Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful and Immaculate - Walk to Beach & Town - Sleeps 4

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 - 14 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Our charmingly furnished house with traditional Hawaiiana decor provides all the comforts of home in the world's most spectacular setting on Kauai, the 'Garden Island' of Hawaii. You will seldom need your car after arriving as charming Hanalei village is within walking distance with its excellent restaurants, lively night spots and shopping. Only a block and a half away is the world famous, crescent-shaped Hanalei Bay, ranked by National Geographic Traveler as one of the top ten beaches in the world.

Hanalei can only be reached over a series of quaint one-way bridges and is never overwhelmed by tourists. It is the home of many celebrities and famous writers and is noted for its amazing scenery and lush vegetation.

House is limited to four. We have a Cal King bed in one bedroom and a king in the other which can be divided into extra long twin beds for an additional charge of 100.00.

Be sure to visit our own website by clicking on the link below where you can take a great virtual tour, see more pictures, and find our 800 number.

Will consider stays of less than one week between gaps of six days or less. We accept reservations ten months in advance.

Address: 4501a Piliko'a Street, Hanalei, HI

TVNC: 1056; W number: W01679502-01

On-island emergency and housekeeping contact: Joan Fujikawa 808-826-4708

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Clark Carlton
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2017

About Clark Carlton

In addition to my work as a writer, I am the manager/owner of several beautiful vacation rentals in Kauai, Los Angeles and Palm Springs, California.

Clark Carlton purchased this house in 2000

Why Clark Carlton chose Hanalei Palms

Hale Lu Ya is in Hanalei on the lush North Shore of Kauai, one of the world's most beautiful settings. The owners bought this house because of its proximity to town as well as the Crescent Beach, ranked one of the world's best beaches by National Geographic Traveler.

Amenities

Hanalei Palms House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (2). King bed can be divided into extra long twin beds for additional 100.00. Second bedroom features Cal King bed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Wi-Fi, new flat screen television

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful and Immaculate - Walk to Beach & Town - Sleeps 4
average rating of 4.7 based on 20 reviews
Gig Harbor, WA
5

Best neighborhood in Hanalei

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Hale lu ya vacation rental has become an annual event because we love it so much. The home is set in the best neighborhood in town and has tons of privacy-- just two blocks up from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The house is perfect for just a couple, a small family, or two couples and has all the comforts of home, with a wonderful deck that faces the gorgeous mountains of Hanalei. It is very well maintained and the caretakers and managers are the best. Our upcoming stay will be our tenth (I think) and as long as it is possible, we will be returning year-after-year.

John and Karen McDonell

Gig Harbor, Washington

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen and John, thanks so much. Always glad to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property. Ideal location.

  • 5 of 5

This was an ideal property for us. Walking distance to the beach, walking distance to restaurants and shops. I would recommend this property to family and friends. Its peaceful and located in Hanalei! Cant ask for much else.

The property managment team was also helpful, friendly and very responsive. Top notch!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thanks Hanalei!

  • 5 of 5

It was hard to leave this house and Hanalei. We celebrated our 28th anniversary here (we met near Hanalei 30 years ago!) and it was a great house to recharge our batteries and forget about work. Near the end of our stay, we met the owners who dropped off a plate of home made cookies! The booking agent, Clarke, was very quick to return emails and that process was smooth. Lots of good restaurants in the town but we mostly cooked in a well stocked & modern kitchen which was just lovely. We also shopped at some of the local farmers' markets and bought some fish caught that morning. It was all so relaxing and very quiet and comfy-cozy and we loved our king bed. We wish they could fit more than 4 here as we'd love to bring our daughter's family with her two girls—Next time we'll be checking out the other property next door. My husband and I have already recommended this house to our friends and family!

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Lauren. Hope to have you back soon. Our house next door, #52390 sleeps up to ten but we can also lock off one or two bedrooms for smaller parties in the off season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, CA
4

Close to the beach and mostly well maintained

  • 4 of 5

The property was a short sweet walk to the beach and to the town of Hanalei. Mostly, it was beautiful and clearly had recently been updated. We had issues with the shower, particularly the hot water and the faucet for it, which was broken. We called maintenance and they showed up right away but were very very casual and told us we'd have to "live with it" during our stay. Thankfully, it's Hawaii and we were able to deal more or less with the cold water showers. But if hot showers are important to you, make sure it's fixed before you go. Other than that, it was a sweet well-stocked property, with a great kitchen, comfortable beds, and beautiful surroundings.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christina, thank you for your input. We are sorry about the hot water problem during your stay. The problem was related to the recent remodeling of the kitchen. We tried to get it fixed as quickly as possible but had to wait for the delivery of a part from the mainland which can take much longer than we like. The problem has been fixed since your stay. We hope to have you back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely treehouse in paradise

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for us - 2 adults and one child. It has a lovely authentic feel. The owners were staying in their house next door at the time, they were friendly. The property is very quiet, there is zero traffic noise. It is true you are near other houses but during our stay we did not hear any particular noise from them. All we heard was the birdsong and rainfall, incredibly relaxing. In the bedroom on the upper floor you feel like you are in a treehouse. The bed was comfortable, towels are plush. The kitchen is well stocked and very easy to work with. The agent and housekeeper were very responsive. The house is small but that was fine for us. Beautiful view out back of fields and mountains. Hanalei is a paradise location, and this house is just a couple of minutes from the centre of the beach, and about 5-10 mins walk from the shops. Perfection.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, CA
5

Wonderful little home, close to beach and town

  • 5 of 5

My family (including myself, my husband, my adult sister, and my one-year-old son) stayed at this property in May 2016 and overall were incredibly pleased. The home is fairly simple, but is cute, clean, well equipped, and in a fantastic location! For the price, you really can't beat the home's proximity to both Hanalei Bay and Hanalei town -- very easy and convenient to walk to both. The house is a nice size for a group of four; everyone in our party had sufficient space and felt very comfortable. An extra bonus, the home is well equipped with kids' stuff (pack-n-play, booster seat, beach toys), which we appreciated. The management and housekeeper were both responsive and great to work with. The only potential downside to be aware of is that there is another house right next door (on the same property and under the same management) and sound travels (you can hear everything and vice versa). This wasn't a big problem for us, but I imagine it could be an issue if there was a rowdy group next door. Overall, this is a great little home. We'd come back in a heartbeat. Book it - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaners' fee + taxes $250
Tax Rate 13.42%

Will consider rentals of less than a week between gaps of six days or less.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.