Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Eagles Nest Hideaway - SPECIALS! Call for details Spectacular Views, Hot Tub

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6) spectacular views & hot tub

This spacious custom log home sits high atop the mountainside with a magnificent long range view of the Great Smoky Mountains. Imagine yourself relaxing in your secluded 6 person hot tub gazing at the view or a million stars above. Enjoy your favorite beverage while relaxing In a rocker on the expansive deck as you watch the mist burn off the Smokies in the distance.

Relieve your stress in the 2 person Jacuzzi which overlooks the view through a 24 foot high wall of glass.

This impeccably decorated cabin is beautifully appointed with your extreme pleasure in mind. Amenities include 24 foot wood beamed ceilings, oak hardwood floors, a carved and handcrafted log staircase, a beautiful indoor Jacuzzi and a magnificent floor to ceiling river rock fireplace.

The cabin features a loft, two large bedrooms and two and a half baths. The large window seat in the upstairs bedroom is a great spot to snuggle up with the provided pillows and blankets to read, gaze at the view or take an afternoon nap.

The full size kitchen has all the appliances and utensils a gourmet chef could wish for. For your convenience there is a separate laundry/mud room with a full size washer and dryer.

For your entertainment the cabin offers 3 TV's, one a 55 inch large screen, High Speed Internet WIFI! DVD, DSS satellite system, pool table, WII games, books and board games.

Outside amenities include a 6 person Hot Tub, gas grill, magnificent oversized Fire pit (wood provided) with seating for eight people. Enjoy a meal at the picnic bench or the patio table on the deck or just relax on the rockers under the covered porch.

Eagles Nest is very private and secluded yet just 10 minutes to the Nantahala Outdoor Center where you can enjoy all the action and adventure of North Carolina. We are the last cabin up the mountain and there no cabins close to you. All you hear are the sounds of nature, the wind rustling through the trees and peace and quiet.

This cabin which sleeps up to 6 people is perfect for a romantic getaway, couples get together, a family vacation or family event. You won’t find another mountain home for your vacation like this one.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Stuart Tabman
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Stuart Tabman

My wife and I live in Seminole Florida and also stay in our Murphy North Carolina cabin for a month or two every year. I am from New Jersey originally and Melody from Pensacola Florida. I spent the past 25 years in the health club business and my wife in radio advertising. We now own a sports jewelry business called Milestones Sports Jewelry as well as our vacation rentals. We love the peaceful surroundings and the slower pace of the beautiful mountains of North Carolina. Stuart & Melody Tabman

Stuart Tabman purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Stuart Tabman chose Smoky Mountains

We started visiting the mountains of North Carolina in the early 90’s and fell in love with the area. We got hooked on rafting the local rivers and hiking the endless trails. Thus began a search for the perfect property. We wanted enough acreage to have privacy and seclusion, a spectacular view and yet still be close enough to all the action and adventure. We found Eagles Nest in 2002, then designed and built the 2400 square foot cabin in 2004.

What makes this cabin unique

One of our greatest joys is to read the comments about the special vacations and memories people have created at the cabin. Whether it’s a romantic vacation, an anniversary, a family vacation or friends having fun our customers have experienced it all. The peaceful surroundings make Eagles Nest a great place to just talk and reconnect. As one customer wrote “We found the time to have long talks and to talk about nothing! It's as if the view inspired us”.

We hope you enjoy all the area has to offer and keep coming back for new adventures in the mountains.

Stuart & Melody Tabman

Guestbook comments from the owner

"There are no words to describe how you feel when you look out, as you breathe the air, as you feel the mist of dew on your face. Each person who comes here will understand, no words need be spoken". "Honeymooning" Ron & Michelle
May 2007
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Bryson City Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
2 person Jacuzzi in loft, Wii Console and games, outdoor fire pit, Books and games

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Eagles Nest Hideaway - SPECIALS! Call for details Spectacular Views, Hot Tub
average rating of 4.8965516 based on 59 reviews
5

A perfect week away in the loveliest home!

  • 5 of 5

Pictures on the site did not do justice to this gorgeous home! Views from the deck inspired us to eat almost every meal outside. We cooked on the grill a number of times, and relaxed at the ends of days of exhausting outdoor fun in the pristine hot tub. Proximity to the Nantahala Outdoor Center and Bryson City gave us wonderful access to fun, food, and amenities. The owner and maintenance staff thought of everything, from the entertainment options in the huge family room, to the well-appointed kitchen, to the comfortable beds. We felt so at-home here. The weather was outstanding during our time on the mountain, and we had optimal conditions for the Great American Eclipse! I recommend this property enthusiastically, and without reservation - my family loved this place!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved the house

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time staying on the NC side of the GSMNP. With beautiful and quiet surroundings, and the amenities at the house, there were a couple of days that we did not even come down off of the mountain.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your anniversary at Eagles Nest Hideaway. Between the spectacular views, excellent amenities as well as the peace and quiet you don't ever have to leave the cabin. It is our goal to make our home so comfortable you don't want to ever leave. We are so happy when people visit and create a wonderful memory. Thank you Stuart & Melody
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful experience.

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed for a week at Eagles Nest Hideaway. We loved it. Comfortable and quiet with the most amazing view. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Eagles Nest does offer privacy, amazing views as well as peace and quiet making it a perfect getaway. We strive to make every guests experience perfect. Thank you Stuart & Melody
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at the cabin for two nights with our 8 year old twin nieces and we all loved it! The cabin itself was beautiful, clean, spacious and had breathtaking views. It was o private and very peaceful and we truly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to Eagles Nest. When we purchased the lot we made sure we owned enough property, 3 acres, to ensure total privacy. We also wanted to control the property in front so can ensure a year round spectacular view. Views and privacy are so important when coming to the mountains. We also make sure our cabin is superbly outfitted. You should not need anything other than your food when you arrive at Eagles Nest Thanks again and we hope you do come and visit again. Stuart & Melody
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful views, the property is at the top of a mountain and very secluded

  • 4 of 5

I gave 4/5 stars because I believe the views and property were beautiful. The fire pit and outside jacuzzi were both very easy to use.

My only complaint is that the wifi is satellite internet and is very very slow, but what can you hope for at the top of a mountain and the upstairs jacuzzi is more like a tub with jets than really a jacuzzi.

The beds were also very very soft and you kind of get sucked in while sleeping.

The surrounding area contained many fun trails and walking paths. Tubing is literally right down the mountain and the Cherokee casino was only 35 minutes away.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review. We want to ensure you and all future guests that your comfort in our cabin is our number 1 priority. We also want to thank you for letting us know about the mattress as this is the first complaint we have received on the mattress in the master bedroom. This is a Serta mattress purchased less than 3 years ago for $1700. We called the store where we purchased the mattress and they immediately sent out an inspector who confirmed your complaint. The mattress is being replaced this week with a brand new mattress. We are also replacing the mattress in the upstairs bedroom. As for the internet; options are few in the mountains but we do offer the best package that Hughes Satellite has to offer. Unfortunately we do not have cable or fiber optic so we are limited to satellite. New options are being beta tested in our area and we will investigate and upgrade as soon at is available. We have worked on our personal computers in the cabin and have not experienced any problems with emails and just surfing the web. Videos are not recommended and can slow down the speeds. Also bad weather can have an affect on speed due to it being satellite. Once again Melody and I do everything we can to ensure a comfortable stay at Eagles Nest. We are always upgrading and adding to ensure your comfort and that you have everything you need for a perfect stay. June 1, 2017 Stuart & Melody
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Secluded and well-appointed cabin with stunning views ... but

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was well-equipped and appeared to be clean and nicely maintained. It was also secluded. It was not difficult to locate it using both the Garmin GPS and Google Maps, both of which readily recognized the location of the cabin and led me to it without difficulty. We really enjoyed the views from the cabin! In many ways, the cabin was what I hoped for. It did not bother me not to have fast internet service (the internet was slow). Nor was I disappointed by not having common news channels (e.g., Fox or CNN) on TV. My wife and I even talked about renting the cabin regularly. From the second night on, however, we started to be bitten by insects inside the cabin. We first thought that we were probably bitten by mosquitoes and did not think much about it. By the time we left the cabin, insect bites got a little worse. I don't have conclusive evidence about what insects bit us (though we have some suspicions). I don't want to blame the owner or management company for that, because this kind of thing can happen in any place where there is traffic. But I am hoping that the owner and Watershed will take immediate measures to address the problem. The last thing I want to do is to bad-mouth a really beautiful cabin. That said, it will be a shame if the problem is prolonged. In the meantime, I will remember the stunning views my wife and I enjoyed so much.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate reviews and information which will assist us in providing the best service for our customers. As always, we take every issue very seriously. We would like to address each point starting with the internet being slow. In the mountains DSL, cable and fiber optics are not offered to us so the best option is in the mountains is satellite through Hughes Net, which we have. Recently Hughes Net started offering an advanced service, which we purchased that this past week and set for installation the first week of June. The new service provides a super fast connection speed as well as processing 3x the data. So our future customers can rest assured that we now have lots of data as well as much faster speeds. We encourage all customers to call us personally or our management company if they have any issues. CNN and FOX have always been available on our Direct TV package on channels 202 and 21 respectively. Once receiving this review, we immediately called Direct TV who confirmed that we do indeed have these channels, Just to ensure we were receiving these channels we also sent our maintenance Manager to the property who confirmed that we have those channels. If we had received a call we could have guided you to the correct channels. In reference to bug bites; “Welcome to the mountains” bugs are just a way of life. You are in the woods and on a mountain where we do have our share of no see ums, and what are commonly called Chiggers. Chiggers are found all over the world and are not dangerous or infectious. Mostly you have no idea when they bite you since they are microscopic and measure about .03mm. So, it typically takes anywhere form 5 or 6 hours to a day before you know you have been bit. If you take a walk in the woods or on a mountain or walk the shoreline of a lake you can expect a few bites. We are on a regular scheduled maintenance program with Terminix. Being proactive, we did contact our Terminix exterminator who went directly to the house and found no evidence of any type of bugs. So, please rest assured our cabin is impeccably clean and bug free. Once again you are in the mountains so a bug or spider will find their way in to the house. A No See Um can get in through a screen. But please expect a little activity when renting a secluded mountain cabin. Thank you Stuart & Melody May 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Nantahala Outdoor Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Appalachian Trail
Nearest Point of Interest
Great Smoky Mountain Railroad Depot
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Fontana

Ziplining

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Additional Guest Fee $5 per person per night
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.