Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded but Not Remote, Private Retreat

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom 1 bath with huge deck, private hot tub, wooded mountain view

Private hot tub, Large deck, 40 inch flat screen TV with built in apps, Blu-Ray DVD player with built in apps, free Long Distance & wireless high speed internet (no satellite or cable though), and washer and dryer. You'll also find a fully stocked kitchen with vintage china and everything you need. The 900 sf cabin is beautifully decorated with folk art and antiques and has a large library of mystery novels for young and old. Outside there is a very large wrap around deck with tables and chairs, a horseshoe pit and a fire pit and trails for hiking on 3 acres of private land.

We require at least 2 days in advance booking to accommodate the issuance of the property damage protection plan.

We CANNOT accept refundable damage protection deposits. Book it Now requests will be declined. We can only accept the $59.00 PDP insurance policy. We apologize for the inconvenience.

More Details

Owner
Edwin Ashurst
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 28, 2017

About Edwin Ashurst

I am a licensed Realtor working in the Atlanta area. We have always had a affinity for the mountains of NE Georgia. I worked in Cherokee and in Highlands during summer vacations and always wanted to own a retreat in the mountains and now we do. It's a pleasure to share this special place with you. Email me if you would like to see a copy of the rental agreement before you book your stay.

Edwin Ashurst purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Edwin Ashurst chose Northeast Mountains

We found the house that sits above this home about an acre away and fell in love with it and bought it nearly 10 years ago. When the builder's ex-wife chose to sell her smaller cabin and move on we jumped at the opportunity to increase our land and add this beautiful little cabin as a place for our friends and family to stay.

What makes this cabin unique

This home is the definition of cozy and, in this case, it's not just a euphemism for small. There are large comfortable sofas, skylights in the living and dining area, a wood stove that will heat the entire home and lots of peace and quiet. It's a perfect place for that Romantic retreat, or a place to park yourself and work on that novel, or to sit in quiet contemplation or use as a base of operations for the many outdoor activities available in the area.

Amenities

Tiger Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please do NOT rearrange the furniture or decor.
  • Please take your garbage with you. Dump locations are detailed in the rental agreement.
  • Please use sheets located in closet if sleeping on the sofa and use pillows with cases located inside the shams if needed.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 large sofas make for extra sleeping area perfect for teens
  • 2 bedrooms and 2 large sofas in the living room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Your vehicle could possibly use higher clearance than your average sedan. Cross over SUV's and trucks are perfect. You may not want to drive your Porsche but many guests with Toyota Corollas have made the journey with absolutely no issue. The driveway is rustic hard pack rock and dirt and can be bumpy but we attempt to regularly take steps to keep the road smooth and easily passable. You do not need 4 wheel drive except when there is a chance of snow and ice.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
15% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded but Not Remote, Private Retreat
average rating of 4.681818 based on 44 reviews
5

Great cabin.

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is in great shape. I drove my Camry in and out with no problem. We really enjoyed the cabin. Very nice cabin for the price. Can't wait to get back!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You're always welcome!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Rough road that leads to nice but dusty, spider webbs and dead ants in the bed cabin.

  • 2 of 5

The cabin appears to be a once charming place. After traveling down the rough and narrow road, I held my breath as I began to wonder about what to expect the cabin would be like. It was exactly as it appears online, the nice pictures didn't lie, only with lots of dust, spider webbs, and dead ants in one of the beds. The cabin wasn't prepared for renters. It appeared no one had lodged there in a while. There was a note stating the hot tub was not working. It had mildew and dirt all over it. I think it just hadn't been treated and serviced for awhile. We were very disappointed about that. My daughter's bed had dead ants under the sheets and pillow cases, indicating the linens were not recently changed and fresh. I wouldn't have anything negative to say if the cabin had been cleanly prepped. It is a lovely, well constructed cabin that just needed cleaning. The road could use some rocks and gravel to help smooth it out better. We were able to adjust and actually enjoyed the shopping, sight seeing, dining, & meeting lots of friendly people in the North Georgia Mountains! I didn't bother to call the landlord because as I always believe, you get what you pay for. The cost was a price grabber!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Despite your passive aggressive review we took your feedback seriously. It is helpful to remember that you are talking about a cabin in the woods on a mountain side and not a suite at the Ritz and that if you ARE happy with the amount you paid for what you received then we ARE happy that you feel you got a good price. Meanwhile, we looked for ants and called our exterminator who made two special trips to the house and could find no evidence of any ants in the property but did retreat just in case. We do have the property treated regularly and cleaned regularly. Between each stay the property is dusted, swept, vacuumed and mopped, the bathroom is sanitized as well as the counters and kitchen surfaces. Towels and Linens are fresh and straight out of the laundry. We know because we do this ourselves. In fact, I did it myself the day before you arrived. The hot tub was having a pump replaced and while the exterior shell has some dirt splashed on the outside of it the inside of the hot tub was and is sparkling clean. We treat the hot tub every week or in between visitors whichever comes first. You failed to mention that we notified you prior to your arrival and you said that you had no problem with it not being functional for your visit. Our objective is to make the house clean enough to satisfy my mother. We do recognize that some people cannot be satisfied but we do try. All we ask is if you are dissatisfied that you give us the opportunity to make it right. We have walked and driven the road and it's not nearly as bad as your hyperbolic description implies although The condition of the road does suffer significantly when we have had lots of wet weather but regular efforts are made to repair the worst spots. Regardless, I hope you remember that in the property description as well as in the access instructions and rental agreement we mention several times that the road IS rather rustic and recommend a vehicle with higher clearance although many of our guests have no issues navigating the bumpy driveway with a regular sedan. I hope in future that you can find satisfactory lodgings elsewhere and that with whomever you stay you at least allow them the opportunity to help make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

What I expected for the price...

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was ok and we only needed it for a couple nights as a place to sleep so it served it's purpose. I've definitely stayed in nicer cabins but it's what I expected for the price. It was clean but there is no deadbolt or secondary lock of any kind on the front door. The front door looked like someone had tried breaking in before and did not latch as secure as I would of liked. Hot tub was broken which I understand things happen but it was something we were looking forward to enjoying so it was a bummer to find out on arrival. Overall it was ok but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm happy that it was what you expected for the price you paid. We aim to please! Sorry you don't think that what you expected is worth 5 stars. That makes us sad. The hot tub breaking down just before you arrived was unfortunate. It's the only time we've ever had it fail ever since we've been renting and the good news is that it's back up and running now!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 4
4

Wish we had booked a third night

  • 4 of 5

The cabin is so spacious, and decorated so nice. The hot tub was nice..the porches..delightful. Only downfall was slight odor of the faucet water and the road was in need of scraping..pretty rough.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The road is rustic in nature and this is disclosed multiple times throughout the booking process and in the rental agreement and the condition varies based on the weather and we have recently endured multiple heavy thunderstorms which have had a somewhat deleterious effect on the current road condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Silence is golden

  • 5 of 5

Married couple of 33 yrs looking for solitude, we really found it here. I can honestly say this cabin exceeded all expectations. Don't hesitate to book this one if you need to escape this fast and loud world we live in. Thanks!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Midway, ga
5

In the middle of no where. Close enough go be somewhere. Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

First off I do have a jeep but even after reading about the road I brought my car. Road is fine just don't get in a rush and it's not very long. House was perfect. Only used one of the two rooms. But loved the deck that wrapped around the house. I'll be back thank you for everything and very reasonable priced.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Big Creek Flying Ranch Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
in downtown Clayton
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Rabun County Municipal Course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US 441
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Many to choose from - Fast food to Fine Dining
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Rabun Beach
Car: necessary

Secluded and private but not remote location near Tiger and Clayton, Georgia. Located on a lower ridge of East Boggs Mountain the property is situated on 8 acres with a small waterfall and creek and has a seasonal mountain view. Tallulah Gorge, Lake Rabun, Lake Burton, and the Chatooga River are all within 15 minutes as well as the new Rabun County Arena. There is plenty of shopping for antiques, art, flea markets, and mountain crafts. Rabun county even has some very highly rated restaurants like the Lake Rabun Hotel, Fortify, the Beechwood Inn, and others as well as our favorite BBQ place, The Wicked Pig.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tiger Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Autumn
Oct 1 2017 - Jan 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$95
From
$99
Fri,Sat
$595
$1,850
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$85
From
$95
Fri,Sat
$525
$1,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.0%

Call if you question whether your vehicle can make it over a bumpy semi-rustic gravel road. Also, if you would like to see a copy of the rental agreement please email me before you book your stay. If any refunds are required the appropriate corresponding credit card processing fees will be deducted.

We require at least 2 days in advance booking to accommodate the issuance of the property damage protection plan.
We CANNOT accept refundable damage protection deposits. Book it Now requests will be declined. We can only accept the $59.00 PDP insurance policy. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties