Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Vacation In Paradise At Makaha Area Secluded Beach, Free Wi Fi,Smart TV

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Full Kitchen, Condo on Ocean

Come to Paradise on Earth at the Hawaiian Princess located in the dry, sunny Makaha Area in West Oahu. The condo is on a secluded 1/3 mile pristine white sand beach overlooking the gorgeous Turtle Cove. Celebrate a special occasion, romantic getaway or just come to relax and dine on your own private Lanai and enjoy the relaxing ocean breeze with the spectacular 180 degree view of the Ocean and Sunset.

The Hawaiian Princess is located 45 minutes from the Honolulu International Airport and an hour from the frenzy and crowds in Honolulu and Waikiki. It is only a 20 minute drive to the City of Kapolei with many stores such as Costco, Kmart, Target, Wal-Mart, Ross, Safeway, Outback, Chili's, Starbucks, 16 Theatre Cinemas and the famous Paradise Cove Luau. The City of Waianae is minutes from your condo and offers 3 grocery stores, Long Drugs, many fast food and dining options. You can still enjoy the hustle and bustle of tourist activities with the additional benefit of a totally relaxing beachfront living atmosphere.

Come, swim, and play in the warm aqua blue waters of the Pacific Ocean, or sunbathe on the uncrowded, unspoiled beach. You can snorkel, boogie board, paddle board, fish, or just relax with a 'cold one' while you watch Sea Turtles, Spinner Dolphins and Humpback Whales (in-season), or people having fun in the waves from the beach or your lanai. Two of the best island 18 hole golf courses are minutes away at the Ko olina Resort and the Makaha Valley resort. The world famous Makaha surfing beach is less than a mile away and home to several International Surfing Competitions in the winter months. The Waianae harbor is about 5 minutes away and offers deep sea fishing excursions and swimming with the dolphins.

Unit Amenities:

Free in unit Wi-Fi, 2 Flat Screen Cable TV's, CD/DVD Player, Washer/Dryer, Full Size Refrigerator with Ice Maker, Dishwasher, Stove Cook Top with Oven, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Fully Equipped Kitchen, Bathroom with shower and tub and vanity. Queen Size Bed with Mattress Topper, Leather Sleeper Sofa, Futon, Sleeps 4 Adults comfortably, All Linens & Towels provided, Dining Room Table & 4 Chairs, Lanai with table & 4 chairs to relax, All your beach needs are provided such as 'play toys' (boogie boards and noodles) umbrella, beach chairs, beach towels, cooler, etc.

The Hawaiian Princess offers a secure beachfront setting with free gated parking, building manager and security. When you are ready to leave the Honolulu airport/car rental, call our unit's manager and he will welcome you personally on site to give you the keys and details for your time in our unit. The facility has a secure gated entrance from the road, a call button at the gate will notify the security guard to allow you entrance the first time. After your initial welcome, you will have a key to the unit and a fob that will allow you to come and go at your pleasure.

On site, there is a salt water swimming pool, Jacuzzi hot tub, ping pong table, meeting room, tennis court, gas barbecues, picnic table areas, and secure parking.

State of Hawaii Tax Id Number: W88562954-01 (GE & TAT). Non Conforming Use Certificate 90/TVU-0079 expiration date September 30, 2016. Local contact: Billy Ervin 808-489-7420

More Details

Owner
Mary Christensen
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

About Mary Christensen

These are the owner's of the unit you will be visiting at the Hawaiian Princess, Neil and Mary Christensen enjoying a meal at Jameson By The Sea in Hale'iwa. The have the best mahimahi with macadamia nuts and mai tai's. We try to include a trip to this restaurant every time we are on Oahu! It's delicious and the view is spectacular!

We have been renting our unit out since 2010, even though we are new to join VRBO.

Mary Christensen purchased this condo in 2010

Why Mary Christensen chose West Oahu

We have been coming to the Hawaiian Princess since 1981 when we purchased 2 weeks of timeshare interest. In 2010, when we were here vacationing, we had the opportunity to actually purchase our own condo unit. We still can't believe our luck and good fortune that enabled us to get our own piece of paradise. We love it here and hope you will enjoy your stay at our unit as much as we do!

What makes this condo unique

The Hawaiian Princess is built right off the beach. The beach is pristine, white sand and ocean at Turtle Beach is beautiful, warm, and clear. It is probably one of the best kept secrets on Oahu because our beach is not crowded or spoiled, yet it is probably one of the best on Oahu for fun and enjoyment. This condo is not a hotel but a mix of owner's who live on site, vacation rentals, and timeshares. It is a secure building and has been well maintained. Come and relax and enjoy the beach way of life in luxury!

Amenities

Mākaha Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 13
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower , Full bathroom in unit, 2 outdoor showers at beach gates
  • Unit Amenities: Free in unit Wi-Fi, 2 Flat Screen Cable TV's, CD/DVD Player, Washer/Dryer, Full Size Refrigerator with Ice Maker, Dishwasher, Stove Cook Top with Oven, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Fully Equipped Kitchen, Bathroom with shower and tub and vanity. Queen Size Bed with Mattress Topper, Leather Sleeper Sofa, Futon, Sleeps 4 Adults comfortably, All Linens & Towels provided, Lanai with table and chairs to relax, All your beach needs are provided such as 'play toys' (boogie boards and noodles) umbrella, beach chairs, beach towels, cooler, etc.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Bed in Bedroom, Double Sleeper Sofa, Twin Futon
  • Comfortable Queen Size Mattress with Mattress Topper. 32' flat screen cable tv. Two lamps and two end tables. Large mirrored closet. Vanity and Chair. Laundry basket and garbage basket. Storage Rack with additional linens in corner behind door. Hawaiian Futon also available for children or guests. Very comfortable and homey with photos, overhead fan and light, and louvered slots to allow air flow.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(52 traveler reviews)

Vacation In Paradise At Makaha Area Secluded Beach, Free Wi Fi,Smart TV
average rating of 4.673077 based on 52 reviews
5

Turtle Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Everything was very convenient-reservation, check-in, check-out and location. "How-to" guidance provided prior to trip extremely helpful-as was Billy who meets & greets to provide on-site assistance. Location is prime, turtle sighting right on the beach and then from the lanai 2 days in a row! Everything needed to enjoy the beach is provided; and deposit was refunded before our plane landed. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves-highly recommend for a carefree vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time! Please come back! Mary & Neil
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very dissapointed.

  • 1 of 5

On an absolutely gorgeous beach, but with very few people. So, nothing to watch, but we were able to watch sea turtles from our balcony. No decent restaurants within 20 miles, only fast food. Several homeless encampments in the area. The unit was not thoroughly cleaned and cockroach infested. I would not recommend this property to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Before judging our unit based on this review, please read our other reviews. Note how many of our reviews mention how clean our condo is. That’s because our property manager inspects our unit after the cleaning person has completed their work and verifies that it is clean, this was done before these guests arrived on May 2, 2017. In addition, we have posted in our welcome book and on our condo door that if there is any problem to call me or our property manager and we will fix the problem. We never received any notice that these guests were unhappy in any way. We were surprised totally by this poor review. As to the lack of people on the beach many reviews also mention that but most people consider the secluded beach a plus. Seriously, if a crowded beach is what you are looking for you probably won't be happy here. It is true, there are no fancy restaurants in the immediate vicinity but there are several family style restaurants that are very good and reasonably priced, in addition to the fast food places. If you want fine dining you can go to Ko Olina which is 10 miles away or Kapolei which is 12 miles away. Homeless encampments are a problem everywhere on Oahu, even in the Honolulu/Waikiki area. The Hawaiian Princess works regularly with the police department to try and keep the homeless out of the neighboring park next door to the Princess. Cockroaches are a constant problem in a tropical climate like Hawaii and our property manager routinely sprays for them. We had a problem earlier this year and we bought new pest spray and had our property manager spray aggressively and several times. We furnish raid spray and have bait traps available under our kitchen sink. We advise all travelers to keep open containers of food in the refrigerator or sealed in plastic containers (that we provide). We also recommend that garbage should be routinely taken down the hall to the trash chute. We thought the problem was under control because we have had many travelers before and after these guests that did not mention any problem with bugs of any kind (and we did ask). We will have our property manager put spray out again to deal with this immediately if there is, in fact, a cockroach problem.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hawaiian Princess is great. Long time staff very friendly.

  • 5 of 5

This us our second year at Mary and Neil's condo. They provide everything you would need. This is the place to go if you want the true Hawaiian experience. No high end shopping and crowds. Small local restaurants nearby. And of course the most important thing is top beaches. The beach outside the condo is tops. Often we spend the whole day at the beach. Mary and Neil are great to work with and want you to have a great stay at their condo. We will for sure be back!

Tammy and Doug Barga

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tammy and Doug, Glad to have you back at our home! You are so easy to work with! Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Relaxing and Warm!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! We enjoyed sitting on the beach and the lanai and just watching the ocean. Also had fun in the waves and at the pool and hot tub! Overall this was a terrific time and we enjoyed ourselves. The only down side was being away from our family!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a good time. Next time bring your family with you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Life is better on the west coast

  • 5 of 5

This was my second time staying at this condo and I guess that says a lot. I have spoken to many people who have been going there for years. One man said that he has been going for 35 years and ended up buying a place because he loved it so much. If you go I guarantee that you will always go back. Once you have been to the west coast you will not want to stay anywhere else. Its close to everything that you want but you do need a car. With a car, and this as your home base, you can adventure tour the island and come back to a quiet and relaxing spot to enjoy the rest of your day. Its amazing. You will love the apartment. It has everything you need. Its clean and has an awesome view of the ocean and sunset. Go. Experience the best Oahu has to offer.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Condo

  • 5 of 5

Would like to say that the condo was nice and clean and had a great view of the ocean off the balcony to look out and see the whales jump out of the water in the early morning.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shane, Glad you enjoyed our home and sounds like you got to see whales from the balcony/lanai! Hope you come again. Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Honolulu AirPort
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Tacos & More
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Makaha Towers Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
Farrington Highway
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Coquito's
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mākaha Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Early Summer 2017
May 28 2017 - Aug 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$155
$1,085
$4,340
 
 
Summer 2017
Aug 4 2017 - Aug 22 2017
5 night minimum stay
$140
$980
$3,920
 
 
Fall 2017
Aug 23 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$155
$1,085
$4,340
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 3 2018
5 night minimum stay
$190
$1,330
$5,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$159
$1,110
$4,452
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.95%

General Excise Tax and Transient Taxes of 14% is charged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties