Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Newly Remodeled - 3 Bedrooms - Thanksgiving 2018 Rate Drop!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom On A Golf Course With A Stunning Ocean View!

Our newly remodeled vacation home already has amazing ocean and golf course views but now boasts brand new modern bathrooms with Hans Grohe rain showers and fixtures plus a free-standing tub in the master bathroom, state of the art kitchen with Caesarstone counters and Kitchen Aid appliances, all new windows and doors, 8 foot tall sliders leading to the rear lanai, a covered outdoor lanai for dining, wall to wall hardwood flooring, new patio decking, all new furnishings and an enclosed garage. Each room including the lanai is equipped with Big Ass fans, considered the most efficient and quietest fans on the market.

Hanalei, on the island of Kauai, is considered by many to be one of the most beautiful places on earth. Its pristine beaches are surrounded by a stunning array of waterfalls and emerald-green cliffs.

Melia Kai is a private home with a sweeping view of the cobalt blue Pacific Ocean and the cascading waterfalls of Namolokama. Located on the Princeville Makai golf course, our house offers the visitor a wonderful opportunity to do just about everything---but it is also a terrific place to do absolutely nothing!

The spectacular views invite you to walk barefoot across the fairway to the edge of a 150-foot cliff (security may ask you to leave), where you look down on waves crashing onto the lava rock below. If you watch closely, you will see turtles swimming in the coves beneath you.

You will find that Melia Kai offers the best of two worlds - the luxurious amenities of the Princeville resort and the exotic remoteness of Kauai's north shore. One minute you can be sipping a Mai Tai in a crisp summer outfit at the sumptuous St. Regis Hotel, and the next you can be navigating a jungle trail in your bathing suit looking for the waterfall at the head of the Kalihiwai Valley.

Come stay the week at Melia Kai and experience paradise first hand!

Hawaii Tax ID #: 125-829-9392-01

More Details

Owner
Meg Chan Feitelberg
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

About Meg Chan Feitelberg

Our family lives in Los Angeles. We are originally from South Africa (Dad) and Chinese from the Philippines (Mom). Our 3 kids were raised in Los Angeles and enjoy the benefits of their multi-cultural background. While the kids were growing up, we frequently came to Hawaii for vacations always dreaming of owning a home in Kauai one day.

Meg Chan Feitelberg purchased this house in 2013

Why Meg Chan Feitelberg chose Princeville

We have always wanted to own a home on the Garden Island of Kauai. Why? Location, Location, Location. Stunning ocean views and a beautiful golf course just outside your windows. You can see Bali Hai. where South Pacific was filmed. Drive around and you might imagine yourself in the middle of the Hunger Games or in Jurassic World. Kauai is not as touristy as Honolulu or Maui which we prefer.

The house is only one floor and very easy to maintain. You have your privacy unlike hotels or condos. It's a great family home. Spacious enough for a family of 6 or 6 great buddies to hang out but small enough that you don't spend your vacation cleaning up.

Plus we only accept reservations and payments through VRBO/Homeaway so this protects you from scammers or reservation errors (ie double bookings).

What makes this house unique

You get the benefit of a private home. Quiet solitude in paradise or loud, boisterous fun - it's your choice. Secluded Hideaways Beach is a short walk away behind Pali Ke Kua condos or take a walk in the opposite direction about 16 homes away and explore Queen Emma's Bath. Princeville Shopping Center is a 2 minute drive away and has everything you need (Foodland, pilates, touristy shops, restaurants, wine shops, bars, real estate offices you name it). Apparently beer is the same price at Foodland here as it is in Lihue or Kapaa so no need to shop and shlep. Hanalei Beach is only a short 5 minute drive away and that is pure heaven. Anini Beach with its beautiful sand and calm waters is only 10 minutes drive away door to beach. There is great snorkeling a little further down from Hanalei Beach at Tunnels Beach. Kayaking and SUP are available only 5 minutes away in Hanalei on the Hanalei River. And if you don't want to do much, sit out on our lanai and just watch the golfers and the birds - truly relaxing. Walk out to the bluff through the golf course (at your own risk because security will ask you to leave) with your glass of wine after 6:00 pm (very short walk) and see the waves crash on the lava rock while the sun sets. You can also rent golf carts from the Makai Golf Course clubhouse and ride along the golf course path riding past our house to see the awesome sunset view (be sure to call and reserve your cart ahead of time just in case).

Amenities

Princeville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
  • The master bedroom has a 6 drawer dresser, mirrored closet, a safe and a television connected to Oceanic Time Warner Cable. It also has a telephone and a ceiling fan. This room leads directly out onto a covered lanai. The 2nd bedroom has two twin beds, a mirrored closet, a 3 drawer dresser and a ceiling fan. These beds cannot be combined since they sit on wooden platforms. The 3rd bedroom has a king size bed, a 6 drawer dresser, a mirrored closet, 2 large windows and a ceiling fan.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(74 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Newly Remodeled - 3 Bedrooms - Thanksgiving 2018 Rate Drop!
average rating of 4.918919 based on 74 reviews
Portland, OR
5

Absolutely lovely home with gracious hosts

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful experience renting this home. It has been lovingly remodeled and is very comfortable and well-furnished. The location is terrific--a peaceful neighborhood with stunning views that is very close to beaches, shopping, and local attractions. We really appreciated working with Meg--she was clear, kind, and prompt in her communications with us. We highly recommend this vacation rental and hope to return before long--thank you, Meg!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Lita. We were very honored and happy that you chose to spend your vacation at our house in Kauai. So glad that you liked our remodel and found the house to be comfortable. Thank you for being such a great guest and please come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

We had an amazing time in Princeville and this was such a lovely place to come home to!

  • 5 of 5

Pictures represent the home perfectly. Wonderful kitchen had everything we needed. Great patio for dining and relaxing while enjoying the view. Great breezes and fans kept the house very comfortable. Close to many things but very peaceful and quiet setting. Amazing sunset views and a nice area to walk or jog. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tara for such a wonderful review. You are welcome to come back anytime. Thanks for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic and Comfortable Home

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 had a terrific time here. The house is clean and airy, Meg is a terrific owner, and the area is superb. Walking distance to queens bath and a bit more of a spirited walk to hideaways beach. Highly recommend

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Jenkins. So glad you and your family enjoyed the home. I love that you said it is "clean" - very important word for me since it's something I always look for when I am renting a home or hotel room. I guess you enjoyed the rope climb to Hideaways Beach - well worth that climb once you get to the bottom. I am so happy it's accessible since the storm. Please come again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phoenix
5

AMAZING!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Better than the pictures!!!!!! We couldn't have been happier with this home! It was well stocked, in a great location, and plenty big for our family of 4. The extra amenities of beach supplies including many chairs, boogie boards and a cooler made our stay over the top fantastic! We were conflicted every day of wanting to go explore the island and staying and enjoying the house. We wouldn't hesitate in a minute to stay there again. Thank you so much!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jacqueline - thank you so much for that beautiful review - I love that you had a conflict between exploring Kauai and staying and enjoying the house. Please do come again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Draper
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay here, house location is great (can walk to queens bath) and the views are top notch. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Elizabeth and family for the great review. We are so happy that you would definitely book a stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glens Falls, NY
5

Pristine house in a lovely setting.

  • 5 of 5

The house and grounds are immaculate. Loved the airy open look of the modern/retro decor, like stepping into a magazine. We felt very pampered being guests here, and took great care to respect the carefully laid out house and community rules. Clearly a beautifully cared for home. Not a place for roughing it up.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank Robin for the perfect review. Thank you so much for taking great care of our home during your stay. I agree - not a place for roughing it up. That is such a compliment that you felt like it came out of a magazine. Such an honor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Golf
Makai Golf Course
Nearest Beach
45 Metres
Hideaways Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $215 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $350

$350 initial deposit is due upon making the reservation. $350 security deposit and $210 cleaning fee will be collected in addition to the rental fee. The $350 security deposit is refundable if no damage is done to the property or if we do not incur any additional costs (these can include extra cleaning, opening the safe, excessive trash disposal, stains on upholstery or rugs, damage to flooring, damage to kitchen appliances or furnishings etc). The balance is due 60 days prior to arrival. No cancellations 60 days prior to arrival unless we are able to find another party to rent the house for that time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties