About the property
- House800 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 nights
Bungalow, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4) TA#148239974401
Welcome to Hololani! In the Hawaiian language, it means 'gone to heaven' which is how you will feel when you spend your Kauai vacation here in this cozy hideaway.
Fabulous Poipu Beach 1 king bedroom unit on ground floor of newer home. Access to 2 lanais and private tropical garden, great views of Mt Haupu, and walk to everything Poipu has to offer -- best beaches, snorkeling, hiking trails, and restaurants. Part of Poipu Kai complex with access to pool, tennis, green belt.
Unit has HDTV, Wi-Fi, surround sound, King Bed with memory foam topper.
Walk to Hyatt and Anara Spa.
Keywords: Very private~1 Bedroom Unit Ohana. easy walk to Poipu and Shipwreck Beaches, pool, spa, Hyatt, restaurants nearby.
2 covered lanais. 1 w/bbq and table,chairs for eating. 1 with comfortable chairs overlooking pretty garden area.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- May 24, 2018
About John Arria
We have been coming to Kauai for 25 years, and it is still our favorite place to relax and recharge. Come discover why!
John Arria purchased this House in 2006
Why John Arria chose Poipu
Sunny Poipu is the premier location for a great vacation on Kauai
What makes this House unique
We enjoy the proximity to the beach, hiking trails, and restaurants. Everything for a great vacation is within walking distance.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
We really enjoyed our stay! It was our first experience with VRBO and we were very pleased! The condo was perfectly located in a very nice neighboroud, clean, quite big, very quiet and fully equipped! We did not even have to buy dish, dishwasher and laundry soap. Everything was there, which was very appreciated! We especially enjoyed the balcony adjacent to the room. We had our glass of wine there after a busy day exploring the island! The owner was really friendly and gave us lots of tips on places to visit and restaurants. We really enjoyed the Garden Island and hope to be back one day!
Terrific location, pretty and private but a few glitches
Overall we enjoyed our stay. We were in a quiet, pleasant neighborhood, a short walk to Brennecke beach and, through the greenbelt, to the walk past the Hyatt, Shipwreck Beach, and miles more along the ocean. No need for AC with the 2 ceiling fans, and the 2nd lanai, private off the BR, was a nice bonus. The washer and dryer worked well, though the dryer's loud squeak was annoying. The bed was very comfortable. We appreciated the cooler when bringing perishable groceries home.
One unpleasant surprise was the lack of a stove. We'd read about the slow-to-heat-up hot plate, which is still very slow, but assumed it was an extra rather than a substitute for a cook-top. The hot plate, counter-top oven and microwave didn't adequately take the place of a range for us.
One of the igniters on the bbq grill didn't work. The grill also badly needed cleaning. The bars that deflect the gas flame had a lot of grease built up. It caught fire and charred our chicken, even with the heat on low. There were bbq tools but no basting brush for bbq sauce, and no brush to clean the grill. A light by the grill would be helpful.
Thank you for staying with us at Hololani at Poipu Kai. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our terrific location: close to Poipu Beach, Shipwreck Beach, the Hyatt, restaurants, hiking trails, and more. We are sorry that you didn't let us know about your concerns while you were here. We take pride in keeping our unit beautiful and comfortable, and a quick phone call to us could have fixed your BBQ concerns. It is true we do not have a stand-alone range. We are careful to describe the kitchen area in our listing and show it in photographs. We disclose that there is no range in the unit, The microwave, cooktop, counter top oven, and grill usually work for our guests, and we just installed a new induction cooktop to improve the cooking experience. Aloha and mahalo nui loa!
Great Location, clean, and quiet
We really enjoyed our stay at the house, here is a quick list of pros and cons:
- Great location to travel to all sides of the island
- Quiet and private feel (besides the omnipresent roosters:)
- Clean, comfortable
- Lots of bathroom, kitchen and beach accessories present in house
- Cable and WIFI worked flawlessly
- Couple big bugs made it inside despite screens on windows and keeping doors closed, as well as ants in the kitchen and bedroom
(kept food in zip lock bags to keep ants out, informed property manager)
- Fridge stopped working two days prior to our departure and we had some spoiled food items
(informed property manager, told us he will send repair guy asap)
Thanks for great stay:)
Glad you enjoyed your stay at our clean and private unit. Sorry about the little ghost ants. We're in the tropics, and we do treat the unit, but those little buggers do get inside everyone's place periodically. Even though the fridge is only 2 years old, our constant island corrosion from the salt air impacts all appliances here. Fortunately, we were able to get it fixed within 24 hours, which is a miracle for our little island! Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to can join us again on your next visit to our beautiful island.
Really nice and secluded.
Spacious with really beautiful outdoor space. Great location. The owner was super accommodating to extra requests that I had, and was also very friendly. I would highly recommend.
Celebrated 30th Anniversary
We loved our week long stay at Hololani. Everything was as described in the listing--no surprises. Communications with the rental office were prompt. The location is pretty good. It is about 1/2 mile to Poipu beach. I went on foot almost every day to snorkel and we drove when we had beach gear to haul. About 1/2 mile in the other direction was Shipwreck beach (by the Hyatt) but due to high surf no safe swimming. However, right there is the start of the Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail which had gorgeous views. The farther you get down the trail, the farther you want to go. We were also able to explore the island with day trips to the north shore and west to Waimea canyon.
Other general recommendations: Blue Dolphin Sunset Cruise, Hukilau Lanai (nice dinner), and the farmer's market in Koloa (fresh fruit for breakfast).
Very nice place! We were here on our honeymoon for 2 weeks. My only complaints are the cook-top, it takes forever to cook or heat things up but the grill has a burner that gets much hotter. Also the toilet paper was the cheapest stuff I've ever used! But overall it was great! We did lots of exploring on the island, scuba diving, hiking, helicopter ride, more scuba diving! We would come back here if we ever get the chance!
Thank you for your comments on your honeymoon stay. We are glad you enjoyed our island and our home. We will be sure to upgrade the cooktop and paper. Join us again next year for your first anniversary! Mahalo.