Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Norris Lake Cabin with Double Decker Dock on Private Cove

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8), Separate Hot Tub house

Feel like you are in a 'tree house'...yet have a private double deck dock in a private cove! Whether you are a house-boater, skier, fisherman, sightseer, sunbather, or water sports lover, Norris Lake has it all. Norris Lake was created by the construction of the Norris Dam in 1936. This hydroelectric project was the Tennessee Valley Authority’s first. The lake’s beautiful blue-green waters span more than 800 miles of shoreline covering 34,000 acres. Norris’ boundaries extend up the Clinch and Powell rivers which feed Norris with clear, pristine waters. It’s an ideal environment for sportsmen and vacationers alike.

This home is situated in a beautiful cove on Lake Norris. It has 2 bedrooms and the basement is a bunk area/game room. The upstairs has a king size bed in one of the rooms and the other room has a queen size bed, one full bathroom with shower/and tub , separate private hot tub house, porch, stairs to the dock, basement area with couches/queen bed, 1 single bed with trundle single under both the beds in the basement bunk area. There is high speed internet and TV's both upstairs and in the bunk room. Washer and Dryer are downstairs.

Enjoy the beautiful wildlife, private setting, swimming, boat slip, jet ski slip, lots of lounge chairs, fishing.... all you need to relax and 'get away' from it all!

Please be aware that there are 250 +/- steps from the cabin to the dock (and back up again!!). Well worth the effort to get there and back, but we like to be sure our customers know this before committing to the rental.

Closest marinas by car are Whitman Hollow Marina and Indian River Marina, and by boat--Sequoyah Marina is closest. Boat rentals are available at all three of these marinas.

Keywords: Norris Lake House for rent, Hiwassee View, Lake Norris House for Rent with Dock, Lakefront House on Norris Lake, Lake House with Dock, Lake House with Dock on Lake Norris, Private Dock on Norris, Lake Front Home with Hottub, Norris Lake House with Dock, Private Cove on Norris, Hiwassee Dr., Norris Lake Homes in Jacksboro, Tn

More Details

Owner
Chuck French
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Chuck French

Owners: Chuck and Reecy French. We live in Knoxville, TN and own and operate a Management Consulting firm called Payne-French Assoc. We rent furnished rentals in Knoxville, TN and Nashville, TN. We also build homes in Tellico Village. You can learn more about Tellico Village as a retirement area on the tellicovillage website.

Chuck French purchased this cabin in 2006

Why Chuck French chose Norris Lake

We bought this lake house because Lake Norris is the most beautiful lake in the WORLD! We also bought it so that we could create and cultivate wonderful memories with our children, family, extended family, and friends! The waters are the most beautiful boating waters around! The marina's are so clean and well equipped. The trees are stunning around the fresh clear water on Norris Lake. Our family memories continue to grow at this wonderful home on the lake.

What makes this cabin unique

Tubing! Fireworks! Jetski, parking Houseboats in the cove to extend the number of rooms and family members that can stay overnight! Cater parties on the dock! Boating! Fishing! Skiing! Water color painting! Hottub parties! Swimming! Hiking! Relaxing......

Amenities

Jacksboro Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full bathroom with combined tub/shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Pillow top king mattress, TV, Direct access to bathroom
    Bunk Area - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen air mattress available upon request
  • Master Bedroom has (1) King bed with pillow top mattress, cable TV, private entry into bathroom. Bedroom 2 has (1) Queen size bed with pillow top mattress. Basement bunkroom as (1) twin bed in partially finished basement area., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private double decker Dock on year-round deep water Cove. Dock has a 10 x 26 covered boat slip, and a 10 x 10 jet ski bay. Covered deck/swim platform on lower deck. Open upper deck is 30' x 30'. Sunchairs, barstools, umbrellas provided on dock.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Norris Lake Cabin with Double Decker Dock on Private Cove
average rating of 4.4 based on 15 reviews
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

Great place on the water

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Slept everyone comfortably with plenty of room. pictures do not do justice.

  • 4 of 5

When we arrived the air conditioner was not working but with a quick message to Chuck he had a guy out there the next day! Communication was excellent! Please do be aware and acknowledge when they advertise there are a lot of stairs there really are! Quite more then we wanted to realize but the view at the bottom was spectacular! Easy access to the home! Fully equipped! My family and I really enjoyed our stay and especially the hot tub! Recommend for younger families and ones that are capable climbing a lot of steps! Still missing the view!!! :)

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Courtney - thanks for the great review...yes, we just did a furnishings upgrade on the house and need to get our photos updated! Sorry about the AC, but glad we could get it addressed fairly quickly. Hope to see you again! Chuck
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

One of the most relaxing and peaceful places we have ever stayed at.

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful week here on Norris Lake. The double decker dock was amazing and was where we spent most of our time. The lake was beautiful and being secluded at the end of a private cove provided us with the serenity we were looking for. The only negative was all the steps to get to the dock, but they were well worth it. Beautiful place.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Knoxville TN
5

Cozy and Relaxing Weekend

  • 5 of 5

The house was easy to get to - paved roads and drive and the grade was very reasonable. Once we were there, it was very easy to settle in and get comfortable. The kitchen had everything we were looking for and were happy to see gas at the grill since we forgot to ask about that. The bedrooms were comfortable and there were plenty of couches for additional guests. The back deck was awesome with plenty of chairs and a firepit to enjoy, and the gigantic hot tub (enclosed so you can really enjoy it year round). The dock was large and the water was plenty deep even though the lake was at winter pool. The worst part was definitely the number of stairs to get from the house to the dock, but we learned our lesson the first day and took lunch with us the next time, so no big deal. Overall we were very happy with our stay and will definitely keep this house in mind for our next vacation!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Amanda - thanks so much for the amazing review, we are really glad you were able to enjoy all the features our property has to offer! We look forward to having you back in the future! Thanks, Chuck and Reecy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Had an awesome time at the Lake. It was in a good area for watersports and convenient to marinas.

  • 4 of 5

Property was clean and well maintained. The pier was very nice and had everything needed to suit most people's needs.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Annual lake trip

  • 2 of 5

Our group of friends has stayed at this house the past two years now, we are planning to do this annually for many years to come and hoped we had found our spot on Norris lake to keep coming back to. However , this year we decided to leave Thursday after work to have a full Friday of boating rather than drive down Friday morning as we live six hours away in Ohio! We told the owners we wouldn't arrive to the house until after midnight on Friday morning and we were a bit shocked when we were charged for a full day extra even though our arrival was basically Friday and no one else had the house at that particular time but , no big deal we didn't mind too much . Once the sun came up and we were able to look around Friday morning we were pretty upset. The grass in the yard needed mowed, I'd say 50% of the light fixtures had burnt out bulbs , the fan didn't work in the hot tub room , the hot tub itself said "error" all weekend and wouldn't heat up , the washing machine had a load of wet towels left stinking for who knows how long, the fridge barely kept things cold and the coffee pot didn't work😡 But the real problem came when the air conditioner didn't work and when we let the owner know he responded with , "hmmm, that's weird, it just worked for the last people!" Yes we broke the air conditioner so we could be miserable all weekend and one of our group was pregnant so needless to say we were disappointed in how badly the place was compared to last year and even though the dock and cove are both amazing I think we will be giving our money to someone else next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Travis - I must say I am a bit surprised by your review, and would like to address each of the points you make. First, I did not understand that you were looking for the extra night for free, and I was quite clear when we communicated about it what the charge would be. The house was ready for your guests a 4 PM on Thursday. So, it is surprising that you were "a bit shocked" about the extra night's charge. Regarding the lawn, it gets mowed every 2 weeks, and with the rain we recently had I will admit it was a bit long. Regarding the light bulbs, I found two bulbs out inside the house. Outside the house, four of the flood light bulbs on the driveway and under the deck had been loosened, and came back on when I tightened them. One bulb was burned out. The fan in the hot tub room had apparently failed, and your note is the first I learned of that. The wet towels in the washer are an issue with my cleaner that I will correct with her, and I apologize for that. The fridge and coffee pot both were working correctly when I checked them after reading your note (and our next guest had no issue with them), so I cannot explain why you had a problem. The hot tub did not say "error", it said "Econ" which is the power saving economy mode. A simple phone call to me and I could have told you what button to push to correct it. About the AC: when you contacted me about it not working (Friday 8:32 PM), you told me that your electrician friend found the fuses pulled from the disconnect box for the outside unit...and that putting the fuses back in got it working. Pulling those fuses takes a *manual effort*...so it would be odd that they were pulled, since the AC was working for the guest just before you. It was not an implication that you broke it, rather that it was odd that the fuses were *manually" pulled. Further, I reached out to you the later in the weekend to see if it was still working, and you told me that it was not working that well, that was 85 in the house, but that you were "OK for one more day". I immediately called my HVAC technician (on Sunday) but he could not make it there until Monday (after your departure, unfortunately). We live 1 hour from the cabin, and you had our phone numbers and email. Owners cannot address issues they don't know about. I am very sorry for your disappointing stay, but would urge you to contact any owner should you have such issues. Hope you will reconsider and stay with us again, but wish you the best of luck if not.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Nearest Airport
57 Miles
Knoxville McGhee Tyson
Car: necessary

You can use this home as a 'hub' for multiple houseboats. Use the dock to cater events! BBQ ribs on the dock! Grill on the dock-- we have also rented several houseboats and used the house, and the dock for the perfect family reunion. Ask us how and we will help you coordinate such an event! From getting the houseboats to the cove ...to provisioning them.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Jacksboro Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
In-Season 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,600
$4,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$235
$1,500
$3,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 14.25%

Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
A 10% rate surcharge applies to holiday weeks/weekends (Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas/New Years weeks)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties