Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quaint Mountain Cottage 5 Minutes From Downtown Waynesville

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,457 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom/3 Bath Mountain View Cottage, Expansive Porch, One Level Living

An absolutely charming mountain cottage style home with one of the best views in Haywood County! A single level plan with an open living area highlighted by exposed beams, vaulted ceilings and skylights. A split floor plan with large master suite on one side and 2 guests rooms and 2 bathrooms on the opposite side of the house gives everyone privacy. You will have wonderful long-range views of the Balsams at an elevation of 3000’ yet you are only 1.5 miles from downtown Waynesville with all the quaint shops and outstanding restaurants.

The 27 hole Waynesville Golf course designed by Donald Ross is a mere 4/10 mile from your door to the Pro Shop to sign in for tee times. If a little pampering is your desire, the Balsam Spa is located at the same resort. The Roost is the midpoint between Asheville and the Cherokee Indian Reservation (Harrah’s Casino) so great for day trips with major highways easily accessible. When the snow arrives, hitting the slopes will be another fun activity since it is only 15 miles to Cataloochee Ski Resort or opt for snow tubing in Maggie Valley.

An incredibly well equipped kitchen with new appliances including gas stove, quartz counter tops and an abundance of dishes and cookware will make family mealtime easy. Games, cards, books, and DVDs are available to enjoy during your stay. There are flat screen HD TVs and Blue Ray players in the living room & master bedroom but we doubt you will need them with the covered porch and rockers at sunrise and sunset calling your name.

Please note – pets and smoking are not permitted at The Roost. Thank you for honoring this request and our Grandchild with allergies especially thanks you!

2 night stay option if reserving less than 2 weeks from arrival date. Cleaning is additional for stays of less than 3 nights.

More Details

Property Manager
S. Linthicum
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2017

About S. Linthicum

We live in Fayetteville, NC and hope to retire to the beautiful mountains of North Carolina in a few more years. We began our search for a vacation home near Asheville so we could start to learn more about the area and be close to family that lives in Asheville...especially the latest addition to our wonderful family... our 3rd granddaughter!

S. Linthicum purchased this cottage in 2014

Why S. Linthicum chose Smoky Mountains

Initially, we were looking in the Asheville/Hendersonville area, wanting to be as close to our Asheville family as we could. We spotted THE ROOST on the internet & loved the cottage look and told our real estate agent if she would drive us over we'd buy her lunch since we were certain we would buy in the Asheville area :-) We wanted her to see the style house that really caught our attention. The 30 minute drive over from Asheville was easy, the lovely neighborhood so close to the center of town, and the amazing rock retaining walls leading up to the house were all wonderful. All it took however was for us to step on the porch and look at the view of the Balsam Range of the Smokey Mountains from 3000' to know this house was the perfect home for us- you just know when you get goose bumps it's something special! And we had not even stepped inside the house yet! Once inside, it was all over - we knew this was the one! Not surprising - our guests now say the same thing :-)

What makes this cottage unique

So close to downtown yet with killer views! We are so centrally located to enjoy Western North Carolina outdoor activities, festivals and tons of great restaurants. Waynesville is one of the best kept secrets around!

Guestbook comments from the manager

This lovely couple from St. Petersburg, a retired architect and law professor/attorney have stayed at THE ROOST for 6 weeks for the past 2 summers and have booked their 3rd stay for 2017! We love that an architect notes the interior of our home is well-designed and outfitted :-)



Comments written by our repeat guest from Florida:

This was our second time at The Roost, and we're coming back next year! We cook a lot, and this kitchen is very well kitted. The location is perfect for a walk into town or to play golf at the bottom of the hill. The Owners have made improvements that have enhanced the experience at the Roost.



We have rented many vacation homes and this, by far, is the absolute best one ever! Incredible porch-large enough to live on, with extraordinary views. Well-designed, and outfitted, interior. Everything you could possibly ever need. We can't wait to go back.

Aug 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Waynesville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1457 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Double Sinks in Private Master Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Private Bath for Queen Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Bath in hallway for twin bedroom and guest use
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 1 is located on one side of the house with a private bath. Bedroom 2 with a private bath and Bedroom 3 with an adjoining bath in the hall are located on the other side of the house. There are linens for the couch in the living room that could be used by 1 person.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quaint Mountain Cottage 5 Minutes From Downtown Waynesville
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
Coal Grove, OH
5

Better than described

  • 5 of 5

I have rented several houses in the Waynesville/Maggie Valley area and this cottage was the best of all. First, the owner is great to work with on the details and makes you feel welcome from the beginning. The view is beyond what pictures show and the porch is an additional living space. We ate breakfast at the table on the porch Saturday morning. So relaxing! As for access, my mom is soon to be 86 years old and on a walker. She was able to go up and down the three steps to the porch without difficulty. Everything was extremely clean inside and out. This is a fun and beautiful cottage. I highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow - thank you so very much Rebecca...what a lovely review! We are extremely happy it worked out for you to come with your Mom this year and have a time to visit with your friend who lives in the area. Your high praise of THE ROOST after renting several other houses means a great deal to us. We want our guests, especially those that drive great distances as you did to be able to have a trouble free relaxing vacation surrounded by the beauty of the mountains. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will return soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and view

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay at the Roost. It is in a neighborhood close to Main Street in Waynesville, but feels so secluded. The view is stunning! We sat on the porch every evening and enjoyed the cool breeze. The house easily accommodated 6 adults. The kitchen is very well equipped, and all the towels, linens, and beds are very good quality. We would gladly stay again.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The view fromthe front porch is amazing.

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful time with friends. Property is very close to town. It's a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Breathtaking

  • 5 of 5

The view and cottage are beautiful, we came here to buy a place and the roost showed me what I was looking for. You cannot ask for something more breathtaking. The owner did not leave anything out you never have to leave the porch! Thank you Susan!

Mary&Dennis

Winterville, NC

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Knoxville, Tn.
5

Just Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely cottage!! We were in Waynesville for the weekend house hunting and chose this adorable cottage for our stay. We could not have been more pleased. Firstly, the cottage was incredibly clean, well-stocked, and beautifully furnished. Secondly, the view is simply mesmerizing. The location just can't be beat. In Waynesville to get privacy, close to town ( And I mean only a few minutes on nicely paved road), and a incredible view, is hard to find. Also, Susan was a delight. Our reservation was literally last minute and she was wonderful in assisting us and making the weekend happen. We absolutely would stay again, as well as, recommend to our friends!! Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Karen & Tim for staying at THE ROOST when you came for your house hunting trip! So happy you found us on VRBO and the last minute booking worked out for you. We too, think it is an "adorable cottage" with a "mesmerizing view". All your positive comments about the house, your stay and working together to book your reservation are so appreciated. We look forward to having you back for any future house hunting trips and would welcome any of your friends to stay at THE ROOST as well...thank you for recommending us to them.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
South Carolina
5

Family Birthday Get-Away

  • 5 of 5

EXCEPTIONAL!! What a delightful place to stay. The personal touches were very heartwarming. Waynesville is a nice little jewel in the Blue Ridge. The Owners were so easy to work with. The house was spotless and charming. The views were spectacular. Top of my list for lodging on our return trips to the area!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind kudos! It was great to hear your daughter had a wonderful birthday and very happy the entire family enjoyed their stay at THE ROOST. Hope you will celebrate many more family events with us! Big thanks for sharing the link to our house with your family and friends - we look forward to them coming to stay soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
36 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Golf
0.4 Miles
Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
US 276 N
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
Cork & Cleaver at Waynesville Inn
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Cataloochee Ski Area
Car: necessary

The Roost is located in the beautiful Smoky Mountains of NC, just minutes from downtown Waynesville and is the midpoint between Asheville and Cherokee. Easily accessible via major highways (I-40/I-26W/US-74W/US-19/US-276) it is a perfect location to take in all that Western North Carolina has to offer from The Biltmore House & Gardens & NC Arboretum in Asheville to Cherokee to rafting the Nantahala or French Broad Rivers.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waynesville Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
PEAK SEASON
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2017 - Nov 27 2017
5 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 4 2018
5 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

Rental rate includes standard cleaning at departure for min. 3 night stay. Stays of < 3 nights can only be confirmed within 2 weeks of arrival & $100 cleaning fee is additional. Tax rate on total rental is 11% (7% state & county tax + 4% county occupancy tax) charged on the total rental fee. $250 damage deposit will be waived if a damage protection policy is returned with signed rental agreement.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties