Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

The Perfect Palomar Mountain Getaway - FALL is in the Air...

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Mountain Life Living with the comfort of UPGRADED amenities

Let your mind escape while you Relax, Disconnect and Rejuvenate in our Little Red Cabin! Breath quality air, drink mountain fresh water, unwind, explore, hike, bike, fish, bird watch, priceless views and more.

Only the best for our guest, upgraded linens, blankets, throws and towels. Newly remodeled for elegance within and ruggedness outside. Cleaned before and after your stay.

View stars through a crystal-clear skylight. Nessle around one of two fireplaces - wood burning Pot Belly stove in family room and wood burning fireplace in 3rd bedroom next to master. Build a camp ground fire,(Please check House Rules)and create your own campsite stories, bring your favorite mountain music ~ Dare to Sing.

Embrace your surroundings of beautiful trees, meadows and panoramic views. Birdwatch from the deck while lounging in the cool sweet mountain air. Listen to the Wood Peckers peck. Be the first to see a Deer. With a little over an acre you have lots of area to stroll, collect acorns and find different walking and hiking paths.

This is a 3 bedroom cabin. Master bedroom with King Bed, 2nd Bedroom with Full Bed, 3rd Bedroom w/ daybed and air mattress.

BBQ on deck and also on the side of the property. One propane and one uses charcoal.

Kitchen fully stocked with dishes, spices and some condiments in the frig. Bring plenty of food for your entire stay. There is a little market in the area but they have limited food items. Regular grocery shopping is not close by. Mother’s Kitchen is a great place to grab a bite as well.

The cabin is well appointed, with high quality furnishings, leather recliners , new porcelain hard wood floors, quality blankets, soft sheets, cushy pillows and everything you need to have a getaway in the mountains. The kitchen is stocked with nice wine glasses, spice cabinet, pots, pans, large cast iron skillet, full size refrigerator, gas stove, quality flatware. There are 3 bedrooms for sleeping, each decorated simply, again, all quality bedding. The Little Red Cabin is perfectly staged, with enough mirrors and decorations to feel like home. There is Wi-Fi, Direct TV with Netflix and web TV, a nook off the kitchen to enjoy your feast. The large sky light in the living room lets in plenty of natural light. The only bathroom is located in the Master Bedroom. So be prepared for all to share a bathroom. Yard is perfect for sledding, in fact the entire neighborhood is, so don't forget the sleds, snowboards, and snow gear during the winter. The Little Red Cabin is in a quiet secluded neighborhood with many roads to explore.

Enjoy!

More Details

Owner
Denise Yaeger
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 15, 2018

About Denise Yaeger

We are life-long residents of San Diego, who embrace the Southern California lifestyle. Both of us are successful professionals in the Real Estate industry, specializing in the finance, acquisition and management of luxury properties in San Diego and the surrounding areas. We love family, friends, new acquaintances, food, wine, music and entertaining. We look forward to hosting you at our vacation home.

Denise Yaeger purchased this cabin in 2015

Why Denise Yaeger chose Palomar Mountain

From the moment we drove up to this property we fell in love with the entire package. I felt relaxed and could not get over the fact we were just a few miles from the city. I had an instant feeling of peace. The birds are a joy to watch as they sign and play. Squirrels play in and out of the trees, the views are captivating. I didn't even own the property yet knew this is a special place. We cherish every moment on top of the mountain.

Only the best for our guest, upgraded linens, blankets, throws and towels. Newly remodeled for elegance within and ruggedness outside.

Forget the City, leave the electronics behind. Let your best vacation be the simplest. But of course, Wifi and Direct TV is available.

What makes this cabin unique

We upgraded the cabin with new flooring, paint, comfortable furniture and nice rugs. We purchased all new furniture and stocked the kitchen well. This is not your normal rugged cabin We modernized inside and enjoy the rugged outdoors. We continue to upgrade the property and are currently finishing an extra studio to house more guest. Mountain properties are not easy to maintain for it can look beautiful outside one day and the nature drops its leaves, making it look like you have never cleaned the area. Either way it is beautiful. We are continuing to improve this property and have a pride of ownership. We look forward to sharing this gem with others who appreciate getting out of the city and unwinding in nature.

Amenities

Palomar Mountain Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • OUTDOOR FIRES!, please use Extreme Caution and care not to build to large of a fire! Always keep the hose handy. Only use good wood!
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , washer and dryer
  •  Shower  Sink and Toilet  Stackable washer and dryer  Quality towels  Body wash  Shampoo and conditioner  Toilet paper  Blow Dryer
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Quality sheets, pillows, reading lamps, closet, window view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Quality sheets, pillows, reading lamps, window view
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , full size air mattress under bed. Fireplace
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
The Perfect Palomar Mountain Getaway - FALL is in the Air...
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
5

Lovely mountain cabin.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Unfortunately, we had to leave a day early due to predicted snow forecast.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it! ❤️ We had a blast. Everything worked great for us.

  • 5 of 5

Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love this cabin so much and work on every detail we can to enhance your stay. It really makes us feel great that guest like yourself take the time to give us such a great reviews. Thank you, Denise
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrible night mare in freezing cabin, locked out and misled and no cell phone service

  • 1 of 5

I received no real directions to the cabin and had to turn around and head back home because I couldn't find it. This address is not on map quest. I found it the next day, but Denise gave me the wrong code and I couldn't get in the door. I was outside in the freezing weather with my elderly parents trying to figure out which cabin on her property to go in. I tried the code in all the doors and it did not work. There is no cell phone service in the area, so we drove to the market to use their phone. When I called Denise I did receive a new door code from her. But she hung up on me, and wouldn't answer, after I told her I looked in the cabin and saw an unmade bed and cement floor. When I finally got in the cabin, it was very cold inside and the furnace did not work There was no light in the bathroom. No heat at all in the back bed room. I slept on the floor in front of the fire place and put wood in it all night. I was really scared all night for my parents because it was so cold. Only one space heater worked in the cabin. When I turned on the clothes dryer to heat up a sweater, half the lights and the TV went out. I went outside and turned fuse on. Finally, the long night over and we left that morning even though we had another night we paid for. I sent her a message that we left the cabin and were not returning. She did not reply. In all, we only spent 1 night out of 4 nights that we paid for. The owner of this cabin, Denise Yeager, could care less if we found her cabin, if we got into it, and worse if we froze to death while there.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Merilyn booked our cabin during her kitchen remodel. Driving instruction were sent two days prior to their arrival, and posted on the web site for their view once booked. We sent a second message with wifi code and the best place to make a phone call on the mountain. Day one, Merilyn contacted us to confirm directions. We asked where she was coming from and sent a very detailed text with exact directions and landmarks. She was unable to arrive day 1 due to last minute appt. with her contractor. Day 2 received a message that they would not be arriving because her father did not want to go and she could not leave him alone. Day 3 received a phone call while they were driving. I confirm they were headed the right direction and worked with her to make sure she felt comfortable with the drive. Thirty minutes later I received a call that the code did not work. I apologized and gave her a different code. It was a pleasant conversation and besides that, I would never hang up on anyone. We have one cabin and a garage that is being converted into a studio. The web site clearly shows the picture of the cabin with the exact look of all rooms. Now that I have read her review, I believe she was trying to get into the studio. A bed was delivered the weekend before that has not been set up yet. The studio has a different code from the cabin. In regards to the cabin, we have working space heaters in every room of the cabin plus a wood burning stove "fireplace" that heats the entire cabin. We are proud of the fact that the fireplace is all set up for each guest to light for an instant fire when they arrive. We also supply lots of fire wood. If there was a problem with the circuit breaker then I could see why the heaters plugged into the effected area would not have initially worked. We have had a very warm December 75 degrees on the day of their arrival. Day 4 received a text that they tidied up and were leaving to not return for the final night. There was no indication that they were unhappy until this review. I believe they needed to be closer to their remodel. I am proud that both our housekeeper and handyman both live on the mountain. I pay extra to make sure there is always someone available if a situation arises. This give us the security that any issue can be handled efficiently. I trust that with our record of 5 star reviews you as a potential guest can see that we strive to give you the best experience. Denise
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Couldn't have had a more perfect stay at the little red cabin. Communication with Denise was fantastic. She was just a quick message away if we needed anything. The cabin was fully stocked, cozy and well decorated. The first evening, we were serenaded by the organ player next door as we sat by the fire. The music was emphatic and a bit haunting, but in a good, sitting by a campfire in the woods at night kind of way. They didn't play too late into the night and we all enjoyed the eerie experience :)

It was nice to escape the cities and coasts for something new. We enjoyed chopping wood and building fire, hiking the small trails around the cabin, relaxing with good friends and spotting wildlife (we saw a bobcat!).

Everyone loved their stay. Coming back to the little red cabin next year in definitely in the cards. Thanks Denise for the wonderful memories!

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy you had a great time and enjoyed our Cabin. Interested in hearing where you saw the bobcats. I haven’t seen one yet. Thanks for leaving the cabin in perfect shape. Denise
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for our family of four plus our lab retriever!

  • 5 of 5

Denise was easy to work with for booking our stay. We had a little trouble finding the cabin initially, but made it with a little help from a neighbor nearby. Good place to relax and unwind. We were happy to disconnect electronics and relax by the firepit.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mission Viejo
5

Cozy charming cabin in a beautiful setting!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our weekend trip to the little red cabin! Everything was just as described and the owner Denise was very nice and helpful with directions etc. We can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Melissa, thanks for such a wonderful review. I is so nice to hear from our guest for we strive to make your trip the best ever. Hopefully you will be back soon. Denise
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Cabin is located on a dirt road off the main road of Crestline. Fire Department is located directly on our mountain. We also have a small store, Mothers Kitchen and a tiny post office.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $70
Damage Deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.