check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Secluded but Not Remote, Private Retreat

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

2 Bedroom 1 bath with huge deck, private hot tub, wooded mountain view

Private hot tub, Large deck, 40 inch flat screen TV with built in apps, Blu-Ray DVD player with built in apps, free Long Distance & wireless high speed internet (no satellite or cable though), and washer and dryer. You'll also find a fully stocked kitchen with vintage china and everything you need. The 900 sf cabin is beautifully decorated with folk art and antiques and has a large library of mystery novels for young and old. Outside there is a very large wrap around deck with tables and chairs, a horseshoe pit and a fire pit and trails for hiking on 3 acres of private land.

We require at least 2 days in advance booking to accommodate the issuance of the property damage protection plan.

We CANNOT accept refundable damage protection deposits. Book it Now requests will be declined. We can only accept the $59.00 PDP insurance policy. We apologize for the inconvenience.

More Details

Owner
Edwin Ashurst
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

About Edwin Ashurst

I am a licensed Realtor working in the Atlanta area. We have always had a affinity for the mountains of NE Georgia. I worked in Cherokee and in Highlands during summer vacations and always wanted to own a retreat in the mountains and now we do. It's a pleasure to share this special place with you. Email me if you would like to see a copy of the rental agreement before you book your stay.

Edwin Ashurst purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Edwin Ashurst chose Northeast Mountains

We found the house that sits above this home about an acre away and fell in love with it and bought it nearly 10 years ago. When the builder's ex-wife chose to sell her smaller cabin and move on we jumped at the opportunity to increase our land and add this beautiful little cabin as a place for our friends and family to stay.

What makes this cabin unique

This home is the definition of cozy and, in this case, it's not just a euphemism for small. There are large comfortable sofas, skylights in the living and dining area, a wood stove that will heat the entire home and lots of peace and quiet. It's a perfect place for that Romantic retreat, or a place to park yourself and work on that novel, or to sit in quiet contemplation or use as a base of operations for the many outdoor activities available in the area.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

Secluded but Not Remote, Private Retreat
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 34 reviews
5

Abbeville SC Girls!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time in this well kept, cozy, unique and rustic cabin! We defiantly plan on going back so we can enjoy the horse shoes and fire pit outside on the next go around! There was a lot of room and we were to ourselves with some great views!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this cozy little cabin. We stayed during Christmas and really enjoyed the Christmas decorations throughout the house. It was the perfect size for our family of 4. It was clean, comfortable, and not too far from town. We hope to be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Can't wait to visit again

  • 5 of 5

The property was beautiful! My fiance and I really enjoyed our stay. Edwin gave us great directions to the property. We didn't have any difficulties getting there, even driving late at night in a Nissan Sentra. The pictures do not do this place any justice at all. Very clean. Kitchen well-stocked with cookware. The cabin itself was very comfortable and inviting. There were lots of games and great wifi!!! The neighbors were friendly and they didn't bother us at all. We're planning to book again soon! Thanks Edwin for helping me make my Fiance's birthday special!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Owl's Nest Review

  • 3 of 5

We spent 3 nights at the Owl's Nest in October 2016. We were happy with the cleanliness of the cabin and kitchen supplies (dishes, pots, pans, glasses, etc). We appreciated having laundry access and a clean empty refrigerator/freezer as well. A few observations/suggestions for the kitchen would be to invest in a glass one cup measuring cup (both for heating water and measuring when cooking) and a soft scraping spatula. I missed those two items more than anything! Lots of games, books and videos for entertainment for guests! Loved the proximity to Clayton and surrounding interest points. We loved Tallulah Gorge, Hillside Farm, hiking and the town shops. The Chamber of Commerce gave us great places to visit, maps and information.

The downside of this property, which has been addressed the most in other reviews, was the driveway leading into the cabin. We had a Honda Accord, not a high or low vehicle, but we had TERRIBLE difficulty avoiding the deep ruts and holes in the driveway. I never drove over 5 mph to avoid hitting the underside of the car (which we still did because it was unavoidable), and 2 mph when it got to the deep trenches. Because the driveway is so narrow, and drops off on the sides in places, there was no going "right or left" to much degree to avoid scraping the bottom of the car. It was so bad, that we left in the morning and came back before dark so we didn't have to use the driveway any more than necessary. With the numerous complaints about this, and the recognition of the problem, we would suggest that gravel be used to fill at least the deep ruts and holes. Guests should not have to deal with such a horrible driveway getting in and out of such a nice property.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reviews are important. It's important to make sure you are accurate and fair when leaving a review otherwise you may mislead someone and/or damage someone's reputation needlessly. So, just for accuracy's sake we'd like to make some corrections. First, there actually is a spatula and there are measuring cups in the kitchen. (I wonder if we lost a star because they didn't find them?) Secondly, we don't own the road and we do make sure to warn all of our potential guests that it is somewhat rustic.. It's no where near as bad as this renter seems to think but it does have some ruts and rocks. We make sure that we recommend several times throughout our description and in our rental agreement that the renter drive a car with higher clearance - like an SUV, Crossover, or Truck. Even so, we regularly drive lower clearance vehicles and many of our guests do as well without any difficulty. We also work with our neighbor to maintain the road as best we can although bad weather may damage it temporarily.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Very cozy cabin

  • 4 of 5

The Owl's Nest is a delightful, very cozy cabin. We really enjoyed our stay. Great hot tub and very good wi-fi. Not far from Helen and other towns to visit. Only negative is the dirt road in to the cabin...made it fine in a Honda Accord, but really needs to be fixed. Toaster in kitchen a hazard - it doesn't turn off unless unplugged. But we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Great cabin for a weekend wedding at nearby Splendor Mountain venue. The cabin was easy to find, clean, and as described. My family and I had a great time and would highly recommend this great value rental to friends.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Big Creek Flying Ranch Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
in downtown Clayton
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Rabun County Municipal Course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US 441
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Many to choose from - Fast food to Fine Dining
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Rabun Beach
Car: necessary

Secluded and private but not remote location near Tiger and Clayton, Georgia. Located on a lower ridge of East Boggs Mountain the property is situated on 8 acres with a small waterfall and creek and has a seasonal mountain view. Tallulah Gorge, Lake Rabun, Lake Burton, and the Chatooga River are all within 15 minutes as well as the new Rabun County Arena. There is plenty of shopping for antiques, art, flea markets, and mountain crafts. Rabun county even has some very highly rated restaurants like the Lake Rabun Hotel, Fortify, the Beechwood Inn, and others as well as our favorite BBQ place, The Wicked Pig.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tiger Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$85
From
$95
Fri,Sat
$525
$1,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.0%

Call if you question whether your vehicle can make it over a bumpy semi-rustic gravel road. Also, if you would like to see a copy of the rental agreement please email me before you book your stay. If any refunds are required the appropriate corresponding credit card processing fees will be deducted.

We require at least 2 days in advance booking to accommodate the issuance of the property damage protection plan.
We CANNOT accept refundable damage protection deposits. Book it Now requests will be declined. We can only accept the $59.00 PDP insurance policy. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tiger Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 large sofas make for extra sleeping area perfect for teens
  • 2 bedrooms and 2 large sofas in the living room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Your vehicle could possibly use higher clearance than your average sedan. Cross over SUV's and trucks are perfect. You may not want to drive your Porsche but many guests with Toyota Corollas have made the journey with absolutely no issue. The driveway is rustic hard pack rock and dirt and can be bumpy but we attempt to regularly take steps to keep the road smooth and easily passable. You do not need 4 wheel drive except when there is a chance of snow and ice.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties