Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Beech Mountain 5 Bed 4 Full Bath home with Club Privileges

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 3,400 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Close to slopes, golf, and hiking trails

Our home has recently been painted both inside and outside with all new floors throughout. Kitchen is open to the large dining and living room with TV and fold out couch plus a wood burning fireplace. Also on the first floor is a full bathroom, closet and queen bedroom. On the 2nd level, there is another queen bedroom and a twin bedroom separated by a full bathroom. The master bedroom including TV with on suite bathroom is also on 2nd level. Down on the 3rd level there is a large room with a daybed. We have a queen blow up mattress underneath the bed for extra bedding if desired. There is a full bathroom and laundry room including washer and dryer. We are approximately 1/5 mile to the parking lot of the ski slopes or bike trails. Country Club access is available with additional fees payable to the club along with necessary paperwork. Great hiking, fishing, rafting, etc very close by. House has WiFi and cable.


Owner
Phil Lindauer
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Phil Lindauer

We purchased this beautiful home on Beech Mountain so our family from Pennsylvania and Alabama could meet in the middle for cool summer vacations. It's 5 bedrooms and 4 full baths provided plenty of space for everyone, and the walk-out hikes to wooded creek trails, ski slopes and fishing ponds kept everyone happy and relaxed.

Phil Lindauer purchased this chateau / country house in 1994

Why Phil Lindauer chose Beech Mountain

It is a great place to relax, get some fresh air and exercise, and visit with friends and family.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Summer high temperatures run around 72. The ski slopes are open during the summer months for biking down the trails. Winter provides an outlet for ski addicts. The slope has the most snowmaking units nearby, so if it's cold enough, there will be snow!

Amenities

Beech Mountain Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Shares a hall bathroom same floor with double twin bedroom
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Bathroom in hallway to room.
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Shares bathroom with Queen room on same floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , En-Suite bathroom
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , Full en-suite bathroom.
  • In the 3rd level bedroom, there is a very nice electric blowup queen mattress.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Close to Sugar Mountain, Grandfather Mountain, white water rafting, fishing, hiking, etc.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

56% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Spacious Beech Mountain 5 Bed 4 Full Bath home with Club Privileges
average rating of 4.375 based on 16 reviews
Southern Pines, nc
5

Beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful natural surroundings with a beautiful view. House was spacious and super clean. Everyone was very comfortable.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your weekend. Hope to have you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family place

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with 4 adults and 4 kids. Entry level (living and dining level) has a queen bedroom with a bathroom next door. Sub-level has a king bedroom with a private bathroom as well as 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds each. The 2 single-bedrooms share a bathroom.

Sub-sub-level (basement) has a pull-out queen with a private bathroom.

Not much decoration inside, no real "cabin/ ski lodge feeling", but very spacious and clean. New paint, new carpet, new wood floor.

Great deck, unfortunately it was too cold to use... ;)

Parking will accommodate 3 full size cars/ SUVs. Easy access to the house from main roads. 4 minutes by car to Beech Mountain Lifts.

Had a great 4-night stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

So close to Beech Mtn we didn't even deal with crowds at lunch we came back to the cabin! Place was very clean plenty of room and parking. Beautiful view. Furniture in the living room needs to be updated it's not comfortable nor are the kitchen chairs. Bring some towels, we had 10 in our group and only 6 towels were provided. Would stay here again or somewhere similar in location. Location is what makes it!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • 1 of 5

I stayed at this cabin between February 10th-12th. From the very first time I opened the door, the porch railing was loose. I had warned my daughter at that point to be careful while coming in and out of the cabin. While skiing that night, we were warned of the high winds and for our new snowboarder to be careful when getting off of the lift. The winds were so bad that the entire top layer of snow was being swept away.

Later that night, the winds picked up even more, and I was awaken several times from the storm door blowing open and SLAMMING against the railing. It was VERY loud and startling, and it happened multiple times during the night. I was the only one sleeping upstairs, since I had the bedroom by the kitchen, so I tried several times to latch the door better. The door latch did not stay well, so I did what I could and went back to sleep.

The next day, the door did the same thing when the wind started blowing. The other family tried contacting the owner with a couple of questions and received no response, so then they contacted the property management company (information left in the kitchen). The property management company said they had not had this particular property since 2007, and were unsure as to why their name was still posted.

We let it go, and endured the startling door banging. When leaving, we noticed the railing was even more loose, so one of the other guests used a rubber mallet to fix the railing (to avoid the cleaning crew or other guests getting hurt). Instead of any bit of appreciation, the owner has sent a $558 bill for a damaged door, loose railing, and "sawdust" left in the house. When the wind/storm door problem was explained, the owner's reply was there was no bad weather (even though we were warned by Beech Mountain employees of the winds). The owner is not nearby and is only using the feedback from maintenance, not the Beech Mountain wind advisory.

The owner sent pictures to show the loose railing, exactly what it looked like when we arrived, as well as a picture of the storm door spotlighting a rusted area where it had been obviously hitting the railing for a LONG time, yet a $558 bill is being sent to us. Even in the owner's pictures on this site, you can see that a spindle is missing from the railing near the door, yet we are being accused of "hanging" on the door and knocking the railing loose. On top of that, the icing on the cake was finding a used condom in the top dresser drawer!

DO NOT STAY AT THIS PROPERTY!!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I never sent a bill. I never spoke with this person. I did speak with the renter of record, Mr. (renter) and his wife, a school teacher from South Carolina. During their stay I had NO CONTACT from the renter. When our crew arrived, there was severe damage to the railing, door, and in their words there was “sawdust all over the living room”. Between this renter and the next, I paid over $900 in repairs. I alerted the renter, and using the VRBO communication, WHICH HAS ALWAYS WORKED, he responded, which means he COULD have contacted us during their stay, AND DID NOT. These are exact quotes from the renter response, on record in VRBO: “My son fell into the railing and it did separate a few inches.” “Friday night was very windy and the door did fly open from the wind numerous times” “we did have some wood on the carpet and it did leave a mess but I personally vacuumed that up before we left” “We do appreciate the use of the house, the kids had a great time” I provided pictures of the damage to the renter, and spoke with he and his wife concerning the damages. I assured them I did not know what or how this happened, and was only gathering data, and gave him the information on the costs to repair the door and rail. I NEVER disputed any information he provided, and assured he and his wife I was just gathering information from the people on the mountain. I passed along the information I was getting from my cleaning and maintenance. It was after this conversation that this person, a friend of the renter of record wrote this scathing response, again, even though we NEVER spoke. In a subsequent email, I asked them both why, when a door was slamming against a rail repeatedly, causing damage, no one tried to secure the door. Instead they took a rubber mallet to the rail damage (caused at least in part in the renters earlier statement by his son), and did not report to anyone. There has been no response. I've given the renter of record a poor review, which is my only recourse. I have also provide VRBO feedback. I would like to think if someone like this renter admittedly damages your home, VRBO would support the home owner. They sent me an email saying they would cut me off of their site if I did not pay back the security deposit. Owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4
5

Beech mountain cabin trip

  • 5 of 5

Had an amazing stay! It's a very nice house inside and out! Good amount of parking and very easy to get to!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Really enjoyed our stay!

  • 4 of 5

This cabin is really roomy and in a wonderfully cool location since we were there in early summer. If the local temp does get hot, be aware that there is no air conditioning--just heat. It has a very well-stocked kitchen, but it would be nice to have an outdoor grill! The cleaning person could do much better--but it was sufficient since we are not too picky. The lower levels are definitely musty, but this is the south--probably needs a dehumidifier in the summer months. This property was a very good deal for us compared to similar-sized cabins. Owner was nice to work with and promptly answered questions. We would recommend it!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
58 Miles
Tri-City Regional Airport, Kingsport, TN
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Beech Mountain CC
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Ski Beech
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.75%

Cancellation policy:
The security deposit is refundable, less a $250.00 cancellation fee, if chacelled 60-days prior to your scheduled arrival. No refunds are given if cancellation is received less than 60-days prior to arrival date, unless we re-rent the home for the dates confirmed to you. If the home is re-rented your deposit less $250 cancellation fee will be refunded to you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.