Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Top Floor D Bldg! Whitewater Ocean View 2BR, 2BA Penthouse-2 pkg spaces

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,050 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Blue Whale Retreat ~ D303 at North Coast Village

Sleep and wake to the sights and sounds of the surf! Relish amazing whitewater ocean, pool, and garden views from both balconies of this remodeled two bedroom condominium. Located in the ocean-close D Building, you can enjoy great ocean views while watching your kids swim in the lagoon-style heated pool, with easy access to the sandy beach just steps away!

The living room of Blue Whale Retreat features a sectional sofa with queen size pull-out bed, stereo, and a television with cable and DVD player. It opens to a private ocean-view balcony.

The contemporary kitchen features custom cabinets, granite counters, tumbled stone back splash, tile floor, and recessed lighting. You'll find a refrigerator, stove, microwave, and dishwasher. It is equipped with dishes, pots, pans and flatware, cooking utensils, coffee maker, toaster, and blender. The dining area seats four.

The entire 2nd level is the romantic master retreat with a large ocean-view balcony.The downstairs bedroom has 2 full size beds. All bed linens are provided. Both baths are a tub/shower combination.

For your viewing enjoyment, 3 televisions and DVD players are provided. Wireless Internet and cable television is included free of charge at all properties.

As an added plus, this property comes with TWO assigned parking spaces in the underground, gated garage.

As you walk through the staffed secure gate to North Coast Village, you're transported to a tropical oasis reminiscent of the Costa Rican Rain Forest. Running streams, waterfalls, lush foliage, and Koi meander through the spacious grounds of this resort-like beachfront condominium complex located in Oceanside, California, between the Harbor and the Pier.

You will notice the crystal clear heated pool and spa, gleaming barbecues, convenient picnic tables, and sand rinsing stations to remove the lingering beach. If you need a break from sun and surf, you might enjoy a game of pool, a jog on a treadmill in the exercise room, a little ping pong, or a sauna. Feeding our giant Koi is a simple pleasure not to be missed during your Oceanside visit. There is also a putting green and foosball.

When you venture all the way through the back gates, you find yourself on one of North San Diego County’s finest beaches: broad and flat, with fire rings, volleyball, and great surf breaks - right out back! Be sure to stake out a fire ring to the south for a unique evening beach fire at least one night while you are in Oceanside.

To the north, you can walk or bike to Oceanside’s busy little harbor for a bite to eat or some boating, and to the south you can venture down the strand to southern California’s longest pier for some fishing (no license needed) or casual dining at Ruby's. North Coast Village is close enough to walk to everything near the beach, so your car can stay in its secure underground parking spot - especially useful when beach parking becomes a premium in the summer.

The Mainstreet Oceanside Farmer's Market is a delightful experience near the Pier which takes place every Thursday from 9-1, and and the Sunset Market Thursday evenings from 5-9.

Within a short drive, visit Disneyland & California Adventure, Knott's Berry Farm, Universal Studios, Magic Mountain, Balboa Island, La Jolla, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Mission Luis Rey, Queen Mary, San Diego State Parks, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Sea World, The Flower Fields of Carlsbad, Temecula Wine Country, San Diego Zoo, Del Mar Racetrack, Coronado Island, Oceanside Harbor, Birch Aquarium at Scripp's Institute of Oceanography, and Palomar Observatory.

More Details

Property Manager
MakeMyVacation
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About MakeMyVacation

We grew up in separate towns in California, approximately thirty-five miles apart. We met by chance in our mid-twenties while both celebrating events with co-workers. You could say that it was love at first sight and after forty years, the rest is history! We raised two fine young men, worked hard, tried to save more than we spent and eventually were able to save enough for a down payment toward our dream of owning a place by the sea. We purchased our dream spot D303 in 1999. Since then, we’ve had fun remodeling, decorating and making a number of improvements to it.

Why MakeMyVacation chose Oceanside

We love the ocean as well as the San Diego area with its attractions and ideal weather. We never dreamed that we’d be able to own a place where we could actually see and hear the waves and walk just steps to the shore. When D303 became available, we felt that it was a great location to enjoy time with family and eventually become our ideal retirement spot. This all happened about the same time that our oldest son started at UCSD, which gave us a great half way point to visit with him often.

What makes this condo unique

After looking at a number of nearby locations within our price range, our realtor introduced us to North Coast Village and we were instantly sold! Its location and the amenities offered in the complex far exceeded our expectations. Everything else that we had looked at before paled by comparison. Not only do we get to see and hear the ocean waves, but we enjoy a perfect view of the lovely resort-sized pool and putting green. We can stroll through the beautiful complex and enjoy lovely well-maintained landscaping with streams and waterfalls leading to a large koi pond, game and workout rooms, BBQs and laundry facilities and much more.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We absolutely loved the Blue Whale Retreat D303 and North Coast Village! We had a great time in Oceanside and are looking forward to a return visit!
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 5

Map

Situated directly on the beach between the Oceanside Harbor and the Oceanside Pier, many sightseeing opportunities in both L.A. and San Diego areas are within easy driving distance, including Disneyland, San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Legoland, Knotts Berry Farm, and Wild Animal Park.

Amenities

Townsite Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Elevator
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 King bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 1 Other bed, 2 Full beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • 1 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Top Floor D Bldg! Whitewater Ocean View 2BR, 2BA Penthouse-2 pkg spaces
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 23 reviews
Fort Worth, TX
5

Absolute gem!!!

  • 5 of 5

The oceanside resort was amazing!!! The walkability factor of the locale was awesome! Other than the grocery store (Walmart grocery is just few miles away!), restaurants shops and even Amtrak station was all in walking distance. We ended up taking Amtrak to downtown San Diego to tour Midway, very convenient and what a treat to ride the train (esp with kiddos!). The condo itself was so clean and nice, very spacious for the 4 of us. They had games and even billards balls and cue sticks for us to use! The gorgeous blue glow of the pool across from our balcony was serene nightly. Plenty of room in fridge, wonderful to have laundry facilities downstairs and even bbq's available next to pool! What a great value and experience compared to being trapped in a hotel!

For fitness enthusiasts, you can jog or walk miles between going down to Marina (over the bridge) and then back other way past pier. There's tons of stairs back and forth to street level you can do and even an aged amphitheater down next to pier that you can run bleachers on. Plenty of fresh air to work out in, pack your yoga mat! Lots of peeps would place their mats below bleachers and in between running them, would use mat for body weight exercises.

Last note, there's a Farmers Market on Thursday's just 2 blocks from condo and they sell everything there! 9a-1p I believe I remember correctly!

Absolutely wonderful condo and village!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your beautiful and comprehensive review of our unit and related amenities. It's always a pleasure hearing that our guests have enjoyed positive experiences during their stay. We hope that you will share your D303 experiences with family and friends who may be considering a beach vacation. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
fargo, ND
5

overall property was beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

garage only had 6 1/2 ft clearance. could not park a full size van in there

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. -The Make My Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Peoria, AZ
5

Beach View Oasis

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Absolutely the best place to stay for a family beach vacation. This is the 4th year we have come here and it NEVER disappoints! We absolutely love staying here and can't wait until next year to do it again. The beach views are amazing, the location is perfect for both the beach and the complex amenities.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We can't wait to have you back! -The Make My Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Sacramento, CA
5

D303 AWASOME!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This is our third year in North Coast Ocean Side. Lets just say this place never disappoints us. The clean pool, the clean hall ways, the clean resort it self. We stayed at condo D303 closer to the beach then last year and deft worth every penny. It was a clean condo the condo was exactly how the picures on the website were, with a nice view to the pool and ocean and ocean sunset. Alot of mirrors but with a toddler we still managed to keep them clean and treat the condo like our own home.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your time at Blue Whale Retreat! We appreciate the great review! - The Make My Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week. I was a little concerned when the time approached because the reviews had mentioned the carpets being dirty. But they were spotless when we arrived. The condo is gorgeous and has everything you would need for the week; beach chairs, umbrella, body boards, cooler and more. Plenty of towels, dishes and pans. The coffee mugs were small so we donated 4 big mugs to the unit. I like to sit on the balcony with a big mug of coffee. Great week, great place. Can't wait to return again sometime.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being our guests in Blue Whale Retreat! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time and look forward to seeing you again next year! -The Make My Vacation Team P.S. Thanks for the coffee mugs!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Average

  • 3 of 5

There is no air conditioning. That was not disclosed when we booked. We could have lived with the patio doors open and the large fans that were provided however the unit was right above communal BBQ area and as such with 3-5 families using the grills the smoke from cooking blew right into the 3rd floor unit from 5-8 pm everynight. When that wasn't happening there was so much pot smoking odor from a neighbouring unit coming in it made keeping the screen doors open dreadful. Our teenage twins were quite disgusted by this and it affected them poorly. The complex is close to the beach however. Unit was clean and when we did/could use the roof top patio it was nice. Was able to play cards one night. Easy access to parking garage. Saw several security patrol walking through the grounds. Friendly people. Building and pool area was quiet after 10:30 pm. That was nice. If I were to recommend this place to anyone ibwould go for a ground level unit in building A, B or D. Patios looked nice and large. Great place to hang and eat as a family

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We're glad you enjoyed the proximity to the beach and the awesome rooftop ocean view patio. Unfortunately the issues you mentioned are out of our control. It was stated clearly in your rental agreement that there was no air conditioning. -The Make My Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees