Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

One of the best values in Ft. Morgan. Book your Vacation today!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

*MAY 14, 2017 - AUGUST 19, 2017; THIS PROPERTY IS ONLY AVAILABLE TO RENT SUNDAY TO SUNDAY*

'Wastin' Away' is a cabin that has been remodeled with modern conveniences. It is a small house, with two bedrooms and 1 bath, but has a large living area. It is close to the beautiful Gulf beaches, offering guests real value in their visit to the beach.

'Wastin' Away' is fully furnished- all you need to bring is your food and clothing for a fun time at our un-crowded, beautiful white sand beaches.

For those interested in bay or gulf fishing, a public boat launch on the Fort Morgan historic site, approximately 2 miles away, offers quick access to both Mobile Bay and the Gulf of Mexico.

Pets are allowed on our beaches as is alcohol, plus you don't have to remove beach equipment every evening.

If you have any questions, please call me at (334) 233-2002.

Thanks for your interest in "Wastin' Away"!

TINA

If your dates are not available, please check out our other properties.

VRBO Listing # 455103

VRBO Listing # 156931

Keywords: House, Ft. Morgan, Gulf Shores

More Details

Owner
Tina Scarborough
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 11, 2017

About Tina Scarborough

We are native Alabamians. We live in Tallassee, Alabama.

Joe and I enjoy actively participating in our Church, traveling with our friends, boat rides on Mobile Bay, fishing and shrimping, riding the ferry to Dauphin Island, bike rides in the Fort Morgan and Dauphin Island area, and enjoying the prettiest beach in the world- here in Ft. Morgan!

Tina Scarborough purchased this house in 2000

Why Tina Scarborough chose Gulf Shores East

The Fort Morgan area reminds us of how Gulf Shores was forty (40) years ago- prior to the proliferation of condos. Ft. Morgan is a quiet, peaceful place to relax and enjoy the pristine white sandy beach, salt air, and ever-present Gulf breezes; a community of single-family homes, with great neighbors and friends.

What makes this house unique

'Wastin' Away' is a short walk to the beach- the street (Bernard Court East) actually dead ends onto the beach- there is no cutting through other property owner's yards, or walking down the beach front road east or west to access the 'public' areas. The Gulf and Bay views can be enjoyed from the front deck. Since the house is located about a 1/4 mile away from the marina, and less than a mile from the Ft. Morgan historic site with public boat launch and fishing pier, there are a lot of fishing and boating activities available- we enjoy shrimping and fishing in Mobile Bay.

Amenities

Homes, Bernard Court House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2),
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
30% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
One of the best values in Ft. Morgan. Book your Vacation today!
average rating of 4.4333334 based on 30 reviews
5

Me and my wife loved the house it was nice and updated and just a short walk to the beach.

  • 5 of 5

Tina and Joe was very helpful the whole time we stayed. They are very nice and caring. The house was perfect with new appliances and nice deck around the house. The yard was very nicely mowed when we got there and house is well maintained and very clean. Has a nice concrete pad under the house with out side shower and water hoses and charcoal grill already in place. It is just far enough out of gulf shores for privacy but not to far if needed something from the store, me and my wife were very pleased and we will be back in the future!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Short walk to an awesome beach!

  • 4 of 5

Wastin Away was a great beach house in a great location. The house had all the amenities we needed for a week long stay. Tina was very accommodating and friendly. We will definitely be back to Ft Morgan area again. We loved Sassy Bass restaurant and the beaches were extremely clean and quiet.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Relaxing, non-commercialize, pet friendly area for beach lovers

  • 3 of 5

Great location, close to beach, friendly neighbors, enjoyed our vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Everything you need. All the comforts of home at the beach.

  • 5 of 5

It was everything we needed for a relaxing beach vacation. We enjoyed that it was close to The Fort. I suggest taking the ferry to Daughin Island. There are several areas there worth exploring. Joe and Tina were amazing. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Not cared for owner told me they hadn't been these in 3 years

  • 1 of 5

Not happy

Disappointed the deck was a health hazard, loose boards gaps in them, due to only 2 to 4 screws in one end. When I told owner of leaks she told me I could leave if that's what I needed to do......what really!!! And top it of everything flooded from storm, granted none of us control the weather. But all the other yards ,only Ours remained for 5 days........ took us two hours to carry luggage down and through 2 ft of sewer,swampy water and then drive our 12 hour trip home!!!! She is a rude non customer caring property owner. I bought the insurance and yet we were the ones who got the damages..........

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dawn P., My how your opinion, and now your review of your stay at "Wastin' Away" has changed! Every time that I called you during your week's stay in "Wastin' Away"- the week of June 18-25, 2017- the same week that Hurricane Cindy made landfall to the west on Fort Morgan- you stated "Everything was fine- doing good!" Admittedly, there was approximately 8" of rain in Fort Morgan associated with the Hurricane, and the yards, streets, and state highways flooded- but you had absolutely no complaints. Approximately two (2) days after your departure, the threatening texts from you began, numerous times each day, on a regular basis- and have continued- the most recent one being received a couple of hours ago, at approximately 6:00 p.m. July 13, 2017. You went as far as finding my Facebook page- screen shot photos of my family and I, and included the photos within your texts- in a threatening manner. Not only is the header to your review which states that 'our property is not cared for' and 'that we have not been there in three (3) years' an absolute falsehood- everything within your negative review (except references to flooding in the area due to the rains associated with Hurricane Cindy- are false. Get a life. Try attending church where you may learn the difference between the truth and a lie, and the consequences for lying! Harass and attempt to black-mail/coerce some other property owner so you can get you a free stay- it will not work on us. As you know, "Wastin' Away" is an attractive, well decorated, comfortable beach cottage, only a short distance from the beach- all at a very reasonable price. Why else would you, on multiple occasions between your threatening texts over the last several weeks, would you want to book the house again this Fall? Please leave us alone and have a good life! Tina Scarborough
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

It's a nice little house with everything a family needs.

  • 4 of 5

Great!!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Mobile Bay Ferry

Take a ride across the Mobile Bay on the Ferry. The Ferry departs daily from Fort Morgan and Dauphin Island. Contact the ticket booth at 251.543.1364 for current pricing and schedule.

Note: The Ferry is approximately 2.5 miles from Bernard Court East where our homes are located. You can take the Ferry to Dauphin Island and even take an additional trip to Mobile Alabama from there. Dauphin Island is very close to Mobile, Alabama and all the city has to offer.

Gulf Shores Yacht Club and Marina (LOCATED at mile marker 2 in Fort Morgan Alabama)

Also home to Tacky Jacks 2 where you can enjoy drinks and dinner with friends on the bay.

Ft. Morgan

Located at the end of the Ft. Morgan Peninsula, this Civil War era fort is brimming with history. The fort also stages re-enactments and other special ceremonies throughout the year. For more information call 251.540.7127.

Ft. Gaines

Located on Dauphin Island, Ft. Gaines played an important role in the Civil War Battle of Mobile Bay. You can spend a day here by taking the Mobile Bay Ferry. Dauphin Island Sea Lab

The Sea Lab has several exhibits open to the public, including The Living Marsh, Boardwalk, The Mobile-Tensaw River Delta, Mobile Bay Gallery, Barrier Island, Billy Goat Hole Gallery, Gulf of Mexico, Touch Tanks, and Weather Station. You can spend the day here by taking the Mobile Bay Ferry.

Waterville U.S.A.

Excitement on land and adventures in the water. Waterville U.S.A., the ultimate in family fun, is a 20 acre water park and amusement park located in Gulf Shores.

The Track

This fun-filled family entertainment complex features an arcade, go-carts, bumper boats, kiddie rides, and more.

Pirate's Island

Enjoy miniature golfing on a lush, tropical course.

Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo

As seen on Animal Planet, be sure to visit Gulf Shores very own zoo. You’ll find plenty of opportunity to explore and get up close and personal with more than 250 exotic animals and birds.

The Wharf

Orange Beach's newest attraction features shopping, dining, 15-screen movie theater, amphitheater, and the Southeast’s tallest ferris wheel.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Homes, Bernard Court House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Peak
May 14 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$900
 
 
late Summer
Aug 20 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$600
 
 
winter
Dec 3 2017 - Mar 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$125
$500
$1,350
 
 
spring
Mar 4 2018 - May 12 2018
3 night minimum stay
$150
$700
 
 
early summer
May 13 2018 - Jun 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$200
$900
 
 
late summer
Jun 3 2018 - Aug 11 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$900
 
 
early fall
Aug 12 2018 - Sep 8 2018
3 night minimum stay
$200
$900
 
 
winter
Sep 9 2018 - Dec 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$500
$1,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $75
Damage Deposit $300

Check In 3:00 PM
Check Out 10:00 AM
75 under 30 100 pet over 30 pounds

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties