love that the beach is right there and easy to get to. We hope that there were many happy memories made during your stay. We do have it clearly listed that there aren't any internal stairs in our description of the property but we will try and make this clearer for furture guests. The positive is that these stairs are covered incase of inclement weather. We hope to see you and your family at Salty C again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Hixson, TN
4

Great location.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our visit to St. Augustine Beach. The location was within walking distance to some restaurants. We loved Mango-Mangos. We ate there 3 times. Fantastic Coconut Shrimp! House was clean and very spacious for our large family.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying at Salty C. We LOVE Mango-Mango as well and totally agree on how delicious the Coconut Shrimp is. We visit there more than we probable should. We would like to also thank you and your family for treating our home like it was your own and going the extra mile to leave our home as you found it. (Having some of the towel washed and folded was a huge help the cleaning staff as well). We hope to see you visit St Augustine again soon and hopfully you will keep Salty C in mind when you do. Thanks Steve & Nikki
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Large families won't be disappointed!🤗

  • 5 of 5

My family came from multiple states to celebrate my sons wedding and we celebrated all week with family...in all there was 18 adults and 5 children. All were comfortable! Loads of fun brought own yard games and beach equipment ang grill. (Can rent these locally as well very reasonable prices). Has cable tv's but we really never had time for tv!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: WOW! So glad you and your families all had a wonderful stay at Salty C. Sounds like you all had a blast and we hope all went smoothly with your son's wedding. We hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spartanburg, SC
4

Nearly perfect beach house!

  • 4 of 5

Me and my family stayed at Salty C for a family vacation and we absolutely loved it! We are seriously considering returning in two years for our next family vacation, even though we've previously done each one in a different place. St. Augustine has so much to do and the beach is gorgeous - we feel like we barely scratched the surface!! Our only complaints would be: there was no grill, despite the Home Away page saying there is one, and the rule that grilling is not allowed. I understand the safety risk but everyone wants to grill at the beach. Additionally, some ceiling fans in the bedrooms would be nice since you aren't allowed to turn the thermostat below 72. They do provide multiple box fans but ceiling fans would be preferred. Even with those two minor issues, we would return again! Thank you for letting us stay!

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for visiting Salty C in May and we would love to see you visit with us again in 2 years time. Thanks too for mentioning the minor issues that you had. In the past we did have had grills for our guests to use but found that they simply were not taken care of or cleaned so we removed them. We do mention in our description however that there is a company locally that will rent a BBQ on a weekly bases to our home. Bigbillsbeachstuff.com. I have made corrections to reflect this so other guests wont get confused. Thank you. On the fans, our home has low ceiling in the down stairs area of the house which prevents us from putting fans in them. However, this week we have replaced all the box fans with new oscilating pedestal fans for every room and we're sure that this will help circulate the air a little better. Thanks again for your great feedback, see you soon again at the Salty C!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Worth, TX
4

My family and I had a wonderful time.

  • 4 of 5

This was our first time to St. Augustine, and because I have a large family, we rented this beach property.

We loved being able to walk to the ocean front; it was beautiful. The house is very nice and has very good accommodations. We would certainly return again if we ever return to St. Augustine. As my son-in-law said to me, "This is the best vacation ever that we have taken as a family." That says it all.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very happy to hear that you and your family has a wonderful time in St Augustine and at Salty C Cottage. We hope to see you and your family back at Salty C should you visit the area again. Nikki & Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Jacksonville
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Only steps away
Nearest Beach
At your front door
Car: recommended

This beautiful 7 Bedroom, 3 Bath DIRECT ocean front home is set up on two fully self contained levels. This is strictly a Non-Smoking home (including e-Cigarettes). Each floor of this home has its own kitchen and living areas. Downstairs consists of 3 bedrooms with Queen beds and a bathroom. Upstairs has a dishwasher in the kitchen, 4 bedrooms; 2 King beds, a Queen bed and 1 bedrooms with 2 sets of bunk beds (4 beds) with 2 baths. Our home allows large families to have some personal space while still spending time together. Please note, there are no internal stairs connecting the two levels. Each level is accessed via external covered stairs. This home can easily accommodate 16 people and is one of the largest direct ocean front rentals you'll find anywhere. Guest numbers may not exceed a maximum of 12 adults and 4 children at any time. The home has full WiFi throughout and a Washer and Dryer for guest use. The Laundry is external to the house but still undercover and easy to access from the car port. Please look closely at the floor plan of our home to make sure it really suits your family & friends needs.

Your owners, Steve and Nikki lovingly restored this Historic Home in 2011 and it's been on the weekly rental market since only mid 2012. The last time this home was on the rental market was in the early 1960's. For the last half-century it has been owned by the same family and not rented. So, be one of the first to experience this beautiful cottage.

Welcome to Salty C Cottage at the end of C Street, where awaits the cozy, casual Salty C. While you are here, this is your home. Experience the therapy of waking up and looking at the waves as they reflect the morning sun. Feel the cool ocean breeze and the hot sun. Dive into the sea, walk on the beach, or just sit on the porch. Relax and watch TV while looking at the ocean through the expansive glass windows. In the evenings, enjoy Salty C's library, games or just stargaze and dream.

We have preserved the casual cozy feeling of our Historic beach house while still giving you the convenience your deserve. There are modern HD flat screen TV's in every living room along with Blu-ray and DVD players for your convenience. Downstairs living room TV is ready for your gamer to simply hook in and go.

We have a huge amount of private parking, so bring your Jet Ski's and we are located away from busy A1A. The beach is wide, flat and sandy - no cliffs or rocks like some north and south of us.

Walk to dinner! There are at least 4 restaurants within one block. Shops are also within walking distance. For those who need some pampering, there is a spa within a couple of blocks. The Surf Shop is a few blocks away and they rents surfboards and gives lessons, or if you like, stop in and take a Segway tour on the beach. All just a stroll away.The oldest and most romantic town of St Augustine is 10 minutes drive away. There is also a shuttle that takes you back and forth. Be prepared to feel like you have stepped back in time to a town somewhere in Spain. You can even take a carriage ride!

We want Salty C Cottage to become your beach home that you return to as a yearly tradition. A place where you have many great memories of carefree times with family and friends. To ensure that, we have one very important rule: When you step onto our driveway, please leave your troubles behind - relax and enjoy.

SORRY BUT WE DO NOT RENT OUR HOME FOR WEDDINGS OR TO ANYONE UNDER 25 YEARS OLD

DON'T FORGET TO READ THE GUESTBOOK REVIEWS JUST BEFORE YOU LOOK AT THE PHOTOS OF SALTY C!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $300

All Rates are based on the lowest pricing available. For exact Rates please call 864-569-1348 or 904-471-9259

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.