Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning Modern Luxury Waterfront with its Own Brook/Waterfall

Bedrooms 5
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 0 - 8 nights


About the property

Cottage, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

The sounds of a small waterfall will lull you to sleep or enhance your evenings on the deck of this contemporary cottage on the shores of Somes Sound. With its open, grand living space, this home creates a perfect setting for entertaining, relaxing by the fire, or soaking up the views.

Open Living/Dining/Kitchen area with fireplace and floor to ceiling windows looking out to Ocean. Bedroom with queen bed, Private Full Bath; Bedroom with twin beds, Private Full Bath and 2nd Full Bath across the hall. Master Bedroom with king bed and Private Full Bath. Bedroom with single bed and upper bunk; sharing a Full Bath with another Bedroom with single bed and upper bunk (no guard rails on either upper bunk). Laundry room. Separate office, or den (with seating for 8, computer and T.V.), private card/game room and carport. All on one floor.

Large open Deck with fireplace overlooking a narrow cove that opens to Somes Sound and the ocean beyond.


Keywords: Shorefront Contemporary Cottage

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 11, 2018

About The Owner

My husband and I enjoy vacationing in Maine. We cherish the opportunity to be on the water, hiking and playing golf, tennis, bridge and attending the wonderful lectures and concerts.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1992

Why The Owner chose Northeast Harbor

My husband and I enjoy the peacefulness and the beauty of our surroundings. This is our get away time thus the cottage is 'Quiet Times.' Since my husband still works we cannot spend the whole summer here so we decided to rent part-time for others to enjoy too.

What makes this cottage unique

You can enjoy a fire in the fireplace on the deck while listening to the brook and watching the tide come in and out. You can eat fresh lobster caught that morning and even fish a bit.

This is a one-of-a-kind property located on the gold coast of Maine, right on the water and minutes from town. Get the fun and peace of the ocean and the convenience and amenities of town in one package.


Northeast Harbor Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • All modern bathrooms with shower and tub.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 is upper bunk
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , 1 is upper bunk
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Indoor and outdoor fireplaces outdoor is on the deck, brook by house with a small waterfall, fishing, landscaped in a Japanese manner.


4.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning Modern Luxury Waterfront with its Own Brook/Waterfall
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews

Beautiful, private, open floor plan

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place to stay. The open floor plan connects a large living area, kitchen, dining area to a beautiful outdoor deck, with views to the water. The outdoor deck has a fireplace and a creek running beside. Great place to wake up and have a cup of coffee, or relax after a day of hiking. Kitchen is very well equipped. It's just a great house to hang out and enjoy Acadia. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful and comfortable home

  • 5 of 5

I would recommend this house. We had a great stay. The house is very clean and the area is very quiet which was very nice for 4 busy professionals. Every bedroom has its bathroom. The view is beautiful and the location is perfect to visit Mount Desert Island and Acadia National Park. One surprise at the end: cleaning fees are deducted from the security deposit which we have never seen before ( the house was left impeccable). In spite of this, I would highly recommend renting this house as it has everything needed for a relaxing and easy vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Paul, MN, USA

Owners responded positively

  • 5 of 5

This note confirms the owner's statement that they sent a check to split the cleaning costs.

We highly recommend this very special place. We looked at other options - nothing is as unique as this. It's a perfect location to explore the surrounding area and a gorgeous house with all the amenities. I noticed recently that our daughter has a picture of this place (taken from the harbor) as one of her screen savers on her office computer! Anyone looking for a vacation rental in Acadia would make a mistake if they used our one complaint (now resolved) to skip this home. It's a gem. Obviously, the owners want to please their renters.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Paul, MN, USA

Wrote too soon

  • 4 of 5

Our above review was written too soon. Future renters should be forewarned about unpleasant ending transactions. We paid a security deposit. We and the owner agreed we did no damage to the property, therefore, we assumed the security deposit would be returned. However, deep in the fine print of the lengthy contract we signed prior to renting, was inserted: "Tenant agrees to be responsible... for any cleaning required to return the premises to the condition they were in prior to tenant's occupancy and agrees that such costs may be charged to tenant." We believed this referred to damage covered by the security deposit and "may" meant we would not be charged, since the premises were in pristine condition when we left. Only 35% of our security deposit was returned, with 2/3rds taken out for normal cleaning, (an itemized bill was provided.) This meant the owners had a very small security deposit for their attractive home and artifacts! Buyer beware - the security deposit and cleaning are co-mingled. Normal cleaning is not included in the rental fee. Because this is so different from our experience in many other rentals, we complained. To erase our poor memories at the end of our vacation, the owner offered to split the cleaning fee, but we've waited 3 weeks and no check has arrived. Hopefully, our complaint has resulted in clearer language in the contract for future tenants.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very glad the Rossmans enjoyed their visit so much. We are a mystified, however, by their misunderstanding of the "lengthy contract," which is a 3 and 1/2 page version of a standard rental form. For purposes of quality control and sanitation, it is necessary to clean the cottage after each guest departs. Nonetheless, in view of their misunderstanding, as they say, we did agree to split the cleaning fee and, as promised, mailed the check the day we returned from travel, which was the day after their second review appeared on the VRBO web site.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
St. Paul, MN, USA

Fantastic in Every Way

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 adults and 4 children stayed in this one-of-a-kind property in late May, early June, 2011. The location on Soames Sound is perfect. We watched tides, searched tide pools, listened to the brook, easily accessed Acadia National Park, walked to an excellent bakery in NE Harbor, went to SE Harbor for fishing boat trip, and enjoyed B.Harbor without being in the crowds. The large, architect-designed house is artfully decorated with vivid colors, primitive sculptures, big and small baskets, vases and modern art. Chairs in all the room are comfortable and inviting. We roasted marshmallows in the fireplace on the huge deck. There were spaces for everyone to do their "own thing." It's better than the pictures! The landscaping is lovely. The place was spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well-equipped. The monogrammed towels were fluffy. The owner and caretakers are responsive and helpful. There is TV. The Wi-Fi worked sporadically. The description of the bedrooms and bathrooms in the overview is confusing. There are 5 bedrooms: 1 King, 1 Queen, 1 Twins, 1 Single with Loft Bunk and 1 Single with loft bunk. The King, Queen and Twins all have full private baths. The 2 Singles with Loft Bunks share a connecting bath. There is another full bath close to the card room and living area. We highly recommend this place, our only concern is that it might not be available when we want to return.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Whale watching, bridge tournaments (duplicate weekly), summer concert series in Bar Harbor and N.E.H., lecture series at Claremont Hotel in Southwest Harbor. Farmers market in summer and early Fall.




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 9.0%

minimum 4 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties