Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Adorable Folly Beach Cottage! 1 Block to Beach! Super Location! Free WiFi!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

The Island Girl' is a clean, Sweet Ole Cottage which has entertained happy folks for years and enjoyed some recent renovations and upgrades over the 2014, including a BRAND NEW tiled bathroom!

The guests who have stayed with her, loved her so much, they say they wish they could stay forever. Pack a bag, throw in some flip flops, a swim suit and leave your worries behind at the Island Girl!

Located JUST ACROSS THE STREET from the BEACH (How Sweet is That?) and only two blocks from the Famous Bert's Market where you can buy anything from ice, to batteries, to organic vegetables, sushi and craft beer, the Island Girl is your key to relaxation. On the first floor, you have plenty of space to relax in the large family room, enjoy a family meal in the dining area or just relax on the screened-in porch while drinking your morning coffee. Upstairs, there are 3 nicely sized bedrooms, a full bath and entry to the sun porch which looks over the palms. Need some time away from the sun? No problem! Our backyard is nicely shaded from all of the beautiful, mature palm trees and there is even an outdoor shower to wash off the sand from your day at the beach.

At Folly Beach, you will discover the beauty and diversity of our quaint beach town! Referred to as the 'Edge of America', the town of Folly is very casual, and the locals are friendly. You will enjoy amazing sunrises and sunsets, rich history, good food, expansive beaches, and a town center pier for fishing and sightseeing. Within steps of each other on Center Street, you'll find many restaurants, from upscale to the cool dive. Seafood is always fresh and available everywhere; but no fear, for the non-connoisseur there are taco shops and burger bars. Cool shops abound. And, surfing is big here, so bring your board or sign up for a lesson.

A clean and beautiful beach, there is plenty to do at Folly with wonderful swimming, surfing, kayaking, paddle boarding, sun bathing, people watching, finding seashells, running and biking on the beach, and just doing what you want to do. Need to work off some energy after lounging at the beach? Just two blocks away is a wonderful Public Playground ,Tennis and Basketball Court.

And, if too sunburned, the charming and historic Charleston is just a short drive away. There you can enjoy some of the best restaurants on the East coast, explore the French Market, picnic at Waterfront or take a horse drawn carriage ride through the Holy City. Do some shopping on King Street, stroll through one of our beautiful museums, take a sunset cruise through the harbor or stop by one of the city's hot spots to people watch (including celebrities!)

Looking for a special or romantic weekend getaway and would like to customize your stay? No problem! We would be happy to have a chilled bottle of champagne, fresh flowers, chocolate dipped strawberries or whatever you wish, waiting for you when you arrive. Give us a call and we would be happy to make the arrangements!

More Details

Owner
Cornelius J. Van Aalst III
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

Why Cornelius J. Van Aalst III chose Charleston Area

We are just a quick walk across the street to the ocean! And, just a short 4-block walk to the center of town - easy enough to walk to but yet far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle of night life and just enjoy the sound of the waves at night.

Folly now has many restaurants and entertainment that we equally enjoy. But some of my favorite times are in the water. Swimming, Fishing the Surf, riding the waves, Fishing from the pier, or boating the Folly River while skiing, tubing and of course, fishing and shrimping.

The Low country is abundant in crabs, shrimp and fish. The many local piers make it easy and fun to catch your own meal, or if you do not get a nibble, Crosby's seafood is just up the road with some of the best local seafood around for you to take home and prepare. Come on Down to the Low Country and experience the Edge of America ( Folly Beach) 1st hand. You won't be disappointed.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a really great time in Folley Beach and the Island Girl was a great choice for our stay. The cottage is super cute and comfortable. Thank you again for everything. We just wished the weather would have been warmer, but we still found lots to do and had fun. We left 2 kites in the shed for your future guests to enjoy.

We look forward to coming back again soon!
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 5

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Charleston International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Snapper Jacks
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
James Island
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
rt 26
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Ritas
Nearest Beach
Folly Beach
Car: recommended

We are conveniently located just 15 minutes from downtown historic Charleston. Within walking distance, there are also Tennis Courts (2 blocks), basketball Court (2 blocks), and a playground (2 blocks)

Amenities

Folly Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower
  • 1.5 Full bath has been completely renovated in 2014 with new tiled tub, tiled floor, and vanity with granite counter.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , New for 2013
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • King size beds (1), Queen Beds (1), Double Beds (1) The couch, brand new for 2013, has a pull-out queen mattress
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Tennis and basketball courts, playground just 2 blocks away. Plenty of surfboard, paddleboard, kayak, scooter and bike rentals available around Folly as well as all of the shops and restaurants within walking distance as well.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
23% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Adorable Folly Beach Cottage! 1 Block to Beach! Super Location! Free WiFi!
average rating of 4.5666666 based on 35 reviews
5

Great location adorable old Folly feel

  • 5 of 5

Island Girl is just around the corner from the beach. The public beach access is quiet and clean and the far enough from the pier and hotel to be uncrowded. We used the bikes that were provided to go to the shops and Lost Dog. We had little ones so walking to the shops was too far. We did walk to Berts which is two and a half blocks away. We loved that the bedrooms were upstairs and living area was downstairs. Coffee on the screened porch in the mornings and sun deck was nice. Our family has stayed on Folly in the large ocean front homes and we were worried that downsizing would be painful. However the price and easy beach access made up for it. This is an old school beach house and it is adorable. It is one of the reasons Folly is charming.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AMAZING!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had the perfect trip, every thing about The Island Girl was amazing. Every detail was thought of from beach towels to a fully stocked kitchen, we were not left without a thing. For us the location might have been the best part, a 2 minute walk from the beach(1 block) and a short drive from restaurants and shops. The island girl is the perfect fit for a family vacation, we would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Cockroaches!

  • 1 of 5

Pros: close to the beach, spacious for four guests, has everything you need

Cons: dirty, bathroom smells like urine, the house is infested with cockroaches. We saw 50 or more roaches during our stay. We had to squish bugs everyday, and they were in the entire house. The kitchen has several roaches in the cupboards and under the microwave and sink. There is roach feces on the countertops. They sent someone out to spray on the first day of our stay, but it didn't help at all. They did nothing further other than offering a 30% refund. We were all disgusted and tried to find somewhere else to stay, but we couldn't find anything so short notice on Folly. We will not be returning.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Erika did not book our property through VRBO and it is unfortunate that she has decided to leave a negative review here on this site. Erika did book our property through but through a different listing site. When Erika booked our property she asked for an exception to our minimum 25 year old requirement for booking. It is now clear that policy is to help ensure the maturity level of guest we are inviting to share our home. We now regret that we made an exception for Erika. There was an issue with roaches when Erika arrived and we agree that it is not acceptable. We contacted our pest management company and they had someone out to thoroughly treat the property within an hour of Erika contacting us. Furthermore we gave Erika a 30% refund toward the beginning of her stay as a way to apologize for her experience. We want all of our guests to be comfortable and have a enjoyable stay. We were in frequent contact with Erika during her stay. During the week she commented "Thank you so much! We all really appreciate all of your help and will definitely stay at the Island Girl nest time we visit Folly." and "You have been exceptional! I will of course leave an excellent review due to your amazing flexibility and understanding!!" Anyone who has ever been to coastal SC know that "palmetto bugs" are an unfortunate fact of life. That is why we pay pest control companies to maintain treatments. I don't think there exists a house on Folly Beach that has never had a roach in it. When a roach does come it, it crosses the chemical treatment and will soon after die. The cleaning crew and I examined every part of the house the morning Erika left and found 1 dead roach in the corner of the cabinet under the sink and 1 on the floor of a room that was not used during her stay. Hardly an "infestation" Erika and her guest did leave our home in excellent condition. We had frequent communication and she was agreeable and gracious through out the week. We regret that on the last day of her stay that she changed her tone . It is one thing for her to leave a negative review on the site that she booked the reservation but it is unfortunate that she is choosing to lash out here. Following up with Erika towards the end of her stay she said "We see maybe 4 bugs...We aren't used to them because they are not a common occurrence in (where she is from)". Given Erika's apparent sensitivity to our "palmetto bugs" may I suggest in the future that the beach is not for her
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Family wedding

  • 3 of 5

We were so excited to stay at Island Girl during our son's wedding week.

The pros:

-the kitchen was well stocked

-the house was very close (1 block) to the beach

-close proximity to Bert’s Market and the downtown area

-charming bedrooms with comfy beds

-reasonable price

The cons:

-the downstairs was adequate at best (sloped floors, choppy floor plan due to the home being old and added on to, and the stairs as others mentioned, were a little scary etc.).

-upstairs bathroom smelled like cat urine

-screened in porch unusable due to dirt and grime

-opened the outside shed to take out bikes and saw multiple cockroaches (although they may have been palmetto bugs which I know they have in the south)

We had other family members who were there for the wedding also renting homes at Folly. All of the other homes we visited were really nice, clean, and had been updated with newer furnishings. I was happy that at least our out of town guests were staying at better places than us and we did spend quite a bit of time at their places. Due to some of the above cons, we probably would not rent Island Girl in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute little house, perfect location!

  • 4 of 5

Even with our toddler it was just over a 5 minute walk to the beach. The house was cute, and nicely kept. We love folly beach, and it's closeness to Charleston!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Close to beach

  • 5 of 5

The house was a short walk to the beach. Had everything we needed and would definetly recommend this home for rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130
Damage Deposit $300

For the month of July, we will consider last minute nightly rentals (3 nights minimum) if the week has not been booked yet. Call or email for more information.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.