Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Newly Remodeled - Best Deal in Princeville for 3 Bedrooms!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom On A Golf Course With A Stunning Ocean View!

Our newly remodeled vacation home already has amazing ocean and golf course views but now boasts brand new modern bathrooms with Hans Grohe rain showers and fixtures plus a free-standing tub in the master bathroom, state of the art kitchen with Caesarstone counters and Kitchen Aid appliances, all new windows and doors, 8 foot tall sliders leading to the rear lanai, a 5-person jacuzzi tub on the covered master deck, a covered outdoor lanai for dining, wall to wall hardwood flooring, new patio decking, all new furnishings and an enclosed garage. Each room including the lanai is equipped with Big Ass fans, considered the most efficient and quietest fans on the market.

Hanalei, on the island of Kauai, is considered by many to be one of the most beautiful places on earth. Its pristine beaches are surrounded by a stunning array of waterfalls and emerald-green cliffs.

Melia Kai is a private home with a sweeping view of the cobalt blue Pacific Ocean and the cascading waterfalls of Namolokama. Located on the Princeville Makai golf course, our house offers the visitor a wonderful opportunity to do just about everything---but it is also a terrific place to do absolutely nothing!

The spectacular views invite you to walk barefoot across the fairway to the edge of a 150-foot cliff, where you look down on waves crashing onto the lava rock below. If you watch closely, you will see turtles swimming in the coves beneath you.

You will find that Melia Kai offers the best of two worlds - the luxurious amenities of the Princeville resort and the exotic remoteness of Kauai's north shore. One minute you can be sipping a Mai Tai in a crisp summer outfit at the sumptuous St. Regis Hotel, and the next you can be navigating a jungle trail in your bathing suit looking for the waterfall at the head of the Kalihiwai Valley.

Come stay the week at Melia Kai and experience paradise first hand!

More Details

Owner
Meg Chan Feitelberg
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 22, 2017

About Meg Chan Feitelberg

Our family lives in Los Angeles. We are originally from South Africa (Dad) and Chinese from the Philippines (Mom). Our 3 kids were raised in Los Angeles and enjoy the benefits of their multi-cultural background. While the kids were growing up, we frequently came to Hawaii for vacations always dreaming of owning a home in Kauai one day.

Meg Chan Feitelberg purchased this house in 2013

Why Meg Chan Feitelberg chose North Shore

We have always wanted to own a home on the Garden Island of Kauai. Why? Location, Location, Location. Stunning ocean views and a beautiful golf course just outside your windows. You can see Bali Hai. where South Pacific was filmed. Drive around and you might imagine yourself in the middle of the Hunger Games or in Jurassic World. Kauai is not as touristy as Honolulu or Maui which we prefer.

The house is only one floor and very easy to maintain. You have your privacy unlike hotels or condos. It's a great family home. Spacious enough for a family of 6 or 6 great buddies to hang out but small enough that you don't spend your vacation cleaning up.

What makes this house unique

You get the benefit of a private home. Quiet solitude in paradise or loud, boisterous fun - it's your choice. Secluded Hideaways Beach is a short walk away behind Pali Ke Kua condos or take a walk in the opposite direction about 16 homes away and explore Queen Emma's Bath. Princeville Shopping Center is a 2 minute drive away and has everything you need (Foodland, pilates, touristy shops, restaurants, wine shops, bars, real estate offices you name it). Apparently beer is the same price at Foodland here as it is in Lihue or Kapaa so no need to shop and shlep. Hanalei Beach is only a short 5 minute drive away and that is pure heaven. Anini Beach with its beautiful sand and calm waters is only 10 minutes drive away door to beach. There is great snorkeling a little further down from Hanalei Beach at Tunnels Beach. Kayaking and SUP are available only 5 minutes away in Hanalei on the Hanalei River. And if you don't want to do much, sit out on our lanai and just watch the golfers and the birds - truly relaxing. Walk out to the bluff through the golf course with your glass of wine after 6:00 pm (very short walk) and see the waves crash on the lava rock while the sun sets.

Amenities

Princeville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
  • The master bedroom has a 6 drawer dresser, mirrored closet, a safe and a television connected to Oceanic Time Warner Cable. It also has a telephone and a ceiling fan. This room leads directly out onto a covered lanai complete with a 5 person jacuzzi spa. The 2nd bedroom has two twin beds, a mirrored closet, a 3 drawer dresser and a ceiling fan. These beds cannot be combined since they sit on wooden platforms. The 3rd bedroom has a king size bed, a 6 drawer dresser, a mirrored closet, 2 large windows and a ceiling fan.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Newly Remodeled - Best Deal in Princeville for 3 Bedrooms!
average rating of 4.90566 based on 53 reviews
5

Lovely Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay here. This is a beautiful house located on a golf course near bluffs overlooking the ocean. The house is open, airy, minimalist, clean, and inviting. Everything went smoothly with this booking, and Meg was a pleasure to work with. You won't need to bring anything except clothes, toiletries, and food as pretty much everything else is provided including beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, and a mini cooler.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lynn and Ed. Such a lovely review of your stay at Melia Kai. We are so appreciative of your kind words. Please come again soon. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

Meg's home in Princeville was so beautiful! The view of the gold course and the ocean was lovely to wake up to every day. We especially appreciated that all of us could be in the house and have of "space" to relax and do our own thing. My only suggestion is that it would be nice to have a gas bbq and also a longer chair outside to put your feet up and enjoy the view. Thank you Meg!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Raquel for your review. We are so happy that you had a nice time in our home on Kauai and that you felt it was spacious enough for everyone to have their own space. Thanks for the tips for improvements. We always appreciate the input We are going there in August and will definitely put in a lounge chair for outside. As for the gas grill, that one is a little bit tougher and we most likely won't be able to do it. Since we don't live there, it would be harder for us to monitor the propane levels hence we provide a Weber charcoal grill on the deck so the guests can purchase charcoal for much less and barbeque outside.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mission viejo, ca
5

Best family vacation we've ever had!

  • 5 of 5

We spent 2 weeks in Kauai at this beautiful property!! It has everything you need: fully stocked kitchen, boogie boards, a beach cooler, beach chairs, towels and washer and dryer.

The hot tub was a wonderful treat after a full day of hiking. The ocean views are what make this home so spectacular!! It takes your breath away, every day!!

Meg was wonderful to work with. She answered all my questions with in 20 minutes, even with a 3 hour time difference. She was super helpful!

There are even board games to play.

We had a spectacular 2 weeks and can't wait to return!! Thanks Meg for the use of your beautiful home!!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you B for the detailed review complete with all of the items we have at the house for future guests to know. We are so glad that your family had a wonderful stay at our home in Princeville. Please come again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

The house is beautifully designed with a large open plan making it feel spacious. The house opens to the most amazing view of the cliff and surrounding golf course! Didn't want to leave! Loved it.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Central Alberta
5

Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5

Melia Kai is definitely one of the best finds in Princeville. It was our 6th visit to Kauai and Melia Kai is the only place we have come back to twice. There has been some amazing remodelling work done to make it even more outstanding (We had also stayed prior to the remodel).

Lots of space in this 3 bedroom, 2 bath bungalow. Everything you need is supplied and more; even golf clubs.

Communication with Meg was excellent. You will appreciate her prompt replies to any questions.

Truly one of the best deals in a great location! You won't be disappointed!

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Peg for the great review. We are always happy to have our guests return for a second, third, fourth etc visit. We are so happy that you love what we did with the remodel. It really made the house way more comfortable and glad you were able to enjoy the new amenities. Come back again soon! Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Perfect Home

  • 5 of 5

Melia Kai is a lovely spacious modern home located on the edge of a golf course . It has a beautiful view of the Pacific in an area that has a plethora of tropical birds. It is paradise. We spent most of our time , and enjoyed many meals, on the large lanai. The kitchen was amazing. The appliances were top of the line and well functioning. The master bathroom was fantastic, with a unique shower reminiscent of the showers at Relais and Chateau Hotels in France. The small details, like the good quality beach towels, the beach chairs, and the detailed instructions made our stay even better. Overall, this is the best home we have rented in all our travels in Hawaii.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Chuck and Julie! You were amazing guests and we are so happy that you found the house perfect for your bird watching trip to Kauai. So glad that the birds did not disappoint you. Please come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Golf
Makai Golf Course
Nearest Beach
45 Metres
Hideaways Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Princeville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$290
$2,000
$7,500
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 6 2018
5 night minimum stay
$290
$2,000
$7,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 17 2018 - Dec 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$310
$2,070
$8,180
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 16 2018 - Jan 6 2019
5 night minimum stay
$310
$2,070
$8,180
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$285
$1,900
$7,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $215
Damage Deposit $350

$350 initial deposit is due upon making the reservation. $350 security deposit and $210 cleaning fee will be collected in addition to the rental fee. The $350 security deposit is refundable if no damage is done to the property or if we do not incur any additional costs (these can include extra cleaning, opening the safe, excessive trash disposal, stains on upholstery or rugs, damage to flooring, damage to kitchen appliances or furnishings etc). The balance is due 60 days prior to arrival. No cancellations 60 days prior to arrival unless we are able to find another party to rent the house for that time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable