Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Edelweiss Beach Chalet Beach Front Property

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Discover Your Hide Away-Oceanside Oregon is located just 9 miles from Tillamook. It is the perfect laid back coastal community where you will enjoy all the local amenities for the perfect beach excursion. The best panoramic views from inside the house or enjoy a beverage on the deck while watching the beach activities, surfing, wind sailing, kiting, kayaking, and hang gliding.

Guests please note we have a small set of stairs inside which gain access to the 2nd level. Please use caution and use the hand rail going up and down. All children must be supervised on the stairs.

You won't want to hesitate to book your trip soon.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

About Michelle

I was fortunate to grow up in the nearby community of Tillamook. My grandfather came from Switzerland in the early 1900's and founded one of the dairy farms in the area which my family still owns. I spent many days lounging on the beaches of Oceanside while I was growing up. My dream was to come back and purchase a home at the beach to feel young again. You will be mesmerized by the beauty of this coastal town. I know the history and area very well and love to share information and my chalet with guests. The photo is me in Switzerland last year where Grandpa was born.

Michelle purchased this house in 2005

Why Michelle chose Oceanside

I chose this beautiful property because I believe Oceanside Oregon is truly one of the most beautiful places in the world.

What makes this house unique

My husband I and family love the drive down Hwy 6 to the town of Oceanside along the Wilson River from Portland. Many waterfalls and scenic spots. We settle in unpack and the magic takes over. You pretty much forget the rest of your other world. I love to cook so we venture to the locale fish markets and purchase crab, clams, and fish and really have a feast. I love sitting on the deck watching the boats, whales, sea lions, surfers while soaking up some sun.


Oceanside House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This is a Jack and Jill style bathroom.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This is a Jack and Jill style bathroom.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Bathroom adjoins this bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , Upstairs
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Full size mattress, located upstairs.
  • Queen size Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon-full size
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
The chalet sits on 1/3 of an acre with a bubbling creek and path to bridge at back of property. Inventory of all items upon checkout. Any items removed will be charged at full price on credit card. This includes sheets , blankets and bedding.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
20% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Edelweiss Beach Chalet Beach Front Property
average rating of 4.6444445 based on 45 reviews

Great locatin, very clean , warm and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful experience. My family and friends gathered for a fishing /crabing experience. The home accommodated us perfectly. We had plenty of shared space, kitchen ware and bathing items to make us feel at home. We were in need of nothing. Great home -perfect

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place, great view, close to the beach.

  • 4 of 5

Perfect for our purposes. Quite comfortable. I'd stay there again. Internet didn't word very well, but that may be the deal in Oceanside.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Stunning views! Great beach access!

  • 3 of 5

We had a great time! Thank you for allowing us to stay at the chalet. The deck was a bit scary and we wouldn't let the kids play on it because it's so tilted but the views and beach access was great. This may be a good home for younger adults though, us older folks really had trouble with the stairs to the second story which were at such an angle, it was like climbing a ladder. With that being said we still really enjoyed our time there. We came for the beach and were not disappointed.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A great spot, easy access and lots of amenities! A new porch would make it even better!

  • 5 of 5

A great spot, easy access and lots of amenities! A new porch would make it even better! Our 6 year old fell down the steep stairs to theupstairs bedroom. He was fine, and it was our choice to put him up there knowing the stairs were a challenge. We eventually blocked off those stairs, and a kid gate could be a great addition to expand the types of folks who can utilize the property! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saratoga Springs, UT

Fun beach house

  • 5 of 5

Great beach house! Right across the street from the beach. Awesome views. Comfortable home furnished nicely. Would definitely stay again. Loved it!!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A beautiful and secluded beach

  • 5 of 5

The location can't be any better, for convenience and viewing of this beautiful area. The home accommodated 4 adults and 3 children very well. We did find the home itself to be "over decorated" with way too much "clutter". Simplifying would allow for more use of table tops/counters, in both the kitchen and bathroom as well as the living room. Then there is the deck. If you've read other reviews that go back for many months, seems that everyone has comments on the condition of the deck. It is dangerously leaning, sloping downward from one end to the other. This can be seen very clearly from the inside window. The support post on the left corner is tilting and being "held" in place with a small piece of 4 x 4, which is of no use to keep it from completely breaking off. We kept our kids and ourselves off the deck, feeling like the weight of a few people could cause it to collapse. The owner, on March 5th told me she lining up a contractor, then in July before our arrival, said permits were awaiting approval with the County. So, I hope this repair takes place as it was a huge detriment to our stay, and if the deck is replaced would definitely come back for another stay. We so would have enjoyed using the deck for sitting on and the view. Its was perfect weather, hot and sunny, so we were disappointed not to sit outside.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the deck we are still in process with moving forward, permitting , engineering and securing the contractor. We are told work begins in October this year and we are doing demo on lower stairs in September. Unfortunately these time constraints are out of our control and take time to complete. We were assured by contractors current deck ok for use in the interim. We hope you return to enjoy our new deck in the future. As for the decor most our guests enjoy the beach feel of our home. We do offer another property that may work for you across the street VRBO 894058 the rate is $700. Per night sounds like this would be more to your liking please check it out. We would also be happy to discount a night at The Edelweiss. For your inconvenience on a future stay. Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Tillamook Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Schooner, Netarts Oregon
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Garbaldi, Oregon
Nearest Restaurant
Nearest Ski
140 Miles
Mt Hood
Nearest Beach
Car: necessary

Tillamook Cheese Factory, Hang gliding, Air Museum. Bicycling, running. Some of above amenities located with 15 mile distance. Garibaldi 20 miles North has Marina and pier for boating, fishing.




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $105 + Tax
Tax Rate 15.0%

Bank fees 2.5 % on the total bill is included in the tax fee above.
Lodging tax State 1.8%
Lodging tax County 10%
Please provide me with your mailing address when booking to enable us to mail you the keys and opening procedures.
All items at house inventoried upon checkout. Any removal of items will be assessed charges for replacement at full price. This includes blankets, sheets and bedding items.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties