Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful setting, large deck with lake and mountain views, private creek

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,650 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Lake views! 3 bd 3 ba house with large deck, quiet street, abundant wildlife

Just minutes from the historic town of Grand Lake and the 415 square miles of Rocky Mtn National Park, this property offers the ultimate retreat with scenic beauty and activities suited to all ages and abilities.

This 3 bedroom house with 2.5 baths is situated in a beautiful aspen grove with gardens, lake and mountain views, a private creek and a fire pit. The house is decorated in a mountain motif with hand-made, locally constructed aspen and pine furniture. There is a huge wrap around deck with beautiful views and ample seating. There are hummingbirds galore and moose and elk that frequent our property. You will probably spend most of your time on the beautiful deck and don't forget to take a stroll down the little boardwalk that goes along and across our private creek. Our fire pit is right off the deck with seating for 8. The house is 3 minutes from downtown Grand Lake with all the restaurants and shopping.

The dining room seats 7 and has amazing views of the mountains and the lake and our beautiful setting. There is additional seating for 3 at the kitchen bar. The family room has seating for 6, a wood stove, a TV with Dish programming, a DVD player and speaker with Bluetooth connectivity for your music device. The kitchen has top of the line stainless appliances and is stocked plenty of cookware and service for 8. Also stocked with spices and staples for cooking and food storage.

The master suite has awesome lake, mountain and aspen grove views and a private 5 piece bath. The second bedroom is a bunk room with 1 bunk bed and an additional mattress if needed to sleep 3. The third bedroom has a queen bed and for additional sleeping the living room has a memory foam queen sleeper sofa.

We have a carport for parking along with two entrances to the property from both county maintained roads! Plenty of parking for boats or snowmobiles!

Minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park and Downtown Grand Lake. Boating, kayaking and paddle boarding rentals nearby. Marinas are close by as are picnic grounds and abundant shopping and restaurants in nearby downtown Grand Lake. Grand Lake offers hiking trails, biking trails, a golf course, cross country ski track and wildlife viewing. Snowmobiling is permitted in the winter. Solvista ski area is right down the road, and about 40 minutes away is Winter Park ski area with Colorado caliber skiing.

More Details

Owner
Leslie and Jeff Johnson
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2018

Amenities

Grand Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No more than 9 renters as specified in the rental agreement
  • No smoking of any kind in the house
  • Quiet hours between 10:30 pm and 8:00 am, be considerate of our neighbors
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower
    Downstairs bath - toilet , Full size laundry in this room behind curtain
    Upstairs Hall Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , One Queen bed with private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , One Queen bed, hall bath
    Bunk Room - 1 bunk bed , One single bunk bed, room for our extra matress on the floor
  • Queen sleeper sofa in living room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful setting, large deck with lake and mountain views, private creek
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
3

Overall the property was great. Worst part was the garage because it smelled of cigarettes and dog.

  • 3 of 5

The property served our purpose well, and the kitchen was fairly well stocked. Could have used more silverware and plates. We had to run dishwasher after every meal. Overall, we would probably stay there again

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review Nancy. As far as your comments on the garage smell, I'm not sure what you smelled since we don't allow smoking or dogs and we have a housekeeper and maintenance man that are there regularly and no one has noticed any smell. Additionally we were there right before your trip to bring more wine and other supplies and didn't notice anything. We have service for 8 in the kitchen. We have more smaller plates, mugs and glassware. Since your party was 7 people I would assume you would need to do dishes after every meal.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, comfortable home

  • 5 of 5

We had a really nice stay at this home in Grand Lake. It's very modern and cozy. We especially enjoyed the master bedroom views of the lake and the wooded area surrounding the house. Having coffee on the porch in the mornings was a nice treat.

POSITIVES:

-Location--it's close to Grand Lake while still being quiet and surrounded by lovely trees and a small stream running through the property

-Nice bird watching (thanks for the hummingbird feeders!)

-The fire pit with wood available

-Comfortable beds

-A ping pong table and board games to play

-A bottle of wine and chocolates waiting for us when we checked in

NEGATIVES:

-This isn't the fault of the owner, but we felt the housekeeping and overall cleanliness could have been a bit better. The shower had a bit of hair in the drain and the glassware in the kitchen was dirty with lipstick and other grime. We had to clean some dishes in order to cook a meal.

-The bathroom toilet downstairs had a cool automatic flush feature, but the sensor seemed to be glued on but was barely hanging on. We were worried about it falling in the toilet.

-While there were some good games available to play, there wasn't a basic deck of cards which would have been nice.

-There was a large pot for cooking pasta in the kitchen, but it didn't work with the induction cooktop. We made due with the smaller pot, but we had to cook spaghetti in multiple batches which was an inconvenience.

Overall we would definitely return. It's a great property in a beautiful setting. The owner was very communicative prior to and during our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and we're glad you had a nice stay! As far as the cleanliness I will mention to our housekeeper, she usually does a great job and we have an awesome dishwasher up there so not sure why dishes would be dirty. We plan on replacing the flushing mechanism on that toilet in the fall and I will replace that stock pot with one that is induction friendly. Leslie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice getaway from the city.

  • 5 of 5

Property is nicely kept. Well stocked kitchen with the exception of a large soup pot. Very nice beds, great outdoor fire pit. Enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice getaway

  • 4 of 5

We went in the winter - so definitely enjoyed the discounted rate. Overall, the house was a good value for the price. Had everything we needed, including ample supply of fire wood, which was nice of the homeowners to provide. There was a minor issue with the automated thermostat, but the homeowners communicated well and helped us resolve. A couple of minor suggestions that wouldn't cost much: 1.) having a pack-n-play on hand 2.) more pillows for the master bed. The mattresses were very comfortable!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Andy! We are planning on getting a pack-n-play and converting the garage to a rec room with a ping pong table, couches and other games this spring. Will pull out the extra pillows, I think there are some in owners closet. Thanks for suggestions!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pflugerville
5

Beautiful home and beautiful view of the mountains

  • 5 of 5

We were very impressed with this property, it was better than what we thought it would be based on the pictures. The view is fantastic and the owners are very responsive.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Liberty MO
5

Beautiful get away in Grand Lake CO

  • 5 of 5

Stayed during Christmas break with family. Beautiful mountain views from home. Great staging area to enjoy snow mobiling, tubing & skiing. Home was clean & many extras were provided. Satellite works well & good internet connection. Leslie was very easy to work with & was available for any questions. Home even has a snow removal service. We received over 18" of snow while we were there. Highly recommend this home

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
126 Miles
Denver
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Downtown Grand Lake
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Grand Lake Golf Course
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Grandby
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Downtown Grand Lake
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Solvista, Winter Park, Mary Jane
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
The Beach at Grand Lake
Car: recommended

Minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park! Great hiking, scenic drives and wildlife viewing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Refundable Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.