Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Award Winning Garden Country Estate

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Estate, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Aloha, and welcome to Ho'onanea, a Hawaiian-style estate, situated on just over an acre of award-winning botanical gardens on the western edge of the Big Island of Hawaii, perfectly poised to offer an unbelievably beautiful panoramic view of more that 40 miles of pristine coastline, including Kealakekua Bay, the Captain Cook Monument to the north, and the City of Refuge to the south. This private estate offers visitors unequaled tranquility and aesthetics, giving guests a chance to to experience Hawaii as few tourists ever can. The upper apartment has one bedroom with two double beds. The lower apartment has two sleeping areas--a bedroom with a queen-size bed, and a punee (queen-size Hawaiian-style built in bed) in the living area.

Keywords: Estate

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 12, 2017

Amenities

Honaunau-Napoopoo Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) A futon is available but will take up floor space.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Unique Koa Art Furniture, Private Telephone, Ceiling Fans, Private Lanai, Works of Art from Hawaii's Famous Artists, Award winning gardens

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Award Winning Garden Country Estate
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
San Diego CA
5

Garden Magic

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful place! The gardens are exquisite, leaving one breathless no matter what direction you look. This is a very peaceful place to stay with sights and sounds of a lush tropical jungle. The birds are bountiful. Wonderful pool, balcony, artwork, woodwork - I highly recommend a stay with Susan.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui for your kind thoughts.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WONDERFUL!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had the most comfortable and pleasant stay at this quiet garden country estate! The unit was clean, beautifully laid out, and had alot of deck space to sit out and watch the birds and the ocean. If you like quiet and lots of beautiful gardens, you'll love this place. The owner is very friendly but honors privacy. She was very helpful at providing local information. I can't say enough about how much we loved our stay there!

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your kind words. It was lovely meeting you both, and I really appreciate Dennis' handyman skills. Door closer holding up well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX
3

Hawaiian vacation

  • 3 of 5

Five family members rented the upper and lower apartments in this estate. Without question, the grounds are absolutely gorgeous. There are small villages near this estate and the owner makes great recommendations as to where to eat and local activities. Three of us stayed in the lower apartment and quite frankly had some concerns about the unit. The kitchen is quite small, but adequate, no dishwasher. There is no interior dining area, all meals have to be eaten outside. There is a grill, but you will need to buy charcoal. The pillows in the bedroom with the punee (built in queen bed) were terrible, the white pillow cases were very yellow and stained. The carpet could definitely use a cleaning, it was quite soiled in certain areas. The hot tub is wonderful, we used it every day. We were told the pool water was warm enough to swim in, it was not, very disappointing. There is no washer and dryer, if you are making visits to some of the local beaches, the number towels available is not adequate. In the lower apartment where we stayed, the bathroom is between the kitchen and the bedroom with the punee. The doors on the bathroom and the kitchen are louvered, therefore privacy is minimal.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the accommodations. On the website, washer, dryer, and dishwasher are not listed as amenities. Additionally eating outside on the lanai is Hawaiian style. Over a dozen beach towels for five guests, should be plenty for your week. There is no excuse for yellowed linens. That will be attended to. Due to the high humidity in Hawaii, charcoal is stored in airtight bins. If you had only asked, it was available. Your concerns could have been attended to if you had chosen to make mention of. Perhaps a clearer reading of the website and schematics on your part, would have ameliorated your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Two weeks in local paradise

  • 5 of 5

We spent two full weeks with our small family in the lower flat... Felt very private, yet welcoming. From Susan advising us on local events to the Gardner offering our kids local coconuts and bananas. The kids loved the pool and hottub, and we all enjoyed snorkeling and tid pool searching at the local beaches.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berkeley
5

Delightful!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay here! We especially enjoyed the STUNNING gardens, amazing views, fantastic hot-tub, great deck and fun pool. The pictures may not do it justice and my partner and I became obsessed with taking pictures of the great landscaping and beautiful sunsets. The location is near great little villages to explore coffee shops and boutiques. I always thought that I was purely in love with the Puna Coast but having stayed here I am now equally enamoured with the Kona side of the island.

We stayed in the lower unit and I'd most recommend this for a romantic escape from the madding crowd. We actually stayed with my mother and her husband and even though privacy wasn't optimal we were all so taken by the unit, it's grounds and ammenities that this proved to be minor. However, my partner and I are keen to return to take full advantage of it as a romantic retreat.

The homeowner is fabulous: Professional, warm and friendly.

I enthusiastically recommend this delighful home to stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Wonderfull

  • 5 of 5

Es war paradiesisch und Susann war wunderbar, immer hilfsbereit und offen, aber man hat auch genügend eigenen Raum und Sparen.. Mahalo für diese unvergessliche Zeit in Hawaii und die schönen Momente der Freude und Gemeinschaft

  • Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

National Parks: Pu'uhonua o Honaunau, Volcano National Park, Kaloko National Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 13.45%

The rate of $130 dollars a night applies to a party of two in the upper unit; for a party of two in the lower unit, the rate is $135 a night.

On stays of 8 nights or more, one night at no charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.