Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Lakefront Cottage on Lake Santeetlah

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

The Santeetlah Bear Den

Feel unplugged and remote at the Santeetlah Bear Den Cottage. It is a uniquely designed cottage situated at the end of a private dirt road. The cottage backs up to 100s of acres of US Forrest Service property. You will be surrounded by trees and have your own private dock a short walk down the hill from the front door.

During your days enjoy morning coffee or afternoon refreshments on the deck situated in the woods just above the dock. Go hiking right out the front door deep into the woods. Kayak, canoe, fish, swim, and enjoy the Lake all day long. Read and relax on the upstairs balcony or in the very private backyard. Enjoy grilling and eating outside on the backyard picnic table.

Endless adventures are close by: Visit Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest and bring your mountain bike to tackle the Tsali mountain bike trails. Rent or bring your boat and ski and tube on the Lake. Visit the Nantahala Outdoor Center and zip line thru the woods or raft down the river. Shop, eat and listen at Stecoah Valley Center. If you are a motor cycle rider, you will be close the Tail of the Dragon and the Cherohala Skyway. Endless adventures of all sorts are available in Graham County.

During your evenings keep warm by the wood stove in the cozy living room. Listen to crickets, tree frogs, and other nocturnal creatures from the private upstairs balcony. Enjoy dusk watching the starlings flying overhead from dock side. Roast up a s’mores feast around the back yard fire-pit while telling stories and rehashing your day’s adventures. Wind down from the day’s activities watching a movie and then sleep soundly on brand new bedding in beautifully decorated bedrooms.

We hope you choose to stay at the Santeetlah Bear Den and enjoy the cottage and location as much as we do.

More Details

Owner
Marty Sullivan
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 23, 2017

Amenities

Robbinsville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main Floor Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sink vanity
    Upstairs Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , There is not a door separating bed from bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Main Floor Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Upstairs Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Main Floor twin bedroom - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Activities Include: Hiking trails, Tsali mountain bike trail, Fly fishing in lake and mountain streams, White water rafting, hunting when in season, Tail of the dragon close by, boating, water skiing, zip line at Nantahala Outdoor Center, Horseback riding, Blue grass music close by at Stecoah Valley Center.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

41% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Private Lakefront Cottage on Lake Santeetlah
average rating of 3.9166667 based on 12 reviews
Harpers Ferry
3

Nice cabin in the woods yet on the water.

  • 3 of 5

The house is okay, the dock and water were terrific. You can fish and swim right from the dock or paddle around in the kayaks, tubes, and noodles. The water is clear and you can stay in it for hours. Though there is a road across the water from the dock, the house is very quiet and private. There are no views of the lake from the house. Wifi worked and we enjoyed an occasional show on tv. The house is old and not all things work well. The walk from the house to and from the dock is steep.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you did not like the house. It has a lot of character and has been quite comfortable for many renters. I don't know what was not working well that I have not mentioned. Under the lake front information I mention there is little view of the water from the house. I have not mentioned anywhere in the description that there is a view of water. I'm glad however you enjoyed the dock and the kayaks. The Bear Den is a great value for the price. 3 nice bedrooms, two full bathrooms, fully stocked (but small) kitchen, TV, Cable, Internet, Washer/Dryer, Fire Pit, Wood Stove for Fall, Dock, Kayaks with paddles and life jackets. Lots of privacy and close to fishing, hiking, marina and mountain biking. I believe the pictures on vrbo are a good reflection of what you are renting.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsville, VA
3

Nice house in the woods

  • 3 of 5

This was our third time to stay at Lake Santeetlah but our first time to not stay on the other, more popular side of the lake at Thunderbird. The house is very nice and well equipped. The mattresses were comfortable and the bed linens were of nice quality. We especially enjoyed the little back lawn and the fire pit. This side of the lake is much quieter than Thunderbird (expect for the sound of the motorcycles on 143, but luckily you don't hear them early in the morning or in the evenings). However, you don't get the breathtaking views of the lake as you do on the main part. The house is also in the woods--not on the lake--so you must take a little walk down to the dock to enjoy that morning cup of coffee on the water, and the feel of your vacation is more a woodsy vacation than a lake stay.

The kayaks and canoe as well as the tubes available to house guests were much appreciated. We paddled hard for over an hour, but still hadn't made it to the main part of the lake, so we had to turn around. We didn't see a creature (human or otherwise) the entire time. We also enjoyed walking down the drive and then up Old Santeetlah Road. Very peaceful and private.

The one main caution we would give about the house is the damp, musty smell. It was overpowering when we arrived, but we opened up the doors and turned on the attic fan which helped a bit. However, without screens, we had to close the doors at night and turn on the a.c., which didn't draw out the mustiness much. By the end of our five days, the smell was better, but the mustiness never completely went away. If you have asthma or a sensitive nose, this might not be the place for you, at least in the summer.

Also, we found the Internet completely unreliable (we needed it for work). It only worked for a few minutes at a time. There is free Internet in Robbinsville at the library and at McDonalds, but 143 is a very twisty, curvy drive to get there.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and enjoyed being able to take advantage of all the outdoor activities that the area has to offer.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Euharlee, GA
4

Lovely place to get away from it all!

  • 4 of 5

The mountains surrounding Robbinsville were absolutely gorgeous, and Lake Santeetlah was one of the most beautiful lakes I've ever seen. The water stayed a nice blue-green. The cabin was great, and we loved that it was nestled into the woods but just steps away from the water. The moth ball smell came back anytime we left the cabin for an hour or so, and I have to say the floors of the cabin and even the tubs were kind of dirty/dusty. But we may have stayed there after no one had been there for a few weeks. Otherwise, the kitchen was pretty well stocked, beds were fairly cozy, heat worked great and the quiet area was fantastic. The added amenities were AWESOME and included the canoe, kayaks, life vests, paddles, dog bed and fire pit out back — all perfect for getting away from busy life. Thank you for sharing your cabin, and we really appreciate a place to which we can bring our dogs! They are getting older, and we love being able to include them in our vacations :)

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I hate that it was not perfectly clean. I will let my cleaning lady know she has to do better. I did have a handy man in a few days before your arrival to replace a couple of light fixtures. He could have tracked in something. Thanks for input. I'm getting a big bucket of damp ride which should help with the mustiness.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Could not stay

  • 1 of 5

We arrived a Friday afternoon to spend the weekend in this cabin and celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.

We were looking forward to a relaxing weekend on the water.

However, we could not stay more than 45 minutes in the cabin, tried to air it out and vent it out with the house fan, but the musty smell made us feeling so sick, that we just could not stay any longer.

My husband spoke several times to the owner before we booked the place and musty, moldy smell was never mentioned.

The owner spoke about moth balls to keep away squirrels and that we have to turn on the hose fan to get rid of that smell, which will go away in 10 minutes.

Beside the musty smell the place really needs an overall makeover to keep up with current day standards. The place isn't only musty, but also run down. So we tried to get in touch with the owner, notified him that we will not stay and we need a full refund.

Two weeks later we still had no refund.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The vacationer is correct, they did not receive a rent refund. The rental agreement which is provided in advance states no refund unless cancelled in advance. I would make an exception if there was a valid reason to request a refund. The following weekend I inspected the property, there was no valid reason to make a refund. 1. It was very clean. 2. The bathrooms have not been redone and there is not granite counter tops in kitchen but you can see what you are renting in the pictures. Every room is kept very clean. It is a lake property in the Smokies and it has a slight musty smell. 3. It has never made anyone sick. 4. A subsequent guest stayed last weekend and had no complaints and enjoyed her stay. 5. A renter is there this weekend and so far no complaints. My cleaning lady and her husband went by to check on property Saturday after the complaining renter said they would stay elsewhere Friday. There was a car in the drive way with an older couple in it. My cleaning lady and her husband waited and when they left they followed them for 40 minutes to the edge of town. I have no idea who this was but it does seem odd that they were there. It is very remote and once you gain access to the property you cannot have a refund unless there is a concrete valid reason. Other reviews have been very good. I hope you don't let one bad review change your mind.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Awesome lakeside vaction!

  • 4 of 5

Awesome Lakeside vacation , The Lake & views are amazing , The House is very nice & well accomadated . Marty was great to deal with & when our GPS sent us the wrong way , she responded quickly .We loved the Kayak's & Canoe . The only reason I gave it 4stars & not five was the house stayed damp & kept a different odor , not bad & will not keep us from coming back. No cell service which was Great!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Private, beautiful spot on the lake!

  • 5 of 5

The house was just as promised- clean, cozy, and private. The provided kayaks were a lot of fun to use, and our dog loved jumping off the dock! We would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Snow Bird Lodge
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Snow Bird Lodge (reservation required)
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Robbinsville Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,170
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $250

One night stay is available for $300.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable