Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

ULTIMATE TEXAS EXPERIENCE - 2 luxury cabins on 55 acres - WOW Hill Country Views

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps 11. Close to Wine Country,Boerne,Bandera,Kerrville,Comfort,Frederickburg

SPECTACULAR, BREATH-TAKING, AMAZING! These are all words used to describe the panoramic Texas Hill Country views you will see from your 2 modern Hill Country cabins on 55 private acres just outside of Center Point, Texas. That's right - when you rent this property, you get BOTH cabins and don't have to share the property with another family.

We have been renting properties on VRBO for 5 years, but this property trumps them all, in terms of uniqueness and serenity. Stoney Ranch is truly spectacular!

For people wanting a true Texas experience, this is the place! The drive to the property alone, is one-of-a-kind. Experience the hill country at it's finest. Hills, wildlife and wide open spaces. What we all desire!

Let’s start with the views. As you enter ‘Stoney Ranch’, you will pass through your own private, automatic gate and will drive to your 2 cabins on 55 private acres. Once you arrive at the cabins, prepare for your breath to be taken away when you see the miles of panoramic Hill Country views. There are NO better views of the Texas Hill Country. They are simply amazing (the pictures here do not do them justice. :-)). The best time of the day is sunset: sip on a cocktail, watch the deer graze at the deer feeder, and watch the most spectacular sunsets you’ve ever seen.

The cabins: There are 2 cabins built with a Hill Country flair, but loaded with the modern amenities you would expect from fabulous vacation rentals. First, the lower cabin. The lower cabin consists of the master suite (with king size bed, flat screen TV, newly renovated en-suite with spectacular tile shower, and large walk-in closet), the kitchen (with granite countertops, tile backsplash, gas range, garbage disposal, reverse osmosis, and all standard appliances), and the living area (with sleeper sofa, multiple sitting areas, 50” flat screen TV, DVD player, bar w/ bar stools, and fireplace). The lower cabin features a wrap-around porch with rocking chairs, multiple seating areas, hummingbird and bird feeders, and everyone’s favorite a HOT TUB! There is nothing more spectacular than soaking in a hot tub, watching wildlife, and enjoying the views. Now, to the upper cabin. The upper cabin consists of a living area (with bunk bed, sleeper sofa, sitting area, and flat screen TV), a bedroom (with 2 bunk beds and a sitting area), refrigerator, a laundry room (with washer and dryer), and a full bathroom. The upper cabin also sports a wrap-around porch and has an awesome outdoor living area as well. Both cabins have DVD players and the upper cabin has board games, cards, chess, checkers and more! It's a perfect set up - when the adults are ready to relax and unwind for the evening, they can enjoy the amenities of the lower cabin and send the kids up to the upper cabin, and they will be entertained for hours (just a few steps away)!

The cabins literally sit on a mountain, and you will be captivated by endless views, and options for hiking and exploring. There's a trail that leads to the top of the hill with an amazing lookout point, as well as hiking in flatter areas with lower lookout points for those less intrigued by hiking.

This is a perfect destination for authors, musicians and artists, as well. We have already had requests from authors in the area who are looking for the perfect retreat for writing. If you're seeking serenity, you've found it.

Total bed sleeping capacity: 11

Lower Cabin Master: King-size bed(2)

Lower Cabin Living Room: Sleeper sofa (2)

Upper Cabin Living Area: Bunk Bed (2) & Sm Sleeper Sofa (1)

Upper Cabin Bedroom: 2 sets of Bunk Beds (4)

Next, the location. Stoney Ranch is located just 7 miles from downtown Centerpoint, which true to its name, is located in the center of the MOST popular Hill Country destinations:

Kerrville: 9 miles

Bandera: 15 miles

Comfort: 8 miles

Boerne: 21 miles

Fredericksburg: 28 miles

San Antonio: 48 miles

Bandera is the ‘Cowboy Capital of the World’, so spend a day there riding horses and honing your Cowboy skills. Comfort is known as the ‘Antique Capital of the World’, as travelers come from all over the world to wander through the antique shops and sip on wine at the local wineries. Kerrville is a Hill Country gem nestled on the Guadalupe River with big-city amenities and a small town feel. Boerne and Fredericksburg are 2 of the most-visited destinations in the Texas Hill Country, and one big reason is because Texas has the fastest growing wine country in the US, with more than 60 wineries located within 30 minutes of Stoney Ranch. Finally, if all of these Hill Country towns don’t keep you busy enough, make the short drive to San Antonio (River Walk, Alamo, Six Flags, Sea World, world-class shopping, parks, and tons more).

Whether you’re hiking and exploring Stoney Ranch, soaking in the hot tub, observing the local wildlife, watching the spectacular sunsets, photographing the panoramic views, exploring the local Hill Country towns, sampling local wine and cuisine, or visiting San Antonio, you WILL never find yourself bored, unless of course you choose to be.

Again, this is one of the coolest properties you’ll see on VRBO. Please let us know if you have any questions at all, and thank you for viewing our listing. Our calendar and rate information is up-to-date, and we try to respond to all inquiries within 3 hours.

NO HUNTING PERMITTED.

KEYWORDS: Hill Country, Ranch, Hot Tub, Wineries, Authors, Artists, Cowboy, Bandera, Kerrville, Fredericksburg, Boerne

More Details

Owner
Jeff or Kristen Wells
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

Why Jeff or Kristen Wells chose Hill Country

Literally, our jaws dropped when we saw this place. It's a one-of-a-kind property with TONS of character, and the perfect retreat when we all need to get away.

What makes this cabin unique

Access to 7 major cities surrounding San Antonio hill country:

San Antonio

Fredericksburg

Comfort

Kerrville

Bandera

Boerne

Austin

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for the use of your cabins. We had a wonderful time in the Hill Country. The cabins were the perfect getaway for our family. We enjoyed grilling out at night while we enjoyed the breeze and an opportunity to explore the stars and constellations in the sky. Everyday we planned an excursion. We visited Bandera, did a little shopping, and had dinner at the OST (great pies) and had lunch outdoors at the Rusty Wagon (awesome service & burgers - nice owners).



In Fredericksburg, we picked up some famous saves and my favorite candles at Circle E. We ate at Bejas Grill (delicious baja-style tacos overflowing with meat). In Kerrville, we kayaked for the first time at Scheiner Park - it was very peaceful and a perfect location for our first experience.



We spent a day in San Antonio visiting the Riverwalk and the Alamo, a day shopping in San Marcos, and of course we couldn't leave without visiting Schlitterbahn. We braved the Sky Coaster where we were pulled back to 190 ft & experienced a free fall going 80mph. Oh yeah, it was fun!



We loved all the animals and wildlife on the ranch. during our stay, we saw deer, porcupine, jack rabbits, goats, alpaca, peacocks and a llama. Very cool!



I also want to mention Thomas. I am not a cat person so I didn't think that we would see Thomas the Cat. I was up before everyone else and he came to visit me on the deck while I drank my morning coffee. It was very peaceful and quiet. Thomas was the perfect companion in the morning. He is a sweet and friendly cat. :)



Thanks for the use of your cabins. We made some great memories!
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Center Point Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master bath - toilet , shower , New remodelled master bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upper cabin
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed , 2 sets of bunk beds
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , 1 bunk bed and 1 small sleeper sofa
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • spelunking
Notes:
NO HUNTING PERMITTED.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
ULTIMATE TEXAS EXPERIENCE - 2 luxury cabins on 55 acres - WOW Hill Country Views
average rating of 4.7391305 based on 29 reviews
5

Definitely a 5 star stay!!

  • 5 of 5

This place has to be one of my favorite places to stay at! Of all camping trips my family and I have done, this for sure has to be our favorite stay! The wonderful cabins feel so welcoming and relaxing with an amazing view. Definitely recommending this place to my friends and family. Lovely place thank you for letting us stay in, it was wonderful.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jesus, you and your family are SO NICE! Thank you SO MUCH for choosing to stay with us! We really enjoyed getting to know all of you, and we hope you will come back to see us again soon! Thank you again! -Wells Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL
5

Gorgeous Sunset / Glittering Stars / Picturesque Landscape Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We were in search of a unique, family friendly retreat for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday and host a mini-family reunion where folks traveling from near and far would feel comfortable. This gem certainly exceeded our expectations. From the rustic family cabins that have been newly renovated, to the gorgeous outdoor views that were easy on the eye during the day and night, this homestead did not disappoint. We loved having a hot tub and rocking chairs on the wrap around oversized porch. It was wonderful to be able to eat indoor or outdoor depending on our mood. The cabin afforded remote charm, yet with WIFI and modern amenities we certainly had everything we needed at our finger tips. The cleanliness of the cabins were spectacular. The linens, towels and supplies were plentiful and we had to pack only our personal essentials as everything else you could need was provided. The kitchen and baths were immaculate, organized and roomy. Because it is a gated property, it was safe and secure and we never felt uncomfortable. It is very remote, but just a short drive to local towns and attractions. We loved being able to BBQ and cook food in the kitchen. I highly recommend this treasured escape. It definitely recharges your batteries with modern simplicity and style. Definitely consider this for your next escape! It won't disappoint and while the online pictures are spot on, they really do not do this property justice. It's a true find! I cannot wait to book our next stay!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phoenix AZ
5

Talk about the Scenic Panoramic Views of Hill Country and what a reunion!!!

  • 5 of 5

We picked this location as the perfect spot between Austin and San Antonio to host a birthday party and have a family reunion of sorts. We were initially impressed with the privacy of the high hillside cabin location. The views were spectacular. At night, the stars appear close enough to touch.

The cabins were more than perfect to accommodate and entertain the 15 guests during the day and the 10 guests who spent the evenings there.

The property's kitchen is well stocked with dishes, glassware and cookware. The appliances are top notch and in great working order.

The bedroom's bedding were clean and comfortable.

The bathroom facilities were updated, also clean and great. The showers taken after day hikes and barbequing were hot, refreshing and with good pressure.

There was no roughing it despite the rustic appeal of the property.

The wrap around deck of the lower cabin has a hot tub that we found to be in perfect working order.

While seemingly in the middle of nowhere in beautiful hill country, its a short drive into Center Point for dining and provisions. About 10 miles in either direction will take you to Kerrville or Comfort for more access to activities and dining options.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Think twice before staying here - we were so disappointed!

  • 1 of 5

As fellow VRBO owners, it pains us to rain on your parade of 5 star ratings. We stayed at Stoney Ranch in January, 2017 for 7 nights based on the positive reviews of prior guests; the pictures and videos posted online were wonderful! When we got to the cabin, we did an inspection of the premises. If there had been a refund possible for this rental, we would have asked for one on the spot, but since the policy is no refunds, we were stuck with this location.

Here’s a list of things we found:

Door lock on patio door broken, can’t see out of the glass. Dead bugs in every window sill, on every table and all over the floor. Floors were filthy, didn’t look like they had been cleaned in months. The furniture is old, worn out and uncomfortable. We don’t recommend sitting on the black swivel chair, it flopped over just putting a few pillows on it. The furniture was dusty and had dead bugs on it. Lots of cobwebs throughout the premises. The coffee table hadn’t been dusted in a significant amount of time. In fact, there were fingernail and/or toenail clippings on the ledge of the table. The entire kitchen counter had a greasy film on its entire surface. The bedroom smelled of stale cat food. Despite your thoughts that Thomas stays away when people are in residence, he does come in during the night to eat. He also meows and “whines” quite loudly. The bathroom in the lower cabin is not heated, be prepared. The hot water faucet produces no water at all, but the cold-water faucet does deliver scalding hot water in about 10 seconds. Towels were few, old, thin and just plain worn out. The Wi-Fi worked for less than an hour during the stay. The hot tub, advertised as being fairly new, had broken headrests, latches to hold the cover down are broken, the cover is held in place by several logs in lieu of latches. There are wires visible from the dining table because a board needs repair or replacing on the right side of the window. The deck has several loose boards and one of the steps leading from the driveway up to the lower cabin is cracked and should be replaced. Some type of light needs to be put in place between the lower and upper cabins. It is very dark at night, making for an unsafe trek back and forth up and down the stairway. There is more, but we are constrained by space allotment for reviews.

After receiving no reply from the management team after a private contact, we feel the public needs to know what we found at this property.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our goal is always to provide a 5-star experience. That's why we called on the evening of your arrival to ensure that everything was perfect. You replied that 'Yes, everything is perfect.' We contacted you several other times during your stay, and you replied with the same response. After your stay we immediately contacted you to return your damage deposit. You contacted us approx 2 weeks later stating that you would leave a negative review if we didn't refund your entire payment. We asked what problems you had, as all feedback given to us during your stay had been positive. You emailed a list of issues that you 'experienced,' along with several pictures, but none of the pictures actually depicted any of the issues that you had mentioned. So, we immediately visited Stoney Ranch to check on these 'issues.' The only factual item from your review was the hot tub cover (it was damaged by a storm, and a new one is on order). Fabricating issues in an attempt to blackmail and extort a refund is definitely not an ethical thing to do. We have been renting Stoney Ranch for 4 years now and have never experienced a situation like this. In addition to the blackmail attempt (which doesn't work BTW), there is Thomas the Cat. For those of you who don't know Thomas, he is the sweetest cat in the world. He has lived at Stoney Ranch since he was a kitten, and he will turn 15 this year (not bad for an outdoor cat living on 55 acres alone :)). For the past 15 years, Thomas has not only looked after Stoney Ranch, but he has been a bundle of joy for all of our guests. Following your stay, Thomas was not seen by the next guest, so we searched for him at Stoney Ranch. After a long search, we found him badly injured. He had such a severe leg injury that it had turned into an infection and a 105 degree fever. You mention in your review that he was 'whining'. The reason he was whining is bc he was badly injured and needed help. Even after we asked you about Thomas during your stay, you NEVER mentioned him until 2 weeks later, when you said that he was 'limping and whining', which was a burden to you. So, you waited 2 WEEKS to report a badly injured animal. We also have reason to believe that he was injured as a result of your actions. Thankfully, Thomas is ok, but he is not able to return to Stoney Ranch, his home of 15 years. We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your review, as we strongly caution any homeowner against renting to you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
5

Such a fun and perfect place for our group!

  • 5 of 5

The description of this property couldn't be better! I was excited for my brother and two other friends to come out from AZ for a bike race. My goal was to give them a real TX Hill Country experience and this property was perfect! Great experience all around!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Richard, of all of the guests we have had over the past several years at Stoney Ranch, you and your group were our favorites. Thank you SO MUCH for being such a joy to work with, and thank you for your kind words. Congratulations on your victorious bike race! Should you ever need a place to stay in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you again for everything! -Wells Family
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Peaceful & beautiful retreat

  • 4 of 5

The property is beautiful & the views are breathtaking. The location is perfect, out of the way/secluded, but still only a 20min drive from Comfort or Bandera & about 40min to Fredricksburg. If you love antiquing, visit Comfort! What a cute little town! We found the home to be comfortable & spent most of our time on the deck playing cards or enjoying the hot tub. Great vacation!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kendall, thank you SO MUCH for staying with us! You and your family were a true pleasure to work with, and we're so glad that you had a great time. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon! -Wells Family
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kerrville Municipal Airport
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Multiple
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Kerrville
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Kerrville
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I-10
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Multiple
Nearest Beach
200 Miles
Padre Island
Car: necessary

Nestled in the mountains of the Texas Hill Country. Located in a rural location, but centered between Kerrville, Bandera, Comfort and Boerne.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160
Pet Fee $25
Damage Deposit $400

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund