Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BEACH FRONT 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath 4th Floor Unit - FALL SPECIALS!!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Sleeps 6

ASK ABOUT OUR FALL SPECIAL!! VRBO CALCULATOR DOES NOT ACCOUNT FOR THE SPECIAL SO YOU HAVE TO ASK FOR A QUOTE.

Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit is on the 4th floor of a low density complex. The beach view is grand from our balcony… right in front of you as you walk out the door! This complex is one of Gulf Shores’ most popular rental complexes, with affordable rates, convenience of walking to restaurants/shopping and direct gulf -front condos.

Recently replaced carpet in bedrooms and put new tile in living room/dining room, as well as added an over the range microwave and a new stove.

The living room has a large window showing a stunning view of the sugar sand beach and sparkling blue waves below. From the balcony you will enjoy watching the activities on the beach, the red sunset or taking a nap listening to the methodical rolling of waves against the shore.

The master bedroom has a queen size bed and a private bath. There is a large flat screen TV with cable and DVD player.

The second bedroom has a beautiful view of the beach through the double windows! It also has a queen sized bed, a flat screen TV with cable and an XBOX 360 for the kids enjoyment! The XBOX 360 will allow game play and also play DVDs. It has built in WIFI, so connecting to XBOX live with your own account is a snap!

The living room has a large flat screen TV with cable and a DVD player. It also has a queen sleeper sofa. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could want, the dining area has seating for four.

Both bedrooms and the living room have plush carpet, giving the unit a home-like feel. In addition, this is one of the rare Island Shores units that has a washer/dryer inside the unit. It is an all in one system that washes and then dries. This system is a ventless system, which allows condensed moisture to go down the drain. Island Shores does not allow vents from the units to the outside.

The sparkling pool is located on the north side of the complex, which keeps sand and debris from blowing into it constantly. It has plenty of seating for laying out in the sun or watching the kids swim.

Please NOTE: Standard deposit for renters under 25 years old is $300, but we can change to $200 deposit for those 25 and older. Also, I answer vrbo inquiries once each day, usually after 9 pm central time. I have a full time job and therefore generally cannot answer inquiries during the day. Thank you for understanding.

We are sometimes asked if we give military discounts. We do not give military discounts, however, we donate 8 full weeks per year to Operation Reconnect. Operation Reconnect is a Non-Profit organization that provides complimentary vacations to combat veterans and their families. For more information please see their website at: http://www.operationreconnect.org

The Island Shores complex is a low density, family oriented facility with only 59 units in a building with 6 floors. It is located in the heart of Gulf Shores, with shopping, Alabama State Fishing Pier, restaurants, fresh seafood markets and much more all within walking distance of the unit. The Sea and Suds is a wonderful restaurant on the beach within a stone’s throw of our complex.

No smoking and no pets inside any of the units at Island Shores!

There is a drink vending machine, a coin operated laundry and of course an elevator and luggage carts for your convenience.

The Complex is within a short drive of several grocery stores (including a Wal -Mart Supercenter), pharmacies, package stores, movie rentals, spas, deep sea fishing charters, movie theaters, golf courses, water parks, mini golf, the Tanger Outlet Mall in Foley, Gulf Shores State Park, the Alabama Birding Trail and Bon Secour Wildlife Refuge.

There is a great local cheesemaker near the condo in Elberta Alabama, about 20 minutes away. Sweet Home Farms has a small herd of Guernsey milk cows that they milk to produce a variety of high quality cheeses. They produce cheeses ranging from incredibly smooth to wonderfully sharp! The blue cheese is unbelievable! They are open friday and saturday only from 10 am til 5 pm.

History buffs can ride out to Fort Morgan State Park, built in 1834 and heavily used during the civil war. For those that want to visit her sister fort across Mobile Bay, Fort Gaines, they can take the interesting ride on the car ferry over to Dauphin Island! Makes a great day trip!

For those that have never experienced the night life on the beach, you are in for a wonderful time. There are many night clubs in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. The Pink Pony and The Hangout are a half mile from our condo. Live Bait is a popular spot in Orange Beach. All have live music most of the time. One of the best places to experience the Gulf Coast nightlife and meet people ages 18 to 80 is the world famous roadhouse, the Florabama Lounge. Located right on the Alabama/Florida line, the Florabama has beach access, great food and some of the best live music around, but don’t take the kids past 6 pm… unless they are at least 18 years old!

Island Shores is only an hour away from Mobile Alabama, 30 minutes from Pensacola Florida, and 10 minutes from Foley, Alabama. Located directly on the beach at 421 East Beach Blvd, ½ half mile east of where 59 ends at the public beach in Gulf Shores. From I-10, take highway 59 to Gulf Shores and take a left on East Beach Blvd, then go ½ mile and Island Shores is on the right. From the Foley Beach Express, after going through the toll bridge keep going straight until you dead end into Canal Road, then take a right and follow it to 59 and take another left, then when 59 dead ends at the beach take another left and go ½ mile and Island Shores is on your left.

For your security and convenience, we have this unit listed with a rental company. But, by going directly with us through VRBO, you will save a bundle! When you decide to book with us, we will get you in touch with the company and we will tell them the rates on which we have agreed. You don't have to worry about giving a stranger your paypal or credit card info, or for that matter mailing in a large deposit. They allow you the convenience and safety of completing the booking through their secure systems, have convenient key pick up, and 24/7 customer service.

We have 4 other condos available in the Gulf Shores area. Check out our 5th floor unit at Island Shores at VRBO #555510. We also own a 2nd floor unit at Island Shores, VRBO 555508 and our 9th floor Seaside unit is listed with VRBO as number 681059. We also have a 2 bedroom that is a less expensive, but it is not direct beach view. It is on the canal behind Papa Rocco's Pizza in Gulf Shores a few blocks from the beach. It is Venetian Isle vrbo #910888. To view any of these other VRBO listings, just type in the VRBO listing number above into the search line in VRBO.

If you happen to be in need of two adjoining units, then please ask because we have friends that own the unit right beside our 5th floor unit and we can get you in touch with them and coordinate rentals during the same time frame.

Minimum rental age for this unit is 21, HOWEVER, we might consider renting to responsible 19 or 20 year olds with a higher deposit. We also have 3 other beachfront units that have a minimum rental age of 21. They are vrbo 55508, 555510 and 681059. We do have one other unit (NOT direct beach front) that has a minimum age of 19. It is Venetian Isle Condos behind Papa Rocco's on the canal in Gulf Shores. VRBO #910888.

Hope you enjoy your stay!!

More Details

Owner
Jeff & Judy Thurmond
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

About Jeff & Judy Thurmond

We purchased our condo to give us a place to get away from the rat race of life. We love the relaxing pace at the beach and break away from work as often as we can to go to our condo.

Jeff & Judy Thurmond purchased this condo in 2014

Why Jeff & Judy Thurmond chose Alabama

We bought at Island Shores because it is close to everything!

What makes this condo unique

Island Shores is a low density complex within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and even the Hangout.

Map

LuLu's
The Hangout
Waterville USA
Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo
Flora-Bama Lounge
Flora-Bama Lounge
Sea-N-Suds Restaurant
Live Bait Food & Spirits
Shrimp Basket
Lambert's Cafe III
Tanger Outlet Center
Gulf State Park
Fort Morgan State Park
Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge
Original Oyster House
Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar
Wolf Bay Lodge
Hazel's Nook

Amenities

Gulf Shores Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Elevator
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Beachside Bedroom - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
BEACH FRONT 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath 4th Floor Unit - FALL SPECIALS!!
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
5

AMAZING!!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just stayed in this unit for 6 days. The pictures do not do it justice!! It is very comfortable, clean and spacious. Well stocked for any needs you may have. Beds were super comfortable! Low density complex makes for a less crowded beach experience. The location is perfect as it is close to everything. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone wanting a peaceful, comfortable getaway.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Island Shores Unit 452 Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from a week in Gulf Shores. We have been going for 20 plus years and will continue because it is so beautiful. This condo is in a perfect location. You can walk to everything. This unit was Great. The accommodations were GREAT. Recently painted and well decorated. It is well equipped. It has everything you need. The unit was clean and everything worked. TV's, DVD's. This unit has a washer/dryer. The grounds were well kept. The pool company was there every morning preparing the pool. The elevators were clean. This building even has outdoor grills. The BEACH is BEAUTIFUL. The owners were GREAT. We needed a second parking pass because my mother-in-law and sister-in-law joined us for 4 days on short notice. I would absolutely stay here again. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. FIVE STAR most definitely.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lake Charles LA
5

Perfect location -- walking distance from souvenier shops, restaurants and a market

  • 5 of 5

This is an older condo but it is very well kept and very clean. We travelled with another couple and it was nice to have a queen sized bed in each bedroom and separate bathrooms. We couldn't ask for anything closer to the beach. The location is perfect for those who don't like to drive everywhere once they are at the beach. The owners were also very kind to keep us informed of any maintenance on the property while we were there. This was a lovely experience for us!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vaiden, Ms
5

HAD A GREAT TIME

  • 5 of 5

Clean and all needed items avaliable. GREAT LOCATION

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

would not recommend this property

  • 1 of 5

We had several issues with our stay. We paid for items that were included in the price of the condo that we were not able to use. The elevator did not work 1/2 of the time and we were on the 4th floor. It was terrible trying to carry up groceries 4 flights of stairs. The washer/dryer combo in the unit did not work. I spent over $40 at the public laundry facility in the complex. I would have never rented this condo if i would have know the washer/dryer did not work. The only time i was able to use the public laundry facility was after 9pm every night. Laundry facility was always being used before 9pm which was a huge inconvenience. From 6/16/17-6/19/17 the pool was closed for some unknown reason. The outdoor grills were not available the entire time. A baseball team took over all the grills everyday from 3-8pm. There was a few tacky items in the condo-- broken chair on the balcony that you could not use and took up a lot of room, nails sticking out of the wall in the living room where pictures would have hung. The condo listed a DVD player in the living room. There was not it was a gaming system. We were not able to watch any of the movies we brought . My daughter got some type of fungus while we were at the condo(which took 2 weeks and several medications to get rid off plus copays). The ER doctor stated it was caused from either the pool or non sanitized sheets/towels in the condo. We are now wondering if this is why the pool was closed for 4 days. There were several other condos we could have choose but we choose this one because of the washer/dryer in the unit. This was our 5th time renting condos in Gulf Shores. We have stayed at a different complex every time. We have never had such a horrible experience as we did with this condo.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the first we have heard of any problems during the stay. That is unfortunate because we strive to resolve issues as soon as they arise. Even if issues are out of our control we always work with the guest to find a reasonable solution that will let them enjoy the stay without feeling they were treated unfairly. I will try my best to address each of your concerns... We had not heard about the elevator shutting down until this review came out. The Condo Association just spent almost $100,000 doing a complete refurb on the elevator in March so i contacted the management company to see what the problem was. I was told the sump pump burned out and that made the elevator unsafe to run and it was down for a couple of days. As far as the washer in the unit not working, again, we had not been informed of this problem. Had we been informed there would have been an immediate partial refund to cover use of the coin operated laundry facilities. We were not aware, at the time, that there was a broken chair on the balcony. A guest staying in the unit later informed us of that and we replaced that chair. I contacted the management company about the pool closure...if it is only down for a short time, then owners are generally not informed. They could not remember exact details so they checked with the pool company. The pool was closed on the 16th and reopened on the 17th in order to perform a shock treatment. That is done when pools are used heavily or when there is alot of rainfall. After performing a shock, chlorine levels are too high to allow safe swimming, therefore the pool was closed. Our linens and towels are washed and sanitized after every guest. Also, "tacky items" are a matter of personal preference!! Most people enjoy some "beach tacky" items when they are at the beach!! The Xbox360 is not only a gaming system, but also a dvd player. It's quite easy to use to play movies and we would have loved the opportunity to tell you how to do that. Kids generally know how to use the Xbox to play movies, but we should not assume everyone does so we will put instructions in the condo on how to do that. As far as the laundry facility and the grills being in use all day long..well that's part of being at the beach during the summer. It's our peak season..Crowded is out of our control during that time. I would suggest September or October when the crowds are gone and the weather is perfect!! J & J Thurmond, Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Stellar location, directly on beach, clean

  • 5 of 5

We had a agreat Stay. Everything we needed was available. The location ideal- close to everything but not one of those mega complexes that are super crowded. Owners super to work with!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $110
Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.