Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

O'Carroll's Guest House

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, With Mountain Views And Access To The Yellowstone River

O'Carroll's Guest House on the Yellowstone has 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, a full kitchen with dishwasher, range, microwave, and all the cookware, laundry, satellite TV, Wi-Fi, and a spacious dining room and living room. Two bedrooms have queen beds and the third two single beds. Additional fold away beds are available for a 7th and 8th guest if needed (charge applies).. The guest house is not air conditioned. Each room has a ceiling and additional fans. Please note that the nightly rate is $220 for a stay of less than 7 nights. There are extra charges for more than 6 guests. Please contact the owner for details if needed.

O’Carroll’s Guest House is located in the heart of Paradise Valley with the Absaroka Mountain Range to the east and the Gallatin Mountain Range to the west. Conveniently located only 35 miles from the north entrance into Yellowstone National Park and Gardiner, Montana, this house is the perfect location for day trips in and out of the park. It overlooks the Yellowstone River which flows through the valley and is noted for world-class fly fishing in the river and nearby spring creeks. The valley has several natural hot springs, including Chico Hot Springs only seven miles away. Chico offers live entertainment every Friday night, outdoor adventures, exceptional dining, and natural Hot Springs pools.

In addition to Yellowstone National Park, the opportunities for sightseeing, hunting, fishing, dog sledding, cross country skiing, downhill skiing, hiking, horseback riding, bird watching, kayaking, canoeing-(the list goes on and on) abound in the valley and many other world famous recreational areas are within a day's trip away.

There is a pet (dogs, only--no cats, please) deposit that is 100% refundable if four rules are followed. First: dogs off upholstered furniture and bedspreads. Second: Dogs not left alone in the guest house unless in a kennel. Third: No damage to the cabin or furnishings that requires a special repair or cleaning. In lieu of and actual transfer of funds ($150.00), It is okay for guest to provide upon arrival credit card info and authorization for a $150.00 if need be. Fourth: Please inform the owner know if you plan to bring your dog.

More Details

Owner
Eleanor Harvey
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 24, 2018

About Eleanor Harvey

My parents and I moved to MT from GA in 1997 after my youngest of three sons left home for college. We built O'Carroll's B&B (where I now reside) that year and then this guest house in 2003. As a transplanted southerner, I still get a thrill from the mountain views, the beautiful Yellowstone River, the wildlife, the rainbows, the glorious summers with low humidity; and yes, even the cold winter wonderland days. Now it is just I and my two standard poodles, Joie and Jacques, who operate the B&B and host the guest house and the cabin.

Eleanor Harvey purchased this house in 2003

Why Eleanor Harvey chose Livingston

Our guest house is literally in the heart of Paradise Valley only 35 miles north of YNP's north gate. We are only 7 miles from Chico Resort with it's famous hot springs pool and fine dining. Fly fishing, hiking, horseback riding, white water rafting and quiet river floats, scenic airplane flights, rodeos, wildlife observation, and bird watching just begin the list of activities to be enjoyed.

Amenities

Livingston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • It helps when all kitchen trash is in the outdoor can daily & all sheets, pillow cases, & towels are placed in laundry area before departure Thanks!
  • Owner will issue 50% refund of first payment minus the service fee if cancelled 60 days before arrival (if request is approved).
  • Please click Rental Agreement link to view document.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathrooms are furnished with all linens and amenities.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Trundle bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master with attched bath wih walk-in shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Shares bath with a tub/showe combination with bedroom 3.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
O'Carroll's Guest House is on property with O'Carroll's B&B. Breakfast at the B&B can be provided for an additional charge with reservations. Ask owner for details.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
O'Carroll's Guest House
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
5

Pictures Don't Do It Justice-A Treasure!

  • 5 of 5

This place was perfect for our family. It was cozy, bright, well-decorated, VERY clean, and definitely a home away from home. It had all of the amenities we could possibly need- kitchen fully-stocked with pots and pans, dishes, utensils, Crock Pot, blender, a grill, toasters, towels, dish soap, etc...for those who (like us) want to cook all meals there, and a table with room for six as well as a little pub height table with stools if you'd need room for extras. (Note that Livingston has a very nice Albertson's grocery store which is where we stocked up.) There is a full-sized fridge, gas stove, dishwasher, all the conveniences of home. The bathroom amenities are lovely as well, soft towels, even soap and shampoo. The master bedroom and bath are very roomy and like a retreat, guestroom 1 is set up nicely for two people, and guestroom 2 sleeps two (trundle bed) children or small adults comfortably. There is also a queen sleeper sofa in the living room, which is also set up nicely and for a family, with comfy seating. One of our favorite places to be early in the morning before heading to Yellowstone (a short 35 mile drive from the house) and late afternoon/evening after returning was the expansive front porch, with a spectacular view of the Absaroka mountains. Plenty of seating for all six of us and so relaxing. The location of the house is perfect, too. We did go out to eat on our last night and highly recommend Follow Yer Nose BBQ in Emigrant just a little ways down the road. Fantastic food, friendly funny people, great atmosphere, and they had an extremely talented bluegrass band playing, which we enjoyed very much. We have only a few regrets, one is that we didn't get to stay longer, and the other is that we didn't get to visit more with our charming host, Eleanor. She was so very accommodating and attentive. Eleanor, thanks so much for sharing your property with others and allowing them to feel like they they are "home" while away from home. It was truly a pleasure to not only stay there but to meet you as well. God bless you and I hope one day we get to meet again! <><

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Fake damage claims

  • 1 of 5

Although the property is nice, we had an absolutely horrendous experience with the owner. We should have been more mistrustful, in retrospect there were signs.

When we arrived the owner did not answer the phone while we were waiting in front of the property. After a while the owner did take the phone and say "stop calling me" then hung up.

We eventually resolved to go to the owner house and knock on the door, where she indicated to go directly in the guest house, no walk-in necessary (another red flag ...).

The stay was globally correct, however a number of small things are broken / damaged, but nothing major, as you would expect in any habitation (one of the toilet was hard to flush and had to be flush twice, one of the fan chain was missing ...). We did not really pay attention to this until after the stay.

We had to leave in the morning at 5 to catch an early flight so cleaned the whole house the evening before. After getting home, we were astonished to see a claim for damages for $60, for excessive cleaning required (10 hours) and multiple broken items (toilet clogged and tinkered with, fan chain broken). I think that will teach us to trust owners and proceed without walk-in/walk-out.

Long story short, Montana, Paradise Valley and Yellowstone park are incredibly beautiful. If you want a chance to visit them and get your vacation spoiled by false claims, this property is a good choice.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In my 20 plus years of business, I have never received a bad review but also, I have never felt compelled to not totally refund the total damage deposit. This was due to the difficulties my crew and I had with cleaning the guest house. There were no charges for damage. I am sorry for any problems the guest had and wish he had informed me at the time. I am equally frustrated as he with the lack of communication and do apologize for my part in it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was perfect for our vacation!

  • 5 of 5

The house is very well kept with beautiful views. The kitchen has everything we needed to make nice meals. It is close to the road, but we hardly noticed traffic. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A perfect location and house to see the Bozeman/Livingston area and Yellowstone.

  • 5 of 5

We had a marvelous time staying here. The location was perfect and the house had everything we needed and more. Eleanor, our host is an amazing lady and booking, staying, leaving was all super easy. The place is quite new and only a few had stayed before us. Very, very highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chapin, SC
5

Clean, comfortable and homey!

  • 5 of 5

Wish we could have stayed longer! Drove from S Carolina with our Ohio teenage grandchildren to spend time with our Montana son...absolutely perfect location! Morning coffee and evening drinks on the front porch...even during the rain was so relaxing! Eleanor goes above and beyond in providing all of the comforts you could ask for! Can’t think of anything missing! We were all very comfortable!

Close to Yellowstone, easy to go back and forth. Not too touristy!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate your kind review. You are welcome to return any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cincinnati, OH
5

Clean, comfortable and cozy. Wonderful host too!

  • 5 of 5

Very clean and tastefully decorated cabin. Kitchen fully equipped with everything you need. I would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
53 Miles
Bozeman, Montana 59715
Nearest Barpub
4.5 Miles
Old Saloon
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Livingston Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
I-90
Nearest Restaurant
7.1 Miles
Chico Hot Springs, Resort and Day Spa
Nearest Ski
48 Miles
Bridger Bowl Ski Area
Car: necessary

Livingston, MT (18 miles north) hosts the largest rodeo in the area July 2-4 each year. There is also a yearly music festival and fiddlers' picnic weekend every summer, a yearly bark in the park event, a county fair, and art shows galore.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

extra adult guest $25 + Tax
Pet Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $200
cleaning fee $75

Rates are based on an occupancy of 6 guests. There will be a $20/day charge for extra guests over 10 years old. If children 10 and younger are included in the number or guests a one time fee of $30.00/child would cover this. Please be sure to consult with owner about bringing pets. There are some conditions that apply.
For reservations in June, July, and August, a request will be marked as a reservation on the calendar when it is received. It will be held for 48 hours after a reply is sent from O'Carrolls for a response from the potential customer. Then the date will be opened for other requests.
The deposit is half of the total base rent and the balance due is the second half plus all lodging tax. The $200.00 damage deposit is a separate payment due at check in. The same is true for the $150.00 pet deposit if applicable.-

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund