check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Walk to Downtown, bring your kids and your dog!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

1 BR and Queen sleeper in Large Living Room, 1 Bath

Permit # 14-026

News Flash! July, 2016; We just installed a new Kitchen Cabinet, Bosche dishwasher and GE stacking washer dryer!

The Julia Rose is named after our middle daughter and the beautiful Pink Rose bushes in the front and back yard. Built in 1898, this Victorian origin home has recently been updated with some more contemporary elements and has a nice blend of old with the new. There is a remodeled kitchen and bath and newly finished wood flooring, paint, window coverings and furnishings.

The Living Room is the largest area in the home and has a Queen Lazy Boy sleeper sofa with seating for four for conversation or TV viewing, and a separate desk area.

The Kitchen has a granite counter with a counter height table that seats four. The kitchen is fully furnished so you can create anything from a gourmet dinner to a smoothie.

The bedroom adjoins the bathroom and is European style (small) but cozy and comfortable with a brand new Queen plush mattress and designer bedding and duvet cover. There is plenty of room to unpack and hang clothes in the closet or the dresser.

The Bathroom is tiled with a shower/tub so you can soak and relax after a long day out. The view from the tub is like being in a 'secret garden'.

PLEASE NOTE; The bathroom is very small and guests have to walk through the bedroom to get to the bathroom. Guests who weigh more than 250 lbs. or more or have difficulties with moving around please be forewarned that The Julia Rose may not be a good fit for you.

The duplex neighbors on the East side of the property have dedicated use of the front porch. The Julia Rose has her own back patio with a grill and outdoor furniture to relax in privacy and comfort. The entrances are separate. The long term tenants are carefully screened, who are quiet non smokers. There is extra sound insulation between the two units.

There is space for one car in the parking lot with a back and front door entrance if you prefer to park in the street. The flat screen TV is brand new and features a DVD player and we provide cable and WiFi. This house is in the prime downtown location in a quiet historic neighborhood off of the busy Third Avenue. Main Street is three blocks away and you will be right in the center of all of the restaurants and downtown coffee shops and shopping.

Upon arrival, you will enter the house with a coded lock and grab the key for the back door, The front door is closer for unpacking and unloading and the back door is closer to the off the street parking.

You can settle in by having a cool drink on the back patio or walking a few blocks to Main Avenue to relax at one of the coffee shops or brewpubs.

Please note this is a non smoking unit, which includes marijuana smoking. We are very strict with our non smoking policy.

Pets are welcome but not on the furniture. Excessive hair on furniture will result in loss of some of the damage deposit to pay for additional cleaning.

City of Durango Permit # 14-026

More Details

Property Manager
Osha Justice
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 12, 2017

About Osha Justice

I moved to Durango when I was 19 (1978!) and never left. My four children were born and raised here and I am so grateful to call Durango my home. I own Fusion Interiors, a full service interior design business. I get out as much as possible to hike, bike, ski, run rivers and roam in the desert. I can answer all of your questions about great trails and places to be in this lovely area.

Osha Justice purchased this house in 1983

Why Osha Justice chose Southwest

We like this property because of its location in old town Durango and its proximity to everything Durango Downtown. Even though it is downtown the street is surprisingly quiet and full of friendly neighbors.

What makes this house unique

Location, location, location! We love the newly remodeled Kitchen with Dishwasher and stacking washer dryer, wood floors, the Rainbow Travertine Kitchen counter, the private backyard relaxing area with vintage rose bushes that bloom pink and the fenced in back patio with room for a pet.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

Walk to Downtown, bring your kids and your dog!
average rating of 4.392857 based on 28 reviews
4

Close to charming downtown

  • 4 of 5

We stood for 4 days in this small apartment and used the chance to be really close to downtown. Maybe perfect for 2 but too small for a family of 4 (at least the small bathroom). Everything was provided by the host and check-in/check-out was easy. Appreciate that they work flexible for rescheduling.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Clean and very well outfitted vacation property, a nice quiet, convenient location for Durango

  • 5 of 5

I stayed 9 nights and the house was set up really nice with all amenities one could expect. Priced very fair for what you get! Very nice restoration/remodel job on a historic house in downtown Durango. Very comfortable, very convenient access to downtown and Durango area. Owner is very kind and accommodating, and a pleasure to deal with. Highly recommended for 1-2 people for any length of stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Julia Rose was perfect for me during my stay in Durango.

  • 5 of 5

I loved that the Julia Rose is within walking distance of the Animas River Trail! The property was clean and well maintained. The generous living room and the bay window were great. The kitchen was well equipped with updated appliances and all of the utensils needed to cook meals. I appreciated being able to wash clothes in the washer and dryer. The description of the bedroom and bathroom being small was very accurate, but the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom had all the essentials! I enjoyed coffee in the morning in the back yard at the table and chairs. Osha was very responsive to any questions I had. I would definitely recommend the Julia Rose to anyone looking for a comfortable home in which to stay. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very clean and welcoming!!

  • 4 of 5

This house was all we needed. It was located 5 min from everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location but "just okay"

  • 3 of 5

The property itself has wonderful potential but it's current state is just "okay" when compared to the many other rentals in which I have stayed. The only bedroom is tiny with a comfortable bed but there is no door and opens into a short hall between the kitchen and a small mud room. The only bath is in this bedroom. No big deal except the floor is so creaky that it wakes up the bedroom occupants. Also, the other bed (pull out couch) was in poor condition, one end dipping considerably. The home description included two bikes for use so we brought one with us expecting to use theirs. Turned out that this was misinformation so we had to rent two bikes for $30 each. The blind in the bedroom broke when I went to pull it back up in the evening. I was informed that it usually stays up (but it was exactly like every other blind and we opened those every day). Also, the oven did not work. Don't get me wrong, none of these things stopped us from enjoying ourselves but we certainly expected more "comfort" for the cost. Quirky can be great fun but it should not impede on comfort.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your thorough review. We have fixed the window shade, and a new range has been purchased. We apologize about the bikes not being there. We took that off our listing a few months ago due to lack of storage. We were not aware of the sofa bed issue and have ordered that repair to be done asap. It was new one year ago. We hope to install a Murphy bed/sofa system this winter and will post photos when that has been done.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Cute little place in a fantastic location short walk to downtown.

  • 3 of 5

The house is simple, clean and well-located. I loved walking through the historic neighborhood, which is lovely. Hiking up College Hill is just a couple of blocks away. Downtown a couple of blocks away. Couldn't be better!

Bedroom and bath are very tiny, as advertised, but the bed was comfortable. It would be nice to attach a little reading light to the side of the closet by the bed.

My son reported that the sofa bed was very uncomfortable.

I did have a minor concern. The only light in the bathroom is a wall-mounted fixture operated with a pull chain--right next to the shower. I know it's an old house and probably nothing will happen, but this is a pretty easy fix.

All in all, minor issues, and Osha (the property manager) was readily available if we had any concerns.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are in the midst of fixing the sofa bed and it should be fixed by the end of September. We have installed a night light clipped to the bedside. We do advertise the bed and bath are very small, and have a floor plan in the photo section, so please make sure you are comfortable knowing this a typical 120 year old house where the bedrooms and bathrooms were very small. We are installing a Murphy bed/sofa system in the Living Room the Fall and guests may end up using that as the Master bed. The fold out sofa would be put in the small bedroom. We hope that will help our guests feel more comfortable in their stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Durango La Plata Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Carvers Brew Pub
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Hillcrest Golf 360 views of the area by FLC
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 550
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Cosmopolitan
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Durango Mountain Resort
Car: not necessary

We are located in the Durango Historic district and within a 5 minute walk of Main Street attractions. There are three churches nearby, two schools, several parks and world class mountain biking and hiking!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Durango House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SNOW! Ski Season!
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$120
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Ski Season!
Feb 16 2017 - Mar 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$140
Fri,Sat,Sun
$740
 
 
Memoral Day
May 25 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$255
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$255
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
$875
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 9.9%

Rates are subject to change until reservation has been confirmed. You can either pay a refundable damage deposit or pay for damage insurance at $59.99. You will recieve a written explanation and photo of the damage prior to charging your card. Monthly rentals will require a deposit. This will occur within 7 days of check out.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Durango House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • Remodeled with tub and tile, think European style bathroom, small yet functional! There is a sweet view of the 'Secret Garden'.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , New Queen Mattress and Sleeper pillow top
  • The bedroom has is very small and it has a closet and a dresser so you can entirely unpack. New mattress and designer bedding. Check out the floor plan in the last of the photos. The bedroom is small and one side of the Queen bed is against the wall due to the small size of the room and the closet. The wood floor is creaky, sorry about that. The house is 120 years old and Victorians built small bedrooms!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties