Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Brown Pelican Beach Cottage Waiting for You

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

Our cottage is a raised beach house 1 block from the ocean (walk past 6 houses and you are there!).

We have a great covered front porch for relaxing with a swing and rocking chairs, and there is a table for outdoor dining. On the back of the house there is a sundeck with lounge chairs and another table for outdoor dining.

You can also enjoy relaxing outside under the house where there is a grill for cooking out. Living Room, Dining Room, Kitchen and all Bedrooms on the same floor.

The Master Suite is private on one end of the house with a walk-in closet and private full bath. The 3rd Bath is located on the ground level, along with the washer and dryer and 2nd refrigerator.

There are 4 televisions, one in each bedroom and 1 in the living room. The Garden City pier is close enough to walk, and includes restaurants, arcade, amusement park rides, shopping, and 2 great ice cream shops.

We are conveniently located between Hwy 17 Business and the ocean. Myrtle Beach and all the activities are less than 10 miles away.

We are located on the south end of the Grand Strand adjoining Surfside Beach and Murrells Inlet.


More Details

Donna C Brown
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 11, 2018


Garden City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 2 Full Bathrooms on Main level, 1 Full Bathroom on lower ground level.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Our private beach house is located 1 block from the beach, as you must walk past 5 houses to reach the ocean. We have a sundeck on the back and a covered porch across the front. There is a 2 car covered parking carport and room for additional cars behind that.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Brown Pelican Beach Cottage Waiting for You
average rating of 4.214286 based on 14 reviews

Beautiful Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5

I loved everything about this cottage. Everything was perfect. Closer walk to the beach than I expected. If we ever get the chance again to visit Myrtle Beach, we will definitely stay in it again. Thank you Donna for everything, you are a pleasure to work with.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Bear Creek, NC

Very pleased!

  • 5 of 5

From the initial communication to the day of departure, this was a great experience. The owner was polite, straight forward and very helpful. The property was comfortable and as advertised which made for a great, relaxed week. Mary (lady who lives on property) was very friendly and helpful also. We plan to visit this area again and hope this property is available when we do!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Short walk to a place like home.

  • 5 of 5

You have to give this place a chance.

Nice little walk to the beach. We had a beach stroller/cart worked out great ! We thought about renting a golf cart, NOT necessary.

The carport area and bath/laundry area works Great for Beach clean up .

Bedrooms and Bathrooms Nice sizes. The living area worked well. The house was Clean and comfortable.

We bought our fur babies along. They LOVED the front porch. We did purchase a child gate at Walmart for 10$.

It was well worth it they spent hours in the sun and breeze.

Mary lives in the little house on the property , she was a Sweetheart! It was nice having her there .

Donna made the entire process enjoyable and easy. She answered my emails right away.

Our entire Family enjoyed this little piece of paradise at the beach.

We hope to return in the near future.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Easley, SC

Not as advertised

  • 1 of 5

Stayed here for two weeks. The description is a little ambitious. Here is the good: The master bedroom and bath is fine. Plenty of room and walk in closet. The bath is small but en suite. This room stays nice and cool and the bed is comfortable. The bad: the other two bedrooms are tiny and cramped and get hot in the afternoons. It is hard to cool them. The kitchen is dated and dirty. There was an ant problem so there were traps in the windows.Kinda yucky. The rug in the kitchen was beyond filthy. Had black stuff all over it. Items in the kitchen were also filthy. We pulled out the blender to find it had been put away dirty. There was something purple and sticky all over it. Dishes were not clean. Pots and pans are old and rusty. The couch in the living area is cute but very uncomfortable to sit on. We did not use the sleeper. The third bathroom? Only if you like taking a shower in a cinder block closet under the house with the lawn tools and washer and dryer. The lady that lives on premises is odd and passes out in the hammock at night. We thought she was dead the first time we saw this. Cabs are constantly pulling in the drive way to pick her up and she monitors all that you do. A little annoying to be supervised while vacationing. The five houses you pass are equivalent to three or four rows back. It;s not a comfortable walk when toting beach stuff and kids and toys. You will need a golf cart. The outdoor stairs are dangerous. They are under trees and covered with something that becomes slick when it gets wet. While there I broke my toe due to falling down stairs the first day there. Later, my friend fell twice on our way to breakfast leaving her with massive contusions and horrible bruises that lasted for weeks. The worst part was the fleas in the yard that attacked my tiny chihuahua. An exterminator was called by the owner because she was convinced my dog had infested her house. The pest control person told me there were no fleas in the house but the yard was infested. The owner proceeded to charge me for the pest control people! I did not complain the entire time we were there as I am a land lord and hate whiny renters but when she kept part of my DAMAGE deposit to pay for pest control people SHE called, I was done. We even brought her grandsons birthday present from the beach back to Greenville for her! So this place is not that great, too far from beach for toting all your beach stuff, NOT a 3 bathroom and the owner is NOT nice.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Not only was this renter unhappy with us, we were unhappy with her and almost did not rent to her. It was difficult getting her payments, she paid late, and even wrote me an NSF check. From her attitude early on we were reluctant. Please see all the other positive reviews and make a comparison for yourself. We have a large number of returning guests. My family had just vacationed here for the week prior and we left the day she arrived. There were no fleas. When she called to say she thought her dog had a flea on him, I immediately called my pest control person, who sprays our home quarterly, including ants. He called me to report there were no fleas -- inside or outside, but that the renter was a little neurotic about her dog. He even got down and crawled around on the floor. I had him spray just to satisfy her. No complaints before or after her stay with fleas. Our renters are grateful that we allow them to bring their dog rather than having to board them. She had been staying a few houses away the two weeks prior to arriving at our house; she had ridden by and was fully aware of the distance to walk to the beach. We do not advertise to be ocean front, and our rates reflect that. We have two ocean front townhouses which she could have chosen had she not wanted to walk, and they rent for twice the price. There is new furniture in the LR -- new couch, and 3 new chairs. Beside central AC there are ceiling fans in all bedrooms. Our cleaning service does a thorough spring and fall cleaning -- they remove and replace as needed items from the cabinets and closets, and they even take the beds apart to clean, flip the mattresses, etc. We have enclosed mattress covers and mattress pads to ensure cleanliness. There is a dishwasher and we hope all guests choose to use it. The housekeepers unload the dishwasher and inspect all dishes, silverware, etc. We, the owners, were the last people to use the house prior to her arrival, and we would not have left dirty dishes. The third bathroom is located ground level and is very convenient when coming in from the beach. Our guest house renter had a car accident; therefore necessitating the need for a taxi to pick her up. Everyone loves her -- please see comments about Mary. I also love sleeping in our hammock in the evening -- a relaxing way to enjoy the ocean breeze (Mary has her own hammock). I only heard about this renter injuring herself after her stay, not during her stay. Call for more info. TY
Did you find this review helpful?
14 2

Great Place

  • 4 of 5

This is my second time here at the house and it's always a great time,highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Stuart, VA.

Garden City Beach

  • 4 of 5

Everything that was promised (and more) was there. I loved the house, but the beach rules about pets were a surprise. I knew we would have to keep our dachshund on a leash, but I didn't know he would be allowed to be on beach only before 10am and after 5pm. Not wanting to leave him alone in the house, I spent less time sitting on beach. The "Pelican" is a great place to stay. I would like to have had a gate on front deck to keep dog from having to be tied. Overall, a great place. I presume beach rules about pets are more lenient in off season. Thanks for everything, Donna!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: June 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $150
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties