Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Comfortable Beach Box Cottage ~ Only 100 yards to the Beach!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom. Steps to the beach in historic Kitty Hawk, N.C.

Welcome! Relax and enjoy your vacation at “The Ideal Place” on the Outer Banks! With stunning ocean views from the kitchen and outside deck, this beach cottage is perfect for a family vacation, romantic getaway or a golf trip with friends. The home’s private beach access gets your toes in the sand and riding the waves in no time. (Only 200 feet to the beach) The Ideal Place is well-stocked, with comfortable furnishings and a relaxing atmosphere.

The Ideal Place is situated on a quiet street in desirable Kitty Hawk, close to wonderful restaurants, terrific shopping and unforgettable sight-seeing. This beach cottage has the amenities to make your vacation enjoyable and stress-free: Cable TV’s, DVD players, radio/CD player, BBQ grill, comfortable deck furniture, wireless internet, games, reading and video libraries, sand toys and beach chairs. And save space in your suitcase ~ bath towels and linens are provided. Come experience Kitty Hawk’s long pristine beaches and sparkling blue waters for yourself. It will be a memorable trip that you will want to experience year after year!

Accommodations: Cottage, Three Bedroom (2 Queen, pyramid bunk with one Queen and one Twin), 2 Baths. Sleeps 6. This is a Saturday to Saturday rental.

More Details

Owner
Christina
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 2, 2017

About Christina

We visited the Outer Banks for the first time in 2001 and have been returning every year since! Our children spend endless hours on the beach, while my husband enjoys his time at all of the golf courses nearby. I love the relaxing sounds of the ocean and my favorite spot on the sand to read my summer novel!

Why Christina chose Kitty Hawk

Over the years we have stayed in almost every town from Carova to Nags Head, but this house in Kitty Hawk is the perfect spot for a vacation home. From the moment we walked in the front door we felt it was the ideal place for us.

What makes this cottage unique

The house is on a quiet street only steps to the Atlantic Ocean. Our children love to bike ride each morning! But a huge benefit is all the conveniences a renter could want are nearby. Restaurants, bagel & ice cream shops, miniature golf, movie theater, are all within minutes -- some within walking distance. Also close are food stores, pharmacies and shopping for beach needs.

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Norfolk International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Hurricane Mo's
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Currituck
Nearest Golf
1.2 Miles
Sea Scape Golf Links
Nearest Train
70 Miles
Norfolk, VA
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
N. Croatan Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Jimmy's Seafood Buffet
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Kitty Hawk Beach
Car: recommended

Other Restaurants:

Pizzazz Pizza Company ----- .2 miles (they deliver!)

The Black Pelican ----------- .6 miles (walk the beach to dinner)

Longboard's Island Grill ---- .8 miles.

Additional Golf Courses:

The Pointe Golf Club ---- 10.5 miles

Kilmarlic Golf Club ------ 11.1 miles

The Carolina Club ------- 20 miles.

Other Activities:

Stop by Jocky's Ridge State Park and climb the largest sand dune on the east coast. Fly a kite or learn how to hang glide off the dune from instructors.

The cottage is minutes from the Wright Brother Monument in Kill Devil Hills.

Relax on the beach or go for long walks on the sand searching for shells, bird watching or looking for the dolphins that swim by!

Pirate's Cove and Oregon Inlet marinas allow you to go deep sea fishing for full a day or half day party fishing in the sound.

Fish off the Avalon Pier and arcade, just 4 miles south of the cottage.

There are three working lighthouses, Corolla, Bodie Island, Cape Hateras.

Take a day and Visit Roanoke Island to see The Lost Colony outdoor live theater or experience The Elizabethan Gardens, Fort Raleigh, and Island Farm.

Take the kids to N.C. Aquarium at Jennette's Pier; a 1000 foot concrete state owned learning pier geared to teach children's about the sea, wind and solar power.

Amenities

Kitty Hawk Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , TV/DVD/Cable; Ceiling Fan
    Master - 1 queen , TV/Cable; Ceiling fan; private full bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , TV/DVD player, no cable hook-up, NEW FOR 2015: pyramid bunk
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Property has an outside shower. Beach chairs, beach umbrella and sand toys available for guests.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
31% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Comfortable Beach Box Cottage ~ Only 100 yards to the Beach!
average rating of 4.6896553 based on 29 reviews
Macon, Missouri
5

Nice location!!

  • 5 of 5

The owners are very responsive to any inquiries about the property. When we arrived it was ready and very clean. Well appointed kitchen, easy short walk to the beach. Centrally located on the OBX to shopping, activities and many places to eat. The only negative was the AC wouldn't keep up when it was in the upper 90s. But it caught up in the evening. Overall we loved it!!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay! We had the AC fixed recently and are happy to report it is keeping the cottage nice and comfortable. Please come back and visit again next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unable to enjoy your cottage due to medical emergency.

  • 5 of 5

Due to emergency surgery I was unable to travel. I have been trying to contact Christina or VRBO. Refunds should be in order.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It really is "The Ideal Hoise".

  • 5 of 5

The house is wonderful. Everything is clean. Great amenities. AC works good. It's a short walk to the beach, prob about 300 ft. My family had a blast.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Convenient, clean and relaxing!

  • 4 of 5

This place was right next to the beach, had everything our family of four needed, and the owner was extremely pleasant to work with and accomodating. It could use a little bit of updating (carpets, kitchen, towels, sofa were all well-worn), but it was very clean. Good price, comfortable home, perfect location!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location! Older home.

  • 4 of 5

Our family of four (plus my mother-in-law) stayed at this property for a week. It fit our needs, as it had two full bathrooms and 3 bedrooms - which was nice for ours - and the MILs - privacy.

Pros: Close to beach, grocery shopping & tourist activities. The AC is nice and cold! There is a small charcoal grill provided, along with boogie boards, beach chairs, and beach umbrella. There is also an outdoor shower to rinse off, as well as a spigot to rinse flip flops and feet before entering. The house is fairly close to beach (only a short walk); it has a front covered porch deck with a table and chairs for morning coffee or a quiet spot to hear and feel the ocean breezes & waves while reading a book. There's a regular coffee pot and a Keurig. Also, we loved the sliding glass door facing the beach - we could see some of the ocean and the sand dune/sea grass, which was nice, since it is not a beachfront house. There were plenty of games to play, books to read, movies provided. All of the rooms had updated tvs with dish, and the internet was fast.

Cons: The towels/washcloths that were supplied were all mismatched and smelled sour - even though they were "clean." There was also no initial toilet paper supplied. Of course, we went out and bought some - I was expecting to do that. But after a 10 hour ride in the car, it would have been nice to have more than a small amount supplied prior to our shopping trip. The liquid soap in bathroom dispensers was also very minimal. My mother-in-law also had to clean the toilet in her bathroom. (These are only a few minor things, but would have made our arrival a bit nicer). The house is a little outdated and in need of some "freshening up," (i.e. The furniture needs to be cleaned - the arms on the couch were worn and felt dirty. The carpet needs to be shampooed - or replaced with hard flooring for a cleaner feel. The ceiling in the living room was very dirty and looked as if there were some leak issues at one point, but the ceiling was never repainted. The linoleum in kitchen and bathrooms needs a good scrub down. Another example was the kitchen silverware drawers - there was dried BBQ sauce inside one of the drawers; also, the kitchen cabinets could use a good wipe down. It wasn't horrible, it just didn't feel extremely clean.)

Overall, our stay was good and we had a relaxing time, but because of the cleanliness issues, we probably would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The beaches in Kitty Hawk are extremely beautiful and we are glad you were able to enjoy the ocean view from the back deck. I also love listening to the ocean while drinking my morning coffee. So happy you enjoyed the many amenities at the cottage and its central location! We appreciate helpful feedback from our guests and I have passed your concerns along to my diligent clean team. They are looking into them and working on solutions. We always strive to make our visitors comfortable. Thank you for choosing "The Ideal Place" for your vacation and I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Excellent Location

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfectly fine, and well stocked, but the location was exceptional. Miles and miles of beautiful beach just a few hundred feet away, and central to a lot of great local places.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We agree the beaches are gorgeous and close! Please come back and visit again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Mandatory Cleaning Fee $100

Additional Information:
- Only Saturday to Saturday rental during peak season.
- Copy of driver's license is required w/rental agreement.
- If paying online, Home Away is charging all bookings a service fee. This is NOT part of our rental fees and is paid directly to them. Please email or call us if you would like to pay by check.
- Cleaning fee is $100 and added to each rental.
- All prices and/or descriptions are subject to change without notice. Every precaution is taken but errors do occur and we reserve the right to correct those errors.
- Please call us with questions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties