Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Exclusive Private Guest Home / Stunning Location / Walk To Poipu Beach

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Bungalow, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4) TA#148239974401

Welcome to Hololani! In the Hawaiian language, it means 'gone to heaven' which is how you will feel when you spend your Kauai vacation here in this cozy hideaway.

Fabulous Poipu Beach 1 king bedroom unit on ground floor of newer home. Access to 2 lanais and private tropical garden, great views of Mt Haupu, and walk to everything Poipu has to offer -- best beaches, snorkeling, hiking trails, and restaurants. Part of Poipu Kai complex with access to pool, tennis, green belt.

Unit has HDTV, Wi-Fi, surround sound, King Bed with memory foam topper.

Walk to Hyatt and Anara Spa.

Keywords: Very private~1 Bedroom Unit Ohana. easy walk to Poipu and Shipwreck Beaches, pool, spa, Hyatt, restaurants nearby.

2 covered lanais. 1 w/bbq and table,chairs for eating. 1 with comfortable chairs overlooking pretty garden area.

More Details

Owner
John Arria
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 14, 2018

About John Arria

We have been coming to Kauai for 25 years, and it is still our favorite place to relax and recharge. Come discover why!

John Arria purchased this house in 2006

Why John Arria chose Poipu

Sunny Poipu is the premier location for a great vacation on Kauai

What makes this house unique

We enjoy the proximity to the beach, hiking trails, and restaurants. Everything for a great vacation is within walking distance.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Enjoyed ourselves immensely! Hiked to the Makauwahi Cave, boogie boarded Shipwreck, Poipu And Polihani beaches.

Ate and drank Kauai island specialties.

Hiked Waimea Canyon trail (?) to the lookout.

Thanks for providing such a warm and wonderful spot to do all these things.

Joanne
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Poipu House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Best for 2 adults; fold out bed for 2 small children
  • Cancellation policy for bookings December 10- January 15 Outside 120 days = 100% refund From 60-119 days = 50% refund Inside 60 days = 0% refund
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Comfy king bed with memory foam topper, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size sofa sleeper with comfy sheets and quilt coverlet
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Everything you need for the beach -- sand chairs, mats, umbrella, boogie boards.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Exclusive Private Guest Home / Stunning Location / Walk To Poipu Beach
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 10 reviews
3

Terrific location, pretty and private but a few glitches

  • 3 of 5

Overall we enjoyed our stay. We were in a quiet, pleasant neighborhood, a short walk to Brennecke beach and, through the greenbelt, to the walk past the Hyatt, Shipwreck Beach, and miles more along the ocean. No need for AC with the 2 ceiling fans, and the 2nd lanai, private off the BR, was a nice bonus. The washer and dryer worked well, though the dryer's loud squeak was annoying. The bed was very comfortable. We appreciated the cooler when bringing perishable groceries home.

One unpleasant surprise was the lack of a stove. We'd read about the slow-to-heat-up hot plate, which is still very slow, but assumed it was an extra rather than a substitute for a cook-top. The hot plate, counter-top oven and microwave didn't adequately take the place of a range for us.

One of the igniters on the bbq grill didn't work. The grill also badly needed cleaning. The bars that deflect the gas flame had a lot of grease built up. It caught fire and charred our chicken, even with the heat on low. There were bbq tools but no basting brush for bbq sauce, and no brush to clean the grill. A light by the grill would be helpful.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us at Hololani at Poipu Kai. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our terrific location: close to Poipu Beach, Shipwreck Beach, the Hyatt, restaurants, hiking trails, and more. We are sorry that you didn't let us know about your concerns while you were here. We take pride in keeping our unit beautiful and comfortable, and a quick phone call to us could have fixed your BBQ concerns. It is true we do not have a stand-alone range. We are careful to describe the kitchen area in our listing and show it in photographs. We disclose that there is no range in the unit, The microwave, cooktop, counter top oven, and grill usually work for our guests, and we just installed a new induction cooktop to improve the cooking experience. Aloha and mahalo nui loa!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great Location, clean, and quiet

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the house, here is a quick list of pros and cons:

Pros:

- Great location to travel to all sides of the island

- Quiet and private feel (besides the omnipresent roosters:)

- Clean, comfortable

- Lots of bathroom, kitchen and beach accessories present in house

- Cable and WIFI worked flawlessly

Cons:

- Couple big bugs made it inside despite screens on windows and keeping doors closed, as well as ants in the kitchen and bedroom

(kept food in zip lock bags to keep ants out, informed property manager)

- Fridge stopped working two days prior to our departure and we had some spoiled food items

(informed property manager, told us he will send repair guy asap)

Thanks for great stay:)

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay at our clean and private unit. Sorry about the little ghost ants. We're in the tropics, and we do treat the unit, but those little buggers do get inside everyone's place periodically. Even though the fridge is only 2 years old, our constant island corrosion from the salt air impacts all appliances here. Fortunately, we were able to get it fixed within 24 hours, which is a miracle for our little island! Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to can join us again on your next visit to our beautiful island.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Los Angeles
5

Really nice and secluded.

  • 5 of 5

Spacious with really beautiful outdoor space. Great location. The owner was super accommodating to extra requests that I had, and was also very friendly. I would highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Celebrated 30th Anniversary

  • 5 of 5

We loved our week long stay at Hololani. Everything was as described in the listing--no surprises. Communications with the rental office were prompt. The location is pretty good. It is about 1/2 mile to Poipu beach. I went on foot almost every day to snorkel and we drove when we had beach gear to haul. About 1/2 mile in the other direction was Shipwreck beach (by the Hyatt) but due to high surf no safe swimming. However, right there is the start of the Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail which had gorgeous views. The farther you get down the trail, the farther you want to go. We were also able to explore the island with day trips to the north shore and west to Waimea canyon.

Other general recommendations: Blue Dolphin Sunset Cruise, Hukilau Lanai (nice dinner), and the farmer's market in Koloa (fresh fruit for breakfast).

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
York, PA
5

Very Nice!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice place! We were here on our honeymoon for 2 weeks. My only complaints are the cook-top, it takes forever to cook or heat things up but the grill has a burner that gets much hotter. Also the toilet paper was the cheapest stuff I've ever used! But overall it was great! We did lots of exploring on the island, scuba diving, hiking, helicopter ride, more scuba diving! We would come back here if we ever get the chance!

Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments on your honeymoon stay. We are glad you enjoyed our island and our home. We will be sure to upgrade the cooktop and paper. Join us again next year for your first anniversary! Mahalo.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Bay Area
5

Nice home.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you John for well managed property!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2014
  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Poipu Beach and Shipwreck Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties