Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Coyote Mountain cabin retreat, serene exclusive privacy in the tall pines

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,250 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Arroyo Seco - Valdez Valley - 9 Miles to Taos Ski Valley 10 Miles to Taos Village

A jewel in the woods and privately nestled one mile above the Rio Hondo Valley with spectacular views in all directions; mountains to the north and east, the Taos Valley to the south and west. Coyote Mountain retreat, meticulously custom designed and built, is owned by an L.A. TV producer and is ideal as a writing retreat or honeymoon getaway.

Unusual attention has been given to detail from unique ash cabinets and micaceous mud walls to antique light fixtures and mission oak furniture. French doors to the covered porch on the south and the brick patio on the north invite you to extend your living space out into nature.

A summer bonus in the owner's words: "We have a portable fan that has never used. I have to say, up here at 8000 feet, We've yet to miss any cooling device in 12 years."

This very special Taos luxury cabin speaks to the most discriminating of guests looking for a total peaceful, serene getaway with absolutely no intrusion from the outside world. The locked gate 1 mile below the property insures that not even a car will drive past your retreat!

Sleeping Arrangements

2 in bedroom, 2 in 2nd floor "look out" room = 4 max

Double, Double fold down leather sofa

4x4 required in winter.

More Details

Property Manager
Premiere Properties
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

Amenities

Valdez House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • 1 Sofa Bed bed, 1 Full bed
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Coyote Mountain cabin retreat, serene exclusive privacy in the tall pines
average rating of 4.611111 based on 18 reviews
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The view was spectacular. Although the house wasn't spotless, it somewhat added to the rustic charm. Many laughs were shared here and we hope to return again someday.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: Premiere Properties Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gilbert, AZ
3

Need an SUV

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The house was very nice except you really need an SUV to get up the long drive. Luckily we decided to drive ours at the last minute or we would have bottomed out our new luxury car going up that rocky, bumpy hill. I wish there would have been a warning in the ad. Also, the furniture in the house and on the porch was very uncomfortable. The chairs were hard and wobbly. No comfy couch in the living room, only two wooden rockers, for 4 people.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: Premiere Properties Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send a review documenting your stay at Coyote Mountain. The web page has always stated that 4x4 is required during winter. Yet, there is no mention of needing such for any other time of year. In the 9 years Coyote mountain has been a vacation rental, this is the 2nd mention of needing a 4x4 or SUV during summer months. The first mention was that of a guest staying at Coyote Mountain two weeks prior to your stay. We now have to wonder whether there had been road damage due to summer storms. At any rate, we will eliminating the suggestion that a 4x4 / all wheel drive is necessary during winter only, thus letting guests know that this is a year round necessity. The photos do not wittness a sofa. The simple, artful decor throughout Coyote Mountain is the owner's conscious intent for simplicity, creating a retreat for mindful solitude in an elegant getaway. I am sorry that your stay was disappointing and glad to see that you would recommend this "rare find" to others. Should you choose to return, please mention this experience so that we may be sure to do all possible to make the next stay a 5 ***** experience. Sincerelly, Paulette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Gorgeous, but meant for small people

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We loved our long weekend in New Mexico, and the home is gorgeous. However, it will be more to the liking of shorter people. We are both just under 6 feet tall and the full size bed just didn't work for us. We took turns sleeping on the bed and on the upstairs couch or air mattress. We were pretty tired from no sleep! Also, a couch or loveseat would be a nice addition for relaxing, as there are only 2 wood backed rockers in the living room, and dinner table chairs. The rental was very clean, and the caretaker was very responsive to our questions. My favorite parts of the rental were the beautiful kitchen with wooden counter tops and the black river rock shower. Gorgeous! A 4 x 4 is required for access.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: Premiere Properties Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aledo, TX
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

very private get away. The road would have been a challenge in anything without 4 wheel drive even when dry weather. Our jeep made it fun. We had a great relaxing stay. No television was not a problem. Wifi worked well so I could work some.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: Premiere Properties Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denton, TX
4

Coyote Mountain Valdez

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The house is fabulous! This was the second time I stayed there, and chose to again because the accommodations are perfect! Well maintained, so incredibly quiet, gorgeous furnishings. The bonus is the patio on the second floor! So I knew exactly what to expect. HOWEVER, the road was a mess!! It had rained fairly heavily, and while I knew what to expect, there were gullies that made it almost impassible without a jeep. The two worst parts were immediately upon turning off the main road, and then turning into the driveway. I spoke with the caretaker who said he would call the owner and try to get something done immediately, but nothing was done while I was there. One evening coming in, it took about 8 attempts to get up the driveway1! So I didn't make as many excursions out as I would have liked! When I spoke with a Premiere Properties representative, I mentioned I might ask for a partial refund because of the state of the road and driveway. He was rather cavalier and off-putting! He could at least have offered to speak with the owner. So while I love this house, I doubt I will stay there again, NOT because of the road (I have a front wheel drive), but because of the representative's response (or lack of!!).

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: Premiere Properties Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hello Donna, I am truly sorry that our conversation resulted in anything less than an impression of attentiveness and professionalism. I must have misunderstood the true intent of your phone call. You certainly did explain the condition of the road, but you implied that you were concerned that there may have been some damage to your vehicle. I was under the impression that you would be seeking a refund if there was damage to your car. I advised you to have your vehicle inspected and to give us a call to discuss your options once we had an idea of the problem. We want our guests to have a very positive experience when staying in our homes and we sometimes have to deal with unexpected obstacles. I thought you would be in touch to further discuss this matter once your vehicle had been evaluated. -Premiere Properties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Amarillo, TX
5

Coyote Mountain Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

It was a beautiful, serene, and comfortable visit.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: Premiere Properties Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: 10/14/14 Thank you. We appreciate the time and energy spent reviewing our property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties