Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

North Yellowstone Mountain Cabin

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, plus one bonus room Sleeps 6

Cub's Cache is located in the quaint old mining town of jardine. It feels like you take a step back in time when you stay here allowing you to experience a true Montana vacation. This original gold mining cabin has 1 bedroom with a full bath, living room with futon, kitchen, covered front porch and private back patio. I have just redone an 8x8 room with an extra twin bed plus cot as well if needed. (Great for kids!) Amenities include a washer/dryer, stereo with iPod docking station, fully equipped kitchen, picnic table in yard, back porch, dining area, gas grill, and a wood stove. This is a VERY spacious 1200sf cabin. This cabin is the same cost or less than a hotel room so why not have your own space and a peaceful atmosphere? Cabin offers you a true, rustic, Montana feel.

Yellowstone National park is a short jaunt - just 5 miles away. Cub's Cache is a perfect place to base from while you explore Yellowstone. There is also a plethora of activities surrounding you: rafting, horseback riding, hiking, wildlife watching, cross country skiing, - just to name a few. After a long day of adventure, you can come back and relax in the Cache surrounded by aspens and listen to Bear Creek.

Owners are located in adjacent lodge and are happy to help customize your trip.

More Details

Owner
Stacey and Brad Orsted
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 30, 2017

About Stacey and Brad Orsted

Brad and Stacey Orsted moved to Montana from Michigan to enjoy the wilderness, wildlife and recreational opportunities the area offers.

They have two teenage daughters and two dogs.

Stacey and Brad Orsted purchased this cabin in 2014

Why Stacey and Brad Orsted chose Yellowstone Country

When we first saw this cabin and property we fell in love with it. In the mountains, surrounded by mature trees with the sounds of Bear Creek made this a perfect Montana lodge. Add to that the fact that it is surrounded by National Forest, trails and close to Yellowstone National Park - this cabin is hard to beat! The wildlife, including bear, elk, deer, coyote, fox and bison can be seen often.

The drive to and from the cabin is spectacular. A difference of almost 1500 feet in elevation from Gardiner - the scenic (well maintained) forest service road winds you gently along the mountainside with stunning views of Yellowstone.

Yellowstone and Gardiner are very busy from May-September. This cabin is an idyllic getaway from all of the cars and visitors - yet only a 10 minute drive to restaurants or the grocery store. Need a break from the driving? You can explore steps from your cabin - with numerous trails and outfitters that provide horseback riding and cowboy cookouts.

What makes this cabin unique

This cabin offers seclusion and easy access to wilderness, Gardiner and Yellowstone. For the cost of a hotel room or less, this cabin has wonderful amenities including a full kitchen and a washer/dryer.

Amenities

Gardiner Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Full bathroom stocked with bath towels and other amenities to make you feel like you are at home.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bonus Room - 2 twin/ single , Small room with two twins. Perfect for kids!
    Living Room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Full size futon in the living room.
  • Bedroom offers a queen size log bed with a sitting area and wood stove. Private access to covered front porch from bedroom. Bathroom off of master bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

North Yellowstone Mountain Cabin
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 12 reviews
Arnhem
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place to stay when visiting Yellowstone. Not too far from the park.

Only downside was we were there only for 2 nights. We should have stayed longer....

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved Brad and Stacey's cabin! It is cute, spacious, peaceful and close enough to Gardiner and Yellowstone. Stacey is super friendly and helpful. The supermarket in Gardiner has everything we needed to cook delicious meals (and the spice cabinet in the kitchen is awesome!!), the cabin has a good selection of books and movies (we were even able to watch a Eurocup soccer game!), we took advantage of the washer and dryer. We loved being able to get to Yellowstone very early in the morning before most other visitors to watch the animals and enjoy the beauty of the peaceful park. The kids really enjoyed whitewater rafting in Gardiner with the Flying Pig company.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy cabin in the mountains a short drive from Yellowstone

  • 5 of 5

My family rented this cabin for two nights. After staying in hotels for multiple nights it was so relaxing to have this spacious cabin to come home to after a day of adventure. The cabin was clean, well stocked with items and being able to do laundry was a wonderful perk. Stacey was friendly and available if we had any questions. This cabin is in the mountains, but not in the middle of nowhere, which is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you Stacey!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Really great

  • 5 of 5

Awesome cabin, everything we needed, plenty of space, very clean, and quiet location. I would definitely recommend to anyone, and will absolutely return.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Leeds, uk
3

Nice cabin, great location

  • 3 of 5

cubs cache is a decent cabin in a great location with easy access to the National park.

However, there were a few issues that prevent us from giving a glowing review, simple issues that wouldn't take much to resolve.

The main problem for us is that the property is advertised as (quote - "beds 2-4"). Whilst we knew it said only one bedroom, it didn't say anywhere on the page that there was a futon /sofa bed in the living room as the second bed. This proved very difficult for us with two teenage kids... Who obviously didn't want to share a futon together. Also, there are no curtains in the living room.. Meaning every day as soon as it got light it woke the kids up.

And a very noisy fridge in the living area didnt help.

If we knew the second bed was a futon, we would not have selected Cubs cache. It does not say this anywhere on the advertised property page, and I think it's a little misleading.

Secondly, it's not very clean. We had to clean the shower ourselves before we could use it, and it's still not clean after that. There are cobwebs in every room in the ceilings and rafters, and the bedding had hairs on. A major concern for us was that one of the kitchen cupboards had mouse droppings in it.. Giving us further confirmation that cleaning is not a high priority. We had to do our own mini clean on day one just to get it to a level we felt was acceptable. The vacuum provided doesn't suck, and no dustpan to collect sweepings was provided. The windows were grimy, we actually cleaned the glass on the door ourselves just so we could see the view.

All these are little things that wouldn't take much for the owners to resolve, and if so would make Cubs cache a much better property. The owners never bothered to introduce themselves to us, which I understand may just be them leaving us alone and not imposing themselves, but I personally feel a simple."hi, is everything ok" visit would have been polite... Especially as they are only 10 yds away.

As it is, Cubs cache would be ideal for a couple looking to explore the park and surrounding area. But for a group any larger then I would make sure you are fully aware of the restrictions and compare it carefully with other properties.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm happy to hear that you liked the location of the cabin and the amenities that we provide. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't understand the sleeping situation in advance. I do feel like we have properly advertised this cabin as a one bedroom with a queen bed plus a full size futon. For any families that have older children or would like them to sleep separately we offer an extra cot. I'm so sorry I did not know about your situation upon arrival. I will review the description and see if there is a way to be more clear. Our goal is to provide the best possible guest experience we can. My deepest apologies for any of the housekeeping issues you experienced. These will be addressed immediately. As you can see from our other reviews, this has not been an issue in the past and we want to make sure it never happens again! We are so glad you stayed with us and enjoyed our location. My best to you and your family. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to ensure that Cub's Cache will remain a great cabin for future guests. Stacey Orsted
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Country Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

My fiance and I stayed at Cubs Cache for three nights this summer. It was so peaceful and removed from the hustle and bustle (aka tourists everywhere) of Yellowstone! The cabin was really spacious and quaint and provided the perfect launching spot for our travels around the park. Sadly we didn't get to meet Brad and Stacey but they were really sweet and thoughtful in providing us all that we needed to be comfortable in our stay! If you do stay at the Cub's Cache, I recommend organizing a horseback riding trip through Hells A Roaring Outfitters, just 10 minutes down the road from the cabin or a rafting trip through Flying Pig Adventure Company in Gardiner, MT. Thank you for making our vacation comfortable and so relaxing, Brad and Stacey!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are also sorry that we didn't have the pleasure of meeting you! We are so glad that you had a nice visit and enjoyed the remote feeling of the Cub's Cache. Thank you again for staying with us. Stacey and Brad Orsted
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Bozeman-Yellowstone International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Car: necessary

This area is surrounded by wilderness yet only a few miles to Gardiner and Yellowstone National Park. Wildlife and trails are abundant. Go soak at the boiling river, enjoy fishing, rafting, horseback riding, photography, the list goes on. Gardiner is the only entrance that is open year round.

The cabin is located in an old gold mining town surrounded by National Forest - a stone's throw from Yellowstone. The owner's property is adjacent to the cabin and are accessible for any questions you might have.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gardiner Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Dec 13 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
Standard pricing
2 night minimum stay
$185
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties