Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury family retreat-walk to beach, fire pit, gas grill, WiFi, game room!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 2,100 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4+ Bedroom, Walk To Beach/Tunnel Park

Nestled just down the street from Tunnel Park Beach. This professionally decorated 4 bedroom, air conditioned home offers family fun for everyone. Our open floor plan and the fieldstone fireplace in our great room with dining for 14 is great for entertaining or just lounging. The kitchen boasts an open concept floor plan with new appliances and farmhouse sink. Sleeping accommodations: Main floor bedroom one with queen bed. Upstairs bedrooms includes a bedroom with twin beds and a king bedroom. Lower level bunk room plus pull out queen sofa in the main area in the basement. Newly updated bathrooms, one on the main floor, one on the upper floor. Lower level flat screen tv and dvd player for entertainment as well as a game table and foosball table. Plan a backyard BBQ after a day at the beach on a fully shaded deck. Roast marshmallows in our new fire pit. 4 flat screen TVs with cable and WiFi, DVD players . Relax on the shaded wrap around deck in the comfy Adirondack chairs. New washer and dryer and kitchen appliances.Check out our other property down the street from Holland State Park vrbo/624009.


Owner
Sue or Bob Kust
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Sue or Bob Kust

We fell in love with Holland when we would visit our girls who both attended Hope College, when graduation time creeping up on us we set about to find a vacation home in this lovely community, We love the friendliness, shopping, farmers market, the lake and beaches and of course all that goes on at Hope College. Since we live in Cincinnati we decided to rent our house out so that others could enjoy it when we weren't there ourselves.

Sue or Bob Kust purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Sue or Bob Kust chose Holland

We loved the cottagey feel and the proximity to the beach, there is nothing like taking a short walk down the street to the Lake, even in the winter. It is a changing landscape everyday. Also the house has plenty of room for a crowd and a great outdoor area. Its a great place to unwind.

What makes this cottage unique

Close to the bike trails and beach but on a quite street away from the crowds. Short walk to the beach and short ride into town for restaurants and shopping

Amenities

Holland Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • 3 private bedrooms, bunk room in finished basement bunk area and queen sleeper sofa.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Keywords: Corporate rentals, furnished rental, Short term, Executive rentals, Long term, biking, beaches, cottage, resort, Townhome, Lake Macatawa, Beach House, Lake Michigan Rental, Beach, Golf, vacation rentals, cottage rentals, Lake Michigan Beach House, Holland, furnished rentals, Resort, luxury, beaches, cottage vacation rentals, Michigan, Holland, beach, winter rentals, summer rentals, boating, docks, clean, Tulip Time, Tulip Time Festival, Festival, Coast Guard Festival, Grand Haven, Saugatuck, West Michigan, Northside, Big Red, Holland State Park, close, Downtown Holland.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
28% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Luxury family retreat-walk to beach, fire pit, gas grill, WiFi, game room!
average rating of 4.5 based on 28 reviews
5

Fabulous, clean and adorable home!

  • 5 of 5

Our family felt right at home in this darling lake house. It has all the comforts of home and is in a great location. We biked, beached, kayaked, blueberry picked and relaxed. We'd love to come back again!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome house!

  • 5 of 5

We just rented this house for a girls’ weekend and loved it. The house is absolutely adorable. The open floor plan was perfect for entertaining and socializing. We also loved the fireplace. We were there on a cooler weekend so it made our experience even more cozy. There is a great path that leads to the lake. It’s also long enough to go for a run along the main road safely.

There is a review on here that said the house is dirty. We did not find that to be the case at all. It was very clean and looked like the pictures that were posted. It’s a very charming house and a such a great deal for a large group of people. We had 8 people in the house and there was plenty of space for us all to feel comfortable. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

Dingy....Grimy....Didn't see the Luxury ☹️ Not 5 Bedrooms....3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10

  • 1 of 5

I don't think this property should be occupied by anyone with small children. The slats on the railings are too far apart for most children under 6 years old to be safe (this probably violates some sort of building code, if not it should) The worry isn't that the child's head would get stuck in the railings but that it would NOT get stuck and the child would fall completely through. This property is the first house at the bottom of small but dangerous hill and is a complete blind spot, those coming over the hill CANNOT see you you ! The speed limit is 30 MPH and when you are trying to pull out of the driveway or cross the street, you absolutely CANNOT see them coming either. You have to just make a break for it and hope for the best ( the sidewalk is on the other side of the street) The home needs a fresh coat of paint throughout, and a deep cleaning, everything felt just kind grimy, the blankets on the bunk beds were dark blue the type of blanket everything sticks too and they were covered in pet hair, or someones hair, (even the 4 year olds knew it was icky) the top bunk is “maybe” 6 inches from the light fixture and does not look as shown in the picture. The table and chairs in the basement are now 1 step above a card table and not as shown. The "windows" in the basement are covered from the back with plastic and back lit from behind. The “shiny clean” candle holders on the tables were dusty, and grimy with melted dirty candles. Those beautiful white couches were visibly filthy, and in need of a good bleaching they smelled funky/dirty as well. Be careful sitting down in the brown leather chair as it’s WELL worn in. The landscaping in front is gone and now and is a messy path of pebbles, leading to the fire pit. The "laundry room" in the basement is a complete disaster. There is a closet on the first floor with nothing but "cleaning supplies" which included disgusting smelly mops and dirty dust rags which are probably what they "clean" with. I honestly expected better. The kitchen has the bare necessities, the pots and pans need a good scrubbing, , the area next to the refrigerator looks like it hasn't been cleaned in years, and you can see the crumbs, dust, and who knows what else in there, the kitchen garbage can area is dirty as well. The pictures make the home look fresh, but in reality it honestly is not. Sue and Bob you should stop by your property unannounced sometime soon, because someone isn't doing their job.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, I cannot imagine what you’re talking about. We were the last people to stay there before you and the only thing I would agree with is that the top bunk is close to the ceiling. We were there for 3 weeks and had all the necessities in the kitchen. We left it clean next to the fridge etc even before the cleaning people came. As far as the outside goes, when we left there was snow on the ground so I don’t know what our pebble path looks like until the landscapers do a spring clean up. I understand you were upset that we would not refund your reservation when you wanted to cancel a few weeks ago, I did offer to try to rerent. I don’t think it’s a reason to give us an unfair review. We have been renting this house for 5 years and have never had any comments like yours. I really don’t know how else to respond. I suggest people look at our other reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very cozy and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our Thanksgiving get away! Had everything we needed. Great location, walked to the beach and went into Holland for some shopping. Whole family, kids ages 9-23, enjoyed very much! Relaxing and comfortable. Beautiful home!

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis
5

Great location and clean cottage

  • 5 of 5

Very much enjoyed our stay ! Had everything we needed

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a nice time! Thanks for the nice review. Come back if you’re in Holland again 😉
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely home!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place for a Girls Weekend. Short walk to Lake Michigan to see the beautiful sunsets. Love all shops downtown and places to eat.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

New Holland Brewing Company
Dutch Village
8th Street Grille
Holland Habor
Holland State Park
Great park and beach a short drive or long walk away. Concessions and bathrooms and those fa...
Captain Sundae
Cant miss this place on OTTawa Beach Rd. Will be very busy at night but worth the wait. A Ho...
Windmill Restaurant
Busy breakfast place on 8th street. Only open until 2
Boatwerks
Pereddies Restaurant and Deli
Itty Bitty Bar
Deboer Bakkerij & Dutch Brothers Restaurant
Best breakfast on the westside of Michigan, locals eat here year round, Must also try their ...
West Ottawa Golf Club
Yacht Basin Marina
Itty Bitty Bar
Great food at an unlikely dive bar, maybe the best hamburgers in town, but they have somethi...
Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Grand Rapids
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Tunnel Park

Just a few minute walk to beautiful Lake Michigan and Tunnel Park. Enjoy the stunning views of clear blue water, sailboats and seagulls as you kick back and unwind. There’s no better place to be in the spring than Holland's Tulip Time Festival. Known for our famous Tulip Time Festival, Windmill Island and Dutch Village just to name a few of our local attractions. Fall is a great time to take a hike and enjoy the fall colors. We are surrounded by miles and miles of bike trails. You can bike all the way to Grand Haven along the lakefront. In the winter curl up next to your own cozy fireplace, cross country ski or just marvel at Lake Michigan’s Icebergs. The downtown is a great place to shop even during the snowiest winter days with help of our heated downtown sidewalks and outdoor fireplace. Holland’s downtown is vibrant year round and is a huge draw for locals and visitors alike. Don't forget to visit our famous Holland Farmers Market on Wednesdays and Saturdays summer and Fall! Christmas Market after Thanksgiving !

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

No smoking on property, .

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund