Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walloon Lakefront - Wooded & Serene - Year-Round

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps 12. 4 Bedrooms. 3.5 Baths.

113' of beautiful, wooded lakefront property on premier part of Walloon Lake, nestled next to Mackinaw State Forest. Enjoy dramatic views of Walloon Lake from the expansive deck that wraps around two sides of the house, which is built into the hillside overlooking the lake. A great location for skiers (15 minutes to Boyne Mountain and 30 minutes to Boyne Highlands and Nubs Nob) and snowmobilers (frozen Walloon Lake provides ride-out / ride-in access to Charlevoix, Emmet, Cheboygan, and Otsego County trails).

The house is fully-appointed with amenities for a very relaxing stay, including gourmet kitchen with beverage fridge, 60-inch HDTV on lower level, Bose audio system on main level, high capacity propane grille, complete deck furnishings, and dock with large boat well and sun deck. Only 10 minutes to both Boyne City and Walloon Village, and 20 minutes to both Petoskey and Charlevoix. Kitchen / Dining / Living rooms are open concept with stunning lake views via two 9' sliding doorwalls. Great lake views and very spacious feeling via two story cathedral ceiling toward water. Walk-out lower level also enjoys great lake views from TV area and bedroom.

This well-laid-out house sleeps 12 in beds (13 with futon): Bedroom one (first floor) has a queen bed with master bath and sliding doorwall to deck; bedroom two (second floor) has a set of twin beds and a set of bunk beds; bedroom three (second floor) has a queen bed; second floor bedrooms share a 'Jack-n-Jill' bathroom; bedroom four (lower level) has a king bed, 9' wide picture window overlooking lake, and direct access to lower level full bathroom. TV area of lower level also has a daybed with trundle (sleeping for two), a futon and a wet bar.

First floor also has a half bath.

Additional amenities include full size washer and dryer, dishwasher, wireless high speed internet, and tankless water heater providing an un-interrupted supply of hot water.

Enjoy the floating swim platform and tanning area on the dock. Great swimming for family fun with very gradual drop-off.

More Details

Owner
David Graham
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2017

Map

Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Boyne Mountain, Boyne Highlands and Nubs Nob

Sunterra Trail is not a 'through road' ... you can only access it via Erickson Road ... Forest Lane does not connect with Sunterra Trail

Amenities

Boyne City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • See Rental Agreement for detailed cancelation policy ... it varies by time of year.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , 1st floor master bath with dual sinks and Euro shower door
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , 1st floor half bath off open kitchen / dining / living rooms
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd floor Jack-n-Jill bathroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Lower level bath with direct access from bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 Master - 1 queen , with master bath
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
  • Additional sleeping in lower level -- futon and daybed with single trundle bed underneath.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

5/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Walloon Lakefront - Wooded & Serene - Year-Round
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
5

Lakeside Living Extraordinaire

  • 5 of 5

Everyone in our group loved something different about this exceptional home. The cook in our group appreciated the very well stocked kitchen and new grill. The introvert adored early morning, peaceful coffee on the dock. The sun-worshipper was very pleased with the afternoon rays on the deck. The environmentalist loved feeling like we were tucked away in the trees while taking in the lake views. And the fitness enthusiasts had a great time running in the woods and taking the paddle board & kayak out on the lake. There was plenty of room inside and out for everyone to do their own things or spend time all together, which makes for very happy communal living. Highly recommend this beautiful home on our favorite lake!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Detroit, Michigan
5

This cottage was to die for....

  • 5 of 5

Let me start by saying the owners of this cottage were the nicest couple. They had every interest at heart for the tenants. Whatever we needed it was in this cottage. From a nice big grill, spices, pots, pans, plates, glasses utensils, coffee, cleaning, bedding, towels, water toys, life jackets of every size... There wasn't one thing my family could think of that this cottage didn't have. I had family coming from all over the US for my daughters wedding in Petoskey. We started more than 3 months before the wedding searched 31 different cottages and this one kept coming back to us. David Graham was amazing with his response time on any email we sent. The pictures are remarkable but seeing this cottage in person and all it has to offer was simply breath taking. David allowed us to have 2 more guests and a small dog sleep over on Friday/Saturday with no extra charge... My daughters dog was in the wedding and out of all the cottages he was the ONLY one that allowed us to have JAX...13 lb. very well behaved miniature husky!!! We will never forget this. In fact my family has already asked about a possible vacation next year!!! They're from Texas, Florida, California & Alabama and don't get to see the beautiful Fall like weather we have. It was 70 and sunny the entire weekend with a little rain early Saturday morning..Sitting out on this deck over looking Walloon while having coffee was breath taking...The WI-FI was perfect. Even getting to and from the cottage I never lost any service...If you want a wonderful place to stay that literally has everything you could possible need and out of the city life...but still within 20 minutes....this is the cottage you want.... There were 16 people (approved by David) on Friday/Saturday and we were never crowded. The finished basement was huge and slept my sisters entire family of 7 with no one on the floor. Anything that was upstairs was downstairs as well...Plus there were 3 huge bedrooms upstairs...I'm telling you my family was so impressed..I could go on and on but when your searching for a cottage and you come across this one make this your choice....We seriously can't find one thing to complain about that's how perfect it was!!! Thank you Mr. & Mrs. Graham for a wonderful weekend!!! Barb Zahn

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lambertville, MI
5

Relaxing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Upon our arrival we were met by the owners son and he was very accommodating and helpful with any questions we had regarding the house. The house was beautiful, had everything we would need for the weekend. My husband is a runner and loved the trail being close to the house so he could run. The kids loved the lake, it was clear and beautiful. The only minor complaint that I would have is that the Wifi was slow and even non-existent but I didn't mind that. The kids were not on the phones all the time and my husband didn't work, so a bonus in my mind.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the thoughtful comments, especially regarding the internet issues. We had the cable company out to the house and the modem has been replaced. Feedback from our most recent renters was that the internet was working fine. Thanks again for the feedback and glad you had a good stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Toledo, Ohio
5

Pet Friendly Lakefront Gem

  • 5 of 5

First time staying on Walloon Lake, and it was a wonderful vacation. Had my sister up with her family to get out of the Houston heat . The owner was gracious and accommodating our labrador so that the whole family could enjoy time together . The cottage was in great shape and had plenty of space for the family to relax . The view is spectacular and we spent most of the time down at the dock swimming and tubing . The owner made sure we were happy with the cottage midweek and afterwards . The steps down to the lake helped us burn calories from all the good food we cooked . It was hard to leave this nice cottage after a week of vacation . The children all under the age of 10 and joy to the cottage the most .

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Damage Deposit $1,000

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.