Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Cozy Cabin With A Short Walk To Fly In Lake/Blue Lake Springs

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Come stay at our sweet little cabin in the woods amongst towering redwood and cedar trees. Its a short 5 minute walk to Fly-In Lake and privileges at Blue Lake Springs Recreation Center during the summer months. One bedroom downstairs with a queen bed and a trundle bed and two bedrooms upstairs using the secret pull down stairs. Upstairs has a princess bedroom great for the kids with two twin beds, and a surf room with two double beds. 15 minute drive to Murphy's for wine tasting and 40 minute drive to Bear Valley for skiing. Ample wrap around deck space for outdoor fun with hot tub and BBQ. Its small but cozy equipped for kids and adults alike. This 1949 built cabin has updated bathrooms, and appliances, and modern amenities such as DirecTV and WiFi. The large fireplace warms up the living room and provides great ambiance. We are pet friendly for a 100.00 fee.


Owner
Suzanne Hughes
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 12, 2017

About Suzanne Hughes

We have raised our three daughters coming up on weekend and holidays. Our girls are 13, 10, and 7 now, and they still love coming up to relax, explore and have fun.

Suzanne Hughes purchased this cabin in 2006

Why Suzanne Hughes chose Arnold

Our family wanted a place to make memories. We loved this little home and knew our family would have a place to come together and connect year after year

What makes this cabin unique

We have Blue Lake Spring Benefits, are a short walk to fly in lake, and have a flat drive-way for winter-time ease.

Amenities

Arnold Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 1:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy Cabin With A Short Walk To Fly In Lake/Blue Lake Springs
average rating of 4.85 based on 20 reviews
5

Cozy Summer vacation

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was amazing, the kids had the whole top floor to themselves and they loved it, very quiet at night in the woods. Blue lake springs was fun to swim and we will definitely be back again for winter break

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Accommodating

  • 4 of 5

Perfect for a family with little girls, loved the princess room, the hot tub and the big deck and rustic cabin feel....didn't love how hot the upstairs got( in the summer). Also had to pay an extra $30 to hang at the lake, never had to pay extra at other cabins when going swimming. Found some dirty pillows/blankets on the beds, we brought our own bedding though but wondering how much the cleaning fee is actually going into cleaning the bedding, not that We ever rely on the cabin we rent's bedding. Had lots of quirks, lights not working, leaking faucets but even so, we would rent it again.... and just bring our own wine glasses 😉�

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for staying at our little cabin. It sounds like you had a great time. About 2 years ago Blue Lake Springs is now making anyone that is a visitor pay to go to the lake or BLS. Unless you are with a member. It is a bummer. I will definitely let our cleaning lady know about the sheets. She is so wonderful and I am not sure what happened. Do you know which lights don't work? and which facets? I will definitely get those fixed as well. On your next visit, I will make sure you don't have to pay the cleaning fee and please call if anything is not working, I can send someone up immediately. There should be a set of 6 wine glasses. Where they not there? That is a must have;) Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Jose, CA, USA
4

Wonderful rustic cabin in Arnold

  • 4 of 5

This is a nice 100% wooden cabin that left us wanting to return. It might use an upgrade here and there, but it's furnished with love and that is what matters the most. It's very cozy and feels that owners cared for it.

The kitchen is stocked and its location is perfect for either summer or winter fun.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our cabin in the woods:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute, clean vintage cabin in the trees

  • 5 of 5

We had a fun time staying at the Lazy Lodge. This was the first time playing in the snow for our 2 daughters, age 3 and 6. There was plenty of snow, and we were able to sled and build snowmen right outside the door.

The princess bedroom upstairs was a huge hit with the girls, as was the trap door style steps. The kitchen had everything we needed and the fireplace and hot tub worked great.

The owner was friendly and helpful but not intrusive at all. My only complaint is the charges that VRBO added onto to the rental fee were quite excessive.

Overall we had a great time.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

nice get away

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was absolutely lovely. They have an upstairs that can be secluded by a "trap door". My young boys loved it and when they were sick of us, they went upstairs, closed the trap door and they were by themselves. They said it was close to freedom...the upstairs is pretty spacious and has its own bathroom so it is not at all like being trapped in their rooms. What is amazing is that when my children were upstairs, they read because the atmosphere up there has that calm, relax vibe. The owners also provided sleds, so it was nice not to have to bring our own. I would absolutely stay here again and have no hesitation recommending it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great little cabin for a family, and pets!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at the cabin, and it was a great fit for our family! We have 3 kids and a dog, and the home was ample enough for all. The kids especially loved the loft upstairs as it served as their personal retreat area—it had tons of games and toys (no need to bring your own) and they really got excited with the personal TV upstairs with kid’s videos!

The living space is cozy and super comfortable, adjacent to the kitchen with a big family dining table. The deck and hot tub are just outside within view, so the kids could hang out while we prepped dinner, etc. As an added convenience, all sheets/towels are provided so you don’t have to bring up your own. In fact, there are also a ton of toiletries just in case you forget something. The washer and dryer are newer, and easy to use, and with a mountain trip that is a huge plus. The only missing feature is a dishwasher in the kitchen, but that wasn't a big deal for us and we didn’t mind.

The lake is right down the street and we just walked down with our towels. There are no dogs allowed at the lake so if you have a dog you'll need to take them for a walk prior. And the rec center is a great time too—the kids loved the pool and the little lake within the property and the fee for using it was well worth it. Finally, we recommend the 30/40 minute drive up to Lake Alpine-- it is gorgeous, although cold water, and had kayaks and boats to rent, large rocks to jump off, and a trails around part of the lake. Perfect!

This little cabin is so welcoming, and the Hughes family is so gracious so it makes you feel extremely welcome. Overall it was a great trip and we will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Sequoia Woods
Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
Sequoia Woods
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Bear Valley
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $100
Processing $35
Cleaning fee $110
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties