Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private and peaceful Oceanview Estate - Away From All But Close to Key West

Bedrooms 6
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

Great for large groups - 6 bdrms, 3 bathrms, sleeps up to 14 adults

"All Praise Is Due to God". Our White Ibis Inn is in perfect condition after the Irma and NO DAMAGE! We're ready to take your reservation!

White Ibis Inn away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it and the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises, sunsets and endless views of the starry nights.

A private Caribbean-style accommodation with adjacent guest house with panoramic view of the Atlantic and heated pool. What we offer is as follows:

4 Bedroom Main House (sleeps 8)

2 Bedroom Guest House (sleeps 2 up, 4 down stair)

Both overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, with swimming pool and playground area.

Perfect for family reunions, couples getaways, and those looking for an island escape just 15 minutes from Key West. The large property is ideal for those with kids and dogs who want a bit of space, and don't want to have to cram into a smaller accommodation when they're trying to relax. You can shoo the kids away to go play in the yard or pool and pick a place to relax yourself.

The Main House has a kitchen and laundry room. The Guest house has a kitchen. These have linens, dish and laundry detergent, and everything you need, and if you find yourself missing anything, or that we've forgotten to provide you with something, just give us a call.

In addition, the property has:

-Pool with spill-over Spa

-BBQ Grill

-WiFi in the entire property

-Dockage provided at Cudjoe Gardens Marina (Complimentary)

-Chaise Lounges, outdoor tables & chairs

-Lawn Swing, hammocks

-TVs with satellite/cable, DVD players, Stereo

-Basketball 1/2 court;


-Playground set with slide

-Sandbox and toys for kids;

-Note: The Main House is on stilts and the Guest House kitchen and bathroom are on the 2nd floor. Stair climbing is required.

Architecturally Designed:

The Caribbean style Main House, and the Guest house and surrounding 6’ high white fence of your 'Key West Accommodation' are unique in the Keys because of their custom hand-built wood/concrete fortified construction. The Guest House was built with a hurricane-resistant solid concrete roof and heavy hand-built shutters. They were built in the late 80's to early 90's and withstood Hurricane George with barely any damage.

You can enjoy the picturesque homes while relaxing in the Florida room porch and enjoying the Atlantic breeze.

More Details

Property Manager
Kazi Ahmed
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2017

About Kazi Ahmed

My name is Kazi Ahmed. First moved from Canada in '96 with my family to work as an artist on Duval Street. Our apartment became too crowded for our growing family, so we bought this unique property. We lived here for three years, then decided the property was too big to manage with three small children while working on an art & crafts invention. So we moved back to Canada and rented out the property starting around 2002. Six years later, we were able to move to the Fort Lauderdale area and now often come down to Cudjoe Key to work on the property.

I am the Inventor, artist, manufacturer and publisher of the world's first patented color blend RainbowBrush® markers and books series. 15 years of solid knowledge with the arts, craft, toys Industry, sourcing, a world class eyes for product design and packaging and inventor. You can see more just type rainbowbrush to your browser or youtube.

My youngest daughter is the clown and seen in some of our photos.

We have very nice people taking care of things in Cudjoe as well, from the caretaker to the cleaning staff that do a great job and make sure our renters are happy.

I like to make sure each guest is comfortable with our location and service, and is able to just relax and have fun when they arrive. So if you have any questions, feel free to ask, e-mail > info@

Kazi Ahmed purchased this house in 1999

Why Kazi Ahmed chose Lower Keys Area

We bought this amazing place soon after Hurricane George. It sustained very little damage from the hurricane because everything was solidly built, with the guest house made to withstand Category 5 force winds. The builder/owner's wallet, however, was not built as strongly, and after completing the house he was forced to sell it, and did so to us.

It has a great view from the balconies and porches that are on all sides of the houses. Flowering bushes and coconut trees line the long, curving driveway and border the lawn. (If you have a large knife/machete feel free to crack open any coconuts you find.) It feels like you are entering another (is)land, separated from reality by the large white fence, and is the ideal vacation place to escape to. As a vacation rental, it feels less commercial than a hotel and is grander than most other rentals- the pictures show what you get.

What makes this house unique

The property is largely isolated from outside noise and hustle-bustle, and the whole property encompasses that 'get-away' vacation feeling people want when they come down to relax. The sun, sea breeze, flowers and sounds of nature result in a very relaxing atmosphere, with the big white fence to keep any large and unwanted intruders out. Whenever we go down, we're sorely tempted to just lie down and take a nap, instead of getting anything done, and when we go back home we're red from slapping ourselves awake. Just kidding. There's a swinging hammock just for that purpose, though (the naps, not the slapping), and what initially made me really happy with the property was that we don't have water access, so I never had to worry about my children falling into the ocean. Most people aren't as pleased with that, though, for some reason, but there are a host of gorgeous beaches to choose from up and down the Keys to fulfill all your surfing, swimming and suntanning needs.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Our stay at White Ibis Inn was amazing! This was our first time to stay in the Keys, and we loved this location out of all the hassle bustle of Key West. It is close to beautiful Bahia Honda National Park (20 minutes drive to Key West, and same to the Bahia Honda),

and you are constantly surrounded by lush green nature with sugarcane and bananas! A couple of our favorite activities were the bicycling Experience(right down across the road) and seeing the beautiful sunset over the mangrove field.

But we also need air conditioning for sleeping! We were so glad to find White Ibis Inn at home, and it was just as advertised. It's a very clean, Key West style home and offered a cool night of sleep. The pool is beautiful, everything was comfortable and we felt right at home.

You can tell that the owners have given a lot of attention to detail, as the house is absolutely gorgeous and yard spacious with plenty of room to spread out. The front porch, master bedroom has an awesome view of the ocean, and we spent many mornings there drinking coffee and watching the sun rise! The mgr Kris was always available to answer questions about the area, etc. This was a true "Home Away from Home Experience". I would highly recommend this rental - you won't be disappointed!!
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 13


Cudjoe Key House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Master - toilet , shower , Two sinks
    Bathroom 2 - Main house - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - Guest upstair - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 3 - 3rd Floor - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 2nd floor - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - Master Bedroom - 3rd Floor - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2nd Floor - 2 twin/ single
    Guest House - Downstair - 1 king , 1 queen
    Guest house - Upstair - 1 queen
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Private and peaceful Oceanview Estate - Away From All But Close to Key West
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 26 reviews

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5

Close to everything. Lots of space and all the amenities. 👍👍

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Matt and his team were wonderful people. We always welcome his group again. Thank you Matt, please make White Ibis Inn a home for your next vacation in the Florida Keys. Very glad to know you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The complex was great, relaxing and minutes away from great vacation spots, beaches, Key West ,etc.

  • 5 of 5

The property was very nice and accommodated our large group easily. Plenty of room to eat, entertain, swim.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to write about our White Ibis Inn, it means a lot to us as we try very hard to maintain the property to our guests' expectations even though we deal with Mother Nature almost every day, from hurricanes to tropical storms, and one of the difficult parts of maintaining the property in the Keys is the salt from the ocean. Please come back again to stay with us again, and next time, hopefully I can meet you personally. Have a blessed day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty and Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

We were very disappointed in the quality of the homes and grounds at The White Ibis Inn.

1) Pool Problems - the pool was dirty and should have been thoroughly cleaned prior to our arrival. The property manager sent a pool cleaner two days into our stay who told us the pool needed to be shocked. As a result, we had to deal with the interruption of having a pool service on property during our stay and did not have use of the pool after the chemicals were put into it to "shock" it. The next day the pool water level had dropped significantly and the pool became extremely dangerous if someone had unknowingly dove or jumped into the pool. We immediately called the property manager who called the pool cleaning service. The pool serviceman admitted that a drain had been left unplugged and that was the cause of the pool draining. We had to be responsible for monitoring the hose that had been left laying across the yard (which was a tripping hazard) to refill the pool which took the entire day. As a result, we were not able to use the pool the entire day (Wednesday). Finally, on Thursday we were able to use the pool, but not without the previous interruptions/aggravations mentioned above.

2) Gate problems - the front gate was not working on the first day of our stay. A technician was called and came to work on it, but we were not notified that someone was coming so were quite surprised to have this technician blocking the driveway. The gate was eventually fixed, but the technician changed the exit code without telling us so we had to figure it out on our own causing more delays/aggravation.

3) General cleanliness - When we arrived on Sunday 6/18/17 at 4pm to meet with the property manager we found the home unclean and not ready for our stay. We had to point out to the property manager that there was not any toilet paper, tissue, paper towels, hand soap or laundry soap in the bathrooms, kitchen or laundry room. He did respond by going to a nearby store to buy the bare minimum of those items for our use. However, we had to buy much more which we feel was unacceptable since those items are assumed to be provided in a vacation rental. In addition, there was dirt and dust on the light switches, tops of dressers and shelves in the bathrooms which we ended up cleaning before our other family members arrived. Not how we wanted to start our vacation!

We made the best of a bad situation, but it was extremely disappointing.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a universal truth that you can’t make everyone happy, no matter how hard you try. We welcome our guests’ reviews and suggestions about the property and how we do things, but what is disheartening about this party is that David wanted to blackmail us after his vacation by saying that if we don’t give him a refund, he will write a negative review about us. We do not approve of people who try blackmailing or extorting others and abusing any house owner who takes pride in their services. We would like to present our part here: About the pool: The pool gets professionally cleaned twice a week on a schedule that is separate from when the guests check in or out. This is a very common practice, due to the limited time-slots that pool servicemen have. Our pool is surrounded by some trees from neighboring yards, and as such the leaves do fall in the pool area especially after a rainy or windy day - and we do get quite a lot of rain and wind in the Keys in the summer. During his 4-night stay, the people who service the pool came twice. Gate problems: The gate is working fine. The problem was that his party did not use the correct entry/exit code, even though we gave him gate code prior to his arrival, which is also written in the welcome note. It’s worth noting that David’s group pulled and forcibly bent the gate to go in and out improperly. General cleanliness: Our check-out time is 10 AM and check-in time is 4 PM. We had other guests checking out on same day that David and his people arrived, but they arrived by noon - before our house keeper had enough time to clean the house. The houses are quite sizable, and cleaning them properly requires time. We suggested that they leave their luggage underneath the house and come back any time after 4 PM, so that the house can be cleaned, but they wanted to use the toilet and kitchen right away, as some of them were in a hurry to use the washroom, and some of them were hungry. So obviously the house was not ready when they came in early and insisted on using the house. Lastly, I called David at least a dozen of times over the phone and e-mailed him 3 times during his stay, to inquire about whether everything was to their satisfaction. He never returned my calls, nor replied to my e-mails. After their vacation ended and they went home, we returned the full amount of their security deposit. I received an e-mail from David in the nature of extortion or blackmail, trying to get a refund beyond what is agreed upon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3

It's a nice place for fair price. Worked well for our group of 12 adults. Would rent again in future

  • 3 of 5

Overall, very nice. Five of the six bedrooms were great. The sixth one, which is the basement of the guest house, is more like a utility room that had a bed in it. It could quite easily be improved upon. It is OK for kids the way it is, but if they painted it and put a divider up to hide the washer/dryer, it would be much better. The upstairs of the guest house is very nice, both the bedroom and the kitchen area. My wife is very fussy about bedding and she commented on how clean and fresh the bedding, pillows and towels were. Two other areas that could be improved upon: some of the pool furniture was broken and should be replaced; the pool/jacuzzi heater worked intermittently. Chris, the maintenance person, was very responsive and has a great attitude. The open air dining/porch area was very nice and worked well for our group. The neighbor was friendly and actually gave us some fresh bananas picked off a tree in their back yard. It's located in a very quiet and private area, but there are a few nearby restaurants that are quite good. Overall, I'd call it very good, with room for some small improvements.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear William, Thank you sir for your review and writing few lines here for us. We appreciate it and very happy that you enjoyed with us and had a great time with us. Regarding the downstair of the guest house, we had to take out some stuffs during a big storm as frequently we get them in the Keys, but we are in process of fixing it again soon. Next time please come again and stay with us and I promise that you will have even more happy times with everything updated. Thank you again and have a blessing day with your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

This trip to Key West was fantastic.

  • 5 of 5

White Ibis Inn is a beautiful property that has everything. My family of four (including 2 teenagers) enjoyed the views and fenced gated of this location had to offer. The house was spacious and loved the fact it had a washer and dryer. There was literally nothing we needed that was not already here.

A unit with comfy, clean beds (the best beds I ever slept), big showers, strong WiFi, and flat screen TVs with Netflix for your days. Enjoy the big pool and hot tub, quiet neighbors, and grill.

The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, pots and pans and a few towels. I miss it now that were home. The house was really clean and bedrooms were very comfortable. It's hard to always find a comfortable bed away from home and these were perfect. We would sit on our patio overlooking the pool and beautiful landscaping and just relax.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Home Living while you're in Holidays

  • 5 of 5

I read a lot of mixed reviews before I left on my vacation. The White Ibis Inn was outstanding. Very clean and the property manager was very friendly and responsive. My family had a great time. The BBQ, Pool area was huge and plenty of room for my family.

The guest house is situated in the perfect spot right in the middle of everything between Big Pine Key and Key West. It was so convenient. The house exceeded my expectations. The property manager answered all my questions and very responsive. The house and the property had everything we needed for a perfect family vacation and I will definitely re book for my next vacation. Thanks again.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Key West airport
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Key West Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Mangrove Mama's and The Square Grouper
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Key West beaches, Bahia Honda State Park (MM 37)
Car: necessary

Other restaurants nearby going towards Big Pine Key: Missy 'N Joe's Deli, Evie's Subs, Five Brothers, Boondocks Grille & Drafthouse, and lots more in Big Pine. Along the way to Key West: Kaya's Island Eats, Baby's Coffee, Chico's Cantina and more.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $500
Additional Guest Fee $14 per person per night
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $800

* Rates: Weekly $3,500 for Fall -$3,850/weekly for peak season up-to 6 guests, please add $17 per person per night above 6 guests.
* Holidays Rates: $4,750-$5,500/weekly up-to 6 guests, please add $17 per person per night above 6 guests.

Keys Holidays: Christmas and New Year’s Week, Mini Lobster (last week of July) and Opening Lobster Season (first two weeks of August) & Thanksgiving.

Cleaning Fee: $300 for the Main house; $200 for the Guest house.
Taxes: 12.5%
Pet fee: $100.00

NOTE: ≈ Payment Terms:
50% is required during reservation.
Balance is due 90 days before arrival.
Security Deposit: $800.00 (Refundable), please visit us at white ibis inn by going to Google. Thank you.

CANCELLATION POLICY - More than 3 months before arrival date = Full refund less $250 White Ibis Inn Management fee (not Homeaway's fees), even if you book through Homeaway, please take a note.

If you book directly with us through White Ibis Inn and pay us by check, we will gladly offer you 3% discount. Please visit us at White Ibis Inn and send us your inquiry from "Contact Us" page.

Please note: The care taker uses the trailer on the property from time to time (once every two months) for property maintenance. The 5th wheeler is quite far away from the house and out of the sight.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties