Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

WINE, GOLF & REUNION RETREAT HOUSE - NOTHING ELSE LIKE IT

Sleeps32
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms6
Space 16,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30+. Why rent a room; have the whole house

This house sits on 2 ½ acres in southwestern Michigan, just behind the 9th green of what will be the newly developed Spruce Ridge golf course. The first tee is 40 yards from our front door. There are several lakes within 5-20 minutes drive.

We have golf and wine tour packages which include transportation.

The house would be great for girls bachelorette parties.

There is really not anything like this. The house is set up in a cottage type atmosphere. It can accommodate 30 + people. For less than 15 people, double occupancy per bedroom.

It has 8 bedrooms (also another open area with 4 beds provided) and 6 full bathrooms. It also has a fully equipped kitchen adjacent to a large dining room. There is a large living room and a card room. The glass-enclosed 1,160 sq. ft. Florida Room overlooks the 1,200 sq. ft. indoor pool and is the perfect gathering place for groups. The pool room encompasses 3,600 sq. ft. and includes a hot tub. Downstairs is a 2,500 sq. ft. recreation area with a wet bar and pool table.

A winding driveway brings you to the front door.

All golf courses within a 5 to 20 minute drive.

A Four Winds Casino is a short 5 mile drive.

The house is a great gathering place for friends to make it a Notre Dame football weekend. You are 30 miles from ND.

Fall football weekends are a great time at the house. We have NFL package on satellite TV.

For winter sports, Swiss Valley Ski & Snowboard is just 15 miles away in Jones, MI. There are 3 other ski resorts including Timber Ridge in Gobles, MI, within 35 miles of the resort house.

The house is in quaint town of Dowagiac, MI. When in town enjoy an array of small restaurants and shops.

Rates for non-golf stays vary. 3rd day is 50% of 1st 2 days rate. Holiday rates vary. There is also a cleaning fee. For credit card payments there is a 5% surcharge

Golf season rates are on a per person, per night basis and come with 3 rounds of golf (including cart) for each 2 night stay. Please call for rates.

More Details

Owner
Rob Dunleavy
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2018

Amenities

Dowagiac House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 16000 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 32
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 7 - 3 twin/ single
    Bedroom 8 - 6 twin/ single
    Bedroom 9 - 4 twin/ single
  • Areas with air mattresses provided
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
Four Winds casino 5 miles away

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
9% Complete
WINE, GOLF & REUNION RETREAT HOUSE - NOTHING ELSE LIKE IT
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 22 reviews
5

Perfect House for Large Group!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 32 stayed at the house for two nights over New Years 2018. This house was perfect for our group (14 adults, 18 kids). Despite the cold temps outside, the house maintained a comfortable temperature and the pool/pool area were very comfortable (up around 90 degrees). The house is so large and spread out that our group felt small. The staff was excellent in preparing for our visit and helpful when needed. I would recommend this house to any large group with or without kids looking for some space to play!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

An experience we’ll never forget - unfortunately

  • 1 of 5

The house wasn’t clean and needed serious updating. There were stink bugs and box elders all over. The pool was hotter than the hot tub. The basement was musty and so no one could use that bedroom/bathroom. A pipe burst the 1st day we were there and the owner took care of it right away and offered us a full refund which he promptly paid. We spent 1 night there and left first thing in the morning. No one took showers as the water is rusty. I wouldn’t even give it one star but needed to in order to submit my review

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A perfect storm occurred right before and on the first night of this groups stay. Heat went out in an area of the guest house the day before their stay. We had to get an emergency heating and air person to go up there and get the furnace going. While the heat in that section of the house was restored in time, it was so cold out that a pipe burst which was a nightmare for me trying to get someone up there and no fun for the group staying there. I asked them what they wanted to do - they said they wanted to leave - and I said we would refund all of their money, which I did. The other issues I really dont know what to say. We have a cleaning service that cleans after each group. They also prep before each group. Most groups really love the place as you can see by the other reviews - the reviews just before and just after this one which were different groups staying at place in December also - I guess some people can be pleased.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Morenci, MI
5

Excellent Place For A Large Gathering!

  • 5 of 5

This is our THIRD time renting this fabulous house! Our group of 32 enjoyed every inch of it. The house is exactly as described in the listing.

Everyone had a bed in our group - Beds for 32! The large pool and hot tub got lots of use. The downstairs bar & pool area did as well. The house is so large that you never feel like you have many people there - room for everyone! Since last year - Updates had been made to include adding some heating to the pool house sleep area. This house makes a fabulous winter retreat (we have only rented it in the winter months) but could see how being ON the golf course - it would make a fantastic golfing retreat spot as well.

The Resort on the Course, LLC management group - specifically Rob, is easy to work with and is quick to respond to any questions & inquiries. I highly recommend renting this property.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great time at the Dowagiac Retreat House!

  • 5 of 5

I have been at this property more than once over the past few years. I love to shop, drink wine... and play golf! This is the best of everything! The house accommodates so many guests. I can invite as many, or as few, guests as I want. Management is really accommodating and terrific. I highly recommend this property for golf retreats, women's wine retreats, and just getting away for a relaxing weekend or week!! I look forward to booking another visit very soon!!

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One of the newbies on the Sep trip

  • 5 of 5

I joined the group that stays at the house the 2nd week of Sep and had a great time. The rooms were clean and well kept. Th kitchen was well stocked and had all the goods for preparing breakfast, lunch and dinner. The folks on the golf course are very accommodating and professional. Great facility if you want to play and not have to drive to/from course. The course is short but tough, allot of greens sloping back to front and narrow landing areas, definitely target golf and allot of elevation changes. Course was in great shape...pta

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best golf resort for big groups

  • 5 of 5

We have a group of golfers that has been coming to this home for more than 10 years. We typically have at least 18, but have had 28. This place is fantastic for big groups. We never felt crowded, your'e steps from the 1st tee, and the pool and hot tub are clean and warm. It is a bit dated, but that is part of the charm for me. The owners continually update the infrastructure, and there still is some work to be done, but the bedrooms and bathrooms are clean. The Florida room over looks the large pool and is perfect for dining and meeting. It is steps from the patio and gas grills. We love this place and look forward to coming back every year.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $600
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 6.0%

For golf season rentals, each 2 night stay includes 3 rounds (with cart) of golf. 1 night stay includes 1 round. For non golf rentals you receive discounted rounds of golf, weather permitting. Minimum # to stay is 10, however call for special circumstances. 5% surcharge for paying by credit card. If cancelled within 10 days of booking, full refund is provided. After this there are no refunds.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties