Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beachfront 3 bedroom Basement Apartment on Wells Beach!

Bedrooms 3
Space 800 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom 1 Bath

Beachfront! It doesn't get any better! Three bedroom unit includes a large family room and a kitchen with granite counters. The master has a queen bed. Two additional bedrooms have full beds and the family room has a pull out queen sleep sofa. The entire unit is 'sand friendly' with tile throughout! There is a full eat-in kitchen with stainless steel appliances including a microwave. There is a bathroom with a shower. The patio with a grill is directly off of the entrance with additional seating. The family room has an LED TV, DVD player, and wireless internet service. The master has an additional LED 32' television. Parking for 1 car included in price is located directly across the street at Seaside Cottages. Maximum occupancy is 8 adults. Includes beach chairs and sunshine! Please note - we do not provide linens.

Property Manager
Mark M Gallagher
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 7, 2018

What makes this apartment unique

This is a Beach Front Basement Apartment. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the gardens are beautiful. The property is on the beach and its about 25 steps from the entry to the beach.


Wells Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 10:00 AM
  • /
  • Check-out: 2:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


3.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

20% Complete
60% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Beachfront 3 bedroom Basement Apartment on Wells Beach!
average rating of 3.6 based on 5 reviews

Very good

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was very clean and well supplied. A few steps from the beach. The only downside was that there was no kitchen table only a breakfast counter and the parking was at another location nearby.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

This was a bad rental, pictures are old and 'artfully' taken to misrepresent the property.

  • 1 of 5

This rental was bad right from the start when we couldn't find the property because the pictures show a green house that appears to open to the beach. It's actually a dark blue that opens to the driveway and another building. When we got over the shock we entered the rental to a blast of hot air from the dehumidifiers which we were instructed to keep running. When we turned them off because we couldn't stand the heat it was so damp my family thought I had mopped the floor. Everyone had a cough by the end of the week that cleared up as soon as we left. We had no wifi after the first 2 days tho all of the rentals around us were fine. The owner was completely unresponsive said it had something to do with salt tho he had wifi in his house above us.We heard from area renters that this wasn't he first time the wifi was out in that unit. One of the tvs was internet only so no tv in the bedroom. The fire alarms kept going off causing several evacuations. A faulty detector but major disruption with children! One of the sofas in the pictures was not even present. The bathroom fan in the tiny bathroom didn't work causing the smoke detector right outside to go off. I would not recommend this rental to anyone. The owner did not seem to care about our issues. I requested at least a partial refund since several of our party had to leave because of the no internet but no response. I tried HomeAway resolution but there really is no recourse for this misrepresentation. Unless you can prove a material loss such as not being able to enter the property at all there is no recourse. Buyer beware!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize for not finding this review earlier, but I did want to respond; We pride ourselves on communicating with our Rental Guests and Maintaining our property. You will re-call we met by the beach when you were enjoying a cigarette on our property. After introduction I reminded you that our property was non smoking. After debate, you agreed to honor our rule and smoke off property. Unfortunately, you did not honor our rules and buried 167 cigarette buts into the planting beds for us to clean up after your departure. Yes we counted them! I am sure our rule and debate helped fuel your negative review! Secondly, here is an excerpt everyone receives prior to arriving on the property; "Once you arrive this coming Saturday to Seaquest Basement (331 Atlantic Ave in Wells, Maine), you will be able to enter the unit..." Clearly the listing and pictures indicate this is a basement apartment.Third there was a change in the sectional in the living area. Shortly before your arrival we replaced the exiting sectional when it was stained and damaged. We did this to upgrade and insure our guests enjoy their stay. Fourth we provide fans in every room of the apartment and dehumidifiers for our guests. We would never tell a guest they couldn't turn off an appliance. Fifth I am not sure how much more communicative we could have been during your stay. I met you on Saturday and again on Sunday when I had to admonish your children for climbing on our railings and fence. On Tuesday when you called about the internet and smoke detectors, I had our electrician replace all of the smoke detectors in the unit as a pre-caution. You fail to mention this same day service. He also worked on the internet but was unable to provide a repair.The problem was with the carrier's modem which was replaced on the Saturday you departed. This was the first appointment available from our vendor, I mentioned this to you on Wednesday. Its disingenuous for you to state discussions with "other rental guests" when we have only experienced this problem during the week of your stay and promptly had it fixed. Lastly during the (4) personal visits I had with you and the (7) phone calls, you never requested a refund or discount. After your continued non compliance with our smoking policy and safety concerns with your party I would have gladly paid for your departure. Its unfortunate the review policy doesn't require a full honest disclosure and you chose to omit the positive elements of your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Very nice and extremly well maintained. The owner is a great guy

  • 4 of 5

Only suggestion would be to put in AC

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great stay as usual!

  • 5 of 5

My family has stayed in this nice basement apartment for the past four summers at Wells Beach. We absolutely love this apartment! As someone who likes to cook ALL the Maine seafood, the modern kitchen is fully stocked with the necessary pots, pans, and cooking utensils--a huge plus. A nice patio is outside the front door, with a grill and new outdoor furniture for dining al fresco. The owners are very responsive if any issues are present. For example, this year we had some problems connecting to the WiFi (a must for us), and they promptly remedied the situation. Most importantly is that the apartment is mere steps from the beach! Running in and out of the apartment to use the bathroom, grab snacks, refill drinks, etc., is a breeze. The space works perfectly for our family of four.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind review; we look forward to hosting your next vacation in Wells!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent Location!

  • 4 of 5

Updated, clean and overall great rental! Can't beat the location as you are literally 15 steps to the beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Portland Jetport
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Nearest Beach
Wells Beach
Car: recommended

Oceanfront! Wells beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The local playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. The trolleys will take you all over town in the evening to go shopping and to local restaurants. There are fifty antique shops in wells, offering an exciting experience for the first time buyer or a serious buying trip for the professional dealer. We have spectacular sunrises in the morning over the water, followed by romantic moon rises in the evening. This is where memories that last a lifetime are made.




Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Rentals are from Saturday to Saturday. Check in is at 2:00pm. Check out is at 10:00am

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties